The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: wishmaster1972Date: 2007-02-24
Reviewid: 147288Chapter: 1
Wow, I have shivers here. Nice beginning.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-21
Reviewid: 136110Chapter: 1
Scary

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42853Chapter: 1
Wow... Soo creepy. Balin is way too creepy beyond words. Even at such a young age he knows who he is (a soulless sadist) and what he wants and who's in the way. I would die before I ever became his mother. Or maybe I'd drown the boy before he grew up to be the monster he became. What an evil, evil git.

Reviewer: missy hallanDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17756Chapter: 1
Oohhhhhh...that kid is so creepy! lol Very intriguing. Well, I'm off to read For Love of a Hufflepuff. I've been meaning to for, like, months! I'm such a procrastinator... ^_^

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17549Chapter: 1
Balin?
What about Tolkein's book, The Hobbit?
The dwarfs, Ori, Nori, Dori, Balin,Dwalin, Oin, Gloin, Thorin, Fili, Kili,Bombur, Bifur and B_fer.
-and, in case anyone has forgotten, the hobbit, Bilbo Baggins.
_jes

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-22
Reviewid: 9831Chapter: 1
Chris, only you can chill a reader so quickly and so well! I absolutely adore Balin, that charming scumbag, and love this glimpse of his evil self as a child.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2396Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Professor
Posts: 88
(6/8/02 10:58:23 am )
Reply
Re: FLOTH: Part 3, Chapters 1 and 2
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey, I was able to set up an internet connection in my hotel room, so I'm writing you from the home of the Grassy Knoll and Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders...

Oh thanks, Chris, for freaking me out during my lunch hour!

If you think my little vignette is bad, just wait till you read the sequel .

it brings home the reality of that sucking void in Balin where love resides in other people.


Sucking void...I like that, sums up the little scamp perfectly.


NZ, I'm so glad you like Part 3 of FTLOH so far. Hope you like the rest as well. Thank you!

Question: Dumbledore just doesn't think Sirius should be out of hiding-- is that why he doesn't want him at the meeting/ Hogwarts?

That's my take on it anyway. Obviously, I didn't deal with Sirius' status hardly at all in my story, so it seemed like the easiest solution to get him in for his cameo then out of the way. Too many people to write for in that story.

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2395Chapter: 1
posted on the orignal SQ by: JulianeS
Registered User
Posts: 437
(6/5/02 2:22:28 pm )
Reply
Boy and his Mother
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh thanks, Chris, for freaking me out during my lunch hour! Brrr, Balin is so icy. But funny. The hint of tragedy you give his mother is a wonderful touch - it brings home the reality of that sucking void in Balin where love resides in other people.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2394Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Professor
Posts: 85
(6/4/02 11:29:25 am )
Reply
Re: Evil Balin & Sequel
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Catherine.

Although it wouldn't be a good place for your head to be, it would be interesting to see how he reached this stage.

I actually had a rather interesting plot planned out (if I say so myself ) that would have explained all that. Oh well... There will be much psychological hand-wringing in the next story if that's any consolation.

Glad you're going to give the sequel a chance, lalak!

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2393Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: lalak
Registered User
Posts: 5
(6/3/02 8:48:56 pm )
Reply
Re: Evil Balin & Sequel
------------------------------------------------------------------------
>Well then you're going to miss out because it's not >about their dopey honeymoon or their potential >offspring. Not my kind of story either.

Oh, thank Merlin.

>That's what you get for jumping to conclusions.

LOL! I guess that's what I get.

Lala *trying to figure how to leave Island Conclusion*

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2392Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Catherine
The Noisy Introvert
Posts: 1255
(6/3/02 3:46:55 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Although it wouldn't be a good place for your head to be, it would be interesting to see how he reached this stage.

What made this little boy be able to take advantage of his mother like this? There are a lot of unanswered questions.

Well, happier writing!

Catherine

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2391Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Professor
Posts: 84
(6/3/02 12:59:22 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks R.V. and Katie, I was hoping this piece would get the point across and apparently it did.

Keeping up the sheer evilness would be incredibly draining.

Boy, you ain't kidding! I was getting so depressed while writing it that I couldn't take it anymore. It was a little like writing A Clockwork Orange with a Marquis de Sade chaser. But don't count Balin totally out yet, he may be popping up again somewhere soon (hint, hint; wink, wink ).

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2390Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: soupytwist
Registered User
Posts: 966
(6/3/02 12:31:08 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well reading your latest piece certainly does explain why you've decided not to write Evil Young Boys (although a FTLOH prequel will, of course, be great too ). Keeping up the sheer evilness would be incredibly draining.

But anyway. Awesome vignette - his poor mum! And I loved the tiny little evil details, like 'that nasty incident' with the kitten. Brrr.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2389Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Peasegood
Registered User
Posts: 49
(6/3/02 8:05:57 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
For several weeks, I have tried to write a prequel to "For the Love of Hufflepuff" recounting the schooldays of my original villain, Rupert Balin. I have since abandoned the idea-Christina.

*sad expression*

At the sight of his mother's humiliation, Rupert laughed out loud.
On the other hand,I think I understand your difficulty.
Lovely piece.Looking forward to your FTLOH sequel.

R.V.Crouch
He who breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom-Gandalf.LoTR.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2388Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Professor
Posts: 83
(6/3/02 3:01:17 am )
Reply
Re: Evil Balin & Sequel
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yes, my Rupert is pretty darned scary. Imagine how worried I am for thinking him up in the first place.

As for the sequel...I probably won't read it even though I think you're very talented. The thought of seeing Snape get all dopey on his honeymoon makes me cringe. And I shutter at the thought of him with kids.

Well then you're going to miss out because it's not about their dopey honeymoon or their potential offspring. Not my kind of story either. That's what you get for jumping to conclusions.

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2386Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: lalak
Registered User
Posts: 4
(6/3/02 12:01:52 am )
Reply
Evil Balin & Sequel
------------------------------------------------------------------------
That poor mother. It's terrible that her son is so evil. Kinda scary when you realize that there are people in the world really like that.

As for the sequel...I probably won't read it even though I think you're very talented. The thought of seeing Snape get all dopey on his honeymoon makes me cringe. And I shutter at the thought of him with kids. For some reason you just don't want to think about your idol as a dad. *shutters*

However, if you ever start a new romance, I'll be right there. Every step of the way.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2385Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Yolanda
Queen of Grooviness
Posts: 867
(6/2/02 11:50:31 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wow! I feel like I just watched that episode of the Twilight Zone with Billy Mummy as the kid who turned his father into a jack-in-the-box. Evil--pure evil. No wonder you had so much trouble with our boy, Rupert. I'd like to see the FBI (or rather FBM) profile on that guy! Good creepy little piece.

See ya Friday!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-08-17
Reviewid: 2294Chapter: 1
BRAUUUUGGGHHHH! Balin is such a jerk! But it's his absolute lack of morality that makes him such a compelling character. And cleaning his mother out before going off to school is something I would expect him to do.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --