The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Lines of Descent
Review(s): 169

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151355Chapter: 6
This is a good closure to the life of Elizabeth Phelan. And seeing the twins' mother was a treat!

Unlike my last reviews, the reviews for this story are my first impressions since the first time I encountered Elizabeth was during "Hogsmeade Weekend". I devour your one-shots because I know that I can break away at the end, but when it comes to the long stories, I tend to delay the inevitable. I still have to discover the magic that is Shifts and Shades, but at least I can review every chapter as I go along. Wow, it's so great to come out of lurkdom!

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151354Chapter: 5
Woah.... I think this story is the closest I've ever come to to reading horror. That's a genre that I usually avoid since I'm a fluff kind of girl. Still, you've captivated me with your talent to make me have the desire to read every Harry Potter related word you write, hahaha. After I finish reviewing all of your SQ stuff, I'll get a LJ account and review all of your stories there too.

Back to Lines, I'm glad that Elizabeth had Remus with her during her last transformation. Though she had nothing material to leave to Remus, her friendship was enough for him to forgive her. Beautiful story, and now on to the bonus epilogue!

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151353Chapter: 4
What a heart-breaking chapter. Poor, Maddoc. Elizabeth really did try, but the Wolf took over. Argh, Death Eaters are scum of the Earth, and you portray them very well. Sigh, so sad. I'm glad that Remus was there for her.

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151352Chapter: 3
Squee, a Tonks reference! Thanks for explaining why Elizabeth couldn't have children. I should have figured it out, but luckily you made it very clear. Here we have Remus using his Gryffindor courage yet again, but in a totally different context. I'm happy to see that Remus is asking the questions that he needs to know. I like the way that Elizabeth and her husband bought the island. They seem very happy.

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151351Chapter: 2
So now we start to see where the relationship between Elizabeth and the Lupins are going. WHile they'll never be bosom buddies, they all care for each other and look out for one another. While this is just a snippet of the year before Remus goes to Hogwarts, you show us so much from the conversations. On to the next chapter!

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151350Chapter: 1
Wow, all Remus wanted was to play with the dog, and his life is changed forever. Interestingly enough, he does have three "pets" as a Hogwarts student, but that's another story. It's the situations like these that require an answer to "Why?" but there are things that kids don't need too know until they're old enough. Poor, poor Remus. So brave.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139411Chapter: 1
Brilliantly Done

Reviewer: Karina BlackDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134472Chapter: 1
I LOVED this!!!!
Absolutely fantastic. I thought he was turned just after entering Hogwart's though (just assumption,) but this makes for a much better story.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133270Chapter: 1
arochwen--
JKR has stated that the only way a werewolf is created is by biting--Tom was just telling lies on Hagrid. Werewolf cubs aren't naturally conceived.

Reviewer: arochwen romenDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133269Chapter: 3
but in CoS, Hagrid was said to have been caught trying to raise werewolf cubs under his bed. if female werewolves can't conceive, where did they come from?

Reviewer: EmlowDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126598Chapter: 6
Wow, this story was amazing... but i dont get the last moons... Oh well this fic was so great! you write really well!

Reviewer: OtterfudgeDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124494Chapter: 6
This is the most devestating HP fic I have ever read. An idea I have never seen attempted before, crafted with such depth and beauty and tragedy that my chest actually aches from it all. You have imbued this story with a level of raw emotion that very few authors ever manage to achieve without going over the top, and I think it speaks volumes about your mastery of words and your wisdom in the realm of the human -and werewolf- heart. Thank you so much for your amazing tale, I treasured it, even as it hurt. I suppose great dramas leave their scars that way, and I consider myself privledged to bear these marks of a story I'll not soon forget. :)

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121240Chapter: 6
Very real, very sad, very tragic, but with a sense of completion and hope.

Reviewer: JackDoorDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120256Chapter: 6
Another who was reading 'Shifts' and looked across.

Couldn't be more different in tone, but of an excellence the likes of which I have rarely encountered. Thank you oh so very much.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117875Chapter: 6
I don't think I have anything really constructive to say, but I loved this story. I haven't seen many from Remus's point of view, and I think you handled the ideas about how he originally transformed and the relationship he had with the woman that bit him wonderfully. That he would remain in close contact with her and forgive her as well is perfectly in keeping with everything we know about Remus and just as I would imagine it. Beautiful and heartfelt story.

Reviewer: ann_boleynDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116479Chapter: 6
that was a really good story. I don't review very many fan fictions, but yours was good enough that I thought I had to write something. Really excelent.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115833Chapter: 6
Just a point of structure. We drop in on them every five years, on a full moon during the summer. And I like July. It's my birthday month. So it's July. Just because. ;p

Reviewer: Lord JamesDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115830Chapter: 6
Just a question, why were all the dates in July.

Reviewer: Lord JamesDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115829Chapter: 1
Great Fic. Easly one of the top 5 I've read on here.

Reviewer: StarrDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115825Chapter: 6
That was such a beautiful, though of course sad, story. I started crying near the end. You captured Remus and Elizabeth's relationship so beautifully and realistically. You are a wonderful writer!

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115418Chapter: 6
This is the saddest and most powerful story I've ever read. What a fine job you have done with this part of Remus' life.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114686Chapter: 6
Hot damn. *cries* That is one of the saddest things I've ever read.

Reviewer: Chelsea_EvansDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113683Chapter: 6
Hi Fern!

I'm following Shifts on LJ, and I just found this recced on Fiction Alley, it is amazing! Gah, your Remus is awesome, and I know it is weird but what kept me going through this was knowing that he'd be happy(ish) later with Tonks...

Wonderful fic!

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113664Chapter: 6
wow. fantastic story. So wonderful! I burst into earnest tears at this line:
"trying to reach her cooling body, seeking his refuge beneath her withered paw."

Thanks so much for the story.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113119Chapter: 6
oh. damn. that was beautiful.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113118Chapter: 5
aw damn. crying again. really good idea though - the final transformation. damn. And Remus won't be alone, he'll have people with him.

damn.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113117Chapter: 4
okay, I'm crying, but I can't say I didn't see that coming. Damn.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113116Chapter: 3
He bit his lip and pretended to think about it deeply, the tension flowing out of his muscles to dissipate in the summer afternoon. "I don't know... Twisting my arm with strawberry pie... "

"Well, we are merciless, you know. Vicious."



AHAHAHAHA!!!

What an excellent story!


Reading on ..

Reviewer: RaiiningDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113115Chapter: 2
oh this is an excellent story! got the link from Kate's picture. reading on!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111913Chapter: 6
Thank you so much for adding this epilogue. Before it was just too sad and depressing. Although still very sad, I'm glad there's more closure. You've done such a wonderful job on this story; it is most definitly my very favorite story about when Remus was bitten, even if it does make me cry buckets every time I read it. Excellent job.

Reviewer: philomelDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111906Chapter: 5
Last chapter nearly. This time I cried. And I’m still crying.

Curse you and bless you, FernWithy. Thank you for writing this.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107939Chapter: 3
What an entirely wonderful chapter. Of course the first two were really great too, but this one was special. It was very realistic - the awkwardness of adolescence, but combined with Remus' particular brand of sensitivity. He is such an old soul - just what I would expect for him at that age. And the foreshadowing of his chosen profession that would immerse him in the lives of children - very nice.
I'm enjoying this story very much.

Reviewer: SunamiDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107848Chapter: 6
Wow, this is so, so touching. But, with Elizabeth being infertile, etc., ... Hagrid raised werewolf cubs under his bed, how did he do that?

Either way, really touching, and beliievable. Beautiful.

Reviewer: M'ClaireDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106871Chapter: 6
Outstanding. It brought tears to my eyes. Frighteningly believable. Well done.

Reviewer: Luna AlexiaDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105852Chapter: 6
Woah.......... Ican feel his pain it seem so unfair! but i cried and i love crying when i read so u pleased me!

Reviewer: CarinaDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105165Chapter: 6
so so very sad! i love remus, though. he is such a good man.

Reviewer: CarinaDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105164Chapter: 4
this is possibly the saddest thing that i have ever read. how awful, awful. it is so frightening that this sort of pure evil really does exist in the world, but once again, is tempered by the lovliness that is remus and his devotion and care.
on to the next chapter!

Reviewer: carinaDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105163Chapter: 1
ooooh, Remus! He is so young and innocent in this, God, what an awful thing to happen to a child. I love how you've handled it though, through the eyes of a child. Can't say I wouldn't have done the same thing, when I was that young.

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104768Chapter: 6
Oh..oh.. I can't really express my love for this story. It made me cry hard, and I let them flow, flow for this outstanding story, and for Elizabeth... but that doesn't say what I am trying to say. It was the best story I have ever read in this site, or any other Harry Potter site so far. I love this little story....oh.. so much...

Reviewer: TashDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104698Chapter: 6
Wow, this was a sophisticated development of the secret life of werewolves.... It's particularly thought-provoking in its exploration of the love/guilt relationship, and very moving as well! Thanks for a lovely evening well-spent!

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103174Chapter: 6
That is one of the most beautiful, wonderful, heart-breaking stories I have ever read. It is well-written, emotional, and full of truly REAL characters. You brought me to laughter and moved me to tears. Congratulations on your incredible story.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101765Chapter: 6
what a fantastic story loved it

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101734Chapter: 6
Oh my god! I'm in awe... I'm crying, but that's not really important... this is the most touching story I've read in here. I'm so in love with Remus Lupin, and you just made my love grow even bigger... you handled him beautifully, you made me believe it was really him... not a fan fic... not fiction at all...!just... Remus Lupin... does that make sense?
I don't even know what to say... I rarely review fics... I mean... I hardly ever do... but this touched me somehow... this touched me deeply... god... I can't even think straight... hehe, got to go and dry my tears... please keep writting!!!
Abby

Reviewer: LianDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101678Chapter: 1
I'm very sorry about double-posting, I don't know how strict you are about that, but... Well, I'm sorry. But I do want to react now I've read the whole story.

This was so incredibly sad... It made me cry, and I can't get it out of my head. Beautiful. Thank you very much for writing this!

Reviewer: LianDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101635Chapter: 1
I have only read the first few lines at the moment, but I just had to react now.
"Mummy was trying to convince him to get a cat or an owl, but Remus wanted a dog. He liked the way they jumped and licked his face."
Wonderful! :D I don't know if you want to imply the thing I read in this, but I like it! :D

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101620Chapter: 6
Beautiful and poignant, again one of the best Remus Lupin stories on the net.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101530Chapter: 6
I read this before on your website, but I wanted to say again really liked this epilogue. It really capsulates Remus's feelings for Elizabeth. I also liked your characterization of the Healer (and, apparently, Parvati and Padma's mother...now I'm curious about how she responded in PoA when her children told her about Remus). Many fanfic Healer characterizations are one-dimensional (either too good or too cold) but you really make Mehadi a three-dimensional character, though a minor one.

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101464Chapter: 6
Okay, so that was one of the very, very few fanfics that actually made me cry. The cremation law was absolutely tragic and absolutely inspired. Just the idea of it...

I know some cultures cremate and I can understand the idea of it, but here it was almost a symbol of Wizarding society's complete and utter rejection of werewolves. It's as though they want to forget that they ever existed. And the fact that Elizabeth, who couldn't have children, cannot even create life through her death...

It all made the ending and the "stone roses" that much more meaningful. Elizabeth *did* create something in Remus, and even if Remus never has biological children, we know that he will live on in his students.

Thanks for this,
Stella

Reviewer: Country LeaverDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101462Chapter: 6
Wow...brilliant stuff. I'm actually crying...

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101442Chapter: 6
This is - excellent. Touching, beautiful, captivating.
Thanks.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101437Chapter: 6
I remember when I read the last chapter I wondered what Remus would have to face the next morning. I am so glad that you gave this work a fitting closure. Sad, beautiful and well-written.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101396Chapter: 6
Very moving. The loneliness seems almost palpable as Remus carries out that final task. Even with someone there, he is still alone. So similar to everyday life for Remus. I liked the details you put in for the recovery room. How some take to the transformation differntly than others. I thought that lent a nice depth. Typical excellence for your work.

I really enjoyed Remus and Elizabeth. I hope we can see more.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101372Chapter: 6
This is the most magnificent piece I have ever read.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101365Chapter: 6
I didn't expect to be treated to more of this beautiful story, and a treat it is. The feeling of everyone rising and departing in the morning; their reaction to Elizabeth; Remus awakening to examine his own pain, made sharper by the bloody laws; and his touching elegy. Well, I'm in tears all over again, but it's OK. Very beautiful work. Thank you again.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101364Chapter: 6
Aww, this was so good - and so terribly sad! :( Unfortunately, I can see the MoM really doing that, too. *Shudders*

It was a great ending, and I'm glad you posted it. I'd read it at LJ, and I think it belongs here as well.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98759Chapter: 5
That was absolutely brilliant. Literally took my breath away.

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97293Chapter: 5
Wow. There's an oft-repeated observation that critics can dish it out good when they see something they don't like, but are at a loss of words when they see something they love. It's easier to spell out what's wrong with a work than it is to say what's right, even more so when the work is so mind-blowingly great that the critic finds himself incoherent by the end of the show. All that you read before that sentence is just a cover for my being incoherent and trying to recover from such a...there are no words! But rest assured, this is quite possibly the best fic I've ever read.

I suppose I should say something specific here, like, why did I like the fic? That might take forever, but I'll try my best: Let's see, the first chapter--a true storyteller is able to create suspense even when the outcome is obvious. I knew Remus was going to get bitten but you wrote it so well that I didn't *want* it to happen. I wanted him to run away, to stop being such a foolish kid and get out of Dodge. But he didn't.

The relationship between Remus and Elizabeth was expertly written. I'm trying to think of what else to say about that, but nothing's coming. It was just brilliant--believable, complex, well-developed...I'm throwing out clichéd terms, here, forgive me...

And the final two chapters? I'm not one to cry at movies or books, but...I do think this *is* the closest I've come to crying from reading a story. So, yeah. I loved this. It's brilliant. It's fantastic.

God Bless,
Midge

Reviewer: sharonDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96028Chapter: 5
what a story! it was sad and exhilirating at the sane time. good job:)

Reviewer: EphigniaDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94709Chapter: 5
... Fucking wow. Amazing. Thank you.

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91109Chapter: 5
sob.......... so beuaitflul spo sad so chilling - brilint work as awlways

Reviewer: AndyDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 86029Chapter: 5
Oh, my. That was extremly moving and I pretty much have tears in my eyes. (Which is saying a lot, since I rarely cry.)
This piece was so moving and genuine.
Remus and Elizabeth both come out exceptionally.
I saw the 3rd film yesterday, which made my imagination even more vivid.
Thank you very much.

Reviewer: FionaDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85842Chapter: 5
Oh wow. Thats such a great story *sniffs*

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84250Chapter: 5
*tear* Very sad! And very beautifully written! I'm actually crying. You did an outstanding job! Your chracterization was amazing! I absolutely loved it!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83618Chapter: 3
I loved how this chapter opened. The prose is so pure and clean and the idea of something as normal as strawberries juxtaposed next to Elizabeth's lyncanthroy makes the opening all that more powerful.

[Elizabeth smiled. "If you can't say it, you're not ready for it anyway."
"I know I'm not!" Remus moved his hands away from his face, looking almost as annoyed as he was mortified. "But someday I might be, and I don't know..."]

Oh, this is just great. You really capture the awkwardness and curiosity at that age. Elizabeth is wonderfully tender and straightforward with Remus and Remus is so sweet. You almost wish that if you had a son, he'd be like Remus. I like how you treat "the talk" with frankness and seriousness and you really illustrate the bond between Remus and Elizabeth.

[She put a hand on his shoulder. "You don't need to be embarrassed. They're good questions. Important ones. It speaks well of you as a young man that you thought to ask them before anything happened instead of after."] Elizabeth just rocks here. I love how you show how considerate and mature Remus is, and the feedback he got that helped contiue to make him this way. This scene is very touching and the mix of dialogue and description flow seamlessly together.

["Well, then. It's a new thought to entertain: some girl, somewhere, might well put up with your monthly mood swings." Elizabeth grinned. "She may even understand them better than you think."
Remus grinned and rolled his eyes. "Yes, I've noticed that at school. I'm glad that's not contagious, because I swear some of them will bite."] *snert* And I loved how Remus showed an interest in having children, but wasn't Too interested, like any normal 16 year old boy.

Beautiful chapter, beautiful writing. This could be an original story.

Reviewer: Pirate PerianDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83454Chapter: 5
It's been a really long time since I read a fic that made me cry. So thank you for this one.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81293Chapter: 2
I'm really enjoying this story. Elizabeth is such an interesting OC. You wouldn't dare pity her, but you do make the reader feel a certain emphathy for her. I liked how Remus and her seem to have a special bond and how they're making the best of a bad situation. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80008Chapter: 5
I think that's my favourite fanfic out of everything I've ever read. Heartbreaking. So beautiful.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79774Chapter: 1
[Remus wanted a dog. He liked the way they jumped and licked his face.] *grin* It's always great seeing "inside" sort of jokes and clues. I bet R/S shippers have a field day with that line.

[they put an Impervious Charm on their door, though--he supposed they were talking about grown-up things, like money and Quidditch] Hehehehe. It's always so great to read about childish innocense.

[Remus felt like he was being squeezed for juice] Great description.

Ooooh, this was wonderful. I can't believe I haven't read it yet. Great job of building up the terror and tension in this chapter. You write children's POV's very well.

Reviewer: CalypsoDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78691Chapter: 5
That was such a wonderful story! I loved how well you explored werewolves in the Potterverse. You wrote a very realistic portrayal of how cursed they must feel.

Wonderful, wonderful fic. The close was so sad...

Reviewer: CalypsoDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78690Chapter: 4
Oh. My. God.

Must read on. More coherent review for the last part, I promise.

Reviewer: CalypsoDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78687Chapter: 3
My favorite chapter so far! That conversation was priceless-- all very good questions from Remus. I never pondered all that before but you provided excellent explanations for all of his queries-- I especially took interest in the bit about female werewolves not bearing children. So sad...

Reviewer: CalypsoDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78683Chapter: 2
Ah, more developing of Elizabeth! Loving that, I have to say :). She's becoming a very well-rounded character, and her guilt is so realistic. I like her quite a bit :).

Reviewer: CalypsoDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78680Chapter: 1
Aww... I knew the bite was inevitable but still, I kept thinking "No, no... back to the house!"

This is actually the first time I read a story where the werewolf that bit Remus had an actual identity rather than being a random wolf in the forest. Kudos for originality! Off to read more.

Reviewer: Livia LIanaDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76761Chapter: 5
Beautiful writing, Fernwithy. You've created a great OC, and your Remus is wonderful - sweet, caring, brave, a little bit mixed up.

And the end made me weep. Beautiful, that. :)

Reviewer: neely61Date: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 76005Chapter: 5
Just found your stories(this one and the others on Sugar Quill) and I love them. I've never seen any based on only Remus before and it was very well done. If you post on any of the other fanfic sites let me know which ones so I can check it out.

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75482Chapter: 5
Fantastic....I love the new and exciting insight...good work!
-Ginny

Reviewer: ~LunardDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74957Chapter: 5
I...
That was a wonderfull fic, and I simply don't know what to say... It was... wow. Phew... Wow... just... Wow.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73596Chapter: 5
::cries::

there are no words for that, FernWithy. You do JKR proud. I have no better praise for you and I am sorry. I hope you are publishing your work, because your talent should be given over to as many people as possible. You are wonderful, simply wonderful.

please write more.
~TPR

Reviewer: Thing1Date: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73192Chapter: 5
Superb stories, and wonderfully written. Not much more to say, really! The Phelans and the Lupins were very well drawn, and the tension between them was particularly poignaint. Thank you!

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 71956Chapter: 4
Wow. That was so good! It's writers as good as you who remind me how much improvement I need :) I loved the story. Was the one who snapped her wand Snape? God that was vindictive, but I can guess where he's coming from, given his near miss. Though I wonder if he's ever stopped and thought about what it would be like if he *had* been bitten that night.

The part where he said:

"Werewolves," the young man spat. "Look what they do, and they still ask to be called human."


Made me want to laugh out loud with the irony. I just wanted to say, "Death Eaters, look what *they* do and they still ask to be called human." Really quite disgusted with him right now. Great fic!

Reviewer: StrayaDate: 2003-12-26
Reviewid: 64858Chapter: 5
Really, really excellent! I'm so glad you mentioned this fic and then linked to it over on FanFicRants. There are so many HP fics these days that center on pairings of various kinds, and even though I know you've written some or are in the process of writing some yourself, it's good to see someone produce a strong, character based piece without loads of fluff and romance. I really wish more fan fic could be as thoughtful and developed as this piece of yours! You did such a wonderful job of protraying Remus in his youth, even as a child, and the character of Elizabeth seemed so very real. Again, excellent work! ^_^

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63866Chapter: 5
That was beautifully written. Wonderful stuff.

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63008Chapter: 5
I loved it. I had never thought about who gave Remus the bite, the characterization of Elizabeth was very good. The fourth chapter was sickening, but well written. It truely showed how inhuman Voldemort and his Death Eaters are, to have a woman kill her own husband is chilling. It was so sad, I was crying in the last two chapters. You're truly a talanted author.

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62903Chapter: 5
This was a really wonderful touching story, I dont think I've ever been reduced to tears while reading a fanfiction, but this was definetly worth it. Child Remus was especialy memorable because he was so caring and compassionate, and Elizabeth is a beautifuly written charachter, thank you for the story

Reviewer: Leia NaberrieDate: 2003-12-10
Reviewid: 62802Chapter: 5
Ye Gods! There is fan fiction and then there is a 'story'...
This is no simplistic tale with Remus Lupin being bitten by a bogeyman werewolf. You have drawn the character of Elizabeth so magnificantly that not only does she seem real but she 'is' real - in every single one of us.
The story is not black and white. A woman bitten on her honeymoon, no less. The reasons for her biting Remus remain obscure till the very end - accident or intent? - the solution to a woman's primitive need for her own young - "Would you like to come and visit me? I'd so like to visit with you!" - or a wolf's seeking a cub?
Then the backdrop of the story - the essence of the 'Dark Times' and the hedonistic actions of the Dark wizards... The crime they forced her to commit against her own husband... (A glimpse of a familiar face as well? Was that Snape?) The fact that it was the wolf that she created that was her absolver...The sheer strength of the human spirit that keeps her going on until the end... And then the end... The last moon...
I finished with tears in my eyes, and re-read and re-read and re-read, gasping for more, marvelling at the 'completeness' of it all...

Reviewer: Linnet GryffinDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62580Chapter: 5
Wow!

This was beautiful... you captured Remus and his relationship with Elizabeth perfectly... it's too wonderful for words. Thank you!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62372Chapter: 5
Fern, I read this on Friday but couldn't put anything coherent together when I got to the end of it due to too many tears so I have waited a couple of days to review.

This is a masterful and memorable piece of writing. You have shown the relationship between Remus and Elizabeth beautifully, including the way that it changes as time passes and Remus gets older. The whole thing is full of layers of complex emotion sparingly and carefully expressed. It's interesting how both of them seem to keep a lot to themselves to begin with in their human forms, but that their emotions can't help being expressed when they are wolves. That's why the last line of Chapter 5 had so much power for me. I wonder if the reason Remus hadn't told Elizabeth that he forgave her before then was because he didn't think there was anything to forgive?

And I am now officially rooting for a Bad End for all the Death Eaters that were involved in that sickening episode in Chapter 4. Pure, calculated evil *shudders*.

Atropos

Reviewer: Miss_Hermione_GrangerDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62333Chapter: 5
Wicked

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62327Chapter: 5
Can't analyze now. Crying.

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62303Chapter: 5
Can I just say...wow? That was amazing. You captured Remus perfectly, and his relationship with Elizabeth was amazing as well. Their interaction through the whole story was just so in character for Remus, and you developed Elizabeth enough so that she wasn't just a flat character; she was a person...werewolf...whatever. You caught their guilt and fears and problems like you had experienced them firsthand. So...wow.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62206Chapter: 5
Your story is so well-imagined, so well-wrought, and so possible within the JKR universe,I want to adopt it as canon. I love how you capture the growing Remus, presenting each scenario surrounded by different people and circumstances, as well as your other details, sad though they may be. What saddened me most was Remus, at the end, still thinking of himself as "only a monster." Thanks for a great read.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62205Chapter: 1
This chapter is so beautifully written, I had to give it its own review. Your "child Remus" is so compelling and his viewpoint so real, I could vividly picture him, and just loved him, and the whole time I'm thinking, "no, no, don't go outside!" Just so wel written.

Reviewer: Winged WolfDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62170Chapter: 1
This is definitely one of the more intriguing stories I've read in the Harry Potter line, and the quality of the writing was fantastic. It was unique, original, and stands on its own. You've got a gift for characterization.

Reviewer: kivaaDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62163Chapter: 5
That is so sad. Really, it's great, but really sad.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62140Chapter: 5
NOOOOOOOOO!!!!! This was so freaking sad! Oh my gosh! This isn't fair for Lupin! James and Lily died. Sirius died. And now someone else to add to that list.

Fernwithy, you are truly an awesome writer. You should try writing something that isn't fan fiction and try to get it published. YOU'RE THAT GOOD!

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62136Chapter: 4
Oh . . . my . . . gosh. That was so horrible, so detailed, so well written, so . . . amazing. I really feel sorry for Elizabeth. You have created a chracter that has great qualities and is so well thought out. This chapter hurt.

Off to the last chapter. I hope things get better, and I hope they kill those stupid Death Eaters.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62131Chapter: 3
Another great chapter! A question you knew he was going to ask sometime. I feel sorry for Elizabeth, she's such a nice charcter.

Reviewer: Janna SkinnerDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62128Chapter: 5
Your stories never fail to touch me. You have an uncanny knack for conveying subtleties of character and drawing the reader into the story.

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62106Chapter: 4
Oh. My. God. Nothing else to say, really. This is a GREAT story.

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62102Chapter: 3
What an amazing original character. I want to be friends with Elizabeth!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --