The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: My name is Narcissa
Review(s): 35

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149411Chapter: 1
Loved it. I've never read something like this before, and I thoroughly enjoyed it, especially the comparisons of the eyes. I like how she starts out so sure of herself, and then you introduce a degree of uncertainty, ending with her enviousness of Sirius. Well done!

Reviewer: MunaDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112782Chapter: 1
I think this is great. You really delved into Narcissa, deep into her character... I must say, I love the ending too.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103407Chapter: 1
Gufa, I read this ages ago and I can't believe that I didn't review at the time. This might have been one of the first fics I read here at the Quill, too, so it's your responsibility that I stayed! :lol:

I think that this is beautifully written. Narcissa is such an interesting character and I wish there was more canon on her. I think that you really captured what we know and made it into something we should know and it's going to be very helpful in writing my next fic.

Kindred :wub: headed your way,
Genesse

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100942Chapter: 1
Gufa! Feel free to lambast me for only now getting to read your stories -- and this is the first one I read.

You've done such a job getting right insider her. I think that part of the appeal of the books is that JKR leaves us a little interested, a little intrigued, by the 'bad guys'. Part of that might be a natural sort of fascination with things that are darker, but I do think a great deal of it is the way they're constructed. You've taken one of those characters and exposed her. Such a great buildup, and it all culminates aboslutely wonderfully with your last line -- there's no anticlimax or anything of the sort. Fabulous work -- :wub:!!

Reviewer: vixDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98463Chapter: 1
i like your story

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97561Chapter: 1
Mm-hmm, I like stories that are all internalized like this one. When we write from inside a character's head, the restrictions are all gone and all we see are their inner struggles, their vanity, their beliefs... and we learn what things they really want to believe. What I find most interesting here is not the forced contrast between Narcissa and Sirius (who she clearly admires in a forbidden sort of way), but between Bellatrix and Sirius, because that relationship is understated but easily understood.

I can see this version of Narcissa being traded, pawn-like, to Lucius and it being completely out of her control, despite her assertion that "a Black is quiet but always in command -- of herself and of others." Obviously that isn't true for Narcissa here.

I'm glad I didn't grow up in that family.

Reviewer: Mud-squiggleDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85402Chapter: 1
Wow! I love the language used in this fic--although it seems to me that it would be more appropriate if it had taken place when Narcissa was younger--six or seven maybe. Kudos!

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80386Chapter: 1
Very nice piece! There is a great sense of mixed arrogance and vulnerability; this Narcissa seems almost to want to be rescued, but at the same time, to scorn the idea. She's afraid of following up on her thoughts about Sirius, because she has probably been praised for what she is. You can sympathise with her, but at the same time you know that she isn't going to change. She's locked into being this person.

Narcissa is a character who is all to easily misused; she's Lucius' trophy wife, either abused or a non-entity. This is a good portrait of, as you said, a woman who is entirely the product of her upbringing. A large part of writing fanfic is making characters fit with canon, and you've done this well.

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75779Chapter: 1
Wow. I loved it, it's very In Character and wonderfully written. I really loved it, it's a great insight into the young Narcissa's character. I especially liked this line:

"If you look at me, you think of snow and ice and purity. But inside my heart is all Black."

And also the last line. It gives you the feeling of being incomplete, of wanting more. It leaves you hungry after a good meal. Just as the Latins said people should be, after a good meal ;)

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72015Chapter: 1
Gufa,

I think you've shown a definition of Narcissa's character which is very believable, and at the same time surprisingly pitiable. Her life, her description of herself seems a series of incontrovertible facts- it's all so rigid and devoid of emotion. She really is trapped in the idea of being a Black- she sees herself as having no choice at all.
"I am a Slytherin.

A true Black is always Sorted into Slytherin House, Bella says."
Her pride in her family name is really all she has, she seems to cling onto it- continually repeating her Black identity. You've captured her sense of vanity too- in a way that ties up with her family pride. She likes being thought of as cold and untouchable- ice is synonymous with purity... but there is a hint of her using this as a defence. She's not somebody who would take the risk of truly loving anybody.
"But a true Black never asks for help. A true Black is not weak." It's a lonely motto to live- and I think the last line shows that she does, dimly, realise it.

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70727Chapter: 1
Hmmm... I was wondering how old you were imagining Narcissa to be at the time of this dialogue, because this sounds perfectly like young-teenage arrogance. You've done a nice job capturing her conflict between 'this is the way it's supposed to be' and 'I wonder'.

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70378Chapter: 1
Oh! That's so sad!

Reviewer: Siriusly InsaneDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69276Chapter: 1
Lovely style, very proselike, pensive, and detached. And I love how it reflects the content of this fic. Excellent job in general, humanizing and bringing depth to an otherwise two-dimensional character. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67086Chapter: 1
This was extremely good. I love stories written on minor characters, and this is one of the best. You took a Malfoy, someone that usually makes me sneer and say "Grr, you evil ferrety people" and made me interested in Narcissa, made me care. I want more!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66956Chapter: 1
wow! This is really good! It's maybe the first Narcissa fic like this that I've seen, but I really like it! Narcissa seems really IC, and it seems like it would fit in canon. I especially like the last sentence!

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66894Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
Very good.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64817Chapter: 1
Sorry I'm so late reading this! I've just dropped by SQ on Christmas Day for a quick break, looked down the list for a story I hadn't read, and found yours! I can't think how I missed it before, as I've very interested in the Black sisters too (especially Andromeda, though - glad you didn't put her in Gryffindor, which is the obvious choice; dare I mention that I think she was a Hufflepuff - but that's another story ...!)

I think you've done a wonderful job with Narcissa, and like everyone else I love your final sentence! The only thing I question is whether Narcissa is 'the middle one'. I've seen lots of different ideas about this, but the way I read the tapestry is that Bellatrix is the eldest, then Andromeda, and Narcissa the youngest. I'd be surprised if Andromeda were the youngest, with a child as old as Tonks; I rather think they all got married pretty young ... I've been trying to work it all out for ages, and it's a nightmare! If you feel like discussing it further, feel free to email me!

Thanks again for a Christmas treat! All the best with whatever you write next.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60739Chapter: 1
Thank you all for your comments. I'm really touched that people think my stories are so good. I write introspective pieces as opposed to "real" stories because I spend a lot of time tinking about people and wondering what goes on inside. Usually people are a lot deeper than one would think.
Please keep reviewing!

Reviewer: Sam WeasleyDate: 2003-11-23
Reviewid: 60585Chapter: 1
Interesting perspective of Narcissa. Very well written and you can really get into the character. Good story.

Reviewer: poison ivyDate: 2003-11-19
Reviewid: 60539Chapter: 1
PLEASE WRITE MORE I'm ON MY HANDS AND KNEES BEGGING U!!
pleasE!!

Reviewer: ChrissieDate: 2003-11-18
Reviewid: 60501Chapter: 1
This is really great stuff!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60443Chapter: 1
<<But sometimes I look at Sirius and I wonder…what it would be like…to feel alive. >>

Wow. That line- absolutely beautiful and haunting.

<Andromeda is not a disgrace to the House of Black.>>

Not yet, anyway... ;o)

Very nice fic- thoughtful and keenly observant.

Reviewer: JaquelyneDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60434Chapter: 1
Very good. You caught Narcissa quite well. I have always felt that she is the product of breeding. We know that Lucius and Draco are, so it would make sense that Narcissa was as well.

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60431Chapter: 1
I have a soft spot for stories about the Black sisters, so of course as soon as I saw the name Narcissa I read this fic right away.

I like the idea of this story and what Narcissa thinks it is to be a Black. The last line was very well done and a great way to end the piece. I've always thought of Narcissa like a porcelein doll. Pretty, breakable, and having the expression of a porcelein doll, not smiling or frowning, just looking sort of haunted. It was a wonderful piece and I encourage you to write more about the Blacks, (too bad it wasn't a little longer ^_^).

Only one suggestion: Bellatrix seemed a little too admitting. I always thought that she would shun anyone who wasn't placed in Slytherin but I suppose different people see her in different ways.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60399Chapter: 1
Nicely done. I think Narcissa is interesting because we know so little of her. You can hear how she is toting the family mottos as you write her. But i can see how being a Black would make some options not available to you, ,no matter what you felt inside. Nice job!

Reviewer: SavannahDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60389Chapter: 1
Like other reviewers have said: WOW. I absolutely adore this story - it's a wonderful insight into a mis-understood minor character and it's intriguing. Ya know, I think I like this story heaps, not only because of all the emotive language and all the images it brings to mind, and because it keeps you interested, but also because it reminds me of some of my better stories.
My favourite parts?

"Inside, I burn" - because everyone feels like this at one stage or another,
"But a true Black never asks for help. A true Black is not weak" - you can practically see Narcissa from 'The Black Sister's' sneering at her reflection in the mirror with contempt.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60372Chapter: 1
Excellent writing, and a thought-provoking portrayal of the Black family. Yes, they are always 'in control' - but that amazing last line has me wondering. Did Narcissa become the ice-queen as a means of self-protection, as much as any obligation to live up to family expectations? Hmmm ...

Chilling yet inherently sad. Well done.

Reviewer: lexiDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60332Chapter: 1
thats a great piece of writing

~*lexi*~

Reviewer: *Date: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60299Chapter: 1
Whoa.... freaky.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60298Chapter: 1
Wow! That's a really interesting portrayl of Narcissa. It's different from many I've read and really good! Excellent job!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60282Chapter: 1
Wow

This was amazing. It really made you think about Narcissa. I love the picture "The Black Sisters" and think that you have captured Narcissa.

"But sometimes I look at Sirius and I wonder…what it would be like…to feel alive." --With that line you have really hooked us. You are one of those writers who believe that the last line should be the best. Thank you for writing this story!

I hope to read more!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60277Chapter: 1
Excellent characterization! I'm really impressed. "But inside my heart is all Black." That's wonderful imagery. Great job!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60257Chapter: 1
Oh...wow.

Simply wow. I especially enjoy the last line, as Narcissa wonders what it might feel like to be alive. I love the contrast you paint between the cousins, the way the lines have come between them. I also like the way you describe the Blacks: always in control or themselves and *others*. Very well done, and very realistic.

Great job. I hope to see more stories from you soon.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60241Chapter: 1
That was really, really pretty. The last line just made it all come together perfectly. I guess it isn't too much to think that maybe Narcissa is different from Bellatrix, but also from Andromeda. Nice thoughts, anyway.

~Rach

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60231Chapter: 1
This was very nice, rather chilling. The last line was well-done. I liked your take on it all. Really good.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --