The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Love Conquers All
Review(s): 69

Reviewer: rosiegirlDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139055Chapter: 1
NOTICE OF NOMINATION



Hello, this is a notification to inform you that your fanfiction Love Conquers All has been nominated in the third annual .::Quills::. Harry Potter Fanfiction contest, in the Fluff category! If you do not wish your story to be entered in the contest, or you wish to remain anonymous, please contact me within seven (7) days of receiving this notification at rose.shepard@gmail.com .


A link to your story will be posted on the .::Quills::. homepage at http://www.geocities.com/dragonhidequills/



If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact Rai at kia67@yahoo.com or LadyShadow at ladyshadowmatrix@hotmail.com



We look forward to hosting your story and good luck in the upcoming contest!



Best Regards,

Rosiegirl

Reviewer: sageDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137145Chapter: 1
Really enjoyed this. Nice to imagine a bit of female solidarity at Hogwarts. If only it were true eh?
The Latin was an interesting device and very funny.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136847Chapter: 1
nice

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126898Chapter: 1
thank you for writing such a story. although i do not know much latin, i respect your choice to use such a beautiful and forgotten language. as an aspiring writer and poet of our deepest concentrations- love and romance- i genuinely thank you for your inspiration. i am trying to start my own fanfics and i finally realize this: it dosen't always have to be many chapters- one word- one thought can stir the soul to do greater than he/she thinks they can do. thank you, kelly

Reviewer: Ivy WryterDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114289Chapter: 1
How romantic. It made me smile. J'aime ça. I love it.

(That's French, I don't do Latin very well)

Reviewer: odd ballDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88956Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwwweeee! this is soo cute! i luv this!

Reviewer: biliusDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88891Chapter: 1
good fanfic, i love Hr and R together! but i did find all the latin a little annoying at times, it was just too much.

Reviewer: wicked girlDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86515Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwww this is soo cute! i luv this

Reviewer: ValDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83746Chapter: 1
Nicely done, though there was quite a lot of quotes. All part of the uniqueness of this piece, however. And I loved the ending.

Reviewer: KrisDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75370Chapter: 1
omigosh! this is soooo cute! and i totally want to learn latin now!! it so amazing! i love this, and I can't wait for the sequel!!

Reviewer: Cameo CaelanDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71523Chapter: 1
I love it! I love it! Latin is wonderful and the whole idea of personal mottos has some interesting potential. R/H in its best form.

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71347Chapter: 1
Great story. It makes me wish I'd learned Latin in school.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-02-08
Reviewid: 69900Chapter: 1
this was a great fic! but "ronald mary weasley"????

Reviewer: LizzieluDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69097Chapter: 1
Wow! What a different kind of fic! I loved reading all the latin phrases and all the character's motos. You had great tension going between Ron and Hermione and the latin fired back and forward between them was better than artillary!

Great job, I loved this!

Lizzielu

Reviewer: addisonDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69083Chapter: 1
I really like it. :D

Reviewer: Starr Soleil WynterDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69049Chapter: 1
OMG! I love all the Latin! It was absolutely gorgeous! I have to say... you are the best fanfic writer I have ever read!!!! :) I love the ending too. 'Ominia vincit amor, et nos cedamus amori'. And to that...I do stand. :D

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69044Chapter: 1
Loved it! I really liked the story, its so sweet and beautiful. Ron was being hard-headed like alwyas but really, his sweet and gentle and understanding side showed. I always thought latin really cool. Its such a pretty and cool and interesting language. I always thought it had a ring of romance and wisdom to it if you know what I mean. I loved how you used latin in your story, beautiful! Great!

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69017Chapter: 1
This is one of my favorite stories, and i realized that since i've read it, oh, ten times now, it might be nice to review. :) great story! how about a second chapter? not angsty, but with harry coming up with a personal motto. maybe h/g?

Reviewer: LutheRonDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68954Chapter: 1
I liked it! It was a great fic! I loved how the Latin was used when some of the most important lines were said! It makes the whole thing seem more romantic! I could actually read the Latin too! I just love that language! Anyway... sequel... SEQUEL!!

Reviewer: GeoMenacerDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68928Chapter: 1
I took Latin for five years in secondary school, personally I think everyone should learn it. But it is so cool to see it in a fanfic, there's probably more in your story than the HP books themselves. I loved it!

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66417Chapter: 1
Love the new Latin obsession. It is my Favorite language (I am so taking it asap) and the whole conversations... that was very cool. I cheer the idea of a follow up too. R/H is my favorite type of fic - please, more!

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2003-12-10
Reviewid: 62795Chapter: 1
What is the name of the follow up fic?
Mask

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59233Chapter: 1
Nice story!

Reviewer: 1726dedicatedfanDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58846Chapter: 1
lol, you're not hinting about reviews, are you? ;D i love it, lol your latin kick is fun :D a little confusing, tho, like watching foreign movies, trying to watch the action and read the subtitles at the same time. maybe have a little less of it when they're talking in conversations..it seems kinda unrealistic that they would all be fluent in latin, esp. Ron, lol. however, goodness that must've took a millenium and a day to find all those quotes and their translations, so for that, i salute you!

long live R/H shipping!! <3

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58339Chapter: 1
are you ever planning to update?!?!?!?!?!?!
In the meantime, I absolutely LLLLLLLOOOVVVVVEEEEE your fic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Latin is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58268Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved this! Great fic!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57887Chapter: 1
very cute, loved it, hurry up and write the sequel!

Reviewer: ProngsyDate: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57818Chapter: 1
What fic did Ady write, Elucreh? Please give me link! When did she write this one?

Oh, and I loved this one to, except I think Ron's admitting he likes Hermione was a little too casual. I think he'd find a much harder time saying something like that because not only have they known each other for a long time, but they're best friends, and that makes the situation a little more delicate. Same with Hermione. I got the impression that this is the first time that they admitted they liked each on more than a plutonic level. I don't know. I love the story, though, but I didn't like the "I like you" conversation. I ADORED the latin conversation the gang had before we cut to H/R.

Reviewer: warlockDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57590Chapter: 1
Mary? MARY?!

"Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam."

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57207Chapter: 1
~*~I love it~*~

Reviewer: KelDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57142Chapter: 1
That's great, I love the mottos, they fit so well :p
Only one thing, I think
Nos morituri te salutant should be salutamus -we salute, not they. You should complain to the The Yuni Latin Library ;)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57119Chapter: 1
Veni, lego, amo. I came, I read, I loved. I loved this! My Latin is too old to trust, but the words are close. Great work!

Reviewer: AlannaDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57114Chapter: 1
I loved your story. Like, absolutely loved your story. Write more! Please!
Sincerely, Helluo Librorum

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57101Chapter: 1
oh, hey, how extremely cool! brilliant use of latin! i took it for three years in high school and didn't really learn a thing...kudos to you for making impressive use of this really very dead language. you brought it to life. :) can't wait for the sequel!!

Reviewer: theleprachaun8mysoxDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57096Chapter: 1
Why can they alll suddenly speak latin? Nice fic, though.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57084Chapter: 1
An excellent way to practice Latin. Write a nice, not very fluffy fluff of a fanfic. Well done.

Reviewer: qDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57075Chapter: 1
Very lovely. Quite good.

Reviewer: AdyDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57058Chapter: 1
Awww... Looking forward to the next! I did kind of like how everyone kept talking in Latin, and there was a lot of gold in there. Kudos. ^_^

Reviewer: JennaDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57041Chapter: 1
You're a Stanner, aren't you! Non scholae sed vite! And a Gladiator fan, I take it? "We who are about to die salute you!" And if I'm wrong, ignore me. Loved the story, by the way.

Reviewer: Daphny DiggoryDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57025Chapter: 1
LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!! Very cute...hope it will be in book 6 ;)
Great job! Looking forward to the sequal. :)

Reviewer: mattyDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56998Chapter: 1
that was so good. the idea that ron and hermione weren't talking in english was great. i loved the latin sayings. and it was totally cute. i want more!!!!! :)

Reviewer: kaylaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56993Chapter: 1
I loved your story and am now, myself, obsessed with Latin quotes.
will await sequel.

Reviewer: OrangebananaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56974Chapter: 1
Ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!!! I have two things to say:
Great use of Latin. I've actually learnt something!!! and: ronald "Mary" weasley??? HAAAAA!! *Rolls about screaming with laughter on the floor*
This was great to read!!! I can't wait to read the sequal and to hear more about Ron "Mary" Weasley!!!
*Starts screaming with laughter again*

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56968Chapter: 1
This is quite interesting I must say.. I don't think it would ever really happen.. the fact that they all speak latin perfect is astounding considering their ages.. but a cute premis nonetheless.. I can't wait to read what you come up with for the sequal.
Sarah :0)

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56960Chapter: 1
That's my second question on the Mary thing...one of my fave fic authors decided this on a whim, but I love the idea behind it...it's a family tradition to give the first girl the mother's name as her middle name, but by the time they hit Ron, they'd given up on a girl, and, well...

It's one of those shameful secrets that every girl that's a close friend should know and exploit. Often. Therefore, it is Ron's name. It gives Hermione an advantage.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56942Chapter: 1
The Latin has me in giggle fits. It's marvelous! (My own motto, established some months ago: Pax pietas, which means "Peace and piety.") Dumbledore's motto is perfect for him!

But why, for the love of Quidditch, is Ron's middle name MARY???

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56901Chapter: 1
yay! Great story! Yay! Go latin! Yay!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56900Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWW!! :)

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56887Chapter: 1
that was very cute. I would love to see more.
I wasn't too keen on the Mary business though. lol
it made the whole thing seem OOC for a moment. but I guess it's good for a couple of laughs. :o)

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56877Chapter: 1
-Sniff!- I love it! So sweet and romantic. What a creative way to get Ron and Hermione together. Thank you for showing the rest of us how we ought to have done it. ;)

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56873Chapter: 1
Awww! That ending was so cute! I really enjoyed the whole story.

Reviewer: BaileyMacDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56858Chapter: 1
This was great! I loved Ginny's explanation of Hermione "She wants him..." etc, etc. It was just so perfect! And the "stupidity and blind hurtfulness of men" - classic! This was just wonderful all around. I can't wait to see the sequel...

Reviewer: AbbeyDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56856Chapter: 1
I LOVE YOU KATINA.

No really.

And this was a great fic, btw.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56854Chapter: 1
This is lovely - I loved playing with Latin mottos when I was about this age, may be a bit younger - and I loved Dumbledore's one!
Insanity

Reviewer: WrenDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56853Chapter: 1
This is so great!! Latin... ahh... romanticness. =) That's so cool, that everyone would be able to somewhat converse in Latin.

Reviewer: ella JWDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56852Chapter: 1
plot and romance aside, the idea of a bunch of modern english sixteen-year-olds, wizard or no, standing around reciting perfect Latin is in itself absolutely hysterical. add to that the sweet r/h fluff, and i say you've got a masterpiece! excuse me while i go copy all of those latin quotes into my profile...

Reviewer: LaFleurRougeDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56848Chapter: 1
Great story. I loved all the quotes and banter of characters. Write more soon!

(What about one for Harry and Ginny like this, that would be great!)

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56828Chapter: 1
ooooooooohhh i have been waiting for a story like this. I haven't laughed like that in a LONG time! Thank goodness for people who appreciate the fabulousness of Latin being spewed in normal conversation (you!), and we all have JKR to thank for making Latin such a pivotal part of magical life.
As far as I can tell those mottoes are in perfect Latin, though certainly my classical language skills end around second semester Latin. I seem to remember my professor warning us about the inaccuracies of websites like the one you use, but he was probably trying to keep us honest with our translation homework.
Excellent Excellent work, dear; I look forward to your next posting

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56824Chapter: 1
This was very cool except for the fact that they were all randomly speaking Latin...I mean, I know most of their spells are Latin, but it's kind of hard to believe their Latin would be that good.
Well, except for Hermione.
But other than that, this was so cute and sweet and awww...warm fuzzies. ^___^

Reviewer: P.D.YerfDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56799Chapter: 1
You like reviews, I'll give you reviews!! This story is so sweet! It made me laugh. In the middle of a dull school day, you brought color amongst the gray. *grin* I can't wait for the sequel ;)

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56785Chapter: 1
A fic that's half Latin?

Who would guess that I'd love it so much?

Great work. It will convince my kids that they need to work on their Latin!

Kizmet

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56766Chapter: 1
Very, very clever, using all those latin phrases! Very cute! You summed up how Hermione feels perfectly:

She wants him,” Ginny made a slight face, “and she doesn’t want him to think she’s dull, and then she gets mad at him because she doesn’t want to have to change to have him like her, and then she doesn’t want him to like her at all because he’s her best friend, and what about being friends and what about Harry, but oh, she just can’t take not knowing anymore, but she knows she can’t take knowing he doesn’t feel the same way…”

Yes! That's what Hermione was going through in OotP!

Reviewer: BuckbeakyDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56747Chapter: 1
Aw, I really like all of the latin. Takes me back to high school days, myself! And I love the quote he chose for her.

Reviewer: SibDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56729Chapter: 1
I really liked this story! I'm looking forward to seeing Harry's motto.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56719Chapter: 1
aw, that was just precious, wonderful, wonderful, I applaud thee!!

Also, thanks for giving me some Latin lessons....

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56716Chapter: 1
.............*is temporarily speechless*....................

Wowies. Excellente. (That's French, not a typo.) Very, very, very cool. No, KEWL. For a moment there, I'd thought that you'd made up all those quotes, then I realised that we're all human too. Except for all of the DA, who made up their own quotes.

I might add, near the end it got a tidbit too fluffy, but I'm still looking forward to the much-snogging-included sequel. ^.^

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56715Chapter: 1
This was so cute and original and well written! I loved it, and I can't wait for the sequel. :)

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56709Chapter: 1
Lol! That was very funny - and now I feel all educated as well! Ah, the wonders of educational fluff.

Tsk Ron. He needs a slap sometime. But he definitely redeemed himself, here.

Oh yes - a sequel would be most welcome. I'd love to hear Harry's motto. And Dumbledore's was perfection.

Amantes sunt amentes - that's brilliant!

Reviewer: VeritaserumDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56706Chapter: 1
Hey this was fab. It was a great idea to do it all in latin but it's a bit odd that they all know how to speak it isn't it!?!?! Very original!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --