The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: scottykarrdeDate: 2007-12-26
Reviewid: 150217Chapter: 1
this is quite possibly one of the most well-written fanfics I've come across. astoundingly tight, even beautiful, in its own way.
wow.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141515Chapter: 1
A better thought.

Reviewer: PaigeDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119658Chapter: 1
This is probably my favorite of the four you've pointed me to so far. When you consider how much I like roleplaying with you, I guess it's no surprise that I've always enjoyed your character interaction. But there's next to no interaction in this one and I'm forced to admit what about your writing really does it for me: the actions and the thought processes.

You characterize so well.

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103606Chapter: 1
Whoa

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103479Chapter: 1
*sigh*

This is just so bloody good.

If I only write like this, I would have been constantly praised by my writing professors. Unfortunately, that happens rarely.

Reviewer: AbbaDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 98995Chapter: 1
Thank you! Your fics are poignant and subtle and refreshing.

Reviewer: LexDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96890Chapter: 1
It was really good, but i didn't get the end. Just Remus..?

Reviewer: KathryhDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90947Chapter: 1
WOW that was sad... but realy good... it makes sirius sound even more inicsent...

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86592Chapter: 1
I read this before, but this is just as good if not better this time around. Somehow the feeling of insanity and determination is captured in the story.

Reviewer: Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85906Chapter: 1
WOW. powerful writing.
Poor padfoot:(
It made Azkaban sound a lot like Chateau dIf, which is how i often think about it. Good work!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70696Chapter: 1
I just reread this.
Wow.
The image of Sirius sitting there, trying not to think, wishing for a piece of chocolate so as to feel human...is very powerful. And angering!

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68710Chapter: 1
Excellent, as always! You capture Sirius's character so well! I absolutely love your writing...though it saddens me that this is the last of it! I've read the rest. :( I don't suppose you've got any more Sirius-canon fics out there? Or that you know of any good ones you can recommend? Well, as usual...amazing job! Really, I'm very impressed!

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65536Chapter: 1
aww, poor sirius! he don't deserit1 *snif*

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64980Chapter: 1
I normally do not leave reviews. Which is odd because I crave them myself and pout when I don't see them. This piece was worth a review. Very well written and very well thought out. When I get a lump in my throat you know you have done your job as an author. I look forward to reading your other pieces and hope you find mine to be as well written as yours.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64783Chapter: 1
Probably the most realistic (for me) treatment of Sirius's imprisonment and the Dementors I've read yet. The timelessness of imprisonment causes problems in normal 'Muggle' prisons... and this one is so much worse....

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63548Chapter: 1
*gasp* So good. So sad.

Reviewer: Sailor SolDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63416Chapter: 1
Another incredible piece. Makes me just want to give Sirius a big hug. Azkaban must have been awful... You write Sirius very, very well. Wonderful job!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63414Chapter: 1
I'm speechless.

And I thought that your most recent story was good. This is even better, even more unbelievably in character. Sirius' bitterness almost made me cry more than once, but it almost made me laugh aloud the same number of times. I love the way you have him walking the thin line between insanity and sanity, how that the reader knows this is killing him inside and yet he really isn't crazy, not in the end and not completely.

Great job, and I sincerly hope that you write more stories soon. I'll be waiting to read them!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61577Chapter: 1
Wow. What a wonderful piece. The tone is spot-on--too strong for desperation, but too resigned for hope. I was especially struck by the line "All pathetic sorry thoughts, so they're mine to play with." Twelve years of having your happy thoughts taken away the second they pop into your head--gah! Very powerful stuff.

TSS

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61119Chapter: 1
This story is...come dire...incredible.
It makes my skin crawl. I myself am in the middle of a "Sirius in Azkaban" fic, but it certainly won't be this good!
"...and do it all over again. And again".
Quiet despair.

Reviewer: niiDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59985Chapter: 1
i like stuff like this - simple and true.

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59954Chapter: 1
Awwwwww! My computer's in a fritz still, but when I do get the chance to sneak onto a school computer, it's nice to find a story like this to read! You're a great writer, and I LOVE this! It's beautiful, really!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59852Chapter: 1
Wow. What a brilliant story. You're imagery of Azkaban is. . . amazing.

"Once, a rat got in and curled up next to me on the bed. It made me cry, seeing another living thing.

Then I transformed into a dog and ate it."

Bloody brilliant. Wow.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59812Chapter: 1
Wow. This was an amazing little fic. So expressive and visual, with quite a punch. Makes me even sadder he's gone. :o(
This is the Sirius who asked for The Daily Prophet because he missed doing the crossword puzzle. Bravo.

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59768Chapter: 1
Wow.

This is the best Sirius-in-Azkaban story I've ever read.

The rat bit was so incredible, so expressive...

And I love the happy-thought game with the Dementors, the torturing them back...

An amazingly powerful piece.

I salute you. Hand over heart.

Reviewer: sophieDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59754Chapter: 1
wow. you captured his emotions really well. wow wow wow.

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59753Chapter: 1
Kind of eerie but good. Your humor in your fics are awesome (even though this fic didn't have much, but it was still pretty good).

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59714Chapter: 1
Sorry about the double post, but... I can't spell and it's supposed to be "the". I also wanted to add that I hope you write more fics like this.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59713Chapter: 1
Wow! Brilliant look into Sirius's mind. It was very creepy, but fit him well. I liked teh part about him not liking to be locked up the best.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59692Chapter: 1
Very well written. It definitely makes your heart ache for Sirius. I especially liked the last part, which gives you a real sense of the hopelessness of Azkaban.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59668Chapter: 1
Great job getting into Sirius' head (but then you've had tons of experience) :) The tone of the piece shows how dead Sirius has to force his thoughts to be in order to protect himself from the Dementors, but at the same time the way he talks about Remus on the outside and of the game he plays with the Dementors lets Sirius' loyal and playful side show through. I think his hatred of confined spaces (even prior to his imprisonment) is another indication of his free-wheeling side. I really enjoyed reading this, even if I was sorry to have to relive Sirius' time in Azkaban.

Reviewer: AgreosDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59661Chapter: 1
Powerful, pomerful piece. I love the idea of Sirus trying to get back in little ways at the dementors outside his door. I also really liked the image of the rat making him cry and hten eating it in desperation. It was a really great piece of work.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59642Chapter: 1
I loved it. You set up a wonderful dark mood... it was brilliant.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --