The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 74

Reviewer: IzzieDate: 2007-08-30
Reviewid: 149098Chapter: 1
This was beautiful. Really beautiful. The raw pain and grief in this is incredible. I love it.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141115Chapter: 1
Yes. You were good again. Of Course.

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138924Chapter: 1
You do know that this story is brilliant, don't you? Could you do another fic in this vein for what was going through the family's minds when Arthur Weasley was injured in the MoM (OotP)? Pretty please? With a sugar quill stuck to the top?

Reviewer: dawnieDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135346Chapter: 1
this is a really beautiful and touching piece. it showcased the love that the weasley brothers have for ginny so well. i could just feel their pain. =) do write more k?

Reviewer: MargeauDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129826Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh.
That is such a good story, I cried! I loved it!
I actually believed that Ginny was gone, it was so sad!

Reviewer: Pinky and the BrainDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128287Chapter: 1
I cried, i really did.

Reviewer: Jedi Knight BusDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127320Chapter: 1
Wow. Incredible. Amazing. Fantastic! Aww, this is such a very sweet fic!!! I love the Ginny/brothers relationship thing....this story portrayed it so perfectly!!

Reviewer: KimDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127211Chapter: 1
Oh... my... goodness.
Ok, I was surfing through FictionAlley, as I always do, and this one time, I saw a quote from your story at the top. It was about little Ginny saying "Jadge". Curiosity overtook me, so I clicked on the link and it took me here.
This was - bar none - the best Chamber of Secrets story I have ever read, and easily one of THE BEST STORIES EVER. Absolutely amazing. I am not kidding. I was crying by the end of this, my heart breaking in a different way for each brother.
Seriously, could I gush ENOUGH!? (um, no!)
Excellent, awesome, wonderful, perfect, sweet, sad, interesting, unique...

~Kim

[On FictionAlley: hermoine_wood ]
[On FanFiction.net: Red Bess Rackham ]

Reviewer: NeoDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126088Chapter: 1
of course, really good

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126042Chapter: 1
Thank god Ginny hadn't really died then because I would have probably burst into tears (which I almost never do, especially not when reading a fic).

This was beautiful. And so tragic.

Reviewer: JoannaDate: 2005-05-21
Reviewid: 122543Chapter: 1
wow, you're story was amazing. it made me tear up. perfectly captured the essence of love in the family.

Reviewer: SKODate: 2005-05-03
Reviewid: 121302Chapter: 1
Seriously, I loved this one SO much. And I'm quite picky. Unlike a huge part of the fanfics here, you kept everyone still in character, while all the time showing a new side to them. And although I didn't cry, as that takes a LOT, I got the little shivery tingly feeling at the back of my throat that tells me I'm at least on the first step there. Please keep it up!

Reviewer: NadiaDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114770Chapter: 1
This is a very good piece of work. I like your portrayal of Ginny's brothers and how they felt; escpecially the part where Fred and "Jarge" were competing for Ginny to say their names.

Keep writing.

Reviewer: shaynaDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112720Chapter: 1
*sob* that was marvelous... i always thought JKR doesnt say enuf about the relationship among the weasley siblings, but u sure fill in the blanks perfectly...

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109501Chapter: 1
Wow...Dunno what to say, i've never read anything like this.....Good Job!
Now, i want 6 brothers!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107106Chapter: 1
Whoa. That was a heavy, excellently written piece. You really got into the minds of the Weasley brothers, and you created a history that is totally believable...I may start to confuse it with canon. You also got Ginny's character down pat; I don't know if this was written before or after OotP but you avoided the trap of painting Ginny as a shy, helpless little girl.

This fic makes me wonder, though...how d'you think they felt after they realized what had been going on all year? As I understand it, this fic takes place before Harry rescues her, right? All of this must have increased tenfold after they realized what happened to her all year.

Thanks for posting this.

Reviewer: THKDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106110Chapter: 1
I just read this for the second time, and I am really, really near crying.
This is so wonderful, so good.
Yours,
THK

Reviewer: Ditsy BlondeDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105060Chapter: 1
Oh wow. I love this so much. This is so beautiful, and heart-wretching. It's just so beautifully sad.

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101614Chapter: 1
Just wanted to pop in (late to the party) and say that this is the best story I've read concerning this time period. You've given wonderful life to all the characters (you truly have a gift for characterization!) and again, the plotting and writing is excellent.

Reviewer: puddleduckDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100015Chapter: 1
You did a wonderful job with this. I really enjoyed reading it.

- puddleduck

Reviewer: MysticDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96831Chapter: 1
Two words....
beautifully written...
*sniff*

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90939Chapter: 1
That was so sad. I feel all choked up. Poor Weasleys. You portrayed their grief and self- reproach very well, and they’re memories of Ginny, especially Fred and George- keep writing!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90451Chapter: 1
This was, wow. There are no words. I was crying by the third paragraph.

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88857Chapter: 1
this was beautiful! its only when something bad happens to your siblings do you realize how much you love them. you nailed every Weasley's character so well that i even felt sorry for Percy!

very moving i loved it!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: dragongirlGDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84632Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. The different points of view and the snippets of the letter combined seamlessly to form this big, overarching feeling of *grief*, this family, this whole instead of the sum of the parts. Fraternal love expressed brilliantly, and a gorgeous piece of writing. This was wonderful.

Reviewer: slayerDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83494Chapter: 1
Very touching. I loved the memories.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82580Chapter: 1
I can completely understand Ron's decision to not let Ginny be spoiled... I had the same thought myself for my little brother. I love the flashbacks, especially "Jadge." The whole fic was very touching. I only wish it was longer.

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81539Chapter: 1
wow...very tuching

Reviewer: CalypsoDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79043Chapter: 1
Oh, that was such a heartwrenching story! I've never seen this "missing scene" in a fic before and you did a wonderful job with it! I especially loved that flashback where Ginny said the twins' names.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78869Chapter: 1
Wow.

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78587Chapter: 1
Aww! That was so sad, but laced with comic relief. :)

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76860Chapter: 1
Arrg! You made me cry. Poor old Percy writing that... *sniffs*

Reviewer: HP fanaticDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76673Chapter: 1
OMG !!! I was almost in tears by the end of it....
You captured every character really well.
GREAT JOB!

Reviewer: deenaDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74863Chapter: 1
i cried it was so sad and after i read just the itslicised letter and cried even harder

it was a beautiful storry thanks for writing it

Reviewer: clairDate: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73216Chapter: 1
i will not cry. i will not cry. i will not cry. *breathes* *cries* OMG THAT IS SO SAD AND SO GOOD AND JUST SOOOOOO EMOTIONAL AND ONE OF THE *best* THINGS I'VE READ ALL DAY EVEN THOUGH IT JUST MAKES ME WANT TO CRY.......!... wow.

Reviewer: AmberelDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72477Chapter: 1
Mosylu : I've always been horrible at remembering to review the stories I've read, but after rereading 'The Longest Afternoon' I wanted to pass on my thanks for your beautiful story. I've read an enormous amount of fan fiction (including everything on the SQ!), but this story is is the one that has stayed with me the most.

It's almost painfully evocative; I always find myself amazed by the feelings this piece produces in me. It doesn't make me cry. Instead, as I read the first few lines, a chill runs down my back. I get goosebumps and my stomach twists into a painful knot. By the time I'm finished I feel cold and shaken. What I find incredible is that despite how many times I've read this, I still get the same reaction.

So thank you, Mosylu, for this wonderful this wonderful story. I love it.

~amb

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71766Chapter: 1
That was SO good. What else can I say? It was so raw, so gut-wrenching, so REAL.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71440Chapter: 1
oh, wow, that was powerful. thank you. someone's needed to write that for a long time.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71159Chapter: 1
I had to read it again. It's that lovely. And I've figured something out. THIS is why Ron and the twins and all the other Weasley's are so completely devoted to Harry - he gave Ginny back to them.

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71120Chapter: 1
Oh....what can I say? I'm sobbing so hard I can hardly type!

That was beautiful. Truly, astoundingly beautiful. I loved all the flashbacks to memories the brothers all had of Ginny, each of them special in a different way to different people.

Please, please write again! I loved this one, and can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70954Chapter: 1
I can't remember if I've reviewed this before, but I stumbled across it again today, and the sadness of it all just kills me. If I didn't know that Ginny lived through it...well, I wouldn't have been able to read it, I'd have been crying so hard. As it was I had tears in my eyes. You really captured an older sibling kind of feeling - even though they resent the responsibility of their younger siblings (sometimes), they love them to pieces and wouldn't know what to do without them. As a big sister myself, I...well...can't imagine how bad that must be. But then, you imagined it for me. And made me cry.

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70952Chapter: 1
Oh--my--F***ING--HELL!!! I'm BAWLING my EYES OUT!!! *sob*

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70934Chapter: 1
Didn't catch this when it was first posted, but just wanted to say that I love this piece. I think the glimpses of kid!Ginny we get from this piece are quite in tune with the Ginny we see in OotP. Mischievious, able to keep up with the twins (and tell them apart), even able to get Percy to act a little unconventionally. I also liked Percy's characterization of being unable to repeat the "obscene message" written in blood. It really underscores the fact that in CoS, the Weasleys thought Ginny was dead or about to die. What a terrible thing for a family to have gone through, even if it turned out all right in the end.

Reviewer: FieryDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70881Chapter: 1
*sniff* thats...so sad! but you know, in the good way !!

Reviewer: WonkDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70029Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh. This is so sad and touching, it's sad because well- Ginny and all that. Yet touching, the memories that her brothers had were just so-- it hit me right in the heart! You added so much details and it showed how much they cared for her, and they're still the same character. Great work! Hope you write loads more fanfic.

- Wonk

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66281Chapter: 1
This was incredible. The Weasley brothers' despair at Ginny's disappearence and their love for her was almost palpable. I love the similes you use, such as eyes like baked clay and a metal man who needs oiling. They're very offbeat and give originality to your writing. The brothers' memories with Ginny are precious and do a great job of conveying the loving atmosphere of the Weasley family.
Honestly, I can't find anything to criticise here. It's simply beautiful.

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64878Chapter: 1
Aagh...you made me cry...

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62489Chapter: 1
Your writing NEVER disappoints. :) This is so full of poignancy and emotion...I thought it must be Percy writing, but then you ended on that ambiguous note, which really drove home the point that it could be ANY of the boys.

Parts I especially liked:

>>She’d always been Mum’s favorite. It was one of those things that nobody talked about because they all knew, and there was no point in saying it. She was everybody’s favorite, come to that. Ginny-Ginny-Wee-One, who thought her brothers had created the earth and sky just for her.

I just liked that. I'm sure Molly didn't love the boys any LESS, but there's something about the mother/daughter relationship.

>>"She likes grass too." Percy tried to dig the Cockroach Cluster out with his fingers, the way their mum did, and Ginny bit him. "Ow!"

As I spend my days prying forbidden things out of surprisingly strong toddler fingers, I got a laugh out of that.

Wah! Just scanning through this again makes me want to cry. Marvelously well-done.

~Katinka

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60941Chapter: 1
the brilliance of this fic is astounding, its really touched me. the way you've incorporated percy's letter with the thoughts of all the weasley brothers is absolutely perfect, and their reactions to ginny's situation is so deeply poignant. give yourself a pat on the back; you've definately earned it.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60938Chapter: 1
This was beautifully heart-wrenching. The brothers' memories of Ginny were so lovely and bittersweet.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60847Chapter: 1
A wonderful piece on the dynamics of the Weasely family, shown during what had to have been a devastating time. You captured them all brilliantly, and the writing and flow fit so well with the tone. It captured me and kept me engaged. A wonderful read. I can't wait to read more by you! 8-)

Thanks so much for this.

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60833Chapter: 1
aw, that just made me want to cry!!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60829Chapter: 1
That got me teary eyed. I love how you slipped so easily into the different perspectives with Percy's letter transitions that seemed applicable to everyone. It seemed very effective for the mood.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60811Chapter: 1
Very touching.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60803Chapter: 1
thois os an excellent fic. i love it.

Reviewer: IsabelA113Date: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60802Chapter: 1
I have a particular fondness for the Weasley family, and you have rendered them beautifully in this piece. I love that each brother is individual and specific in their grief. Excellent job.

Reviewer: CymbelineDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60800Chapter: 1
Oh wow. That was really powerful. Your ideas are so inkeeping with canon. This was a beautifully written piece, and this just made me love the Weasleys even more.

Reviewer: DarcelDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60792Chapter: 1
I officially love this story. ^_^

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60789Chapter: 1
Very sad! Even though I know she is all right in t he end, I still can't help but get depressed. I love how you start with a letter, adding in the parts of the letter between PoV's, and close with "love, your son." It's very dramatic.

Reviewer: CGDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60786Chapter: 1
Beautifully.. sad. I loved how you structured this, it flows wonderfully. :)

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60774Chapter: 1
Wow! I loved all the flashbacks. Brilliant job!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60770Chapter: 1
OMG! This is incredible! Great writing! You can just feel the pain, an yeat there are those funny memories, too...
"They’d spoiled her. Oh, they’d spoiled her rotten. Ron had decided early on that it was his job to see that Ginny wasn’t completely ruined for life"

"Coming here meant she was growing up, and Ginny couldn’t grow up, because who would be their baby sister then?"
Oh, how brilliant!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60766Chapter: 1
*sniff* This was just... so true to what the Weasleys were probably feeling. Great fic ^^

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60749Chapter: 1
Wow. This nearly made me cry. It was so sweet...I loved it. Keep writing.

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60735Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God. I'm crying really hard over this

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60733Chapter: 1
How melancholy and sweet. I think you got the characterization spot on! Great job!

Reviewer: MadelynDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60722Chapter: 1
That was exactly how I imagine it. Well, not exactly. But is is now! That was a great piece. I can't even comprehend something like that happening in my family. Like Percy, I would have to notify my parents, and I would feel just like him. Great little bits of detail, like how Ginny learned Fred and George's names. Or Percy's ephemeral hate of McGonagall. Again, wonderful piece. I'm glad you took the time to finish it.

Love Madelyn

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60718Chapter: 1
Wow, what a great story! I love the Weasleys and their family relationship, and you've done a wonderful job of exploring that relationship. The competition between the boys to see whose name Ginny would say first is just perfect!

One little thing (and I don't have my books here, so maybe I'm wrong) - but wasn't Ron off with Harry figuring out how to open the Chamber? I love his reactions, too, but I don't know that he was there, in the Common Room with the others. Like I said, maybe I'm wrong - I saw the movie more recently than I've read the book, so maybe it's non-canon influence. :)

Great job, either way! Ron's reactions are spot-on, and he could just as easily be thinking that while digging at the pile of rocks on the way to the Chamber!

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60715Chapter: 1
Excellent! I loved all the insights into Weasley family history, and the characters were all really well portrayed. I would have lked to see their reactions when she returned from the Chamber though, but it was lovely just as it was with all the sadness and the angst.

Reviewer: eclareDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60696Chapter: 1
Wow. Total tear jerker. I'm such a sucker for sibling stories. Great job!

Reviewer: NovaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60694Chapter: 1
Well done. This story really helped me to get inside the Weasley's heads, something that CoS never did. I enjoyed reading about each of the brother's memories--I got a real feeling of the type of relationship each of them had with Ginny.

I also like that it shows a real appreciation that the brothers have for Ginny. She may have annoyed them sometimes, but they really love her. Thank goodness she lived.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60691Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. I was almost crying by the end. You got all the Weasley brother's personalities and you can hear the pain they were in. What really got me was Percy writing to his parents and blaming himself. Could you maybe do a sequal when they find out Harry and Ron saved her? This one's just so sad, I feel like I need them to be happy again. The flashbacks were amazing.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60688Chapter: 1
Great job! Emotionally and technically! Emotionally, I think you got the boys' reactions right. I felt the emotions. And the back stories for each did a great job of expanding on the relationships.

Technically, you did a good job of interweaving the text of the letter with the thoughts of the boys. They enhanced each other. And very Percyish too.

As usual, wonderful work!

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60687Chapter: 1
Wonderful, wonderful work.

It's so easy to look at the Weasleys as a kind of unit, a conglomerate entity, but looking here at each brother's relationship with Ginny as they flash back--it individualizes and humanizes all of them. My favorite element was the competition among the brothers for whose name she would learn first--that seems very true to the family.

And of course, all of them, blaming themselves. How that must hurt!

Really, just a wonderful story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --