The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Normal
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: ladylorettaDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142619Chapter: 1
i love youre characterisation of Ellen, shes great :)
brilliant

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116610Chapter: 1
A very cute and well written story. Thank you.

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114725Chapter: 1
Wild guess at the book..."Hogwarts: A History" or maybe...just maybe "Flying with the Cannons"?

Great story.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83504Chapter: 1
Brilliant. Completely contrasts with my own characterization of Hermione's parents, but this story is very cool.

Reviewer: megamick50Date: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57507Chapter: 1
That was.. well.. Very good. I smiled, exhaled, and then smiled again. It's one of those stories that just kinda makes you smile softly, you know?

I really liked it. :)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57452Chapter: 1
Great job! I really like the ending. The suppressed mirth of Ellen at her Mother-in-law (as Ellen "agrees" with her about what is best for Hermione) is perfect. And I like the way you make Hermione take after both of her parents. Very cute!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57447Chapter: 1
BWAHAHAHA! I was ready to smack Gran for most of the story, but the end was perfect. Poor, deluded woman. A great story! Keep writing!

Reviewer: AlatheaDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57413Chapter: 1
Delightful.

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57396Chapter: 1
Fabulous, absolutly spiffy. I would ask for more, but I'm afraid if you work at it to hard you would crush the fresh spirit of it, so please, write again when the muse strikes.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57375Chapter: 1
THAT WAS AWESOME!

Olivia Granger sounds like a Dursley! I would hate being normal. Thank Merlin I was born weird!

The best part is........."Hermione was perfectly normal. "

GREAT STORY! Keep it up!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57365Chapter: 1
Ah yes,perfectly normal. ; )is there going to be more? It seems to be an abrupt ending.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57355Chapter: 1
I really like this story!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57344Chapter: 1
I love Olivia Granger! I like her opinionated meddling in her sonís family which shows, in a rather old fashioned way, how much she cares about Hermione. Youíve written a truly enjoyable tale which made me smile.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57319Chapter: 1
Lol...a great ficlet. I loved the character of Hermione's grandmother. She felt like a real grandmother, and had clear Granger qualities. The interactions between her and Hermione and Harry were humorous and touching. Overall, I loved it. Thanks! 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57301Chapter: 1
Ooooooooooh. So cute! Pretty please write more? Please?

Reviewer: Samiam77Date: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57292Chapter: 1
This is fantastic! Great idea to tell it from a completley different perspective :)

Reviewer: canis lupusDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57290Chapter: 1
nice. :) very...found Olivia rather annoying at first, but then...this woman seems to be nice to annoy...will she ever find out Hermione's a witch? :)

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57278Chapter: 1
Oh, that was great! What a Muggley grandmother for poor ickle Hermione! (Shh - don't tell, but she reminds me of my own grandmother too!)

Heh - no wonder Hermione's best friends with two boys, having blue bedroom walls at home!

Thanks!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57277Chapter: 1
I smiled. It's very nice to imagin Hermione relating very personally to Harry from the start. Priceless!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57240Chapter: 1
This was quite cute. I loved how she couldn't quite read the title- it didn't even occur to me that wizards might do that. I adore the idea of Hermione growing up in a blue room without dolls... The double-meaning of "wouldn't reach her potential" was wonderful. This was a very original POV, and it turned out quite well.

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57234Chapter: 1
An refreshingly clever look at what Hermione's backstory may be. I love the subtle irony, the combination of traits from her parents that Hermione possesses, and OH the doll on the roof!

Reviewer: Wendelin the WeirdDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57220Chapter: 1
Hilarious. hope you have other stories in your head; you tell them well.

Reviewer: skylarkingDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57201Chapter: 1
very nice-I enjoyed your writing!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57198Chapter: 1
This was excellent! I've never seen Hermione through her family's eyes and this was a great read!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57162Chapter: 1
lol! lol! I feel so sorry for Hermy's gramma! She just doesn't get it! lol!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57160Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! I enjoyed it very much. It's a nice story on its own but a sequel wouldn't hurt. I think it would kind of be interesting to see more of Olivia Granger.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57155Chapter: 1
Yeah, rigth, perfectly normal! Poor old grandma, she has no idea! It's nice how you show different sides of Hermione in her parents.
THe only thing that was annoying it that I have read a fic before where Hermione's mother was named "Olivia", so I had to keep reminding myself that here it is her grandma!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --