The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: lysithaDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131225Chapter: 1
hey, very nice one-shot ! it's touching and well written. good job !

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73324Chapter: 1
An absolutly great idea, and very well written.

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13264Chapter: 1
Very nice, touching, quiet story with on-target characterizations. It makes perfect sense that the adult wizards who took care of Harry after his parents died would return to check on him and try to help him, even if he never knew.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7574Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved this story! It's so perfect! Everything from Harry feeding the cat sausage roll and Aunt Petunia shreiking, "Don't talk to animals" to the Marauders interacting at Christmas. I also loved the interaction between ARabella and Minerva (What do 10 year old boys like nowadays, food?), very much in character but allowing their soft sides to show through. I also liked the touch about checking out the magic in the area and it turning out to be a shrinking jumper. This was really sweet and touching, and the little details really make the difference (like Minerva's attitiude toward Bristish weather, and the tone of the Marauders very much how they speak in the Marauders map, especially the line "and he thinks you should have gotten him better Christmas presents"). This was great!!!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5927Chapter: 1
This was a great story!

Reviewer: Sweeney AgonistesDate: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4507Chapter: 1
Eee! Soupy, this was *wonderful*. I'm so glad Minerva decided to do something, even though it couldn't really help Harry. I loved your characterization of Arabella Figg -- the perfect old fake. Hee. I also liked the interaction between Minerva and Arabella. Old compatriots commiserating over tea. Good stuff.

Your writing style in this really reminded me of canon. Really. C'est spiffy!

Reviewer: Jenni SnakeDate: 2002-08-20
Reviewid: 2601Chapter: 1
You write Harry's point of view very well! I thought perhaps JKR had come out of hiding. :-) I do quite like the bit about Arabella and the cat photos, and the reference to her awful cooking (I could almost smell the cabbage!). Overall a sweet but sad little story.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2449Chapter: 1
So THAT's where Harry got the vague memory of the green flash--good thinking!

Harry's thoughts were very canon--I mean, the way that you described his thoughts. I also liked the line, "Hi, cat." which was adorable. And also, I liked how Harry closed his eyes in bed, and covered his face with his blanket, and imagined he was in a different room.

I do that too.

Reviewer: XLargeFryDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1983Chapter: 1
An awesome work Soupy, You should give thought to expanding this into a broader Story.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1108Chapter: 1
Good job! I like a good fan fic that shows that McGonagall DOES have a heart! Though it was a little sad, I already know what happened with Harry on his 11th birthday!

Reviewer: Silver ArrowDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 676Chapter: 1
Oh, poor Harry! No cake, no presents, no nothing, except perhaps Hoovering the stairs. This sounds exactly like what Harry's birthdays would be like! Great job!

I can just see Minerva doing something like that. I've always told myself there was an emotional side in her. :)

Wonderful story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --