The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Always Pure
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: ladytalksalot17Date: 2007-07-06
Reviewid: 148451Chapter: 1
oh my god that was so good and so incredibly shocking!

Reviewer: Amick_woodsDate: 2006-05-26
Reviewid: 143056Chapter: 1
Wow. Intense! I don't really know what else to say, but I liked it! A good view of Sirius' mother. Well done!

Reviewer: LucullusDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124947Chapter: 1
Dear god this is definitely one of the best One-Shots I have had the fortune to read. Your writing style is excellent, and I love your portrayal of Regulus. Much better than the stuck-up coward I had in mind after reading the short excerpt about him in OOTP. You really did justice to his character.

Sirius's mother was also well-written, typical of her seeing how nasty even her portrait is.

But it was the last scene...I knew Reg would be killed in the end, but the way you wrote it, wow, breathtaking. I never did expect him to die like that.

Overall, great job!

Reviewer: jojoDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116774Chapter: 1
oh my god

Reviewer: hydraspitDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75174Chapter: 1
wow. I'm speechless. Why isn't this on the Professor's Bookshelf? It is amazing! One of the most powerful fics I've ever read.

Reviewer: Lord Elrond of HogwartsDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72674Chapter: 1
Hey! I'm Lord Elrond of Hogwarts from FF! I just found this site because of your fic randomly from Google. Wanted to review again to show you how much I love it! Though I have a morbid sense of humor and it sounds funny when you just think that Avada Kedavra takes the place of I love you. lol. Anyway, great fic!

Reviewer: gabyDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67882Chapter: 1
that is sooooooo good!! i wish there was a sequel to it....

Reviewer: SusainDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61847Chapter: 1
That was a wonderful. EXTREMLY unexpected ending. I wish I'd've had a camera when I finished...I could feel my face twisting into some....weird odd looking shape. Four stars! :) Write some more! :)

Reviewer: SerianaDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61660Chapter: 1
Demented much, but oh so engrossing. Wow.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61211Chapter: 1
goodness...that ending left me dumbstruck! what a powerful piece you've written; so very bittersweet. well done!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: MadelynDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61208Chapter: 1
Wow, that was fantastic. Very like how I imagine Regulus. Of course he only joined the Death Eaters because he craved outside validation. Liked the descriptions of crazy Alycone's innocent brown eyes. It seemed very ironic considering how evil she actually is. Hope to see more from you!

Love, Madelyn

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61204Chapter: 1
That just...I'm speechless. I'm really speechless. It was brilliant! Well done!

Reviewer: Deegie_LupinDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61198Chapter: 1
That gave me chills down my spine.

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59025Chapter: 1
Wow! Your story was really good. You switched between past and present tense a lot, but I think that gave it a really neat style. The ending was very surprising, but very good. I enjoy your description of Narcissa and Bellatrix, good comparison between the two.

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58711Chapter: 1
really cold story, like a spirit who is telling a story in a dryly language, some sort of dry sense like le petit nicolas, I LOVE IT

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58705Chapter: 1
Whoah! This is really good and really creepy.

>>They tortured Corneilia, slashing open her stomach, hitting her with Cruciatus.<<

Ugh. Very, very graphic.

This was a really good fic. The language was awesome and it flowed really well. My compliments to the author.

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58704Chapter: 1
WOW !!!!
Just WOW !!! the twist was ... well just WOW ! ^_^
It would be a cool way to see things too, I never thought of that but it's a really likely possibility that they're working this way ... okay, one last WOW ?!

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58693Chapter: 1
Wow. That kind of freaked me out. I loved it though. I loved every minute of it. Please write more. Please! I adored it! I need more! You are an EXCELLENT author.

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58656Chapter: 1
wow. That is really creepy. But a wonderful peice of work all the sme! I can't wait for you to write somethin else! you are talented in thinking up good ploti=kines! Brillinat. Pure brilliant, bone chilling ending. Write me i would luve to talk to you.

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58613Chapter: 1
Suddenly Sirius tripped on a rock, and Bella, shrieking triumphantly, stabbed him in the stomach. My brother toppled over and lay still and, to my absolute horror, lifeless. >> This is like what happened in OotP!! I like it!

I screamed and ran for Sirius. I was crying, praying that he wasn’t dead. I called his name over and over again, hoping for him to respond.

I was only three, remember that.

Sirius’ eyes snapped open, and he asked me why I was crying. Grateful that my brother wasn’t dead, I wrapped him into a big bear hug. "I thought you were dead," I sobbed into his shoulder. "I thought you had left me."

"Oh, Reggie," he said, calling me by the nickname placed on me when I was born, and Sirius couldn’t say ‘Regulus’. "I’d never, ever leave you."

"Promise?" I sniffed.

"I promise. We’ll be bestest friends forever."

He lied.
>> OMG, that is my favourite part!! Its also like the scene in OotP *sobs* I like the fact that they were all friends and they loved eachother until Sirius got sorted into Gryffindor and broke the family apart.


This fic is sooo great. You did such a wonderful job, and it was so chilling and spooky! I absolutely loved it!! Keep writing, please!!

Reviewer: AliakDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58479Chapter: 1
wow, that was REALLY good. The ending was so unpredictable! Great work!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58452Chapter: 1
Woah.

Very, very well written, and its a great view on Regulus' last moments.

=) Really shocking twist there!

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58447Chapter: 1
Wow! What a fantastic ending! That is an amazing way to interpret what Sirius said about Regulus being killed on Voldemort's instuctions...really imaginative.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58432Chapter: 1
Whoa. That was amazing. I would be very interested in hearing your take on a James-Lily story!

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58312Chapter: 1
This story is the first of the many great ones that will come from you. It's amazing, especially the ending. I wasn't ex[ecting it at all. It took my breath away. Fantastic job.

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58298Chapter: 1
Chilling. Absolutely chilling. I love the characterization of Regulus... loves his brother, but wants to please his parents more. His reaction to his first attack was great, and the description of the attack itself was quite disturbing.

Great job weaving in the last scene. I got chills at the last bit.

Well done!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58256Chapter: 1
Whew. I knew where you were going, and even though I didn't want ot go, you did a good job of pulling me along. Very disturbing. It gives you a feeling of evil. And it fits the description of Regulus. Slightly inept. Momma's boy.

You do a good job of weaving the last scene into the other text. It made the end fell more hopeless. Great work!

Reviewer: Laura Elizibeth WilsonDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58246Chapter: 1
He WHAT??

He seemed like such a nicer one too! I bet she lied the whole time! How could she do that!

Wholey Monkeys! Can you say a plot twist?

By the way, it was excellent, very well written.

Reviewer: Avari SloneDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58240Chapter: 1
A very interesting take on what happened to Regulus Black during his stint as a Death Eater. If you were meaning the end to be an absolute surprise, you gave too many hints. Though I find that some of the best descriptions of characters and their reactions is during that portion of the story. So it wasn't a surprise but it was a truly excellent story.

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58231Chapter: 1
Wow. This is truly amazing! I really love it! TRULY!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58216Chapter: 1
OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG
Sorry

BUT I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT!

I loved how you give Regulus a story....

"I promise. We’ll be bestest friends forever."

He lied.
--That was really good, something that brothers would say to each other.

~~Katie Bell
I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58205Chapter: 1
Very nice trick ending. Completely unexpected. I also like your charcterization of Regulus. My only thing: when Reg. is describing the other new Slytherins, he says that Kathleen talks too much about her money and George acts like he's the king. I think that that would be normal from Slytherins--they've been the way that they are in the books for long enough to get a reputation, and Sirius also seemed to act like "he's the king" (in the scene in the pensieve, anyway). But other than that, great!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58132Chapter: 1
Wow. Beautiful. It's really creepy, especially to see how the Death Eaters are organised.

After the second part in italics, I started wondering if the woman would kill off Regulus, but I discarded the thought :)

I liked it that Regulus' best friend reminds him of Sirius.

"Surely Alycone wouldn’t turn me in for what I was going to say next."
That's maybe a bit too obvious. We readers can think for ourselves, too :)

All in all, excellent story!

Reviewer: canis lupusDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58128Chapter: 1
woah. that was... surprising. yeah. definitely did NOT expect the end...but yes. fitting.

great twist. it's believable. :)

regulus here is...i dunno. not the weakling i made him out to be in the book, but he's not exactly noble like all the same.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58112Chapter: 1
Oh, wow...'shivers' I love what you've done with the Mother. A haunting piece...wonderfully written. A nice image of some of the Blacks. Great job.

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58093Chapter: 1
This was awesome! I liked to see REgulus's POV and welcome to SQ!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58088Chapter: 1
Ohhh... wonderful. Very dark, almost too much.

"Mother gave him a handful of the Cruciatus." made me shiver.

Thanks!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58074Chapter: 1
Woh! This is really freaky! Especially the end!

Reviewer: GUESS WHO?Date: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58058Chapter: 1
Hi . u got it on the site! good show, budgie good show! ;)

Reviewer: Zinnia EvansDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58054Chapter: 1
Um. Eh. Wow.

Beautifully written, first of all. Your characterzation of Regulus is fascinating, and I really like the humanization you've done with the DEs.

But I'm completely disturbed by that ending. I never saw that coming.

Great work, though!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --