The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 41

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139426Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: WormyDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128306Chapter: 1
Awesome POV writing, very touching story, and extremely well-written.

Reviewer: Lumos P. NoxDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108180Chapter: 1
Wow, a very touching story. You did a great job on his thought process and incorporating it into the story. I loved it!

Reviewer: spooky foxbabeDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107632Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwww...i wuv wuv wuv Nevvie...poor kid...

Reviewer: PheonixDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92945Chapter: 1
aaawww, Neville is so sweet, he always has been. thats such a cute, heart-warming story, i like it alot!

Reviewer: MeiraDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79623Chapter: 1
Its suuuuch a good story. Its sooooooo sad though. I always wondered how Neville felt. I imagined he felt something like the way you described. Nice job.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76185Chapter: 1
I hope that somehow... they could go back to normal. I accept they'll undoubtedly stay shy and skittish, but just so they can speak, take care of themselves, help raise Neville(even if his grandmother has to stay and help just in case), get back in sync with the world. Not shuffle about mousily and give Neville wrappers for presents and act dead.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 70015Chapter: 1
Very good interiors as to what Neville is feeling. Good pacing and tone and you write first person POV very well. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2004-02-08
Reviewid: 69906Chapter: 1
Sweet. Very sweet. He should have figured out before then that they were his friends...but, better late than never.

Reviewer: AllyssaDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65585Chapter: 1
That was a great fan fic. I never really thought about Neville that way...

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65400Chapter: 1
Aww, that was reallly good!

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65245Chapter: 1
How sad! Poor Neville is always underestimated. It's even worse when the death eater tortures him later on in the 5th book! I really like Neville, not many people write about him, good story!

Reviewer: MSDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64952Chapter: 1
This was sooo sweet. You did the feelings so well. It nearly made me cry (and I'm not one of those people who weeps every two seconds when a cute puppy comes on the TV). This is so well written, please write more.

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59518Chapter: 1
awwww. i luv Neville! he's my second fav. after his tormentor Snape >:)

Reviewer: allyDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59515Chapter: 1
NEVILLE!!!!!!!!!!!!! i luv ya!!!!!!!! anyway this story was beautiful, i know just how he feels (my dad isn't really there in the head), and i luv this story!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59458Chapter: 1
*lets out shuddering sigh* That was so beautiful. You captured Neville's character perfectly. His grief, his fear, his embarrasment, his...his love for his parents and gran *feels chest tighten* *sobs* My poor Neville! *runs away wailing*

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58712Chapter: 1
Aww! That was soooo sad. Now, I really hope Bellatrix get's what she deserves. Whatever Dumbledore says is worse than death. I hope Bellatrix get's that.

You kept Neville wonderfully in character and the piece was so well written. I only have one question: why did Neville think that it was Snape saying his name?

Reviewer: *yawning at this story*Date: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 57985Chapter: 1
I THINK...UM...IT'S...STUPID! IT JUST SAID BASICALLY THE EXACT SAME THINGS AS THE BOOK!...sorry but it's true...
BYE

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57941Chapter: 1
That is really sweet :)

Reviewer: ToriDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57926Chapter: 1
I've become alot more fond of Nevillle since the 5th book, and the end of the 4th. Before I was nnoyed, and thought he was comical relief, but I glad-or rather sad to say he's got a few things going on nobody knew about.

I think Neville will be a great big part of this story from now on, and even though my parents are both, fine I kinda relate to him on alot of levels, like I relate to Luna...because of my dad. Anyway it was very good, not soaked in sticky angst, it was perfect :)

Reviewer: aishaDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57924Chapter: 1
It's so beautiful! I felt throughly touched when Neville found his truest friends.*sniff*

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57803Chapter: 1
Wow. That was... wonderful. Really touching. Keep it up. :)

Reviewer: StephDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57778Chapter: 1
Aww...great insight on Neville's view of Christmas on the closed ward.

Reviewer: P.D.YerfDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57748Chapter: 1
Wow. That was awsome. Wow. It almost made me cry. Wow. WOW. Keep writing.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57735Chapter: 1
"my truest friends"... Oh, Neville.

That was a lovely fic. Thanks

Reviewer: Amethyst FluteDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57731Chapter: 1
Yay! You're writing on Sugar Quill! Congratulations! I thought it was really good how you explained this from Neville's point of view. It was interesting and sweet how he thinks of his parents...okay I really need to go...keep writing! (And e-mail too!) Trees are special!

Reviewer: R1&R2Date: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57716Chapter: 1
Maybe stories should have hanky warnings on them. This would be a 2 hanky story. I can't wait until HP6 when Neville gets to show his stuff with his own wand.

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57686Chapter: 1
I keep reading short, sad stories today... That part in OotP was so sad. Good job.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57640Chapter: 1
Break my heart!!!! Oh Neville.. I remember almost crying when I read that part in the book.. and to now read it from Neville's point of view.. he must have been so embarrassed and ashamed.. I really feel horrible for him..
I really love this fic.. I think you've captured Neville perfectly.. well done!!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: HP Story SurferDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57617Chapter: 1
Very, very emotional. (sob, sob) But also very goooooood! You should have even more emotion stories, because they'll probably be good like this one.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57599Chapter: 1
I'm impressed, really. This is a very touching story, and you describe Neville's feelings towards his parents and his Gran, regardless their respective faults, very well. And Neville realising that Harry, Hermione, Ginny and Harry are his truest friends - that's just great.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57580Chapter: 1
What a beautiful story! I have come to love and respect Neville Longbottom over the course of reading the HP series. His character grows with each book and your story puts a wonderful perspective on his role in OotP. I was struck by Neville's discovery in the closed ward:

"But they didnít laugh, in fact, they looked horrified and I think thatís the first time I realized that they are my truest friends."

Neville needs friends like Harry, Hermione, Ginny and Ron and I'm glad you helped him discover who truly cares about what happens to him and his family.

Thanks for a very enjoyable story. It is one that I will be coming back to read over and over.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57574Chapter: 1
Nice job! I love this scene! In fact, I have a story from Neville's POV that deals with the same scene. You do a good job giving us Neville's motivation. I agree completely that he doesn't tell people about his parents for noble reasons. It's nice to see someone else standing up for Neville!

Reviewer: Basil MDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57566Chapter: 1
Aww... Poor Neville. I've always thought this was one of the saddest parts of the book. Good job on the alernative prosepctive.

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57552Chapter: 1
Phoenix's Melody,
Wow, very, very nice. I haven't read many (any, actually) Neville fics, but this really, really gives a good portrayal of him. We know so little about him from Canon but this is very indepth despite it's length. If you keep on writing (and I hope you will) then I strongly suggest more Neville work- it's brilliant.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: skylarkingDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57548Chapter: 1
this was really touching-nice to read about Neville's point of view. keep writing!

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57545Chapter: 1
That was so sad and touching.

"So I did what Iíve always done as we left the ward and my shocked classmates ó I slipped the wrapper into my pocket and promised to myself to keep it safe."

I want to see more of your writing soon!

Hannah

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57541Chapter: 1
"They live there because theyíre incapacitated. Thatís just the nice word for insane."

Great job with Neville - with his love for his parents and his Gran, no confidence when it comes to Potions, and the courage underneathe the soft demeanor: "Iíve taken them on before ó never mind that Hermione put a Full-Body Bind on me before I could do anything".

Nice job.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57539Chapter: 1
Excellent insight into Neville's mind! :)

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57526Chapter: 1
Very nice. I think the line that defines the story is "I think that's the first time I realized that they are my truest friends."

I wonder if his Gran realizes how much damage she's done?

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57514Chapter: 1
"I finally gathered the courage to look my classmates in the eye, daring them to laugh at my mum. Iíve taken them on before ó never mind that Hermione put a Full-Body Bind on me before I could do anything. But they didnít laugh, in fact, they looked horrified and I think thatís the first time I realized that they are my truest friends." Very sweet and touching. I always hoped that Neville realized how much Harry and the others loved him and now your story will be in my mind next time I read the book. Bravo. LOL.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --