The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Grimmauld Ghosts
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Amick_woodsDate: 2006-05-26
Reviewid: 143055Chapter: 1
Awesome. I don't have much else to say, I just really really liked this one. I perfect little two-way glimpse into a world I feel we weren't necessarily meant to see, but I'm glad we have. Well done!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126772Chapter: 1
An excellent piece

Reviewer: TashaDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62130Chapter: 1
Go me! I actually got round to doing a review for you! I love this story. Everytime I read it, it makes me all sad. I love how you write Bella and I think its excellent how you had it as Sirius remembering the incident

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59987Chapter: 1
"...the whirling phantoms of wasted dreams".
That line makes my skin crawl.
Because it's so true!
Good story.

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59301Chapter: 1
Oh wow. That was so chilling and emotional. I like how you portray Bella as an innocent little girl who gets lost in her imagination, and then how you flash foward to Sirius remembering laughing at her. It makes you feel bad for her. And then, "the shadow of a scream in a dismal hallway, faded carpet stains on ragged stairs, the ghost of a dark-haired girl playing alone in an empty room" made me think of a haunted house filled with... I dont know, demons. Like Sirius's demons. Chilling. Verry chilling. Great job, please write more about the Blacks!!
>> If any house deserved a beating, she mused, her tiny fingers tracing odd shapes on the misty pane, this one did.>>

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58706Chapter: 1
Uh, sorry. I just can't picture Bella being so innocent like that. The idea about Bella dancing around is VERY chilling. Kind of like in haunted houses where they have dead evil fairy tale characters. That kind of chilling.

The Sirius part I loved. RIP, Sirius.

Great dialouge, great description. ^_^

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58692Chapter: 1
Nicely done. Subtle and not screaming over the top. All children start out innocent and the loss of innocence is to be mourned in everyone. This has a nice tone. The mood starts dark and lightens as she dances, and the interruption lets us see Sirius' current sadness, all the worse because of the memory he's trapped in. And That gets worse when we go back to Bella. Godd job!

Reviewer: RonniekinsDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58690Chapter: 1
Wow! A lot of points here for originality, definitely. I've only seen fics, here and on other sites, where Bellatrix loves 12 Grimauld Place and all the Blacks. I'm surprised that she didn't think that Regulus and Sirius would play with her. :-)

My only quibble would be that I was a bit confused when you suddenly switched to Sirius' POV in 1995/6. You could have done a little thingy like this:

~*~

just to show that you were changing POVs and times.

Anywho, I DID like how you also incorporated Sirius in this fic. *grin*

Write more Black stuff! There needs to be more in the fandom!

Reviewer: NinaDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58651Chapter: 1
It was really great!!! I think you should try turning
it into the prolog of a story. If you did I couldn't
wait to read it.

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58461Chapter: 1
This is an amazing story...the poictures you paint with your words are exotically detailed and rich, and the depth of emotion behind the subtle simplicity of the prose is clearly apparent. I love the way you have characterised Bellatrix...just enough to make us feel for her, and wonder what has happaned to her in that house, without going as far as to try and make us sympathise with/forgive Sirius' murderer!
Very well, done indeed-I love the paragraph about 'the shadow of a scream in a dismal hallway, faded carpet stains on the ragged stairs'...so chilling-it inspires morbid curiosity, whilst at the same time making the reader recoil from the dark deeds perform at 12 Grimmauld Place, and wonder what hell of a childhood Sirius had to deal with. Excellent work, and I can't wait to read anther of your pieces!

Reviewer: ClarryDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58430Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really good, I like the way you sort of merged the past with the preset. I really enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: unknownDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58394Chapter: 1
nice. veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry emotional story.

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58332Chapter: 1
Wow! Amazingly detailed, a story that doesn't need a huge plot to make it interesting. Very nice!

Hannah

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58204Chapter: 1
Very interesting charcterization of Bellatrix--not misunderstood, but not evil incarnate either. I also like the flash forward, then flash back.
--These were demons only Sirius noticed, for only he knew them well enough to remember their origins.--
Oooh, nasty (in a good way)! This whole paragraph gave me the shivers. Poor, poor Sirius.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58176Chapter: 1
That was beautifully written: flowing descriptions and a lyric, poetic quality. Excellent fic.

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58154Chapter: 1
You go, girl!!! I still love this story, and thanks for your high praise of my miniscule contributions to it! I'm not worthy, I'm not worthy! *kneeling and bowing to the ground*

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58111Chapter: 1
Very interesting characterization of Bella. And the writing was fabulous - a perfect tone for the piece. I really enjoyed it, thanks so much! 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58076Chapter: 1
This was incredibly good. The pictures you painted were amazing- the young girl dancing around, singing... I loved how you had it all be in Sirius' memory. The things you mentioned: carpet stains, shadows of screams... this was wonderful. Very well done, can't wait to see your next write.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58053Chapter: 1
An interesting look at Bellatrix. You almost made me sympathize with her.

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58041Chapter: 1
What can you say to that? Spot on is appropriate.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58035Chapter: 1
This was really good! It was interesting to see Bella's POV of the old Black house.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --