The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Silence
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114943Chapter: 1
Nice. Very. I really liked this part: "No, not alone. I have Harry. Harry needs me. He’s as lonely as I am, maybe more. He’s never heard Lily’s laugh, or spoken with James. Sirius was the closest he’s ever had to a parent, and he’s lost him as well." I mean awwww....
:) ;)

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114447Chapter: 1
quite short - good for whats there

Reviewer: SailoranimeDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95726Chapter: 1
Ooh... how sad. I haven't felt this sad about Sirius since I found out he was the one that was going to die... Very well done, very in character.

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75783Chapter: 1
Yes, *this* was the fic I've read of yours, but didn't review it. I dunno why ... I remember of having liked it dearly even the first time I've read it. I don't know *why the heck* didn't I review. Maybe my PC messed up, it's the only possible reason.

Anyway ... I love how uou can portray the feelings of your characters. These insights into the characters' heads are wonderfully IC and yet they show your own view of the Rowling's characters, building a nice mix between your POV and canon.

I loved this insight into Remus. You say a lot of things I think too,

"And all of a sudden – almost for the first time – I realize that I will never see Sirius again, and the tears start falling.

Silently.

He was all I had left, the only remainder of my “family”…."

This bit is powerful. really. It shows in a few words all the despair and sorrow Remus is feeling at the moment. Yes, he's the only survivor of the Marauders (because you cannot think Peter's life as a life). He's *alone* now. Well, he's right, he has Harry ... but it's not the same thing. I'd bloody not the same thing ... harry can stay close to him, respect him ... but he won't ever be able to be what James, or Sirius was for him. Of course, at least he is something....

I do hope Remus won't die in book 6 :(

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73691Chapter: 1
I love how you brought in hints of what may come to pass, and how truly you played with Lupin's emotions! I personally hate having to come to grips with Padfoot's death, but this story helped. Keep on writing!
-Ginny

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72837Chapter: 1
Awww, my poor Remus. In character, poignant and sad. Great job!

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72028Chapter: 1
I think the beauty of your writing lies in it's being the simple, undeniable truth. You look at the deepest emotions, and fearlessly speak them out. Remus' feeling of loss is so tangible- "The only thing that exists is the emptiness in my heart." you cut away the exterior of his character completely so that we can fully identify with what he's going through. I think you're very brave, Gufa, to write such an honest insight into his mourning.

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70726Chapter: 1
Ahhhh... just how I imagine the thoughts would be running around in his brain, like some sort of Wormtail on a wheel. Remus has had a lot of shocks in his life, but all this abandonment must take a toll at some point.

Nicely done.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67084Chapter: 1
This is really good. It's short, yet manages to capture Lupin's feelings in a way that is believable and accurate. (At least to me, and most probably others.) This made me sad. I'm sniffling.

"The only thing that exists is the emptiness in my heart. Once I had four great friends, now I have no one."


That's so sad. But good.

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66895Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
Quite good...

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65259Chapter: 1
*sob* oh, poor Remus! *sniff* he's my very favorite character, and this fic is so well-written, it makes me cry. this is exactly how i this he would have felt... now leave me alone so i can cry in peace... *sob*

Reviewer: DillybeanDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63935Chapter: 1
*Sniff*

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63834Chapter: 1
I felt so horrible for Remus when Sirius fell thru the veil, because now theres no one left. All he has is the painful memories of his lost "family". Greaat job, anyway, you did this perfectly.

Reviewer: HazyDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62188Chapter: 1
seriously, heart-wrenchingly beautiful

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60736Chapter: 1
Thank you all for your comments. I'm really touched that people think my stories are so good. I write introspective pieces as opposed to "real" stories because I spend a lot of time tinking about people and wondering what goes on inside. Usually people are a lot deeper than one would think.
Please keep reviewing!
Gufa

Reviewer: I am myself!Date: 2003-11-24
Reviewid: 60619Chapter: 1
You are so wise! I love both your stories on the SQ! Please E-Mail me when you write another one!
TTYL
~MSW~

Reviewer: MarshaDate: 2003-11-18
Reviewid: 60474Chapter: 1
I also have thought about how devastating the lost of Siruis was to Lupin. Harry has lost yet another parent figure and I don't want in ayway belittle his loss. But he still has Ron and Hermione. Lupin is alone. You have done a great job of giving voice to Lupin's despair.

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60436Chapter: 1
Whoah . . . that's all I can say. This made me feel really sad for Lupin even though that I already did.

Think about it . . . losing the few friends that you have and possibly not having any family left either. That would give anybody a reason to be sad and depressed.

You show emotion wonderfully and the ending gave me a little hope that everything would be all right. You do reflecting fics wonderfully. I hope you keep writing.

Reviewer: CheesekakkeDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60333Chapter: 1
Wow. Not bad. I liked the way you did Remus' thoughts. Just like the nice sensible Remus we know and love. Keep writing...that was really rather good!

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59747Chapter: 1
...with any opinion (any of yours), I meant...
:-)

Reviewer: Cristina (Gufa)Date: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59746Chapter: 1
Thank you all for your comments. Please review or email me for any opinion, be it happy or sad - as long as it's honest!
Thanks,
Gufa

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59612Chapter: 1
Wow! That was very dark and reflective. Great job!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59386Chapter: 1
Nicely done! Not nice. But nicely done. It *is* painful to think of Remus alone. And I feel he must have had a night like this. But maybe the night like this is why Remus can smile a bit when they see Harry off with the Dursley's. Good work!

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59361Chapter: 1
That was amazing. Really poignant; it made me get teary. :) Something stories rarely do (although I did cry when reading the death scene in OoTP, I'll admit). Short but sweet.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59350Chapter: 1
This is such a powerful line:

"Sweet Lily and arrogant, fearless James have been gone for so long that sometimes I have trouble remembering the sound of their voices."

And then the callback to it later when he realizes that Harry has NEVER heard them. A very moving story! Nice job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --