The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Worth the Risk
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: you-know-whoDate: 2005-09-18
Reviewid: 132791Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!

"Oh, so sorry," the voice mumbled.

I LOVED THAT PART!!!!!!!!!!!! Poor Dennis.

;D

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-02-01
Reviewid: 112651Chapter: 1
nice fluff

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101421Chapter: 1
Oh wow! How have I missed reading this before? This rings SO completely real, it really makes me remember being that age and having all of those feelings.

>>She quickly discovered that being so close to Ron made it difficult to concentrate. She found herself reading the same sentence over and over and still not remembering what she had read.<<

Gosh, I can remember having a partner in Biology in 10th grade and this exact thing happening! You've done such a wonderful job of capturing all the emotions and fears and joys and everything!

It's great to see it come as a slow realization rather than a lightning strike. Hermione's interactions with Lavender & Parvati are also very well written.

Great story!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101155Chapter: 1
That was wonderful!!! (And I quite regret not treating myself to this sooner because you've just sparked off a bunch of ideas in my head already.)

Any girl who's ever felt those emotional stirrings can identify with the range of feeling you've described! Great build-up, too! One of the things I appreciate most about JKR's books is her ability to create developmental shifts in characters through a sequence of little events. It's the little things that contain the most significance a lot of the time. And you've got those observations down pat! The hand on the small of the back, the telltale glances that so many take for granted -- all of those are fabulously portrayed here. This is one of the most realistic Ron/Hermione Epiphanies I've ever read -- because in real life it really does happen *just like that*!

And your Ron:

>>I guess Ive felt this way for some time and Ive always tried to ignore it. I cant do that anymore. Id flunk out of school if I tried.

Ron smirked. We cant have that now, can we?>>

*sigh*

We all knew he had it in him!!!

Thank you for this! I certainly hope you're inspired to write more (not that I'm being greedy or self-interested in any way, of course ;) )!!

Reviewer: JoannaDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64906Chapter: 1
SOOOOOOO SWEET!!!!!!!!!! How cute was that? And it wasn't over fluffed or too angsty. In fact, it really was life like and perfect in it's gentle simplicity. The characters were true to themselves and the story was fitting. Please write more!

~Joanna

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60281Chapter: 1
..You WILL write a sequel right?

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59964Chapter: 1
Very nice for a first fic, Karlie. Congratulations on taking the plunge! I like the bits with Lavender and Parvati; you capture teen girlhood (and the aggravation of having to share dorm rooms) very succinctly.

I'm also tickled that Harry is the one thumping the books closed and going off to find a quiet place to study rather than Hermione.

Now that you've started, are you going to go on and write more fics? I hope so.

Reviewer: Hryptrfn89Date: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59874Chapter: 1
Wow. I really liked this one a lot. It was the perfect length and it was an entertaining story. I love R/H fics. This one was soooo sweet and cute. I liked the twist you put on the end too. PLEASE WRITE MORE!!!YOU'RE BRILLIANT!!!~Hryptrfn89

Reviewer: Andrew WilsonDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59856Chapter: 1
I think that it is a great story that has a lot of details

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59836Chapter: 1
Oh, that was just perfect, sweet and so in-character! Hermione's thought process was exactly how I would imagine it.

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59834Chapter: 1
great, really wonderful and sweet... I like it :D
-Line

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59830Chapter: 1
>>So much for keeping this between ourselves, Ron said with a smile.

Hee hee! I give them five minutes before their secret is around the entire school.

This was a sweet story -- thanks for sharing it! :) I'd like to think that a moment like this happened in canon, because otherwise, those two are taking MUCH too long to figure things out.

~Katinka

Reviewer: beDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59809Chapter: 1
Aww! That was so sweet. You showed their tenderness and confusion really well. :)

Reviewer: Nigella againDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59794Chapter: 1
Karlie - just to thank you so much for reviewing me. I really appreciate it, too! Good luck with whatever you write next.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59767Chapter: 1
cute! "So much for keeping this to ourselves..."

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59715Chapter: 1
I loved this! It was a very characteristic show of R/Hr. I liked the conversation Hermione had with Parvati and Lavender. It was very funny. Great job!

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59704Chapter: 1
I LOVE it! So much!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59645Chapter: 1
I'm all smiles after reading this. Great job :)

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59633Chapter: 1
Greetings from one first-time fanfic writer/poster to another! It's all a bit overwhelming, isn't it! I found your story very touching; I especially enjoyed a rare glimpse into Hermione's dormitory, and it made me realise that she must have been rather lonely there all these years. I liked the book-sharing too, and the Fat Lady eavesdropping and dusting her canvas was so funny!

Do you have another story in mind? More R/H? Mine is in several chapters and I've still got loads to do ... would you be really kind and review me? (I'm so scared that no one will!).

Finally, I entirely agree with you about SQ's 'endless hours of entertainment and inspiration' - brilliantly put!

See you again soon, I hope!

Reviewer: Sheila PlickneyDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59629Chapter: 1
i love it! so sweet!

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59627Chapter: 1
Nicely done. I'm not really sure it would happen like that though, but it was really well written.

Reviewer: harpinredDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59623Chapter: 1
Awwww! That was very sweet, cute and ackward. Just like it's supposed to be :) Very impressive for a first fic. Please keep up the good work!

Reviewer: skylarkingDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59621Chapter: 1
this was really sweet-great job for your first attempt. keep on writing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --