The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 119

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-10
Reviewid: 141801Chapter: 10
I enjoyed your POV fic very much.
I also found the style quite interesting.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113897Chapter: 3
Okay, again great chapter (thanks for the PM, by the way, I always love hearing from you). I had already read this chapter, but by the time I finished it, I had to go to one of those pesky classes they insist on having at school :P. So I was sitting in the student center with about fifteen other students, and we were all doing our own thing, I imagine they were doing homework or something of that nature. I, on the other hand, was giggling like a seven year old each time Ron said "Uranus". I'm not sure the whole turning a laugh into clearing my throat thing was working, though. There was a couple on the couch next to me, and it being Valentine's Day, I'm sure I ruined the mood.

There were also parts that were kind of sad, and I felt really bad for Confused!Ron, like this part:The only thing he knew for sure was that he was dying, and that his best friend had just walked away.

I think you've got Ron after that hex/spell/curse/whatever it was down really well. The only problem I had with the story is you had Ron kind of acting out of it before that. But he was probably under a lot of stress, and, like the rest of them, didn't know much of what was going on. *Looks at clock* Damn, another class. I'm looking forward to the Neville one, and I don't want to rush through it in the five minutes I have until the next class.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113895Chapter: 2
Okay, you are a genius. That's all I have to say. Genius. Genius. Genius. There is not one bad thing to say about this chapter. Or even a neutral thing to say about this chapter.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113893Chapter: 1
How on earth did I miss this? I needed to read something like this. My opinion of you, if possible, has gone higher. I especially like the second to the last sentance: Hermione uttered an "Oh"...

Reviewer: amirDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112171Chapter: 3
Good start! What I'm really interested in is your tring to do amir

Reviewer: amirDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112170Chapter: 3
bl

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109383Chapter: 10
Dag Birgit !

Sorry I didn't comment this sooner. I read it before going to my sister's for two weeks, and it was late, so I decided it would be better commenting later, or I would have written all wrong.
I really appreciated your work. It's very interesting to read all those different points of view.
I saw there was a new chapter of "Domus Draconis". I'll read it tonight if I can, but now I have to go and eat with my parents, for once (as it's New Year Eve).

See you soon.

Cybčle.

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107522Chapter: 6
"Any wrong movement of Bellatrix, and this time he would just Stun her."

Oh, why didn't he stun her for real ? Sirius would still be alive !

Very good job again. See you tonight or tomorrow.

Cyb.

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107378Chapter: 4
Although I don't like this part of the book at all, I like the way you write all those different points of view. You did a very good job !

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107236Chapter: 2
Dag !
Since I like alternate point of view stories and all what you write, I was bound to like this. I'll read more tonight, so see you very soon.
Cyb.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106369Chapter: 10
I liked this very much, seeing the fight from so many perspectives and filling in the details. You captured all the different personalities involved to a tee. I loved Ron’s POV especially, his desire to protect his sister… and Hermione. And his battle with the brain was masterfully done- a tickling charm. How perfect! There was one line I found particularly heartbreaking
“The only thing he knew for sure was that he was dying, and that his best friend had just walked away.” From Ron’s POV
I don’t know why but that just brought the tears flooding into my eyes. Poor Ronniekins! I really liked Lucius’ POV as well, and his power struggle with Bellatrix. Unbalanced, indeed!
“The room didn’t contain any people. It was full of moving things. Chairs, desks, drawers, teacups, towels, spoons, whole bathtubs and a few things he didn’t recognised, were walking through the room. He had just Stunned a wardrobe.”
I don’t know why but this really made me laugh. Anything that makes Lucius look stupid is fine by me. Sirius’ POV was really sad- especially how much he enjoyed the fight, and felt so alive… poor padfoot. I really liked the contrast between Sirius’ recklessness and savage enjoyment of the fight to Lupin, who feels bad when the guy he’s fighting got stunned. A really fascinating fic, keep writing!

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103478Chapter: 9
Great work, comparable to JKR's original. I liked Remus' point-of-view best-- when Sirius died, he didn't feel anger at all, unlike Harry. Harry was still a bit immature and reckless compared to Lupin, and he was a lot confused with his emotions.

Here's a real person, an adult who had just lost a dear friend, feeling numb and hopeless. I was nearly in tears when I finished Lupin's version-- it's different that he lost a friend and a brother, while Harry lost a friend, brother and a father all at the same time. Just simple and realistic.

Reviewer: AntonioDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102722Chapter: 10
Excellent job at piecing together J. K. Rowling’s, sometimes messy and complicated writing. Let’s hope the movie makers spend even more time before they try to create the film version of this battle. I kind of need to thank you concerning this story. Being able to see the battle from so many different perspectives helped me not be so nervous when I attempted to write a small skirmish between wizards.

The room where Ron, Ginny, and Luna, where sometimes just floating in space; I imagine, must have been difficult to describe. JK didn’t give much. I think you did very well with it. It with what I’d thought it was.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91941Chapter: 9
Perfect! Remus seems very in-character- he doesn't really like fighting at all, does he? And there's something creepy about having to run about searching for half-dead enemies. *shrug*

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91585Chapter: 10
This is fabbity fab! You wrote them all so well! I like your Dumbledore especially. I have seen a few fics trying to show DD's feelings about Harry and yours is by far the best and totally (in my mind, anyway) accurate! Ur story ROX!!!

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88784Chapter: 10
Incredible. Simply incredible. I was completely drawn in by each character - an astounding success for each of them. I did not realize you were the creator of the Artists and Scientists stories, as well - but I should have guessed. This and those are my favorite SQ stories.
Please keep up the good work!

Reviewer: AliyaDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87891Chapter: 10
Loved this one! Very realistic Dumbledore...this is the last one? I've really enjoyed these!

-PQ

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87582Chapter: 10
Excellent way to conclude this. I really enjoyed this chapter. Dumbledore being so carefree in the beginning was great, it's so like him to be "smiling happily" at everyone, even when invisible. I found it absolutely chilling when he used the Imperius Curse on Kreacher, but it's entirely believable, and I'd suspected that that's what he had done, anyway. Just shows how dangerous Albus can be when necessary. The duel with Voldemort was great; I like your idea of the Hurricane spell (I'd always wondered what that was), and his thoughts on exactly why he didn't use the killing curse. Of course, it wouldn't work! And also that he has no idea how Harry will achieve victory in the end, but that he is willing to do everything possible to give him that chance, and that he believes it absolutely. Nicely done! I've really enjoyed reading this story, and now I'm sad that it's done.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87557Chapter: 10
Birgit,

I am sad to hear that this is the last chapter of your story. Although it's been quite hard reliving Sirius' death so many times... especially since you've made it so real each time.

You've done an amazing job with this, especially considering that you had to step inside 10 different characters! Your characterization was always good, and your writing has made an incredible improvement.

There are a lot of things I liked in this chapter. There was a certain injection of humor here that seemed very fitting to Dumbledore (in the beginning of the chapter, of course... there was little funny about the end :( ... )

I've jotted down some of the lines I really liked. There were many, but towards the end I got so engrossed in what was happening, I didn't really pay as much attention.. :blush: sorry.

"It was one of the disadvantages of being wanted by the Ministry." haha I can just see Dumbledore thinking that! :D

"and having a look at other shops in Diagon Alley always resulted in buying shiny, useful little tools, only to discover back in his office that he already had two of them and had never used them."
I really liked this as characterization of Dumbledore. It explained very well why he has so many of those gadgets in his office, and also makes him seem absentminded, which suits him perfectly!

"Unfortunately, all of it would be magically repaired when he returned." hahaha. Again, this seemed like just the sort of thing Dumbledore would say. :D

"Albus turned towards the dais, mentally cursing himself for not taking out Bellatrix Lestrange first. She was much too dangerous."
This was such a tense moment! I was wishing that he would somehow save Sirius, can you believe it? I *knew* he wouldn't, but I was still hoping for it. :rolleyes:

There was one thing I was a little unsure of, but it's more a matter of opinion than anything else. I would imagine that Dumbledore would follow Harry as soon as he saw him go after Bellatrix. I know that there were other people to take care of... and it's possible that you're more right than I am in the correct sequence of events... but I just couldn't reconcile the fact that Dumbledore would leave Harry on his own with Bellatrix for such a long time.

However, he absolutely had to take care of other people who were hurt, and the way you wrote it makes perfect sense why he didn't go after Harry right away. Plus, in the book Dumbledore doesn't show up right away, so he was obviously doing something before he got to the Atrium. And you demonstrated that very well.

So... you've done a great job with this, Birgit! I'm sad to see this story at an end, but am looking forward to the continuation of Artists and Scientists Universe. :D

Dinka

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87555Chapter: 10
This was a great series, although I'm sad that this is the last one. I'd hoped you were going to do Tonks--I myself had some ideas for that. But it was fine just the way you did it.

On another note: Please write more Mark Evans soooon!!!

Reviewer: NormDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87495Chapter: 10
loved the series. Thanks

Reviewer: MaryAnne der EselDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87486Chapter: 10
That chapter with Dumbledore was especially good! It's sad that it was the last one, though; I really liked this fic.

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87485Chapter: 10
Well done. Interesting to see your attempts at different pov's of the OotP climax.

Looking forward to your future stories.

Reviewer: mandjDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87478Chapter: 10
That was wonderful! it was so interesting to look at it from all those points of view. great job!!! I hope you continue writing.

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87475Chapter: 10
A great ending for a great journey.

Your handling of Albus is excellent, and that bit about travelling was great. The flow of Albus' thoughts is pretty good, and the fact that you kept him focused not in battling the Death Eaters but in Harry is sign of how powerful he trully is. The duel with Voldemort was smooth and to the point, and I really liked the detail that he sensed Fawkes coming to his aid. Lastly, how you portrayed his thoughts concerning Fudge was exactly how I imagined they would be. Marvelous job.

Now, the only point I find weird is his use of the Imperio curse. I know that seemed to be the easiest and quickest way to get the truth out of Kreacher, but I have always seen Albus as one that will never touch the Unforgivables. Legilimens, now, is what I think he would have used instead (and surely other times in a discreeet, wandless way). But I think that's just my personal opinion, and that a strong argument concerning Albus' apparent need to be in control as the cause of his using of the Imperio curse can be made, but I like to see him as a noble character, that no matter what will not use an Unforgivable on any being.

Anyway, I liked this series very much, and I hope to see another masterwork from you soon.

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87465Chapter: 10
I'm sorry to see it end. I enjoyed the Remus and Dumbledore chapters the best, mainly because you don't see much fan fic (at least good fics) from their POV's. (or is that P'sOV?) Anyway, it wouldn't hurt my feelings at all if you wanted to make the Dumbledore chapter the first one of a chaptered fic from his perspective. Cheers! :)

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87434Chapter: 10
How sad that it's the last chapter! I've really enjoyed reading others' perspectives on that night...
here are some thought-provoking lines:
"having a look at other shops in Diagon Alley always resulted in buying shiny, useful little tools, only to discover back in his office that he already had two of them and had never used them. Albus smiled on remembering the state of chaos he had left his office in – all the useless tools were broken. Unfortunately, all of it would be magically repaired when he returned." (hee hee...if Harry only knew)
"Kreacher. At once, Albus was moving again. The house-elf would know where Sirius and the others went, and there was no way he could leave the house. Most likely he would not be happy to tell Albus anything useful, but Albus would force it out of him if he had to.
<snip>
Albus decided it was time to end the niceties. He needed to get to the Ministry, but first he needed to know every bit of information the house-elf could tell him. He drew his wand.
Kreacher stopped laughing at once. His eyes were full of fear. There was no much house-elves feared more than a wizard’s wand." (I like this because it fits. There are people who thought Dumbledore should have headed straight for the Ministry, but I like how you've shown how important it was that he questioned Kreacher before running off.)
"“Imperio.”" (I'm not sure how I feel about this. I'm sure it's a different matter in wizard law to use an unforgiveable on an elf, but I somehow really don't think Dumbledore would have used it...)
"Sirius’ laughter echoed around the room. Albus turned towards the dais, mentally cursing himself for not taking out Bellatrix Lestrange first. She was much too dangerous." (Harry and Dumbledore have so much in common, the whole blaming themselves too much thing, to name one...)
"Albus felt pain in his chest upon hearing the boy shouting. Someone behind him laughed. He turned around and fiercely Stunned Lucius Malfoy." (It makes sense to me for Albus to be fierce here...and boy, can he be scary when he's mad)
“Ron,” he said, “do you know where Hermione is?” (I like this test...Dumbledore knows his students very well)
"However, he had started to question himself. The events of the evening had made him realise that he had made some grave mistakes during the past year, or maybe even earlier. If he hadn’t locked up Sirius in Grimmauld Place, if he had told Harry about the prophecy before, if he had taught Harry Occlumency himself – all this damage would have been prevented." (this makes me think of that single tear sliding down his nose in the book...)
"He would not, he would never attack someone with his back turned to him, not even Lord Voldemort." (see why I don't think he would use an unforgiveable? You see him as very noble, yet he used the Imperius curse.)
It's a nice touch that you've got Albus referring to Voldemort as 'Tom' even in his head. Very in character.
"Albus just watched, praying that Harry would be strong enough. Harry and Tom, they were antagonists; Tom couldn’t bear staying in Harry’s body for a long time. And Harry couldn’t bear being possessed by Tom for a long time. The only question left was who would win. It would be Harry. It had to be Harry. Harry was a strong boy, capable of more than Tom could imagine. It had to be Harry." (how beautiful is his faith in Harry!)
The way you've shown Dumbledore as wanting Voldy to leave so he could get Harry to safety is very good. That was a point I had wondered about: why it seemed that Dumbledore didn't seem worried that Voldy escaped with Bella.
Excellent ending to your series! I hope you are working on something else for us? :o)

Jules

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87418Chapter: 10
Aww... it's the final chapter? *Sniff.* Well, that's okay. However, I have a tiny nitpick: Dumbledore's use of the Imperio curse. I know Dumbledore was angry at the time, but I just can't see him doing that to anyone, even Kreacher. He just seems to be the sort who'd avoid dark magic at all costs.

I really do hope you write a sequel or something; this was really good, especially because you definitely got into the characters, even when it must have been hard. I also liked that their actions and emotions, for the most part, were very realistic and in character.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87350Chapter: 9
how sad! I've really enjoyed all these p.o.v's.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87027Chapter: 9
How heartbreaking! You've got Remus down perfectly.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86955Chapter: 9
*Blink*

This was definitely worse than Sirius' POV. :( Harder to read, I mean.
And you wrote it so well, that it didn't ease the pain but made it worse.
The ending was so well written, Birgit. It just trails off, kind of like Remus in his shocked state of mind... and like me, after this chapter. :(

There were many things I really liked in this chapter, and I jotted some of them down.
First of all, there is no question that your writing has improved *a lot*. Also, I really like when you inject little lines of characterization, and you do it so effectively, especially for such a short story (chapter). For example, I really liked this line:
"Remus had made sure no part of his body was left in Grimmauld Place. He had always hated Apparating, and getting himself splinched was one of his greatest fears."
It fit very well there, and fleshed out Lupin very nicely.

Also, I really liked this line after Snape called Grimmauld Place:
"
Sirius got to his feet with his wand in hand, looking at it as if he didn’t know what to do with it."
I love your description there, it gave me a very vivid picture of Sirius and the way he must have looked at that moment.

"Then his opponent made a miscalculation. The one big advantage of being a werewolf was being used to pain. While the Death Eater allowed himself to relax, Remus managed to ignore the pain long enough to aim his wand."
This was very nice. I don't even think I can explain why I liked it, just that it was wonderful. :)

"Remus suddenly had a vision of Sirius Apparating into the Ministry in front of a couple of Aurors, and being captured and led away to Azkaban immediately."
This line was very descriptive as well, and was also great characterization of Remus. You did a very good job with this chapter, and managed to thoroughly upset me. I hope you take it as a compliment when I say that I hope this is the last chapter of this story... it's certainly been very sad, and you've done an amazing job getting inside each character.

Wonderful work, Birgit!


Dinka

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86952Chapter: 8
Birgit,

I've been dreading reading this chapter for the longest time... I knew it would be difficult to read because it's in Sirius' POV, and I was postponing reading it.

Having read it, I know I wasn't wrong in dreading it... You did a wonderful job with Sirius' characterization, and really made me sad with this chapter. His quick temper, his impulsiveness, and his biting comments to Kreacher were very well portrayed here. I especially like that you didn't "dress-up" his death in any way. You made it quick and unexpected, just the way it was in the book. The addition of details, such as Sirius' thoughts of wanting to smile at Harry, and his noticing Dumbledore raise his wand, were heartbreaking to read. :(

All in all, this was a great chapter, though very sad. Now I'm off to read Remus... which should be just as sad, if not more sad, now that I think of it!

Oh my, you're certainly putting me through a lot of torture, having to relive this moment over and over again. ;) :D

You're a doing a great job! :)

Dinka

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86820Chapter: 9
AWWWWWWWWWWW!!! I can't believe Sirius died! Its so sad! It kills me!

Reviewer: amandaDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86709Chapter: 9
well, you have offically made me burst into tears.

Reviewer: nooneya knowDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86595Chapter: 8
omg!!! I aomost cried! but if i know jkrowling, he'll come back... it has to do wiith that viel- i know it!

Reviewer: nooneyaknowDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86588Chapter: 1
i luvd it!finaly therz a girlz point of view!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86512Chapter: 9
Birgit,

I was very interested to read your take on what may have happened before and after Harry's point of view at the Ministry. And it makes it all the more poignant to see Remus going on with what must be done after Sirius's death. Your story also made me think about these events in canon more. Now I find myself wondering why Remus didn't try to chase after Harry immediately as Dumbledore had. I'm glad you found a way to explain that.

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86341Chapter: 9
An intense new chapter, full of battles and what poor Remus had to go through right after Sirius death. And all pretty well done.

Your Remus was pretty good, specially after Sirius fell, but I have always imagined him as a stronger duelist. At least stronger than Sirius. Perhaps what happened was that Lestrange, if he is anything like his dear wife, was quite the challenge for anyone and thus Remus had more trouble with him, right?

Anyway, my favourite part was:
'Now the Aurors were there to take care of the Death Eaters, there was nothing more to do for Remus. But he didn’t want to go back to Headquarters. He didn’t want to be the one to report what had happened. But he didn’t want to be alone either. He couldn’t decide what to do, so he started walking, very slowly, in the direction of the lifts.'

Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86334Chapter: 9
*Wipes tear.* Remus is one of my favorite characters, and I felt heartbroken for him in OoTP; I feel heartbroken for him now, reading this. You portrayed his emotions very well - as if a part of him wanted to cry, but he realized so much was going on, that there was almost no time.

Here is a slight afterthought - Remus would probably make a great Auror. Never thought of that until reading this.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85946Chapter: 8
Wow. You've managed to do eight separate perspectives, and each of them is just as interesting and unique as their characters. I am expecially impressed by your Voldemort, since he's SO hard to write.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85716Chapter: 3
Ron's acting like a strange combination of a trusting little puppy and a little kid, hardly more than a toddler. You know how little puppies don't hold grudges and get over being upset really quickly? That's what he seems to be doing. And the "red paint" thing seems a lot like an innocent little kid. Well, I like how you've expanded on all this stuff. Was it fun to write from the perspective of someone who got their sense knocked out of them?

Reviewer: OkamiDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85715Chapter: 8
And the rest of Sirius's story... we don't know. Well, I don't, but what with being a Wiccan who can't quite give up on liking the idea of heaven and angels, that's to be expected. Aaaanyway, I like how Sirius was using this crazy jumble of spells. He WOULD conjure birds in the thick of a duel.

Reviewer: IcybeachDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85674Chapter: 3
"He needed to protect his sister, but he had no idea how." *melt* I love it when Ron gets protective of his sister - it just so cute! Very good to have Ron's confusion over why Harry wasn't laughing. Hehe, he seemed like a puppy or a baby that just didn't understand.

"Ron felt a bit afraid" (because of Hermione being unconscious) Awwww (R/Hr shipper here).
You know, seeing things from the other's PoV really makes me appreciate just how brave and clear-headed Harry was during all of this! I mean, I never thought of him being so brave and mature before.
Great scene with the brain, very good missing moment.

"How could he explain everything? Uranus, the brain, foreign thoughts, Loony Lovegood –" LOL - really picking the tings that were most important! LOL
I loved this chapter, it was so funny and so plausible. I'm still laughing about Ron's mixed up mind.

Icy

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85673Chapter: 8
Another great chapter, birgit, and once again from an unexpected point of view. You did a great job capturing Sirius personality, specially his feelings of growing excitement throughout the battle. The ending was pretty good too.

My favourite part was:
'Sirius fell through the archway.'

A simple ending is in many cases the best way to go.

Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: IcybeachDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85668Chapter: 2
"Death Eaters killed and tortured, but didn't laugh!" "Clearly, in reality, they had forgotten how to kill, and laughed instead." Lol, good observations Luna! I really loved her PoV throughout the chapter, they were very Luna-like and in-character. I liked how she kept thinking about the Quibbler, and I liked how she kept referring to her father, and what he thinks. I always got the impression that Luna was a daddy's girl, and you clearly agree with that ;)
I love the floorless/planet room. It was a very plausible scene and I got completely wrapped up in it. And to have Bellatrix shout Stunning spells like that was brilliant (something the crazy and unstable Bellatrix would do).

LOL, I loved Ron's silly humour after the curse (hey, and danger WAS coming - Sirius's death *sob*).

“Yes – no – I suppose,” LOL, very funny and very Luna.

Oh, this was a great chapter - wonderful missing moments and alternative PoV! Great job, Birgit! Can’t wait to read Ron!

Icy

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85667Chapter: 8
Aww.... that was so sad. :( Is this the ending? I hope that there's more, because I like this fanfic. You have the characters written very well - I loved the way you portrayed Sirius's fears, it was very moving and realistic.

Reviewer: IcybeachDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85666Chapter: 1
Hermione thinking that she should be more comfortable in the room because it had structure is just perfect! Probably the same reason she likes libaries (order and structure).

And Hermione being terrified of the Death Eaters - THANK YOU!! I hate the Mary Sue Hermione has become in too many fics! Being able to do anything and everything without so much as breaking a sweat! You definitely made her more human.

I'm most curious about the Luna/Ron/Ginny PoV!! What were they up to when they were out of Harry's sight...

"Harry always knew what to do" Good thing to have her trust him like that - I don't see that often enough in fics. Heh, even JKR only just recently brought that up (DA thing).

Again, very well written, very in-character. Very interesting to read (can't wait to read the rest).

Icy

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85638Chapter: 8
Nicely done, I love your account of Sirius' fighting the Death Eaters, and his thoughts as he does so. It was funny when he used the Avis spell! I felt very sad at the end, when he looked at Harry and Dumbledore right before the end. Curse you, JK . . .

Are you writing any more of these? They are awesome. Please keep going!

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85615Chapter: 3
You've done such a wonderful job with these chapters so far! You've done the alternate points of view excellently! I have to say, these were some of my favorite quotes in the chapter:

"Ron made a mental note to congratulate Harry later at annoying the Death Eaters so much that they started shouting at each other" Very Ron-ish. I like it. And--

"For a moment, Ron panicked and thought he had pushed his little sister into a deep hole" Yes, I would make a mistake like this one...

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85590Chapter: 8
This was my favorite one so far, I think. I love Sirius, and this was a very canonically-correct account of his POV in the Department of Mysteries. Are you going to do a Remus one next?

-Linnet

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82740Chapter: 7
This was a very fascinating chapter, Birgit! Sorry I'm just getting around to reading it now. I think this may be your best chapter yet. It was really interesting and unusual to see the Ministry perspective from Voldemort and the sequence of events through Harry's feelings. That must have taken a lot of thought. Good job!

Oh, and I was very sorry to hear about your horrible ordeal with plagiarism. I hope nothing like that ever happens on the Quill again. I can't believe that person was actually a Quill member.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78223Chapter: 7
Wow, Birgit... this is the first time I see anyone dare to try Voldemort's POV.

There were a few things here I *really* liked, and a few other things that I wasn't too sure about... but let me tell you, it's a good thing that you don't write Voldemort as well as the other characters. I'm sure you realize that. :o)

Let's see... here's a quote I liked:
"It had something do to with submissiveness. No, not really. It was friendship. Loyalty. He had endangered his friends and wanted to get them out alive."
I *really* liked this. Voldemort associating loyalty with submissiveness. It was very well done.
On a similar note, I LOVED that Voldemort didn't realize where the pain was coming from when he was forced to exit Harry. He doesn't even know what love is... he would never recognize it.

Another part I really liked was this one:
"Try to see the truth, Tom. Your brilliant plan has failed.
Voldemort hated it when the voice called him that."
Very nice! It really showed how vulnerable and unaccepting of failure he is.. not only from others, but from himself as well.

The part about Voldemort entering Harry's mind many times is an interesting idea. I liked it. I liked even more when Voldmort was trying to figure out Harry's feelings in the beginning. It was very well written.


The only thing I really have issues with is that Voldemort seemed too human. I never expected him to have so many feelings. :D
Maybe I'm wrong... I don't know.

But if you wrote Voldemort chillingly well, I wouldn't be impressed, I would be concerned.


Great job, Birgit. :)


Dinka

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77300Chapter: 7
Very good! Wow, that was amazing!!!!!!!! Keep it up!!!

Reviewer: frank secadaDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77136Chapter: 7
I really enjoyed this one. But then again I've enjoyed them all. You really pointed up Voldemort's weak spot, and his real confusion and frustration at dealing with Harry's loving feelings for others.

I guess you have Dumbledore's and Fudge's perspectives left to do. But when I saw this one I said, "Hey what about the psycho perspective!" No, not Moody. I meant Bellatrix's. Although also I would've loved to see Moody's, and Lupin's (hint, hint). Oh yeah, and Sirius, and Tonks, and Kingley, and Snape, and...

It's really such good stuff. I just want more!

Reviewer: RuthieDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77060Chapter: 7
Oh my goodness... This was a fantastic POV! Creepily realistic. *shivers*

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77049Chapter: 7
HA!! Glad Voldemort felt pain! That is an interesting concept, and one I never thought of, that Voldemort would be repeled by Harry's thoughts. But you have canon to back you up in the sense that he couldn't stand to be in the same body when Harry felt love for Sirius. Very interesting. This was chilling, but not as chilling as Lucius Malfoy--I guess because you conveyed so well how inhuman Voldemort is, so the cruelty he dishes out is so matter of fact that it doesn't affect his emotions. Lucius is a much more complex personality. Great job--again!

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77005Chapter: 7
Very interesting to see this from Voldemort's POV. I think I would have liked to see more of the Dumbledore encounter. (And just why Lord Voldythingy is afraid of Dumbledore), but great job!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77004Chapter: 7
Wow, that was great, best chapter yet I'd say. I love how Voldemort could feel Harry's emotions at certain times, and could enter his mind and see through his eyes. It's very frightening that he could do it without Harry noticing at all, and if he can do that in the books, I fear what secrets he could find out. Great job showing what Voldemort was thinking and feeling, and how his exposure to Harry's feelings hurt him considerably. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77003Chapter: 7
That was great!

I was expecting your next chapter would be Bella's point of view but instead you did the Dark Lord's point of view. Nice going.

Your Voldemort is very real, and your take on what he was doing while his DEs ruined the mission at the DoM was very well thought out. Him using his connection with Harry was very clever.

Keep up the good work.

Animus

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75936Chapter: 6
Interesting point of view. Very well done.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-03-25
Reviewid: 75844Chapter: 6
Wow - you really portrayed Lucius in a good way; at first, I was afraid this would be a sweet -n- sugary!Lucius, but nope, you proved my fears wrong. :) Which I'd felt they would be anyway, as this is sort of a canon fic.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75742Chapter: 6
Wonderful. I especially liked Ginny's POV, and it's hard to write stories like this, because the characterization issues are hard to deal with in normal circumstances, and much worse with many characters to work with. :) But, wonderful work.

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75597Chapter: 6
Very good. I liked this piece from the very beginning, when I saw that it was from a Death Eater's point of view. The Death Eater in question being Malfoy is a plus.

Anyway, I liked how the action flowed. Malfoy's character seemed to be quite in-character as well as his reactions and thoughts.

I loved each time he knocked past Bellatrix.

All in all, very good.

Animus

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75595Chapter: 6
Well done, Birgit. I think you handled Lucius Malfoy very well. He was very in character, especially the way he always referred to Lupin as the werewolf and the way he disliked Bellatrix because she kept stealing the show but he knew he had to put up with her. I think this is my favorite of the series.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75586Chapter: 6
That was a wonderful chapter! You did an excellent job of weaving Malfoy's point of view into the action. I like how he thought Bellatrix was a loose cannon, and how his fragile ego was being put to the test. Just his glee at Harry's agony at Sirius's death turned my stomach. (that's a compliment!) I don't know if I could read Bellatrix's point of view--she would be ten times worse. A great idea for a story, and a times, a chilling one!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75584Chapter: 6
Wow, brigit, I think this is the best chapter yet, maybe because of the change of POV... I love how Lucius is so very fixed on being the leader, he really reminded me of Draco. The fight was also very interesting seen from his view. Great ending.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75566Chapter: 6
That was a very tense chapter and one that must have been difficult to write. You did a good job with writing from a Death Eater's PoV. Good job!

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75543Chapter: 6
Ouch, what a painful way to relive the Department of Mysteries scene... through the eyes of Lucius.
Augh, he is so ... FERRET-LIKE! The apple certainly doesn't fall far from the tree as far as Draco is concerned.

My absolute favorite line was:
"Slowly, he crawled around the dais, trying to find a place where he could hide."
It was just... so descriptive of Lucius and his ratlike actions. It was very vivid.

I like the way you ended this too... it was sad, but very well done.

You've done a fantastic job with this, it must have been hard to get into Lucius' head, and you pulled it off fantastically.
There was another thing I really liked, is that you demonstrated that the Death Eaters don't get along with each other. That's bad people can never make a team--they don't trust each other. I loved all the thoughts Lucius had about Bellatrix. I never even considered that he would feel this way, but after reading this, I don't see how it could be any different.

Great work, Birgit. :D

Dinka

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75495Chapter: 6
I am so happy you didn't stop with the hex
this was the part of the pov I had been wishing and waiting for
Good work

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 71986Chapter: 5
Great chapter, Birgit. I think I liked this one the most (have I been saying that every chapter?) I especially liked the descriptive quality of this chapter-- Ginny's thoughts were very well done, and she was perfectly in character.
Once again, I felt like I was seeing everything through a different set of eyes (which is the whole purpose of this, isn't it? :D). You've done a wonderful job with this!

Oh, and I *loved* this part:
“Hey, look!” Ron said. “Uranus, Neptune and Pluto are in one line ... ha ha ... that means grave danger is coming ... ha ha ha ...”
hahahahahaha


Thank you for a great read!

Dinka

PS - are you going to do Harry's POV?
(j/k)

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70911Chapter: 1
This has been a worthwhile tack to take. Now that you've finished giving us the POV of the other five participants in the Department of Mysteries incident, it seems like you really should have more than 48 reviews to show for your efforts.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69809Chapter: 4
*tear*... I didn't want to go through that again...

I've decided that Neville is definitely my favorite POV of all. I think you captured him perfectly here, Birgit. There were moments where I felt him closer than I did Harry in canon. I noticed certain things that I never noticed before-- the Death Eaters were scarier, the situation seemed more grave, but the outcome just as sad...

*tear*

I think the only problem with undertaking a project like this, is the length. Because you didn't want to make a word-for-word replica of the chapter (actually, I think it's two three chapters in the Department of Mysteries!), the result seemed to me a little rushed (which is strange, because this is your longest chapter.)
I imagine it's not very easy to switch POV's on an already written book/chapter, and to have to juggle the inclusion of important information, with the desire to not be repetitive. ... On top of which, having to condense many pages of work.

But I felt Neville so closely here, that you have reminded me of what a wonderful character he is...

I also liked very much that Neville thought Sirius looked familiar, and that he knew about the prophecy before Harry, and the way you portrayed his courage.

Great job, Birgit. I look forward to reading more of your stuff. :o)

Dinka

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69637Chapter: 4
Excellent. Someone should write a story showing Neville's reaction when Harry explains Sirius Black's true nature to him.

You know a story is good when it makes people want to write followups.

-Steve

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69588Chapter: 4
Oh my God! What a great chapter. I really enjoyed it. Looking forward to the sequel to Artists and Scientists...I love your writing!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69581Chapter: 4
Ah, so sad to read about Sirius's death again. It must be difficult to write too.

I was rather surprised by these lines:
"This was the prophecy Gran had told him about. Neville just felt it. It wasn’t him, but Harry who was mentioned in the prophecy."
It's interesting that you chose to make Neville aware of the prophecy and aware that the prophecy could have pertained to himself. I suppose that's quite possible if Neville's grandmother was aware of it. Would he know the whole prophecy, I wonder? But I didn't really think Neville sounded like he knew what the prophecy was about in this scene in the book. Hmm...makes you think, and that's the sign of a good story.

Reviewer: Carlie Darla Bianca RandDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68105Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Carlie Darla Bianca Rand!
This story is good!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67710Chapter: 3
a very good concept, well executed.

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66748Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
This story is good!
It has Hermione Granger's point of view!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-01-07
Reviewid: 66056Chapter: 3
I hope you do more-this was really good!

Reviewer: snapesprettyprincessDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66035Chapter: 3
Your alternate POV in the department of mysteries was fantastic! I really enjoyed reading all three and hope you continue on to do Ginny as well. Thanks for the fun read!

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66016Chapter: 3
Hi Birgit,

This was another great chapter.
After this, I truly started feeling bad for Ron--in such a situation, to lose all control of your faculties... very unfortunate.

You made it very believable--his thoughts before and after he was hit with the curse, were very characteristic of Ron. I especially liked this paragraph:
"Ron tuned out the rest of his words, because he saw Harry straightening his shoulders slightly, and straining the muscles in his right arm – signs Ron recognised immediately. After five years of knowing Harry, he knew exactly what they meant: Harry was preparing to do something unexpected, rash or impressive."

I loved that paragraph. In two lines, you expressed the depth of Ron and Harry's friendship. Brilliant.

After he was hit with the curse, his thoughts had a somewhat... detached quality, which I loved. He couldn't understand why nobody else was laughing at what was so obviously hilarious! hehe
poor Ron...

Oh, and you introduced something else that I didn't even consider-- that the brains were trying to inhabit Ron's body... It was so scary!
I was so freaked out during that scene...! *ugh* ... how very scary.

You did a very nice job again. I hope you write more. :)

Dinka

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65933Chapter: 3
Birgit, that was. . . disturbing. Which I'm sure is what you meant it to be. You did a good job showing Ron's confusion without making the reader confused. I like the way you interpreted Neville's line about Ron still fighting the brains. Not only was he fighting them physically, but mentally as well. This is a good refutaion to the theory that Ron will, at some point, be put under the Imperius curse. Not our Ronnie! I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65918Chapter: 1
I thought it was an original idea to try and write about the night at the Department of Mysteries from various Points of View. Because of the confusion there, it would be hard to believe that two people would have shared exactly the same experience, so it provides for some interesting insights and details.

Ch 1 (Hermione) -- I liked how Hermione felt especially comfortable in the Room of Prophecies because everything was so orderly, but it still wasn't enough to calm the feeling that something bad was going to happen. I think you did her 'voice' and showed her fears and hesitation well.

Ch 2 (Luna) -- I thought it was interesting that Luna was surprised the Death Eaters didn't start hexing and trying to kill the 'Sextet' right off. With Luna growing up in the wizarding world, it's certainly a perception that the general public might have--that the DeathEaters were almost inhuman. I thought you used the right amount of confusion and sort of mental 'drifting' that Luna does in writing her part.

Ch 3 (Ron) -- Although I had a little trouble accepting that Ron would think the break-in and rescue mission was 'fun' at any time, I did enjoy the way that you portrayed his thought processes and the 'foreign thoughts' invading his mind after he had been hit with the curse and dealt with the brain. You showed that he was not our usual brave Ron after whatever curse they hit him with had made contact, that his mind was obviously on another level somewhere. Good job.

~NZ~

Reviewer: ThatDamnedBastardDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65900Chapter: 1
Nice work with this one. Using pieces from the book and filling them in to show the viewpoint of the separate characters. I just hope you do one for Neville.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65847Chapter: 3
Another really great chapter! The interaction between Ron and the brain was really creepy! I really liked the way Ron kept trying to know where Harry, Hermione & Ginny were - like he was keeping an eye on them to be sure they were okay.

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65816Chapter: 3
Oh, I'm sorry now that I hadn't read this story earlier.

Extremely compelling and well-written, I'm enjoying it not only for the Ginny/Ron/Luna side of the story, but because you've come up with a fascinating insight into what happened to Ron.

I'm looking forward to Neville and Ginny's POV, too.

Kizmet

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65770Chapter: 3
Very nice chapter. Interesting interaction between Ron and the brains. At first Ron seemed a little bit out of character but as the chapter progressed he fell into himself. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Susan B.Date: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65738Chapter: 1
Oi! Poor Ron. I have a feeling he'll be having aftereffects from the brain attack...

Nice!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65731Chapter: 3
Birgit,

I think you've done a good job here of expanding the story more past canon, particularly in the second half. I especially liked the entire brain sequence, that's something that we never knew much about from OotP, so it was interesting to read your take on that. I also liked how you transformed Ron's thought process after he was cursed.

Now, since you said you appreciate constructive criticism, this is my advice. In the first half, the sequence in the Hall of Prophecy, I still found that you rehashed the facts a bit. I appreciated that you used less of Rowling's dialogue. Just remember that basically all of your readers have read Order of the Phoenix, so you probably don't have to remind them of the facts with plot summaries like this: "They had come all way to London to rescue Sirius, and all they had found in the place where Sirius was supposedly held was a glass ball, labelled with Harry’s name." Obviously, you may need to mention some of these items as it flows with your plot, but not necessarily in a summary format.

I'm looking forward to your chapter from Lucius's perspective. If you do Ginny and Neville, I would be very interested in their reactions to the veil, as they both seemed to be entranced by it as well. You'll see why I'm so interested in your perspective on this when you read chapter 8 of Revelations.

Best of luck with your future chapters,
Cendrillon

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65723Chapter: 3
Awesome chapter!! I loved it, it was so good!! Your so good at writing the characters behavoir! I love it!! Write some more as soon as you can!!!!

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64957Chapter: 2
Awesome story so far!!! I can't wait to read other peoples points of views!!!

Great story please continue!!

Reviewer: SasamiDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64800Chapter: 2
Great story! I love your characterization of Luna ... she's written exactly as I have imagined her. I especially love this line:

"There was no way someone like Harry would let a few Death Eaters, who so far had showcased nothing but their ability to perform Lumos, get in his way."

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64344Chapter: 2
I like your take on Luna. I especially like how she's always thinking of things for the Quibbler, showing how devoted she is to her father. And I love how she took the whole "Loony" thing in stride. She is a wise child.

Reviewer: ArloDate: 2003-12-21
Reviewid: 64226Chapter: 1
Very, very good. You put a lot of work into figuring out where everyone was when. It adds at lot the the story! Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64203Chapter: 2
Very, very good. I really like reading Alternate Points of View...this was really very good, and Luna and Hermione both seemed to be in character. Great. I can't wait for more... :)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64177Chapter: 2
Nicely done!! Having just written about that scene myself, it was nice to see you do it again. I really like the way you portray Luna as a bit dosconnected. She sees things, but her take is a bit skewed from the norm. You give her an innocent quality that makes her feel wholesome. The way you make her disconnected makes it seem normal for her not to panic.


I also like your version of Ron here. His babbling is great!

Looking forward to the next!!

Reviewer: frank secadaDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64161Chapter: 2
I'm starting to look for these so I can read them as soon as they come up. I read this first yesterday and really enjoyed it. After reading it again today, I was struck by something I hadn't noticed before. Luna is still a very innocent, fourteen year-old girl. The way she interpreted the death-eaters' actions, their fear of voldemort. It really showed another side to her. And she kept her head while she was getting away, even though clearly she wasn't thinking about fighting them. Very well done characterization of her, growing and changing, and still keeping her head. I can see how it would be very nice for Harry, to know her, as they both continue to mature.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64128Chapter: 2
"Luna found this fascinating."

Just pulling out that quote because it made such a great way to set up your chapter. It tells us that she (sort of) feels like she's watching this whole thing rather than participating in it. This just seems very true to her character. You made this chapter very dreamy-like...which adds to the way it sounds like Luna's voice.

I think it's also a neat moment when she reacts to Ron calling her Loony by realizing he would never say that in his right mind. It shows her as someone who can stand off from a situation and see it clearly at the same time.

Another impressive chapter!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64126Chapter: 2
Birgit,

It was nice to see another chapter from you. I liked the latter half of this chapter as you start to include some of the scenes we didn't see in OotP. And I liked this line you gave to Ron:
“Hey, look!” Ron said. “Uranus, Neptune and Pluto are in one line ... ha ha ... that means grave danger is coming ... ha ha ha ...”
This kind of expands on the theory that Ron is predicting the truth when he's joking.

You worked in Luna's personality well with all of her thoughts about her father and the Quibbler. I loved that she planned to tell her father about Voldemort being a half-blood.

I would be interested in the perspective of some of the other characters when they arrive at the Ministry. And maybe you could gloss over the scene in the hall of prophecies in another variation, because that tends to get repetitive with all of Rowling's dialogue. It might be interesting though to find out what some of the characters thought of the Ministry since some or all had never been there before and I think they would react to the fact that it was completely (spookily) empty. And perhaps they would show more interaction with each other, at least in thoughts if not actions, than we would know from Harry's perspective in OotP. For example, with Ron perhaps we might actually see his feelings/thoughts about Hermione that he has never expressed overtly.

Good job though, and I look forward to your next installment.

Reviewer: BitzDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64116Chapter: 2
This is realy gd so far - i liked seeing inside Luna's head because in OotP i only saw her as weird girl. plz rite mor soon coz this is realy kl.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --