The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 64

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-09-03
Reviewid: 149142Chapter: 1
Beautiful! I love the song interspersed with the story. Very appropriate and effectively written.

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132231Chapter: 1
This proves they are MEANT TO BE!! Ginny comforts harry more than anything else! she has some sort of good effect on him. HBP ch.24 Sectumsempra. Best chapter i have EVER read!!! EVER! EVER! EVER! hahaha
Jessica

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115539Chapter: 1
Oh, man, I love the song "Bridge Over Troubled Water." It does really well with this scene. I always wondered what Ginny was doing and thinking when she HAPPENED to be in the library ai the same time as Harry. Huh.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109953Chapter: 1
read it. nice if you like instant. more please.

Reviewer: GinnyBeeDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107822Chapter: 1
This is so sweet! And I love this song!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105282Chapter: 1
How nice! I really enjoyed this (as much as I enjoyed reading OOTP <sigh> c'mon book six!). I think all of us h/g shippers loved that moment in the book. It's so good to know Ginny can actually talk around Harry now, isn't it? Very good job and again I love your writing style. Hope to see more from you soon!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103369Chapter: 1
I completely forgot about this scene from the books! I am not much of a Harry/Ginny-shipper, but you almost convinced me. ;-)
~K.

Reviewer: Mirax_TerrikDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92029Chapter: 1
Yay!! I love it! I too love the chocolate in the library scene. Thanks for sharing a Ginny pov of this moment! I enjoyed it! ^_~

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 89008Chapter: 1
I liked that. Nice insights into Ginny's feelings. I love this scene too! Harry and Ginny so belong together...

Reviewer: elanorDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88648Chapter: 1
love it!!

Reviewer: Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88327Chapter: 1
adorable! I love H/G, though I agree with Ari, right now Harry still sees Ginny as his best friend's little sis...maybe book seven? anyway, great job!

Reviewer: qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnmDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88301Chapter: 1
This story was a perfect length.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83490Chapter: 1
"Bridge Over Troubled Water" has a lot of personal meaning for me, and I'm glad you chose to use it in an H/G fic. It's nice, but there wasn't really much in addition to what is already in the books. I can guess that Ginny felt the way you wrote her, so there wasn't much else to add depth and originality to your fic.

Reviewer: Aliya BlackDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78961Chapter: 1
CUTE STORY

Reviewer: GeorgiaDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69690Chapter: 1
I feel exactly the same way! i nearly screamed! Didn't get quite as far as writting a fic on it though... :)
Not too fluffy, i liked that fact, it made it seem more realistic! keep writting!

Reviewer: AriDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65965Chapter: 1
Great writing, but I'm not a big Harry and Ginny fan. At least not 'till later in the books, he still thinks of her as his best friends sister.
You really captured Ginny though- independent, but really cares about her friends. Great job, keep it up!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65837Chapter: 1
Awww! That was adorable. You've done a great job switching POVs for this scene. You've captured exactly what I thought Ginny was thinking, and written it very well! Great job!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65833Chapter: 1
=)

Reviewer: Mad Eye MoodyDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65340Chapter: 1
that was really cute! I absolutely LOVED that scene from the book! I'm glad you decided to tell it from Ginny's view. Great job!!!

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65187Chapter: 1
Awesome story! That song is perfect for this story, and it is one of my favorite songs. (My school chorus sings it just about every year...) I am eager for more Harry and Ginny interaction. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: karrieDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61422Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved this story! It was such a good bit in the book for all us ginny/harry fans when they FINALLY got a little time alone together but this fic makes it complete! Great writing, excellent idea, fantastic Ginny POV, so true to the book. Good job!

Reviewer: RedDate: 2003-11-13
Reviewid: 59905Chapter: 1
Ginny is fav character in the Harry Potter series but I dont think she's over him ... Oh no she merely gave up on him "noticing" her as the same way she "likes" Harry.

Reviewer: juanaDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59139Chapter: 1
H/G to the end!!!! Oh... how overwhelming! So sweeeet! I luvd it! And Simon & Garfunkel's song went OH SO WELL!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58715Chapter: 1
An excellent fic. I'm glad you didn't make an overly angsty Ginny, and both she and Harry were very well written. A good job!

Reviewer: FioDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58697Chapter: 1
LOVE IT LOVE LOVE IT!!!! Great, just sweet enough to feel warm and fuzzy inside, but not to much to barf. I love simple little conversations like that that are so cute. Nice song too! It really fit the story!

Reviewer: jessiDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58644Chapter: 1
oh i do believe you should continue....

Reviewer: *Classified*Date: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58626Chapter: 1
Add on! And make a bit up. Like a trip to hogsmade w ginny.

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58616Chapter: 1
*Awesome, that was a gr8 scene in the book, it's good to see it in Ginny's POV.*

Reviewer: Kaikura TenshiDate: 2003-11-02
Reviewid: 58546Chapter: 1
That was cute and sweet. I like the way you put the lyircs into the story, whenever I put lyrics in my stories it looks weird, you did it very well!

~Kai =^_^=

Reviewer: LizzieDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58468Chapter: 1
It was really sweet and SO cute. Lets face it though the day Ginny really gets over Harry is the day the twins become like Percy

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58450Chapter: 1
Aww =) That's so sweet! ^__^ I think you did a perfect job =)

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58424Chapter: 1
I like it! Sweet and but I still won't believe Ginny is truely over Harry. ha.

=]

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58389Chapter: 1
HURRAH FOR H/G! That was so sweet. I love little H/G's like this, when you don't know what the heck is really going through Ginny's mind when it comes to poor Harry.

Great job!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58383Chapter: 1
I love it!!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58373Chapter: 1
I love it! Thank you for a sincere, simple fic that is so VERY in character.

Reviewer: CaderynDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58361Chapter: 1
Wow!! Nicely done H/G! very short and sweet, but not too fluffy... And it fits with the book too!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58316Chapter: 1
Well, I wrote a nice long juicy review, but my stupid git computer stuffed up... *grumbles under breath* good for nothing... faulty muggle contraption!
I read your other reviews, and they all say what I was thinking. Perfect characterisation of Ginny. Loving the I'm-over-him-REALLY-but-I-can-still-care-can't-I?ness. Would have lost my lunch if it'd been a I-just-pretend-to-be-over-AMAZING-Harry-because-I-know-he-doesn't-like-me-so-I've-thrown-myself-at-Micheal-and-next-I'll-throw-myself-at-Dean-and however-many-other-boys-it-takes-to-distract-me Ginny. Does that make sence?
And, I usually don't read fics with songs in, but you did it really well. Bravo.
And finally, "She was rubbish at relationship stuff." Perfect!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58284Chapter: 1
hurrah for "Bridge Over Troubled Water"! we lurve that song, and it's just perfect for this little vignette. ginny's being a friend to harry, which is what he needs. well done, m'dear, well done!

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58239Chapter: 1
It's great to see this up here! My favorite part of this fic is how it doesn't try to make the H/G-ness of this episode any more romantic than the book does. It's there, very subtely, but Ginny isn't being nice to Harry because she's in love with him, she's being nice to him because he's someone that she cares about. Lovely, lovely - and, in my opinion, very in line with the book.

Some favorite lines:

>She'd taken half the Quidditch practice to think of what to do to help Harry out, but then Angelina yelled at her for not paying attention (she missed the snitch three times).< - Yes! An imperfect Ginny in a fanfic!

>"Harry, I'm talking to you, can you hear me?" Ginny asked, slightly peeved.< - And no blushing "pretending not to have a crush" Ginny either. If he ignores her, she gets "peeved"!

>She was rubbish at romantic advice.<

Great job!

-Stella

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58225Chapter: 1
OotP finally convinced me that Harry and Ginny were meant to be, and now i can't get enough of them! cute fic!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58210Chapter: 1
My kind of fic! Very short, but also very sweet. It was also very subtly H/G.... what can I say, OoTP has made me become a shipper. Actually, I'd always sort of shipped it, but more because I was R/Hr, and all the R/Hr fics seemed to be shipping H/G, too.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58202Chapter: 1
Yippee! A songfic where I know the song!
I like your Ginny: not preoccupied with Harry, yet obviously (to us, at any rate) interested. Brava.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58182Chapter: 1
CUTE! I love having Ginny comment a few different times that she's "over" Harry. (Right, Ginny...whatever you say, dear...we all know the truth!)

The story fits the theme of the song so well and leaves you feeling sweet and smiley at the end. Great job, Aeterna!

Reviewer: JDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58181Chapter: 1
Very nicely done. You really stuck to Ginny's character. Great POV! No one gives Ginny the recognition she deserves!!!!! Thank you!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Margaret BDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58174Chapter: 1
I love the title- it really fits!! This is a great new take on the "chocolate in the library" scene, which of course was great in the first place because it involved Ginny!!! Your incorporate the dialogue and Ginny's thoughts really well, and the ending it nice too!
~Margaret

Reviewer: BaileyMacDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58172Chapter: 1
Cute cute cute! I just LOVE H/G!! I just recently reread this exact section in the book - don't you just love it? How can anyone say they won't get together? It's fate! :)

Very nice take on Ginny's POV...

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58171Chapter: 1
That was sweet! I think you kept Ginny very much in character -- we've seen her to be a compassionate and caring person. I'm normally not a fan of songfics, but I like what you did here. :) The song choice and story length integrate well.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58169Chapter: 1
Oh...that was sweet! Thanks for giving us Ginny's POV!

Reviewer: Sammy WeasleyDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58163Chapter: 1
nice story. i really liked the ginny pov. great ginny thoughts.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58162Chapter: 1
aw, cuteness!!

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58146Chapter: 1
really good :)
I liked it ;)

Reviewer: :/Date: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58142Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Very well written, and Harry and Ginny were definitely in character.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58138Chapter: 1
Great job! I like the interweaving of ginny's POV and emotions into the canon. And it is not over the top! Solidly G/H, but not rip the robes off romance. (Not that I am against that!)

And I like the subtle song lyrics. They help set the mood, but don't take over. Great work!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58131Chapter: 1
You have demonstrated a remarkable restraint in this fic, which has made your portrayals of both Ginny and Harry very believable. No Cinnamon-HairedRepressedPassion!Ginny - just a kind, determined person who wants to help a good friend. No SuddenRevalationOfTrueLove!Harry - just normal Harry really. The song was an inspired choice, and illustrates the fic's subtext nicely without making it too dominant. One tiny piece of Brit crit - I think you have used the word 'cushy' as a synonym for 'comfortable' which is quite unusual. It normally means something that is undesevedly easy, such in the phrase 'it's a cushy job but someone's got to do it.' A really lovely job overall though. I look forward to reading more of your work here in the Quill.

Atropos

Reviewer: StMargaretsDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58126Chapter: 1
I liked this a lot. Of course, I'm a huge H/G shipper and this is such a wonderful scene. I'm glad you didn't load it down whith too much Ginny internal dialogue, but let the song carry the emotional freight. A very delicate balance which you pulled off--rare in an H/G story.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58123Chapter: 1
I'm generally not a big fan of song-fics, but this was lovely! And it really fitted. Ginny was the bridge through to Harry on more than one occasion in OotP, and you did a wonderful job of showing that here. Please write more from Ginny's point of view, because I think you portray her beautifully!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58117Chapter: 1
*grins* Go, Ginny! :) Great fic. Hope you write more from Ginny's pov.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58105Chapter: 1
Oh, I thought this was wonderful. Absolutely lovely. You did a great job of capturing the scene and giving us Ginny's POV. Great job. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58103Chapter: 1
Yeah! This was an awesome POV of that part. I loved it! Awesome job!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58085Chapter: 1
Beautiful... I loved the pacing. It seemed so calm, and gentle (although that may have been the song in my head).

That was a really effective piece of writing. It seems far too short - but I guess that's canon for you. *frowns*

Thanks!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58084Chapter: 1
I love it!! It made me smile. One of my favorite songs in a story about 2 of my favorite characters. Nice combination. Please write more.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58069Chapter: 1
Ah, beautiful. Ginny makes Harry happy. And that's the way it should be. I will look forward to many more of the like in the future! (hint, hint)

Reviewer: BonnieDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58062Chapter: 1
Yay! This is my favorite scene from "OotP," so it was very nice to see it from Ginny's point of view. She's so in character too, that I can absolutely believe her thinking that way.

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58061Chapter: 1
Congrats :)

Very nice effort as well. You do Ginny very well. There are so many "ginnys" out there in fic-land that it is always good to apprectiate one that hits the mark.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --