The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Life Study
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141829Chapter: 5
This story is, unbelievably, still getting better and better. Thank you very much. I'm off to the next piece.

Reviewer: RommDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69234Chapter: 5
Hmm, this has put a bit of a bump in Tom's free range house study group. Sirius getting captured would cause a lot of chaos in Gryffindor wouldn't it? After all, he's like the boogeyman for those not part of Harry's immediate circle, and an uncle for the rest.

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69014Chapter: 5
It's good that you are writing another story since this one still leaves alot of loose ends to be written about. Just a quick question. Do you need any fan art? I have been working on drapery and might have some pictures that would be good for your stories. Send me your answer in your next storry please!
Keep on writing!

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68979Chapter: 5
Whee, another chapter. Kind of short, and a nasty cliffhanger too. How very unsatisfying of you. :-)

Yes, on the bright side Malfoy won't be there. You do have to start somewhere, I guess. This is growing into quite the complex, deep, and captivating A/U. Congratulations!

As for summertime. Hmm. I was just going to comment on the World cup not having a dark mark, but actually it still might well have one. And if someone else can spring young Barty Crouch, that could certainly add to the mayhem of Harry's 4th year, even without V around.

As for finances... Shouldn't Tom be entitled to V's gold? Hmm. Sirius Black managed to keep his Gringotts vault untouched while in Azkaban. That leads me to suspect that Gringotts doesn't fall under the control of Fudge. So it is arguable the Voldemort might also have a vault in Gringotts. But where, oh where, would he hide the key? Hmm. So maybe there might be some resources open to Tom still.

Maybe the Parkinson's will have Tom over, if he hits it off with Peony. It's kind of too predictable otherwise that the Weasley's would

Well, instead of reviewing this one, I seem to be pondering the future of your A/U. That's a good thing, if a story catches the reader and causes them to ponder how things might develop...

thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68915Chapter: 5
"It's . . . interesting, once you get used to it. I'll admit I'd prefer tamer creatures to work with, but as long as you listen to him Hagrid's a good teacher. Even if he doesn't like you."

Bless Tom for his endorsement of Hagrid's teaching skills! (Personally, I agree with Tom. Hagrid's classes definitely aren't for the faint-hearted. But they can be exciting and rewarding for those who are prepared to listen.)

This bit was very moving:

By ten minutes past the hour, Tom was starting to get worried.

By a quarter past, Peony was scowling. "They're either being awfully lazy or they decided it would be funny not to bother."

"Ginny wouldn't. Nor Harry." He touched the photo album, hidden in an inside pocket of his robe, for reassurance. "That's not something friends do."

And then EEEEEEEEEEEEK!!! What a cliffhanger!!!

I hope there's more coming soon...

Your handling of Colin Creevey is delightful, I loved the image of him brewing his developer in the common room!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68142Chapter: 3
Ginny glared briefly at Tom. "It was going to step on me!"

"So... you decided to return the favor."
-made me laugh

"Because," he explained, "my aunt's name is Petunia."
-Ugg. Good idea though

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68140Chapter: 2
I wonder if you could core a wand with one
-something I've wondered myself. Perhaps Hagrid gets his drinking money with what he supplies wand shops with.

Excellent chapter. I'm really starting to like your Tom.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68139Chapter: 4
Great so far. I really love this, and the Slytherin backstory has always been what I thought of Slytherin, truly. I think JL Matthews or Riley or even Sphinx would be proud of this Tom. He's a good Slytherin - who's still a Slytherin.
~Rach

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68138Chapter: 1
stainless-steel arrogance
-good phrase!

I'm following in--my--footsteps
-made me smile

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68038Chapter: 4
"That sounds like a capital letter. Capital letters can be ominous."

Oh, they can be. Great Job! I love your work! Thank you! I cannot express my admiration anymore!
(Draco and Pansy sitting in a tree)
Please write more about Peony too! She's cool!

Reviewer: RommDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68029Chapter: 4
Cool fic. Cycling through the updated authors list, saw your series and thought it's be fun to read. Hate to say that I started giggling hysterically at the end of the acromantula scene, you write very good humor. Seems like you should change the title of the series to something like "Harry Potter and the Caring Clone"... Hmm...
Although it's more from Tom's perspective... Oh! Good job on that by the way, all of the perspectives I mean. You're really good at moving about from view to view. Amusing to read all of the different reactions to what people are doing.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67999Chapter: 4
Hmmm, yessss, so where would Tom be spending the summer? And how is he paying for his school things? Does Harry need to return to the Dursley's? Ginny made this offhand "now that V is gone" comment. It caught me by surprise. Maybe I'll have to reread the first book. I had sort of assumed that Voldemort was just reduced to spirit again, as in '81. I hadn't thought that he was actually dead.

Malfoy Sr with a "Hungry" look. Brrr. Very astute imagery. I like Peony also. I've always maintained that 25% of wizardkind can't all be evil, so I quite like stories that bring in some decent folks from Slytherin. I keep wondering when JKR will do the same.

Is Sirius coming back into the action any time soon?

thanks again for a wonderfull story.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67936Chapter: 4
Peony is as interesting as I'd hoped she'd be! And she clicks nicely with Tom and Ginny.

This is my favorite exchange:

Ginny stared at her. "Beater? Malfoy?"

"He's vicious enough for it. I don't think he's quite big enough yet, though."

"Hey! Fred and George are not --" Ginny paused. "Never mind."

"Sorry, I didn't mean... I'm more used to our Beaters, is all."

"It's all right. I stopped to think about their sense of humor and decided I couldn't really argue!"

Other favorite bits were the idea that spells evolve over time, Tom's memories of Mouse the collector of dandelions, Pansy's misspelled note on the shell, the kids' discussion re how Muggles are as diverse as wizards, the revelation that Crabbe and Goyle can belch loud enough to drown out a Howler, and the thought of Tom being invited to the Burrow!

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65557Chapter: 3
Wow, you guys can write really fast! Great job on this chapter and keep up the good work!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65475Chapter: 3
This bit cracked me up:

"Although I suppose in a way a talking giant bug with perfect table manners would be even creepier. I keep imagining it spinning itself a fresh napkin, or something."

Ginny blinked. So did Harry and Hermione. "I think," Hermione said slowly, "that you've just edged from creepy right into surreal."

Tom's sense of humor is delightful; canon has shown us flashes of Voldemort's dark humor. Tom's clever, quirky sense of fun gives a lovely contrast with his alternate future self.

Peony Parkinson is intriguing. I'm glad that they want to know more about her. The plan to improve Slytherin House's reputation (and their relationship to the other three houses)makes me cheer! And it pleases me no end to see how Tom has support from his friends in Gryffindor. Tom's charm is the sort that can mend rifts and move mountains... what a pleasure to see him on the side of the Light this time around. Hopefully he won't be too haunted by Voldemort's memories, poor kid.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65463Chapter: 3
PS: Minor typo - You wrote "Arithromancy" which is wrong, it's Arithmancy.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65462Chapter: 3
You deserve far more reviews than I see.
These are very humourous and creative situations that you manage to come up with. Riding an Acromantula!?

There is a very wry sense of humour at work here. The conversations that you write are wonderfully layered. Reminds me of some of Jelsemium's conversations in "A Harry Situation"

This is a very unique story in that the characters are younger than I expect (being a 3rd year A/U). Most fan fic's are based around older characters.

The only criticism that I might have is I find it hard to swallow the 2nd years being in COMC, despite your explanations. Oh well.

Lovely visual imagery when you wrote of "two heads of unkempt hair coming around the door", which is Harry and Hermione! Great, fantastic!

thanks for sharing!
...art

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65402Chapter: 2
Well, Ron certainly got a bit of a shock. He is probably going to have very large second thoughts about going to magical creatures class. First a huge eight-legged freak and then his sister almost Acromantula food! What next? A singing, dancing mouse with his own amusment park?
Great job with this chapter! I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 65004Chapter: 2
Ah, Lucius. I like how he is factoring into your story. Tom and Ginny's interactions are, as always, enjoyable. This story is still a good blend of humor and tension. Thanks for it. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64694Chapter: 2
Ginny the Acromantula-Rider!!! That chapter was AWESOME!!! (I guess riding an Acromantula is sort of like riding a tiger... the hard part is "how does one stop?")

Ginny, as Tom noted, is a Gryffindor through and through. Her primary concern was keeping the spider's attention away from her classmates. Good for her!

Excellent characterization on the Acromantula and the graphorns, too. They had real personality... I liked the antics of the graphorns (and felt sad for the one that got drained.) When they ended up in Hagrid's hut with the students, I grinned.

Great job with the Acromantula. Defiant, stubborn, taking pleasure in it's own wickedness and not as clever as Ginny! I loved how she got the Acromantula to go after the poisoned meat.

Tom was a delight as well. Loved his plan with the chalk, and the way he had trouble spelling "Acromantula." And the way he was wondering where all the 'brave' Gryffindors were before Colin stepped forward to help him with the plan to help Ginny.

Hagrid, Colin and Ron also shone! Each one perfectly in character... Colin's photo of Ginny-spider-rider, Hagrid's calm handling of the crisis, his coaxing the poison out of the little critter and Ron's powerful concern for Ginny.

The exchanges between Ginny and Colin were my favorites, especially the last one; Ginny's wry "I can walk" and Colin's "He's not going to let you." LOL, poor Ron.

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60727Chapter: 1
Lightning it was. The thunder is optional, I suppose, since it does always come with.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60723Chapter: 1
"Stainless steel arrogance" is a wonderfully evocative description of the Malfoy manner.

"Tom turned to find Snape walking back down toward the Slytherin dorms, the boa coiled around his shoulders and torso and munching happily on a rather large pastry."

How I wish I could draw... that image just begs for an illustration!

I enjoyed the play of emotions in all the different conversations in this chapter. The chat between Lucius and Tom was deceptively calm on the surface but filled with complex undercurrents. Tom handled himself well and Lucius was delightfully slippery. Bravo for Snape, he was concerned for his student. Tom's relief at the sight of Snape was poignant.

Snape and the boa have become friends! :o) I loved Harry's astonishment, and the boa's reaction when Snape accused Harry's fellow Gryffindors of planning to mistreat the boa. (Though, reading between the lines, it would seem as if Gryffindors really have abused or mistreated a Slytherin mascot in the past, which is sad.)

The conversation between Ron and Harry about Tom, the boa and Snape was an utter delight. Ron IS slowly coming around where Tom is concerned. This is very good to see.

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60704Chapter: 1
I love the boa. Having Snape acually like the boa was a bit of a surprise since Harry can talk to it. Does it wrap around his legs in potions class and effectivly tie him to a chair? That would be funny if Snape tried to get up and found he had snake rope around his ankles.
Great story and keep up the good work!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --