The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 52

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 143985Chapter: 1
Normally, I ship Tonks/Charlie or Tonks/Remus, but you've really made this work. Excellent job! The presents are a cute detail.

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129501Chapter: 1
I read this post Half-blood Prince and I find it absolutely irrestible. I love your charactization of Kingsley being a lonely bachelor and Tonks being her wonderful free-spirited self. Even though I am a stout R/T supporter I think this was a sweet diversion to the nasty war in cannon. Good Job.

Reviewer: AbraDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128696Chapter: 1
Charming story. Nice atmosphere and sweet development.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122094Chapter: 1
YAY!!!!!!!! Kingsley/Tonks!! I always did like them better than Tonks and Remus. K/T shippers unite!!
I love this story. It's amazing. I especially like the bit where Kingsley says that he didn't have a favourite look for Tonks.

Reviewer: Fresh_AngelBabeDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119780Chapter: 1
That was a lovely story. I'm impressed!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117335Chapter: 1
A pleasant tale.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114616Chapter: 1
Awe. That's so cute. I read this a while back but recently recieved the perfect excuse to read it again, and now I have the nice fuzzy feeling. Thank you.

Reviewer: Weasel KingDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90031Chapter: 1
this is TOOOO cute! i love it!!!

~Weasel King

Reviewer: emerald_123Date: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86993Chapter: 1
I'm a recently converted Kingsley/Tonks fan, so this was awesome! It was very sweet, and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Good job!

Reviewer: beccDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85119Chapter: 1
Very nice :) thats the first ever Tonks/Kingsley fic I've ever read! Must say, I enjoyed it.

Reviewer: KaitDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80332Chapter: 1
Kellie, this is so cute!! I love how you finally made this ship come true, I've been waiting!! (Granted you wrote this a while ago, but that's ok, I just found it!) Great job!

~Kait

Reviewer: CandaceDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78170Chapter: 1
That was so sweet! Awww.. you made me a Tonks/Kingsley shipper.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75571Chapter: 1
Sweet, funny, and it's a missing moment from OotP. I love it.

Reviewer: caradeeDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74023Chapter: 1
That was cute. i never thought of these two as a pair, but you wrote them well. :)

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72466Chapter: 1
Yeah! Haven't read any of this pairing, but you made it really cute.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68794Chapter: 1
wow that was really cute i loved it tonks and kingsley the perfect ship thanx!!!!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67809Chapter: 1
Lovely job!! :)

It's all full of warmth and fluff, but not done so much that it's cheesey. Great job at portraying Kingsley, and... heh. Just a damned good job, really. :P

*hugs!*

xxx

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67051Chapter: 1
Great story! It's well written, and I have kind of gotten the impression that Kingsley was a bit of a loner so to speak. I had not really thought of him and Tonks as an item though, but despite my opinions you do an excellent job of making it work. The Weird Sisters shirt was a great touch.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61595Chapter: 1
Ha! This is another fabulous story I have come across in your repertoire. You have a wonderful wit and warmth that comes screaming across the page at whoever happens look. Very nicely done!

Reviewer: StargazerDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61388Chapter: 1
"Suddenly she shrieked and Kingsley found himself with an arm full of Tonks"
I absolutely adore that line Kellie. This is a wonderful fic and it makes you feel in a Christmas-y mood. I like the relationship you've given Tonks and Kingsley. It fits them very well. They are very much in character. Tonks is very Tonks-like for lack of a better word. Great job!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60700Chapter: 1
Hey, I guess my post got deleted. Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed this. Tonks was delightful and it was really great seeing Kingsley in a starring role in a fic. I loved the red and green ringlets, nice visual image there. Andromeda was also sweet and sad, worried about Sirius and all. Hope to see what other plot bunnies you have hopping around!

Reviewer: CharyDate: 2003-11-13
Reviewid: 59938Chapter: 1
Aww, I loved it anyway, but the finished version was wonderful. You've got me completely convinced about the possibility of Tonks/Shacklebolt, in fact,I'd really enjoy seeing more of it! I enjoyed it all, but I think the kiss was my favourite bit - both romantic and Christmasy all at once. This was a very nice way of cheering up a pretty horrible day. Thanks. :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59825Chapter: 1
What a delightful story! I wouldn't think to pair the two myself, but you've made the ship rather appealing. I like the background you give us on Kingsley -- his dedication to the job, his preoccupation with food -- and the way you lead us up to his emotional state this Christmas night. I found Tonks to be in-character as well. And it's not pure fluff, too -- I'd never considered how rough it must be for Tonks, knowing Sirius was innocent and alive, but never being able to tell her mother. :(

This paragraph was particularly sigh-inducing:

"Without thinking, Kingsley raised his hand to her cheek and caressed it, realizing for the first time that he didn’t have a favorite “look” for Tonks. There was something about her that shone through, no matter what her hair or her nose looked like on a given day. She somehow always looked like Tonks to him, and something about kissing her just made sense."

Ahhh.... :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59626Chapter: 1
This was a really sweet fic. I would never have put those two together, but it came as a nice surprise to have someone finally give Kingsley some personality. He seems so calm, cool and collected in canon- I like how you opened him up a bit. I'd love to see more of this.

<< Without being able to explain why, he found himself freshening up, checking his teeth in the mirror, making sure his hoop earring wasn’t tarnished, and generally feeling like he was back at Hogwarts and about to take a girl to Hogsmeade. Groaning, he let his forehead fall forward and hit the mirror, gently banging it a couple of times.  “Come on, Shacklebolt,” he said aloud.  “Get it together.”>>

Heh! I could just picture this! Bravo!

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59574Chapter: 1
What a lovely surprise!

This is such a wonderful feel good story. The two are very sweet together.

Belita's Favorite Moments:

>Tonks writing on violet parchment

>>While inspecting his appearance in the mirror, he kept smoothing out his robes in spite of himself, all the while trying to convince his pulse that it was normal to want to freshen up for a guest. Feeling at the height of foolishness, he yanked a pair of plain, slate blue robes out of the wardrobe and was about to change into them when a crash in the front hallway caught his attention<<
*tee hee hee*

>There was something about her that shone through, no matter what her hair or her nose looked like on a given day

I also really liked Kingsley's reflections on how much happier he was now that he was in the Order and had wonderful friends - it really adds to his character. I'd love to read more about Kingsley and Kayla.

You had just the right amount of bittersweet realism with the conversation about Andromeda and Sirius. It helped to show that while the world isn't perfect, some moments are.
: )

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59568Chapter: 1
I must say, your Tonks is really, really well written. Not sure about Kingsley, as we haven't seen much of him in canon. I saw him as more of a funky guy (given the earring and his sense of humor re: Sirius). But I was willing to buy your version of him, and even your ship, although again, I don't think it'll happen in canon. You wrote both so well, that they became believable.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59566Chapter: 1
This is a really cute story! I've never taken a side when shipping Tonx before, but gosh...this makes sense, doesn't it? You really give me a sense of two people who fit together well. Nice touches with the mistletoe and the T-shirt gift...but my favorite bit is this:

"Without thinking, Kingsley raised his hand to her cheek and caressed it, realizing for the first time that he didn’t have a favorite “look” for Tonks. There was something about her that shone through, no matter what her hair or her nose looked like on a given day."

Doesn't everyone want someone to feel this way about them? It's so sweet and romantic! Well done!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59565Chapter: 1
that was such a great funny story i would never have thought of tonks and kingsley getting together but it was such a wonderful idea please write more on the subject keep up the great writting

Reviewer: Laura Elizibeth WilsonDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59561Chapter: 1
Heheh. I really liked that.

I particually liked how often he kept referring to Molly's cooking.

Now that I've thought of it, it reminds me of something I saw on America's Funnyiest Home Videos (the name is something like that)
There's this baby/kid sitting in a high chair with food all over his face. Some parent says,
"You're all dirty, are you gonna get cleaned up"
The kid says,
"In the bath?"
"In the bath?"
"In the bath?"
"In the bath?"
"In the bath?"
"In the bath?"
"In the bath?"
"In the bath?" while nodding his head and pointing.
You get the point. Hehe. I really liked your story.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59544Chapter: 1
Delightful Christmas fluff!

"I assured her that the last place Sirius Black had been sighted was in Jamaica, and that they were still reporting lovely weather there."
Loved the little exchange about Andromeda, even though there are sad undertones with her obvious affection for Sirius, and indignation about the way he has been treated.

“But we have the perfect excuse,” said Tonks breathlessly. “The mistletoe.”
LOL - and what a great touch, having her nose get in the way when she went to kiss him.

"There was something about her that shone through, no matter what her hair or her nose looked like on a given day. She somehow always looked like Tonks to him, and something about kissing her just made sense."
That is a wonderful description of the 'essence' of a person.

Alkari

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59513Chapter: 1
"next time you ask me out, don’t give me any of this just as friends bollocks. It’s a load of Doxy droppings"

Heh! Now, that's a great Tonks line.

What a fun, sweet story. I liked the mentions of how Andromeda is calling Kingsley, and Tonks's concerns about keeping Sirius's location secret as well.

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59506Chapter: 1
Dear Kellie,

Congratulations on drawing in this Remus/Tonks shipper with your Kingsley/Tonks pairing! Your characterizations are spot-on as far as I am concerned. I like how you portrayed Tonks, as clumsy and unconventional (which she is) without turning her into a Lucy Ricardo caricature. I also like how you gave Kingsley a sister. I'd love to see you flesh out Kayla.

Brava! This was a great read!

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59468Chapter: 1
Wow. It worked. A Tonks/Other Character pairing. w00t Kellie!

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59465Chapter: 1
I never, ever have thought about a Kingsley/Tonks relationship. Cool idea. *applause*

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59461Chapter: 1
This is wonderfully sweet and funny. You've converted me to Kingsley/Tonks. :)

Reviewer: SilverAriesDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59457Chapter: 1
AWWW!!! It's such a cute and sweet little fic!! Darn you and your convertingness. This ship seems so natural the way you write it.

Good Work, I look forward to more!

~SA~

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59453Chapter: 1
Nice and romantic. I like the way they sort of fall into a kiss. This was a fun story to read on a cold and icky day! Thanks!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59451Chapter: 1
Awwww! That's all I can say ^^ Wonderfully written, and I'm starting to believe that this is very likely :o

Reviewer: tassssssiDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59436Chapter: 1
heheeh jsut cute and fluffy, just what I wanted right now.

~*tass*~

Reviewer: LozDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59422Chapter: 1
Oh - unexpected, and absolutely wonderful. I'm so glad I read this...I can just *see* the pair of them. Tonks being clumsy physically, and Kingsley emotionally.

Well done.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59417Chapter: 1
Dang it... I might be a Kingsley/Tonks shipper now! That was very cute!

Reviewer: SherylynDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59409Chapter: 1
THIS is *priceles*!!!!! I appreciate so much the recommendation of this fic from my friend Faelaern! He has SUCH good taste!!

What a wonderful, wonderful story! THANK YOU for sharing it with us! :-D

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59400Chapter: 1
Holy cow, I've found me a new ship! Write more, I beg of you. Ficlets. Short stories. Or something nice, long, and multiple chapters in length. But write more.

Reviewer: Reedy70002Date: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59394Chapter: 1
Hmmm I like it
I never considered the possibility of this pairing
it feels and reads very natually(or maybe its the author)
good work

Reviewer: Silver PatronusDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59389Chapter: 1
Mmmmgooeysquishygoodness...

Brilliant, Kellstarr, as per usual. Kingsley is such a cool character, but he's hardly ever explored in fanfiction. I love your take on him. He's very sexAY. ;)

"Without thinking, Kingsley raised his hand to her cheek and caressed it, realizing for the first time that he didn’t have a favorite “look” for Tonks. There was something about her that shone through, no matter what her hair or her nose looked like on a given day. She somehow always looked like Tonks to him, and something about kissing her just made sense."

Lovely. Well done! :)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59381Chapter: 1
Great! Very sweet! I don't really have a ship in this race, but it was well done. Could have been anyone, but still in what liitle we know of their characters. Good work!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59377Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWW

VERY GOOD!

I've never really thought of them as a couple though!

Katie Bell

Reviewer: ArielDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59362Chapter: 1
I *love* the idea of Tonks/Kingsley! Very sweet!

P.S. Are you going to update on your Zora/Draco fic? Please do! =)

Reviewer: AdelaideDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59357Chapter: 1
WOW!! I've finally found a Tonks/Kingsley story!! Huzzah! VERY good Tonks portryal(sp?). Warm fuzzies for being the 1st every T/K story!!

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59351Chapter: 1
I saw that you had updated, and while I was at first inconsolable after discovering it wasn't a Draco's Diary update, I promptly got over it when I discovered this cute little fic! Awww! *Warm and fuzzy feeling!* I loved it! I never really thought much of Tonks/Kingsley, but this fic was cute and believable. Well done!

~*SP*~

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59348Chapter: 1
Arr. Do you realize how much I hate you? I was just getting on my merry way, not shipping Tonks off with anyone, everything was just perfect, and then you went and made me a Tonks/Kingsley shipper. Curse you.

Ah well. It's a fantastic story. Such marvelous fluff. Such wonderful characterization. Bravo!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59345Chapter: 1
Whee! First review!

Is it possible that I could like this *better* than when I read it in Workshop? Why, yes...yes it is! I love your characterization of Kingsley, with what little we know about him, it seems very accurate. And your Tonks is just great. Great job, Kellie!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --