The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-21
Reviewid: 136111Chapter: 6
Enjoyed. Thanks

Reviewer: LucyDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110963Chapter: 6
I just want to say this is easily the best fanfic I've read so far. It feels almost good enough to be part of one of the books, its so rich in detail and the two new characters really jump off the page. Just well done, you are a very talented author.

Reviewer: LouisaDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61744Chapter: 6
Please say the next chapter is on it's way?! I really enjoyed the piece so far, especially the references to Ron and Hermione's impending romance, one of my favourite plotlines in JKR's work so far! This is one of the few fanfics to make me truly laugh out loud, keep it up please! If you could pretty please let me know when the next installment is due, I would be so grateful!

Regards,
Louisa

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56053Chapter: 1
I've read this story a few times now, and I think there are three things that keep me coming back to it. First, I just love Veronica. She can be scatty one minute and winning the war of words with Snape the next, all mixed in with a huge dose of Hufflepuff loyalty and a rather strange taste in clothes. She really springs off the page. Secondly, Rupert Balin. I certainly don't love him - he is a really scary and deeply disturbing person. The scene in the Pensieve always makes me feel slightly ill, he disturbs me that much. Yuck. Thirdly, I love the gentle way that you have allowed Snape & Veronica's relationship to develop. It is nice to see him get to be friends with someone, and to watch the changes that makes to his personality. I think the way you write him slowly changing his opinion of Vee is masterly. The only thing I do have a slight reservation about is Dumbledore's actions with regard to Balin. Like Catherine I find it a bit hard to swallow that he would have let such a dreadful thing continue, but I suppose his reasoning is logical if not all that palatable. I'm going to reread part three now (sigh).

Atropos

Reviewer: Heather H.Date: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 38927Chapter: 6
*eyes widen* More... *is in a trance*

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24200Chapter: 6
This just gets better and better! I love the friendship that is developing between Snape and Veronica. His note was so sweet. It's good that he does have someone to tell him that he is one of the good guys.

Balin is a horrible character! But he's so well written. The same with Lucius Malfoy.

Another thing I really love is Veronica's relationship with Neville. I've always had a soft spot in my heart for that boy, so I love to see him have a new friend. It's so cute that he has a crush on her.

I can't wait to read part three!

Reviewer: DemelzaDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18961Chapter: 6
wow. this is such an amazing story - it truly is!!! I luv snape so much, and have constantly protested that all he needed was a girl. if it couldn't be me... lol j/k

*goes off to find the rest...*

Reviewer: DemelzaDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18960Chapter: 5
"but you can call me Sev!"

holy crickets - thats the funniest line ever lol. I almost fell out of my chair :D

Reviewer: SassyDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17469Chapter: 5
You've written Lucius Malfoy absolutely BRILLIANTLY! He's perfectly creepy and callow. I love how you've kept everyone in character while giving them your own little twists (especially since you've backed up their behavoir. So many people just write characters as they want them to be with no explaination)! :)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16093Chapter: 6
This was such a great chapter! Snape's note made me all teary eyed.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2382Chapter: 1
posted on the original sq by: Catherine
The Noisy Introvert
Posts: 1089
(5/10/02 2:03:20 pm )
Reply
Part 2
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hmmm. This was very good. Even though it looks like I don't like it in the first two paragraphs, I very much did. I just have some trouble with your ideas about Dumbledore and Veronica's situation with Balin.

I feel for Dumbledore, I really do. I have a hard time thinking that he would let Veronica's situation slide. I know he's not perfect, but in GoF, I think he shows how willing he is to throw conventionality in against evil. I know he is worried about Balin's power, but I just don't see him letting this happen. He's clever. He would have thought of something. I would almost rather assume he didn't know. I guess we have to assume he made a mistake, and he will make up for it. That just doesn't feel right to me, but that's only one woman's opinion.

I understand his concerns how you've painted them, in the story, however. I just have a hard time conceiving of this in his character. For your story, though, we'll take it as a given.

Otherwise, I am wholly and pleasantly satisfied. You are right, your Snape is pretty good. The man that you have portrayed could easily be the boy I am writing about. I like that he is undercover, and that he is really a good fellow underneath.

I REALLY like how Snape and Veronica develop a friendship, and that they joke together and enjoy each other. The chemistry is lovely here. I particularly appreciated their little food fight that Minerva interupts.

Balin is easily one of the best fan fiction villains I have encountered. What he does to Veronica is horriffic! I think as a writer you are wisest to leave these terrible things to the readers' imagination--it's always worse that way.

Of course, I hope that by the time I get to the end of Part 3, he gets what's coming to him.

Thank you for a wonderful piece of writing. I'm looking forward to finding time to read the last part.

Catherine

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2381Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 39
(2/20/02 3:55:34 pm )
Reply
Re: For the Love of Hufflepuff, Part 2
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks, NZ for all your nice reviews.

I've actually wondered myself what Snape thinks about his actions in defense of Veronica (he won't even tell me!). The Harry/Ron/Hermione dynamic is his most obvious example, but I don't think he'd be too pleased to see himself as Harry or Ron (even though part of him would like to be as free to follow his heart as they are). As much as he likes Veronica, this is all such a new experience for him that I think he's very ambivalent about it. I know you haven't gotten to part 3 yet ( I can't believe how long this story is!), but things are getting especially fun for me because Snape's ambivalence will be sorely challenged very soon.

Now, if I could just get to the beta-reading I promised to do to today...

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2380Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: NightZephyr
Registered User
Posts: 23
(2/19/02 6:00:00 pm )
Reply
Re: For the Love of Hufflepuff, Part 2
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Okay, I'm still catching up--but it's all wonderful!! (And I still get to look forward to Part 3!) There are so many excellent, excellent parts here, I'm going to have to go for the laundry-list effect.

Things I LOVED about "Hufflepuff, Part 2":

How Veronica derails Snape every time--so graciously!
You characterization of Neville
Veronica tempting Snape with the scones (a metaphor for
tempting him with her friendship?)
Dumbledore sort of 'nudges' Vee and Snape together-intentional?
Witch Weekly--but you can call me Sev! (Heehee!)
That Vee and Snape have to pretend to be bedmates to be friends
"Playing" at dinner at the staff table
Even before the note at Christmas re: the good guys, I wondered
if, when Snape was 'talking to' Draco, did he think of himself in
comparison to Ron defending Hermione, for instance, or Harry
defending any of the many people he has? If he made that
comparison, as the 'new' Snape now learning things about
himself, would he be sickened or feel proud?

And the very best part drum roll): The note at Christmas!!, and how they both felt about it. The whole Christmas scene seemed to sum up what their relationship had come to so far.

Just magnificent writing, and ditto for the ideas! Keep it coming (if the people you beta-read for don't bug you too much!

~~~Night Zephyr~~~

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2369Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 239
(12/20/01 1:21:17 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

OK, after one wonderful chapter you then go and outdo yourself!

I love how funny and sweet it is most of the way through and then ends on such a dark note. The bit with Balin at the end gave me chills.

I know I rave about Snape and Veronica's relationship in every single review, but honestly...it's awesome. It's so believeable, and it's wonderful that no matter where they end up they have both aquired a true friend. That note really said it all, and very nearly made me cry, too. And I *loved* the exchange over dinner with the food. Too, too funny. I loved seeing the students' reactions to it as well - Ron realising what he'd said cracked me up.

Draco's reaction really freaked me out, though. "One of them." That's exactly how I've always imagined Draco to think - in terms of 'us' and 'them' - but...yikes. I'm getting very, very worried about what might happen next.

- Katie, who loves this story and cannot wait for the next chapter

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2368Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 238
(12/20/01 11:51:42 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh Christina, this was a lovely chapter! As usual, you blended scariness and humor and heart beautifully. I like the way both Veronica and Sev are teetering between reveling in the friendship that they're developing, and wondering if there is something more. This line in particular is a classic:

>After all, he was just a broody and tortured Potions Master/spy with dark, piercing eyes and long black hair, who lived in a dungeon and could his deep, sonorous voice be any sexierů?

Love it! I'm glad Balin is coming back into the story - he was such a potent presence in the beginning.

And Yolanda is so right about the note - the simplicity of it was incredibly touching.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2367Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 450
(12/20/01 7:42:04 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
So many good things, so little time. I'm so glad you got chapter 6 up before I had to leave town. Their relationship has developed into something really delightful. Watching Severus discover friendship is like watching a child discovering something new. I loved the stroke reference.

Veronica may have suffered greatly, but like all the great trials in life, it's given her a sensitivity that might not have been there otherwise. The way she treats Neville is so sweet. Not much of a consolation to her, but good for us.

Their exchange at Christmas, particularly what he wrote to her and how she reacted made me cry. Very well done.

The final part is very chilling. Balin is evil personified-and now he's evil that's been waiting to burst back. He'll be even worse than he was before. Yikes!

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2366Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Renes
Registered User
Posts: 2
(12/10/01 4:24:34 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I love her story. Can't wait for the sixth chapter (and the rest of it!)

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2365Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 22
(12/8/01 3:39:30 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm so pleased we find out how Veronica met Gilderoy

Yes, that was just for you (really). I know you mentioned wanting to know about that *ages* ago, but for some reason it stuck with me. Glad you liked it.

Snape and Veronica's relationship is fantastic. I take back all comments about not wanting them to end up together.

As you know from the Lockhart bit, you're comments are very influential, so I'm so glad you changed your mind on this one. I still have no idea how it's going to turn out (I just write down what my characters tell me to), but I'm glad to know it won't put anybody off if they do end up together.

Whatever happens, it will be a natural progression of their relationship. I just adore them both and I want them to be happy, whatever that winds up looking like.

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2364Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 211
(12/7/01 9:34:55 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I think that chapter five is my favourite yet! I don't know where to start, though I suppose I'd better try.

A realistic, funny Snape-washing-his-hair scene! Snape using Sleekeazy's is hilarious. I love the idea that Snape puts oil on his hair because otherwise it's kind of big and bushy. And I very nearly fell off my chair at "You *touched* his hair?" "And lived!" Hehehe!!

Snape and Veronica's relationship is fantastic. I take back all comments about not wanting them to end up together. I think it'll be wonderful either way. Severus having a real friend for once is lovely. I was getting all aww-y over 'don't make me choose between my olnly friends'. You really get a sense of how lonely and isolated Snape's been before this.

Does this woman own any normal clothes? and the whole, "Tell me, Severus, what attracted you first? Was it the bath cap or the ducky pj's?" thing....Heee!! I was glad of the comic relief after the last chapter, and the whole thing was hilarious.

I loved the scene in the pub. I'm so pleased we find out how Veronica met Gilderoy. Thankyou. I love her vision of Sev on the front of Witch Weekly, too. Hee! And Lucius Malfoy so deserved much worse than he got there, even if it is getting poor Veronica into trouble. Hmm...I wonder how that'll be affected by Draco telling Lucius Snape and Veronica are sleeping together? It might even work in Veronica's favour...

I especially love all the little things - like Veronica thinking that of course she'd be reading Witch Weekly when Lucius Malfoy walks in. That reminds me *so* much of me. And the 'platonic squeeze' comment - wow.

Basically, I love this story. I can't wait for more.

- Katie, who is overly chuffed by the Lockhart thing and is using waaay too many smilies.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2363Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: clare009
Registered User
Posts: 1
(12/7/01 5:08:42 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
oooh - part 3 was great! Malfoy (father and son) is a complete bastard! I like the way that Veronica and Severus handle them.

As for them just being friends... huh! riiiight! The UST is already rearing its head.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2362Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 21
(12/7/01 1:16:30 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I agree with Yolanda, whichever way their relationship goes will be fine with me because I'm enjoying the journey so much.

So am I! Veronica and Severus continue to surprise even me on an almost daily basis. I like to think of them as the Lucy and Ethel of Hogwarts.

Thank you all for your nice comments. I think we all needed a giggle after that last chapter. Just one more chapter after this and then it's on to Hufflepuff Part III.

In other words, we're going to be here for a while...

Christina

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2361Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 230
(12/7/01 11:02:09 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
'Complications' had me giggling all over the place! The pub scene in particular was finely crafted. One of the really great characteristics about your writing is how you depict the little things - Veronica's and Snape's relationship grows by increments, and you show us that, as well as Snape's internal struggle and how he's beginning to learn to cope with it.

Most Snape hair-washing scenes give me hives, but I liked yours because it made sense within the narrative and wasn't a just prelude to snogging! I agree with Yolanda, whichever way their relationship goes will be fine with me because I'm enjoying the journey so much.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2360Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: The Elfir
Registered User
Posts: 71
(12/6/01 10:19:23 pm )
Reply
Lov o Huff II.5
------------------------------------------------------------------------
This story stands out against all the newfemaledarkartsprof stories because it's the only one that doesn't involve the DADA prof snogging Snape. Even better now! They're pretending to be snogging to have a platonic relationship! Veronica's so damn likable! The entire hair scene had me laughing, picturing a poofy haired Snape. Makes me wanna find a reason to use my Bad Hair Curse on him

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2359Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: MorganTuatha
Master of Spellotape
Posts: 285
(12/6/01 9:51:00 pm )
Reply
For The Love of Hufflepuff part II - Chapter 5
------------------------------------------------------------------------
This has been one of my most eagerly awaited updates. After the shock of the previous chapter, I was pleased to see you lead off with a laugh (actually a fit of giggles).
I love the Ollivander and Tom touches.
Lucius was perfect.
Snape, what can I say, wonderful.
Veronica has to be one of the strongest OC that I have ever read. Thank you.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2358Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 417
(12/6/01 8:53:30 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are so many things I like about your newest addition, Complications. I'll just list a few briefly. First, her pajamas are a hoot. Second, I just don't want to give anything away, but her solution to his problem is wonderful. Third, the scene with Lucius was very well done. I can certainly imagine him behaving that way. Finally, Severus' solution to the tension between his friendship with her and the duty he has is quite brilliant.

I'm really pleased with their friendship. I know the outcome I would want, but whatever direction they take, there is no substitute for that friendship. So many wonderful themes run through this story, but this is most important. For Severus to engage his heart rather than his intellect is difficult, but he will be a much better person for it.

Great job.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2357Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Severa Snape
Registered User
Posts: 1
(12/3/01 9:05:31 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I can't wait to read the third part of For the Love of Hufflepuff. The first two parts are extremely well written and had me captivated from the first word.

Reviewer: GennyDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1671Chapter: 1
Read the whole story but realized this part didn't have any reviews. GRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAATTTT Job. Give yourself A PAT ON THE BACK.

Reviewer: GennyDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1660Chapter: 6
Really Really REALLY good. I like how you pictured snape. That ANti Bully Charm is genius. Snape deserves it anyway. Even if he is good. He doesn't have to go to hard on him

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --