The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 37

Reviewer: kerosinkanisterDate: 2007-04-08
Reviewid: 147707Chapter: 1
This was lovely and sad. I like how you told so much with few words.

Reviewer: BambuDate: 2006-11-25
Reviewid: 146276Chapter: 1
You have such spare and eloquent prose. I think the army of grass was my favorite metaphor. This was beautifully written and heartbreaking.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128495Chapter: 1
That made chills go through me wow I love it I'd Quote the part I lved most but I can't I loved it all. This is the singular best r/hr fic I've read. lovely dear.

Reviewer: liviiDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128487Chapter: 1
This is a lovely little piece. The style works very well, and it's intense and evocative. Great work.

Reviewer: SandyDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118021Chapter: 1
OMG I cried at the end. Its so beautiful! And so SAD! oh, we need a sequel, or another chapter or something!

Reviewer: Persephone LunaDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106976Chapter: 1
... WHAT?! You... that was so great! And then... that ending! You just HAD to do this to me! I am a fragile little girl, and you've hurt my feelings with the really great fic! Bah!

Reviewer: cygnaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106512Chapter: 1
I like your style of writing. =) Great story! One of the fics worth reading more than once. Keep it up!

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88847Chapter: 1
you...killed...Hermione? HOW COULD YOU?! poor Ron! i love the part with him killing Riddle though *hugs Ron* this was uniquely written, and i loved it!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65227Chapter: 1
You're doing a great job. Like everyone else, I loved the style and language. I check for updates regularly!! I can't wait to see who's next. Ginny? Hermione? Luna? Can't wait to keep reading...

Reviewer: JoannaDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64905Chapter: 1
Please don't tell me you killed Hermione. Dear Lord. It was really beautiful and very uniquely written, but what a shocker at the end. AHHH! I THINK YOU KILLED HERMIONE!!!!! NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

(It was still good though.)

~Joanna

Reviewer: fetishized_armadilloDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61681Chapter: 1
The only thing more anyone could possibly ask from your stories is more frequent updates and longer chapters! (Though they're quite long already; It's only that your style is so engaging one barely notices) What I particularly love about your writing (and there's quite a long list!) is how you really manage to catch the spirit, the thoughts, the emotions of every character absolutely perfectly and somehow to incorporate their general personality into your writing. It's rather amazing. You're far too good for fanfiction.

armadillo

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59693Chapter: 1
oooh, powerful!

I thought I wouldn't like this, to be honest. The chapter title and summary seemed a bit cliche. But this was cool! The four categories were very well done. I can believe that this is Ron. That poor boy needs a hug. ::hugs::

well done you! more please!

~TPR

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59539Chapter: 1
Oh wow, that is soo great!! I love your style of writing, its so.... brilliant!! This is so powerful and I cant wait to read more of your writing!!

Reviewer: gryffindorianDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59412Chapter: 1
this is another excellent piece, like the prev. one on Luna.. very poigant , no fluff but beautifully written.. i am quite a fan of yours.. eagerly waiting for the next installment.. but one request, no one likes tragic endings since we live on hope, for Ron and hermione.. so could endings be more +ve ?

Reviewer: LadyAtherDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59336Chapter: 1
I loved your characterizations; I think you captured the dynamics of that pair's relatinship very well. It's a truly lovely piece, and an unique sort of R/H. Beautiful without fluffiness, tragic without melodrama.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59268Chapter: 1
Oh god. That made me cry.

You've captured this side of their relationship perfectly - there was humour, angst and explanation, all of which written so well, I think you just inspired me to write some more of my current fic.

You gave a wonderful description of Hermione, and Ron through his narrating, and it was so deep and so in-tune with the books that it completely floored me.

I loved the title, and the line,

"She was changing the rules and changing the story",

gave me shivers down my spine, as did the part with Riddle.

Wonderful work!

Fluffy_Rose

Reviewer: BirdsongDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59237Chapter: 1
I enjoyed your story, being inside Ron's mind. I'll be watching for your next chapter to see where you're going with this.

Reviewer: AudreyDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59159Chapter: 1
Made me a little weepy, there!
Very well written. I don't normally get too deeply into a fic like this but I'll be expecting great things from you!

Reviewer: ShanDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59098Chapter: 1
Only one word: Wow. This is really unique, and it's really great. Can't wait to see the next few chapters!

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59087Chapter: 1
that was like, really really sad. *tear* But you have a very interesting style, keep it up!

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59044Chapter: 1
!Fantastic!
Such a sad ending, though...

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59031Chapter: 1
Is she dead? Please no! Well, I think yes (just no please)but it seems right that Ron should kill Voldemort if he killed Hermione. This fic was great, please more.

Reviewer: SantaBaby25Date: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59030Chapter: 1
Hey. This is nicely written. Although, I was slighly confused at the end. However, I can't wait for more.
Santa

Reviewer: LucyDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59011Chapter: 1
Have just realised that I had my breath held the whole way through reading that piece. Expertly written, bit of a sad ending though :(.
Really good, keep writing!

Reviewer: SamanthaDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58980Chapter: 1
Very nicely done, though it breaks my heart that Hermione died. I especially liked the portion where they're in the grass... I don't know why, but it just fits.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58960Chapter: 1
Very intense. If that was your intention, you've achieved it. I like the water metaphor. I like the imagery in this line:

>>The first time he saw her, all dark hair and dark eyes, he thought of water (which was so unlike her static energy). She reminded him of a droplet of water splashing onto a word-filled page and disrupting everything with its mere existence.<<

But I think the image would be stronger with shorter simpler words to finish the line.

I also like the flow you create. Just snippets here and there through their time at Hogwarts. You take us forward quickly, but smoothly. Very nice.

And the ending is very good. The abrupt switch heightens the emotion. I would have liked another water metaphor there. Tears or draining away washing away. But that might make it heavy handed.

Very nice. I am looking forward to more installments.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58944Chapter: 1
Oh, that was... exquisite? Is that the right word? The language was simply beautiful. I adored the whole thing with the water.
thankyou!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58917Chapter: 1
This was great. I loved the evocative language. The "series of vignettes" style was kind of choppy, but it nevertheless did a great job of showing how special Hermione is/was to Ron. The last scene was chilling but at the same time perfect.

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58906Chapter: 1
That is great... just really great. What a wonderful ending. Your still reminds me a little of Patricia A. McKillip's work.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58892Chapter: 1
That was truly fabulous! I must admit I'm not quite sure to make of some parts.. the mudblood lying at Harry's feet..??
But very VERY interesting all the same! I like how it jumps around. I really like the water theme.
I'm eager to see what you have in store for the other parts! Keep writing!

Cheers,
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58874Chapter: 1
So went into this like almost any other fic. Ron story. Setting him apart. Oh Ron/Hermione. Wonderful. But you made me tear up. This was really good. Definitely not your typical fan fiction. Well done.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58809Chapter: 1
This was very interesting! I hope you continue this soon. :)

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58790Chapter: 1
I didn't really quite understand the ending. It was a well written piece though.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58756Chapter: 1
Whoa...you killed Hermione?!?!? AGH!!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58744Chapter: 1
aw...that was so sweet...and so sad...why'd she have to die...maybe she didn't really die...aw.

good writing though. I really liked that unusual tequinique (haha, can't spell) where you jumped around and with the italics.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58733Chapter: 1
It's extremely sweet.. and very sad :( *sniffles* Write more!

Reviewer: drkangelserenaDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58731Chapter: 1
Oh wow. This is amazing. I really like how you laid out this story, and I can't wait for you to continue on it.
~Serena

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --