The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 43

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140228Chapter: 1
You do have a good wit ..sharp wit ,,,amusing. …keen, You know what I mean. Wit - more or less. (-;
You are good.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138455Chapter: 1
“I'm dead,” Professor Binns answered.
“Oh, that's a shame. Would you like me to read your eulogy?”

Enough said.
This is a missing moment that I always thought of while my Am. His. Hon. teacher tried to make studying the American Revolution for the billionth time interesting. Never did happen...
Anyway, you certainly did that moment justice... Although I vaguely recall Molly Weasley saying something about Professor Binns dying when she was at Hogwarts or already being a ghost. I'll look it up and come back to you...

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134686Chapter: 1
"'... Professor, are you awake?'”
Ha ha ha! I hate teachers like Professors Binns. You're still fabulous and whatnot. . .

Reviewer: anbieDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129004Chapter: 1
As if Summoned, the Headmaster appeared at the door. “What was that, Poppy?” Dumbledore asked, entering the room.


“I'm dead,” Professor Binns answered.


“Oh, that's a shame. Would you like me to read your eulogy?”


“No thank you, Professor. I'll take care of it. No one knew me better than I did.”




That's just great. =D

I can't say why I found it so amusing, maybe the bluntness of it. Good Job.

Reviewer: ReesesPiecesDate: 2005-07-19
Reviewid: 127425Chapter: 1
Delicious, really delicious! I love the way Binns and Dumbledore so calmly discuss the fact that Binns is dead: "...And will you still be teaching?"

Brilliant!

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2005-07-17
Reviewid: 127333Chapter: 1
Very funny. Only comment: I got the impression that Binns had been dead before Fred & George's year. That's all. : )
-Queenie

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106502Chapter: 1
actually, your piece gave me a little more insight into the mysterious professor binns. i never gave much thought to what he thought of it all. your piece kept with the canon in having him be as dull and indifferent to his death as one would expect him to be, but i also liked the small bits of humor:

That diet is really working out for me, he thought.

well done. you took the most boring teacher ever and made a very interesting and funny piece. :-)

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102700Chapter: 1
Ha. Ha. Funny. (I'm losing creativity in my reviewing, I think)

Reviewer: SaeasDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102498Chapter: 1
Hehe, cool. I hadn't really thought about what happened when Binns died, and this is a very good take on it. Although I always thought that he died well before the trio got to Hogwarts. But the name changes were good - very Binns!

Reviewer: Angel09Date: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89810Chapter: 1
hAHAHA...That was funny! Parts i liked:
Disclaimer: Don't own Binns or anything mentioned with him. Don't know what I would do with him if I did. Probably send him to the houses of my enemies and bore them to death.
and......
As if Summoned, the Headmaster appeared at the door. “What was that, Poppy?” Dumbledore asked, entering the room.




“I'm dead,” Professor Binns answered.




“Oh, that's a shame. Would you like me to read your eulogy?”
GOOD JOB!!!

Reviewer: angelina (angela) weasley(jonathon)Date: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86899Chapter: 1
Hah! that was hilarious with the greg and francis, ashley and angela.
"uh, with alldue respect, professor, being dead isnt really a temporary ailment." heh.
"what happenedpoppy?'
"im dead.'
"oh, thats a shame.' heh.heh.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84062Chapter: 1
Sorry, can't tell you what I think of this. I'm still incoherent. :)

Reviewer: NARDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83691Chapter: 1
Cool!

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74565Chapter: 1
a good laugh i always wondered how professer binns die'd

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70818Chapter: 1
"No, it's Professor Binns."
I think I'll continue reading your stories. This is lots of fun. ^.^
~Q

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68499Chapter: 1
:-)

-Miriam

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68338Chapter: 1
lol! This is great! Really funny!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67730Chapter: 1
Short is good! Short is what you end up with when you take out everything you don't need. Short means you get your point across quickly. Does that make Binns short? Perhaps. After all, he didn't need his body, did he? So delete the body. On the other hand, he still doesn't make his points quickly in class, does he? If he did, no one would fall asleep.

You didn't know there were such contradictions in such a fluffy work, did you?

Thanks. It was fun!

Reviewer: Dr. ThinkerDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65699Chapter: 1
I got four letter word for you story: cute!

Reviewer: PhoenixWingsDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64889Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Great.

*chuckles*

I love your word choice, like: "His eyes fluttered open as the ringing <b>*died*</b> away, and he rose out of his chair, trying to remember the subject for today's History of Magic lecture."

I also really liked the names for Angelina Johnson, Gred and Forge and the others.

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64763Chapter: 1
I didn't catch on to the fact that those were Fred and George till after I read the reviews.
Tricksy little author that you are.
Or maybe I'm just rather slow. Either way. Job well done.

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64762Chapter: 1
I'm not entirely sure if that was meant to be funny, but it was. Professor Binns is an interesting concept character, I think, but boring personality-wise - which you portrayed perfectly. Very amusing.

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64761Chapter: 1
Hee...that was a good one. Very unusual.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64759Chapter: 1
HA!!!!!!! I love it! Binns is a total idiot!!! *falls off computer chair laughing* even DUMBLEDORE was bored! More!more! more!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63891Chapter: 1
::snort::

I like the rearranging of names. Professor McMiller! Hah!

Yes, a bit shorter than I expected. I also would have thought that Prof. Binns died long before any of the current generation of Weasleys got to Hogwarts, as that would mean he's not quite as old as he seems.

But quite good in any case. :D

~TPR

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63878Chapter: 1
Loved this - very funny, pithy, in character - long die Binns!

Reviewer: Lena RayneDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63712Chapter: 1
hahahahaha...
“Oh, that's a shame. Would you like me to read your eulogy?”

“No thank you, Professor. I'll take care of it. No one knew me better than I did.”

Not something you hear everyday... :)
I didn't think it was possible to make a hilarious story starring Professor Binns, yet you proved me wrong.

Reviewer: CaitlynDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60963Chapter: 1
Love it! This is just so Binns.

Reviewer: sbDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60950Chapter: 1
jack's hilarious
always said that
always will
cool diclaimer too
u're story's send me rolling on the floor

Reviewer: EstieDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60925Chapter: 1
Heehee...short but sweet. I like it!
"Professor, are you awake?"
"What was that, Poppy?" "I'm dead."
Great!

Reviewer: Philipp ToelkeDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60893Chapter: 1
Lol! "Being dead isn't exactly a temporary ailment" is worth of Terry Pratchett

This story is /very/ good!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60844Chapter: 1
I loved it! A great bit on Binns, as well as a nicely paced story. It captured me and kept me engaged. A thorougly enjoyable read. Thanks so much for it! 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60799Chapter: 1
I've got a four-letter word. :)
cute.

I've got other words too, but they're not four-letters... so... :)

That was very funny, and original - I've never seen anything like this anywhere else.

Also you said that it was shorter than you meant it to be, but I think this is the perfect length. He dies, finds out he's dead, and goes on as usual. lol Short and sweet.

Although, I only realized that those were Fred and George, Alicia and Angelina at the end when Dumbledore showed up. In my mind Binns has been dead for hundreds of years. :) But we really don't know how long he's been dead, so there you are.

Anyway, great story!

Reviewer: nikiDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60782Chapter: 1
funny, funny, funny.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60776Chapter: 1
I thought that thought it was short, it was a great fic! It was very funny and I love how he didn't realize it... very IC for what we know about him. Great job!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60772Chapter: 1
Cool. Neat. Funny (oops, that's 5)!
Great job!

Reviewer: mrDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60763Chapter: 1
LOL LOVED IT!

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60752Chapter: 1
So cute! (I'm quick, too.)

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60744Chapter: 1
You know, for a story about a man as boring as Professor Binns is (or is it was?) this was quite funny! I think the length (or lack thereof) is just right. Though I suppose the Professor himself might disagree.

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60731Chapter: 1
I'm afraid "short" is a five-letter word. You'll have to come up with another.
Also, the names of the Gryffindor students bear a remarkable similarity to those a couple of years ahead of that boy... what's his name? He's got a scar or something that people comment on... Porlock? Hector Painter maybe?... Anyway, the kid the whole series is about. But I'm pretty sure Professor Binns was dead for quite some time before the series started; I don't think those particular students would have ever had him teach them while alive.

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60717Chapter: 1
very clever!

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60710Chapter: 1
Quite amusing! I'm surprised you were able to make it as long as it is.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60709Chapter: 1
Slap my head funny! That's what I think!

I love the idea and your execution, as usual, is flawless! As a teacher, I can identify with the way you've made the names sound like the current Hogwarts crew. As sad as it is to say, they *do* tend to run together through the years. And that just perfectly fits JKR's treatment of Binns and his memory.

I like this bit:
>>“Are you feeling all right, Professor? You look a little...” the girl struggled to find a word.

“Dead,” one of the Williams twins suggested.<<

And this line:
>>That diet is really working out for me, he thought.<<

Just great!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --