The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Science
Review(s): 52

Reviewer: sarahthetranDate: 2005-11-06
Reviewid: 135724Chapter: 1
hahah that was great. i really didnt know how you were gonna end it. like... what ron was gonna say. i think i shouldve since now that i read it im like.. OOOH. of course. but you know... it was all a surprise. a pleasant one. what a simple concept. but i loved it.

there's something about "it's just magic" that makes me... melt.

great job.

Reviewer: i-hug-treesDate: 2005-11-05
Reviewid: 135717Chapter: 1
soooooo cute! R/H rox, lol

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-11-05
Reviewid: 135703Chapter: 1
Awwwwww!
as for a more dignified review:
Love it. Interesting, especially Hermione's tornness between the magical and Muggle worlds, her "science has an answer to everything" sentiment. Very nice!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135612Chapter: 1
I loved it!! You really kept to the characters, unlike most R/Hr Fics I've read. Definalty in my Top 3 R/Hr Fics. Brilliant! Continue the good work!!! :D
Cat :P

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-10-31
Reviewid: 135532Chapter: 1
I liked this - it was not overly horribly fluffy, and I found it refreshing.

And that, my friend, is my all-time favorite song. If I could, I would marry Coldplay. Haha.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114029Chapter: 1
Best 1st kiss story yet.

Reviewer: MelDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111310Chapter: 1
I can honestly say that this is one of the best stories I have ever read. Your portrayal of both Ron and Hermione were, in my opinion, perfect. Ron isn't this complete dolt that everyone thinks he is, and Hermione isn't all knowing either. This was truly a wonderful story, and I hope you keep writing more. Again, fantastic job.

Reviewer: DorianDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105223Chapter: 1
Fabulous! I love it! So many r/h stories are the same, or cheesy, but this one is much more intellectual---but not so much that Ron sounds out of character. Interesting point about magic vs. science, good food for thought. Great writing!

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88845Chapter: 1
YAY! another beautifully written R/H fic!

Great job!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: lady marmaladeDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78370Chapter: 1
hm

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78127Chapter: 1
now that was so sweet!

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71663Chapter: 1
AWESOME! I especially loved how Ron's "simple" explanations would infurriate Hermione...you always know it's the right guy when they can push your buttons like that. GREAT work!

Reviewer: JoannaDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64904Chapter: 1
WOW. That was beautiful! God, how romantic! I hope that you will write more, whether it's more to this story or more stories in general.

Reviewer: Twilight SorceressDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60676Chapter: 1
I'm probably reiterating what other people said, but this story "makes sense," it's how I imagine Ron and Hermione to admit their feelings. I like how they don't sit around talking about the kiss, they kind of go on to other things (like after they argue), which is perfect. I can just imagine a little awkwardness for the rest of summer (maybe some more private interludes) and then when they see Harry at some point (from Harry's point of view), he's a little surprised at how different they treat each other. I'm digressing, but this story is a real treat and it gets my imagination running. I loved it.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59867Chapter: 1
Oh, that made me so happy! But Hermione should have said, "You know, we should have these discussions more often," or something like that.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59866Chapter: 1
Oh, that made me so happy! But Hermione should have said, "You know, we should have these discussions more often," or something like that.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59807Chapter: 1
Absolutely delightful! Hermione is very much in character, right down to being a bit flustered while arguing with Ron even before the conversation shifts. I really enjoyed their discussion of science and magic, and where answers come from, and the fact that the only conclusion one can draw is that no one system explains everything. And yes, I can easily believe that Hermione's parents discuss scientific theories at the dinner table (doesn't everyone's? but I digress...). I will be a tad picky, in that I think Ron would be a little more open-minded about Muggle family's openness to Muggles. But other than that...Thanks!

Oh, yes, and you wrote up a wonderul first kiss, too! Very romantic and realistic.

Reviewer: OpaleyzDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59319Chapter: 1
Reading this story inspired me to take a venture on fanfiction.net to read your other stories as well! I thoroughly enjoyed each one, and hope that you'll be posting more of them on Sugarquill. I think you've done an incredible job w/ the first-hand portrayals of Hermione and Ginny, and I look forward to your next works!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59217Chapter: 1
This was excellent! I love the way you've explored Hermione here- her struggle to fit both of her worlds together in a way that makes sense. I would love to see more...
Encore! Encore! Sequel! Sequel!

Reviewer: Danielle_BDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59195Chapter: 1
Oh, that was just too cute! I was squirming in my seat when Ron put his hand on her cheek. Then, when he described it as "magic" it was just too perfect. What a gem you have made out of this light and fluffy piece!

Reviewer: jo-AnneDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59191Chapter: 1
absolutely amazing.

Reviewer: summerbumDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59148Chapter: 1
Penny, I've been a fan of yours for a while now (ever since 'Face the Music and Dance', one of my favorite H/G fics of all time). I'm glad to see you at the Quill. Your stuff is just TOO GOOD to not be here. It takes endless searching through the coal mine that is fanfiction.net in order to find a few brilliant diamonds, and there's many that don't have that kind of patience. There is no coal at the Sugar Quill, and the fandom knows it. I hope that means you'll increase your fan base exponentially now that you're here. Indeed, judging from the reviews, I'd say that's already begun. Keep up the excellent work, please...

Reviewer: dragongirl2130Date: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59138Chapter: 1
*sigh*... and to think my husband first kissed me after I had just finished complaining about my school assignments, and no romantic prelude or anything! Well, he's my Ron of sorts, but this was well thought out!

Several people have mentioned this, and I am reminded of the debate between religion and science- you deserve many props for putting this into words!

Thank you for sharing your gift with us, and please let us hear more! We all love the good ship R/H!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59082Chapter: 1
Very nice. Well thought out, in character, carefully written. A quality story. "It's just magic, you know" was a wonderful line. Thank you.

Reviewer: becDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59080Chapter: 1
This has been one of my very favourite R/H stories for a long time. It's nice to see it archived here, as well. ^_^

Reviewer: Chinchilla QueenDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59060Chapter: 1
I loved this. I really really did. First of all, Ron and Hermione where just so like themselves. Second of all, it was deep and meaningful. A beautiful piece of art. Third of all, RON IS JUST SO WONDERFUL!!! I love that typical boy... Anyway, I applaud this story and want a sequal, and, from the looks of all your other reviews, they want one too. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE WRITE ONE!!!!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59056Chapter: 1
I enjoyed that so much. Don't you just love Ron. I think your characterizations are right on target. Will you continue this story? I hope so.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-11-06
Reviewid: 59055Chapter: 1
aw, that was precious!!

want more, want more!!

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59024Chapter: 1
wow... I liked this story really much.
and I would love to read another chapter, I you write it :D
(I hope you do...)

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59004Chapter: 1
Oh, that was just perfect! No doubt JKR will be asking to borrow this little vignette for Book 6.

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58966Chapter: 1
So realistic... I felt almost guilty for spying on such an intimate conversation between friends.

I think Hermione should read the Bible and other religions' documents, however, if she's interested in comparing Muggle's answers for things with magic's answers for things.

Beautiful vignette, thanks!

Reviewer: P.D.YerfDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58962Chapter: 1
Ooooh! I loved it! It made me laugh soooo hard! I am really looking forward to future things you will (hopefully) write. Please write more, and soon!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58957Chapter: 1
Oh, this was so sweet! I loved their dialogue, it was so *them*. And the ending was really lovely. A great job.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58948Chapter: 1
*blissfull sigh* That was wonderful! I loved it!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58942Chapter: 1
fallin in love with this fic

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58908Chapter: 1
beautiful...simply beautiful...

Reviewer: Basil MDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58897Chapter: 1
Oh, yay. That was soo cute! A really original idea combined with good charcaterization and a very sweet *kiss*. Good job! Have a cookie!

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58890Chapter: 1
Even though this fic is mainly an R/H one, I was really happy with the whole magic/science debate thing. I thought it made the story a lot deeper (although I enjoy the fluffy ones just as much--haha) and it made me think a bit (something that never happens!) about that. So, thanks for a great story and for making me think! :)

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58876Chapter: 1
*heart swells*
Let's all have one collective "Aw..."
Ready Go
:)
This was very sweet, I loved the magic versus science debate. And ...sigh... Ron was so...sigh. Wonderful, this was very well-done. Nice.

Reviewer: elizaDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58867Chapter: 1
Whenever I'm touched very deeply on an emotional level, I can't get two words out to save my life. :o)

There is just *so* much depth to this story, that I have too much to say, and no ability to say any of it.

I've read it twice already. I'll let it sink in a little, and then I'll leave you another (more in depth) review.

till next time.

eliza

Reviewer: Hryptrfn89Date: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58862Chapter: 1
Awwwwwww...that was sooooo sweet and fluffy!!!ENCORE!!!ENCORE!!!lol~Hryptrfn89

Reviewer: elizaDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58853Chapter: 1
I was expecting just another bit of R/H fluff (which I thoroughly enjoy, by the way :o)) But I could never have been prepared for this.
I have never, ever read a story like this. It made me cry (why, you ask? It wasn't sad). It was just so incredible. It gave me chills.
This has become, without a doubt, one of my absolute favorite stories.

But... one thing :o) Muggles do have something that gives them meaning and answers, and that's G-d and religion. Sometimes called Magic... *tear*
Have you read "The Secret Garden?" I was somewhat reminded of it...

I'm going to go read this again.

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58849Chapter: 1
WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeee

Reviewer: butterbeerDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58848Chapter: 1
WoNdERFUL!!!!! THis is a perfect R/H fic!!! I loved it, I'm so excited I finally found a realistic one. THanks! And keep writing! THat was great!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58826Chapter: 1
I loved it. Wonderfully written. It flowed well, and Hermione and Ron were very IC. I really felt like they could have shared a moment like this. Wonderful. Great job, thanks so much for this. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: SweenisDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58825Chapter: 1
great great great
and me being the crazed Coldplay fan ( and the fact that "The Scientist" has made a great inpact in my life ) makes it evvvvven betttter

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58811Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness... that was adorable. I was actually holding my breath when he put his hand to her cheek. Phenomenal, really.

Reviewer: BaileyMacDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58808Chapter: 1
Awww! soo sweet! nice foundation for a fic - I had a feeling it would end like that :) But it even better than I thought!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58805Chapter: 1
Oh! I loved this! I enjoyed reading this! I like how Ron questioned everything. Very creative!

Reviewer: MeoDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58784Chapter: 1
Oh, that was absolutely adorable! Have you written any more fics? If not, you definitely should! This was just fantastic. It was also very interesting, the conversation between Ron and Hermione intrigued me in more than a "OMG! Are they gonna kiss SOON?!" way.

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58771Chapter: 1
Lovely. Can't argue to a funny romance between Ron and Hermione. Gravy . . . that still has me laughing.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58763Chapter: 1
Applaudes! That was very sweet. A perfect examle of how it could really happen. Any chance for a sequel?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --