The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Millstone
Review(s): 37

Reviewer: reviewerDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130005Chapter: 1
Uh... Woah. I understand the sentiment, the guilt that plagues Dumbledore, but that was expressed, uh, in fancy. The notion that the biblical passages prove that muggles understand so much more than wizards is a little much, especially when you consider that your narrator is Dumbledore. I think if you reworked this fic it could be really excellent, but the way you have it now is kind of overwhelming.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126136Chapter: 1
Too far off character for me.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105108Chapter: 1
this is a great story, forgive me for saying this, I really dont mean anything bad by it but.... it sounds so Gay. Dumbledore I mean.

THen again, that little voice that we keep locked up can be a lot of things.

Great Writing!

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82582Chapter: 1
A nice idea for a fic, but I thought that the exclamations in caps were over the top, especially for Dumbledore. "MY SHINING BOY!!" and "MY SWEET TREASURE!!" I was actually really confused when I first read them, because I thought they were the thoughts of someone other than Dumbledore. The whole thing read as if Dumbledore was a bit in love with Harry, which is a disturbing thought. I can understand your take on what Dumbledore's thoughts would be, but if I had to write about Dumbledore's feelings during Harry's detentions with Umbridge, they would be a sort of quiet pride. There would be guilt, yes, and a desire to right the horrors in Harry's life, but there wouldn't be this intense longing to "mother" Harry.

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82562Chapter: 1
a nice story, brought a tear to my eye. a few things i didn't like though - not sure why dumbledore is so motional... the stuff in caps all sems very OOC, kind of feminine, possibly your own thoughts coming through? (lol, mine too - Harry, NO!) i guess that's a big part of writing fanfiction anyway, but i still thought it was off. soz! oveall though, a great fic, and everything else was great dumbledore!

Reviewer: ShriyaDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82556Chapter: 1
I didn't like the sentences in caps, but I did like the inner monologue of Dumbledore - he's another wise character, and you show an unusual weak moment when he struggles with himself. I loved the Biblical quotes and the passage about Muggles.

Reviewer: DzennkaDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82438Chapter: 1
Mmmm...angsty! One niggling little thing - in the books, Dumbledore calls McGonagall (I'm sure I misspelled that) by her first name, so he probably thinks of her as "Minerva" too.

Reviewer: lizzyDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82410Chapter: 1
It was good but the "OH MY TREASURE!" and "MY SHINING BOY!" bits were over the top. I can't imagine Dumbledore losing over that, or throwing up come to think of it.

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82328Chapter: 1
I like the Dumbledor talks to himself/Dumbledor talks to riddle thing, but you made Dumbledor waaaaaay too soft. "OH HARRY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!!"?
Dumbledor cares for Harry but he doesn't throw up for him or cry out in pain when his hand is cut. But the dumbledor/tom riddle coversations were really good!

Reviewer: RedDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82268Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this fic, it is well written and considering what an enigma Dumbledore is I applaud your ability to write him so in-charecter. However, some of the breaks in the story ( OH MY TREASURE!!! and OH HARRY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!!) come off seeming a bit extreme and almost silly.

Reviewer: MysticElfQweenDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77086Chapter: 1
Hey! I love your story! WONDERFUL!!!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74691Chapter: 1
> you learned not to cry.

Immensely powerful words, these.

I probably should have read this before your other story. Whatever, it's a great missing moment.

Reviewer: DevaDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72300Chapter: 1
Those thoughts of dumbledores seem pretty acurate to me- what else could he be thinking of. I also like the idea of tom Riddle being in his concious. On the other side those thoughts of Dumbledores seem a bit to personal and "mushy" to me. In my mind he wouldn't think of Harry as such a baby. Nice fic.

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69190Chapter: 1
Aw, see...I told you eventually I'd read ALL your fics. Absolutely excellent, as always! You're able to write different HP characters so well! You capture their very essence!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65127Chapter: 1
This is an amazing piece of work. I rarely see fics written from dumbledore's point of view, and when I do, they usually aren't very true to the character. This fic, however, is very true to the character and tells a touching story as well.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57876Chapter: 1
Oh, this did me so much good! I've been feeling angry with Dumbledore for so long for letting Harry suffer so much, and it's wonderful to have this chance to consider how much Dumbledore may have suffered too. Thank you - and it's beautifully written. How interesting to include quotes from the Bible; I've been wondering recently where wizards might stand with regard to religious beliefs!

I've also been thinking about Harry crying in the cupboard, and his need to cry now (in relation to something I'm trying to write at the moment - my first fic!) - your 'I left you with those damnable Muggles, and you learned not to ...' is spot on, for me. I do have someone in mind to help him, though, and I'd love to hear what you think.

Thank you for making me much more inclined to give Dumbledore the benefit of the doubt!

Reviewer: FlorDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57725Chapter: 1
i think that for your fisrt fiction you did great. you should write more you have talent

Reviewer: PennyDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57721Chapter: 1
Well, now I'm not mad at Dumbledore any more. (She says through her tears.)

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57682Chapter: 1
Dumbledore angst...never come across any this good. I really like this story. WEll, mb like isn't the word, it is so wretchedly sad, but it is very good...

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57680Chapter: 1
it was a good story, but i couldnt help thinking that he sounded a little IN love with harry...:-/

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57639Chapter: 1
Interesting idea, yet somehow I don't think Dumbledore would think the way you would have him think. I believe he regrets leaving Harry with the Dursley's yes, but I know he thought it was best, and probably still thinks so. Harry would not have grown up to be the boy he is if he had lived with someone else.
I do like the idea though, that someone was watching, helpless, as Harry was forced to torture himself with that Umbridge woman.. I look forward to reading what you come up with next!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: Swamp ThingDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57636Chapter: 1
Umm... Dumbledore/Harry slash, anyone? I'm not sure if that's whst you going for, but that's definitely how it seemed to me...

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57595Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness, that is a fantastic first fic! You really captured the self-disgust and apparent helplessness of Dumbledore...I really perceived this at the end of OoTP. This was so touching, I really cried! Just one thing-I think that this fic would end more powerfully without the "OH HARRY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH"..."I long for the mercy of a millstone" is so much mor powerful, it really conveys to the reader Dumbledore's self-hate, and the selfishness that often comes with guilt. Well done!

Reviewer: SkyeDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57466Chapter: 1
I think that Dumbledore's thoughts were a little...extreme in this fic. All in all, though, it was not bad. :-)

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57463Chapter: 1
Lovely keep going

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57407Chapter: 1
Good writing, although my one con is that Dumbledore is a bit TOO extreme. Other than that, I like the idea very much. I'll be watching for more fics of yours!

Hannah

Reviewer: ColletteDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57348Chapter: 1
Wow! What a story!!!! I absolutely loved it....especially that it challenges the reader to think about other stuff that's not related directly, like God and the words from the Bible. Definitley good stuff! Literarily, very in character for Dumbledore...as others have said, I'm sure Dumbledore must have been tormented by his decisions and whether or not they were the right ones. Excellently done! One last thing: It's good to see that other people don't see the Bible as completely opposite to Harry Potter. My favorite part was that connection.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57312Chapter: 1
A perfect alternate POV moment. I adore Dumbledore's character, and I think you captured the complexity of his character and how he must have felt very well here. And, it simply was written excellently - the flow and tone were prefect and kept me right with it until the end. A very moving piece. Well done, thanks for it. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57279Chapter: 1
This is great! You describe the confused thoughts of Albus Dumbledore very well. Dumbledore must have tormented himself the whole year like this.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57269Chapter: 1
This is so beautifully written! I have never felt like crying after reading a story until I read yours. You have captured Dumbledore’s anguish exquisitely and show just how much he loves Harry beautifully. Thank you for this look into Albus Dumbledore: even though I am a little put-off by him in canon, I can see the real man through your words.

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57250Chapter: 1
no words. wonderful!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57244Chapter: 1
This was... wow. Wow. Wow.

Let me start again.

This was... whew. Oh gosh.

This was good. This was great. This was AMAZING.

My heart is braking. His "poor sweet hand"... the reverence Dumbledore has for Harry is wonderful, he sounds just like a mother.

But the infants whimpers... (*cries*)...excellent. Heart-rending.

It's incredible how you have Tom Riddle acting as consience and as himself. This is a wonderul portayal of ...this. I can't wait to see what you write next.

Reviewer: Melindaleo2000Date: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57222Chapter: 1
I'm reading Here Be Monsters and when I first started this fic I thought this is so similar, I had to glance at the name to be sure! I really enjoyed this, although that is a funny word to use considering the topic matter! I do think Dumbledore was probably aware of what Umbridge did to Harry, he knows everything else! The thought of Harry whimpering in a closet as an infant is too sad to contemplate though!

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57217Chapter: 1
Pretty good for your first fic. I have to say that I didn't enjoy it all that much. Dumbledore seemed out of character.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57216Chapter: 1
Wow! That was very creepy, but very good! It was an interesting take on Dumbledore... and you made it seem so real!

Reviewer: tonyDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57156Chapter: 1
Really good look into what Dumbledore should be thinking at the time. He probaly does keep Tom Riddle in his head not to mention a lot of other things and people up there.
Nicely written. One question:
What is the silver that Tom mentions? I don't remember anything like that in the books.

Reviewer: LauranaDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57153Chapter: 1
Love it!! I've read all your stories on ff.net,and they're amazing. I hope you put Here there be Monsters and Daddy's Favoriter up here to.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --