The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Losses and Gains
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-06
Reviewid: 143263Chapter: 1
I like Hufflepuffs. I'm not one myself but i like them. I'm going to send this to my sister in-law, she IS a Hufflepuff and would really love this. nice insight to someone elses life for a change. I love veriety, and this was the perfect example.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123045Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89253Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful outtake...I'm so glad you wrote it! I've always wondered how life must be for Muggle-born wizards returning home. You've written a very plausible situation here and it makes me sad to think how much of this would probably happen in real life. People really do have a tendency to fear what they don't understand.

But the ending is marvelous, when he realizes he has another family and another world he belongs to. Very well done!

Reviewer: Richard Blaber.Date: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81943Chapter: 1
I'm going to be very boring and point out your errors, because I'm a dreadful pedant. The battle was at Malplaquet, not Malpaquet; it should be "parents' house", not "parent's house", as Justin has two parents, not one; and he is put in "harm's way", not "harms way". (The way belongs to the harm, so you need the genitive.)
Now all that's out of the way, I can say I liked the story very much. Poor Justin, though, I do feel sorry for him!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61361Chapter: 1
This story does a wonderful job of showing the tensions that Muggle-born students have to live with--the isolation in both worlds, the mistrust, the secrecy. Poor Justin. The brief glimpses we get of his family sum them up perfectly, and it's easy to see how a child could turn out like Justin has by both inheriting and reacting against their various attitudes.

But there's a light at the end of the secrecy tunnel for Justin, isn't there? Will we get a sequel where we see the rest of Erika's story? I hope so.

TSS

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60899Chapter: 1
Ooh, I lurve the little dig at Smeltings!
This was a very nicely written story, I liked the way you managed to convey a lot of things through details. Is Erika a witch?
I've always wondered what impact being Petrified for months left on Justin, Colin and Hermione. I think you've expressed it well, I imagine it must be very unpleasant to know that six months of your life have been taken away from you. I'm also glad to see a writer explore what Muggleborns go through: It's as if everyone including JKR expects them to completely forget about the first eleven years of their life and their families and friends, but why should they have to?

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60773Chapter: 1
Ashtur,
Very thoughtful... I like Justin's points about his family being afraid, it's definately the kind of think the parents of a wizard might think. Well, time to read chapter 8 of Bones to Bones!

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: HPNanaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60767Chapter: 1
I came across Bones to Bones and I am now tied down to it until the end comes. I really cannot believe I've been so narow minded and thought that Hogswart was all about only the Gryffindors. This short story, as well as Bones to Bones, has opened my mind to a world of possiblities. Great, sensible, excellent plot,... It's just SUPERB, can't wait for the next chapter. Keep up the great writing.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60743Chapter: 1
Nice side story, giving us more insight into Justin Finch-Fletchley and his serious internal conflicts. I think this is a very honest look at what many Muggle-borns must go through. In canon, it seems many Muggle-borns simply assimilate into the Wizarding World and have no qualms about leaving their Muggle family and relatives behind, perhaps even to the point of internalizing the condescending attitude toward Muggles in the Wizarding World. We have Dean Thomas say that he's not stupid enough to tell his family what's going on; we have Hermione spending less and less time with her parents, who even Rowling herself seems to write off as just a pair of boring dentists. But I'm sure that many Muggle-borns would struggle mightily with being stuck between two worlds. The comment Justin makes about "In a few years I'll be able to tell you everything" makes me wonder; does this just mean that Justin will have more freedom to tell once he's "of age", or is he thinking of proposing to Emily then (since it seems spouses are exempt from the secrecy rule)? Though you do hold out some idea of an escape hatch with Erika possibly being magical. But most Muggle-wizard relationships probably can't count on something that convenient. Susan's mother is a Muggle, so there must be some Ministry-approved way of bringing Muggles into Wizarding families through marriage. It would be interesting to read a story exploring this area. But I think you did a good job explaining Justin's relationship with Emily, and how his worst memory would of course be of being Petrified.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60720Chapter: 1
Ashtur, I really liked this little excerpt. I've always wondered what it's like for Muggle-borns who were relatively happy before they got their Hogwarts letter, and how it had a knock-on effect on their relations with Muggles... This is very sensitive and thoughtful. Good work.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60697Chapter: 1
Nicely done! That's a great explanation for Justin's personal history. I think I see a hint of help on the horizon via Erika, and I hope that helps Justin in the long run! Good work!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --