The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132048Chapter: 1
Unbelievable that this story has just ten reviews. Least I can do is make it 11.

Lovely portrayal of Salazar - I loved how you made the point that age brings wisdom, that time heals afflictions of pride, so subtly. I love your Godric, I love the Slytherin student who threw herself at Salazar. The duel was described masterfully.

But what I like best is how Hogwarts is a living, breathing character in your story - a Helen of Troy, if you will - who, in spite of her innocence, inspires so much violence.

Wonderful sory. You made my day.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80971Chapter: 1
Great image of Salazar. Marvelous last paragraph.
And great description of the two duels. Amazing work.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62368Chapter: 1
*Sob*

So touching! Brilliant piece of writing!

Reviewer: Karim MehdiDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61229Chapter: 1
I love it. Simply excelent. It shows a very proabble lineage to the world of Hogwarts that we know. I like the portrayal of Salazar and the inclusion of Marvolo. all in all the only fault it has is that it was too damn short.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60229Chapter: 1
that was amazing. the most heartbreaking and bittersweet thing EVER. i loved it so so so so much and i'm gonna go cry now.

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60164Chapter: 1
Oh wow. That was just wonderful. Its so sad to know that they knew one another so well, yet they were driven apart. This is such a sad story, but so wonderfully written. I love your writing style, and I cant wait to read more of your stuff.
>Then he thought of Godric, the one friend he’d dared call brother—oh, they were different, so different, but in those differences laid their strength. Once, they would have died to save each other. Now only one could survive.
> I go to join Godric, and perhaps, if I can scrape up enough humility, to ask his forgiveness.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60162Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. sometimes good friendships end with such foolishness, and....

Reviewer: Blue KelpieDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60150Chapter: 1
wow. this is a brilliant story.

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60117Chapter: 1
Wow. That was absolutely wonderful. I love the whole thing. I have nothing to say other than wow.

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60038Chapter: 1
Ow. /Ow./ This was painful. Broken friendships, and the shards are sharp, but still precious even as they drive into each other's hearts.

I'm not trying to be pretentious. I /feel/ incoherent. The loss, the way they still understand each other all too well, the way they say they kept his house, the way it's Helga who comes out first, the warriors' ways that Salazar and Godric understand in each other far far too well even if I don't, and how the school goes on. That it was one of Salazar's own who broke into the fight and tackled him.

I'm glad she lived. I'd wonder if it was strange between her and her teacher afterward, only it wouldn't be much stranger than for everyone, after he dueled Godric and took his place there.

How in the end, even within Salazar's lifetime, they were back to accepting Muggle-born students. Heavy and terribly sad irony, strangely appropriate, and in some ways my favorite part. Except that it's mostly the way the whole story deals with the friendship and enmity at once.

And how Salazar thinks it would have been Godric who understood about the Chamber.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 60017Chapter: 1
W00t! GREAT job, you portrayed Slytherin like I thought he'd be... so realistic, the whole story was great :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --