The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 82

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128512Chapter: 16
Overall - Quite decent. Thanks

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88649Chapter: 1
I left an extensive review at Checkmated, I just want to say again how much I love this story.

Reviewer: VickiDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87995Chapter: 16
That was really good!! You should continue these for the other books as well!

Reviewer: kalathetrumpeterDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 85975Chapter: 15
I love this story! It's great to see Neville's perpective, and you seem to be an exceptional writer. Can't wait to see more great work from you in the future.

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85528Chapter: 16
Wow, I don't think I've ever seen such detailed author's notes! Please do continue with Neville's story. You're Neville is the most cannon Neville that I've seen in fanfic (including the tears). While I encourage you to work on your original novel, please don't forget all of your HP fans .... If nothing else, we could be some of the first to purchase & spread the news about your original work. ;o)

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85504Chapter: 16
I loved the addition of your author's notes, and I'm looking forward to reading your next fic. You've done an excellent job with this story, and fleshed out Neville for all of us. (He's become one of my favorite characters and I was so glad to see how far he'd come in OotP). Thanks for an enjoyable time!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85492Chapter: 16
Well, if I'd known you were counting my reviews, I'd have written more.;) I honestly cannot wait until Neville Longbottom and the Curse of the Pixies, and I really hope you decide to write a third, because if you don't, it would destroy my life! :-P

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85464Chapter: 1
Neville is one of my Favs. I love This! Do write more, and this is excalent food for thought

Reviewer: tundra101Date: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85382Chapter: 16
hi thanks for the update and the explinations in the epilogue as before i am very impressed with your style and would like very much to read another of your stories very soon keep up the great work

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85376Chapter: 16
Wow, what a long Author's Note! Very informative, though. I can't tell you how much I like this story. I think it stays close to what JKR intended. I like the way you portray Neville. I feel as though Neville may be the most realistic of the Harry Potter characters and you made him seem so real. Great job, I am awaiting the next fic.

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85333Chapter: 16
I love your story!! Neville is so sweet. It's nice to see Neville in a positive view, instead of just as the forgetful klutz. I liked the epilogue at the end, it gave me a lot of information. :~P

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84287Chapter: 15
That was an absolutely wonderful story! I hope you write a sequel soon, I'll definitely read it.

Reviewer: Star SeekerDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84262Chapter: 15
Wow! This fic was WONDERFUL! I loved reading from Neville's point of view and I think you captured his personality woderfully.

Reviewer: tundra101Date: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81163Chapter: 14
hi loved the story and how you kept to canon so well. my only complaint is that you have neville crying his eyes out over every little thing! do consider changing that in further chapters.
i have read some of the reviews from other readers.and i think that they are right in saying that you capture neville so truely.
please do update soon also do try to cover the other years .
with regards from a fan of j.k.r.'s & now your's

Reviewer: jstur83Date: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81162Chapter: 14
hi love the story so far neville is my favorite charecter of jkr's i only wish she would put him in more of the books
please update soon im very anxious to find out what else neville is thinking
p.s.you are very talented keep up the good work

Reviewer: sugar bubblesDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75937Chapter: 14
oooooooooooooooooooooooh! i like this fic. rinkle is my fave new character! yeeheeheeheehee! anyway, pretty please with a cherry on top update soon!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75924Chapter: 14
I just got caught up on the last few chapters. Very nice job! I like how you have Dumbledore's picture communicate with him. I also like how you have Neville talk thru Trevor to Rinkle -- we don't know all of the powers that house elves have, so it makes sense that they can understand animals.

The way you started this chpt was very good. I can see Neville apologizing long after the fact simply because it is the right thing to do. Also, McGonnegall's reaction is very believable.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75814Chapter: 14
Great chapter! I love that Neville was able to get himself rescued from the Body Bind, notify Dumbledore, and then help rescue the Trio! Using his book to talk to the Headmaster was a great touch.

I want you to know that I like this story a lot. You've developed Neville's character very well; I like his connection with Trevor, too - JKR doesn't tell us much about 'familiars'.

In this chapter, though, I have one little issue - I think the "self-playing harp" is from the movie. In the book, don't they have to play the flute Harry got from Hagrid? (I don't have my books here, so I could be wrong). Maybe you're already aware of this, and went with the movie version.

I'm looking forward to seeing Neville and Hermione in Dumbledore's office. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: SusanDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75757Chapter: 14
Wow!! very unexpected!! I always believed in Neville's courage, but using the book was simply brilliant!!

Great!!

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75657Chapter: 14
Another great installment. I've never really thought about what happened to Neville after Hermione put the full body-bind on him. Great job!

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75560Chapter: 14
I've been following this story as faithfully as I can with all the traveling I've been doing and the newest chapters don't disappoint. You have developed Neville into a wonderful, sympathetic character and I can't wait for more.

Reviewer: JayneDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75521Chapter: 14
This is simply brilliant. I've always loved Neville, and your Neville is even better than the one I love.

J

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75510Chapter: 14
Wow! I've spent the last couple of hours reading all you've written so far of this. I can't believe I had missed it before. You've written a wonderful Neville, not changing his bumbling character, but imbuing him with so much more than we get from the early books. Are you planning to write all the books from Neville's pov? Whatever you write, I look forward to reading it,

Sabre

Reviewer: louDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74784Chapter: 13
I'm just a casual visitor to this site, but I read all 13 chapters and I thought your story was great. You really captured the feeling of struggling with emotional burdens as a child and trying to also keep on top of all the things your supposed to be doing . Neville is a very loveable character who is easy to relate to, and th introduction of a bit of phsychology through the St mungos staff and Neville's dreams gave the story a definite edge. Well done! you should think about writing for kids.

Reviewer: Margaret BDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73899Chapter: 13
This was a great chapter....poor Neville though! :`(
Keep updating quickly!!!!!
Happy Writing!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73668Chapter: 13
Great chapter! I can't wait for the next one!

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73450Chapter: 13
Yay! A new chapter! I've been checking back here every few days to see if there was a new one. Can't wait to see what's up next! Please hurry!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70809Chapter: 12
This was a lovely chapter. Everything is just so wonderful; I don't know what to say. You make Neville even more lovable than he already is!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70772Chapter: 12
Awwww, poor Neville! I love him more and more with every chapter. I can't wait for the next one!

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68711Chapter: 11
Oooh what a lovely chapter! Neville is so brave! Malfoy is horrible though, I hope he gets what he deserves!!!!!! HURRY AND UPDATE!
~ALABASTER BLACK

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68610Chapter: 11
I really love this fic. It is without a doubt the best in cannon Neville fic I have read.

Are you going to continue to 5th year? PLEASE say yes!

Reviewer: Tamira lUneDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68603Chapter: 11
I love it. I love every bit of it. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68560Chapter: 11
Very good chapter! I love Neville even more now, and I didn't think that was possible!:-D

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68557Chapter: 11
Great chapter. THAT is how I see McGonagall. I think that she would always feel that way if a student had stood up for another like that, but I doubt she would always say it. Here, however, it was in character because she knew how badly Neville needed her praise.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68536Chapter: 11
This was a beautiful chapter. I hate Malfoy. The characterization of McGonagall was perfect. Neville is my hero.

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67488Chapter: 10
Oh I love this story. I really reallly do! Keep writing! I think this was the best chapter yet!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67288Chapter: 10
This is a wonderful story! Neville's thoughts and emotions are perfectly in character. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67265Chapter: 10
Excellent story. You do a great job of keeping Neville in character, and your version of events through Neville's eyes is fascinating.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67239Chapter: 10
Great chapter! I love this story so much, it's the best Neville fic I've ever read. You hadn't updated in so long, I was beginning to think that you weren't going to finish it, which would have ruined my life!:-D

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67234Chapter: 10
You're doing a marvelous job. I think you've captured Neville's personality very well. I especially enjoyed when Neville thought of himself as the anti-Harry. It rather puts the whole OotP bit in perspective.

Reviewer: Llewella d'ambreDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65265Chapter: 4
Wow! These first few chapters I've read have been amazing! I really loved how deeply you delved into the Longbottoms and how you played out the situations we only learn tiny bits about in the HP books. V. well done! You're a talented writer, and I'm looking forward to reading more of this particular story. PS - Tycho Celchu is awesome... ^_~

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65183Chapter: 9
Doodoodooo! I can't wait to read what happens next with Neville's parents. I love it, you know. I'm interested to know what the dream means. Neville is so brave I can't stand it. It warms my heart.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65155Chapter: 9
Wow, that was a wonderful chapter! I'm loving this story more with every update, so please do it again soon! :-)

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64812Chapter: 8
Second time I've bben to this site, and this story instantly caught my eye. I spent almost an hour reading it all, and I think it's fantastic! I love how you've captured Neville, and made him your own, yet kept him in character. I have a feeling that in the last books of the series, JK Rowling has great things in store for Neville, but until they come out I'm glad to see someone giving him the attention he deserves. I noticed just a couple of very minor typos, but they didn't distract me from the story. Your style is close to Rowling's, and just as enjoyable to read, and it's great how you've tied in so much of the books. Great job, and I look forward to reading the rest!

Reviewer: tanira luneDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64754Chapter: 8
Hmf. I didn't know Dean was black, I must've missed that. Oh well, keep writing and all that.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64655Chapter: 8
Poor Neville. I wish something wonderful would come is way (hint, hint). He never gets anything good. Make something really great out of the 12 of Malfoy thing. Neville deserves it. Great job, as always.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64083Chapter: 7
I haven't checked on this story in a while, and was very happy to see that there was not one, but two new chapters added. I have always loved Neville, and your story just makes me love him more. Keep up the good work, and please update soon! :D

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63888Chapter: 7
I like the way you give Neville his clumsiness and forgetfullnes. So many authors take that away to give a better hero.

Reviewer: MargaretDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63806Chapter: 7
I just love this story- you do such a wonderful job portraying Neville's character. I especially love the sorting scene- and when Neville said: "Iíve been protected all my life, and all that has happened is that I doubt myself even more. Please, donít place me where I can be protected. Place me where I can learn and grow."
GREAT JOB, I can't even find words to describe how great this is!
Margaret

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63689Chapter: 7
Haha, I just realized Neville's Gran is exceedingly frank and she named her son Frank. But poor Neville, hearing his family talk about how he isn't good enough! The sorting hat conversation was absolutely perfect. I loved it. And a perfect ending. It was so sweet.

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63588Chapter: 6
This is a sweet story. Neville is becoming a better person in the books for me. A great Tribute! Keep writing update soon!

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63452Chapter: 6
Aunt Enid, now there a character we don't know, and your veiw of her is wonderful she is a great balance of love and warmth and knowlege and she contrast gran beautifully. I like the way she explained Crabbe and Goyle's behavior and I may shamefully steal it when its time to explain bulling behavior to my own daughter :)
I was frightned for a second that Neville would forget the book I was glad to see it in there
Keep up the good work I love a good Neville story

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63261Chapter: 6
I really loved how you did his examination.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62874Chapter: 5
That was SO good, I'm practically speechless! Absolutely wonderful portrayal of all characters, JKR would be proud. Keep up the good work, and update soon! :)

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62849Chapter: 5
I'm highly enjoying your story and eagerly await all the next chapters. Ever since OotP came out, I've developed an affection for Neville and you have quite successfully kept him in character while foreshadowing his actions in OotP. I am also impressed with your development of Frank and Alice, especially in how Alice giving Neville wrappers began. Keep it up!

Reviewer: mrs LUNEGOODEYBURGERDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62718Chapter: 5
I like. Very nice.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62703Chapter: 5
That was a very good chapter. I would leave a better review but I'm in a hurry to get to the orthodontist *grumbles*. Anyway, I really enjoyed it; keep up the good work!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62697Chapter: 5
The howler was hilarious. I can't wait for more.
"If they donít want me, he thought, then I donít want them. But even as he tried to convince himself he knew it wasnít true."
Poor Neville. (We love you, Neville!)

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62696Chapter: 4
Yay for the real chapter. I love how you made it so he was really doing magic all along. And the letter to Dumbledore is adorable! I would like to see you do something that shows why Algie is so concerned that Neville is a real wizard. It seems like there's something aside from family honor, or a reason that the family honor must be upheld.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62692Chapter: 5
oh what a great chapter i love the fact that you had the letters from his dad and that he rebeled against his gran very nice cant wait to read the next chapter

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62678Chapter: 5
I LOVE THIS STORY!!!! You've made Neville into such a wonderful character, while still staying true to canon. I love the "book" with his fathers letters, and Algie is the guy you half like, half hate. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE update soon!!!!
Neville ROX!!!
~*~MARGARET~*~

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62665Chapter: 5
Really good! You have Neville's character well on the way to development, though he doesn't seem as forgetful and dependent as in first year.

Also, Gran seemed to be a bit less supportive of Neville when we actually saw her or heard from her in canon.

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62647Chapter: 5
I love this story the book is a great idea and I like your version of gran
in canon I think she gets rough treatment because its just not possible to show her softer side but this is the woman who commands neviles respect, love, and fear
My favorite excange was just before she left and she told him she loved him I must admit it started the water works(a good nevile story always does)
I really enjoy the book idea also it gives a good view of Frank and his grand father

Reviewer: SophieDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62607Chapter: 5
Another great chapter! I love how you are incorporating all these little learning experiences for Neville, giving background to how he became our Neville as he is today. The idea of the book and letters from his father is great, and I like Frank's view on breaking rules. The broom incident also gives background to why Neville is so nervous about flying in book one! Poor Neville, too, with his family saying that he is mainly squib right in front of him! I think you have captured Gran perfectly, too, demanding and dominating enough, but with a kind, caring side, too. Great work, I look foward to reading more of this fantastic fic! (hehe.. fantastic fic...)

~ Sophie

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62503Chapter: 4
Another fantastic chapter! The scene with his mum was very sad. I hope that JKR lets them get better :(. I love the book. It's a very creative way for Neville to keep in touch with his Grampa, as well as to recieve letters from his father. I hope that he never forgets to open the book on his birthday! I can't wait til he gets to Hogwarts and meets everyone!

Reviewer: Michael CareyDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62464Chapter: 4
Chapter 4 is now correct. If you have not read it, you might want to take another look. Thanks for your reviews.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62001Chapter: 4
Wonderful, once again. It made me so happy when Harry had the birthday surprise! I always thought he deserved one. But where was Hermione? And how does this fit in with the rest of the story?

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61836Chapter: 3
Oh...my. That was so sad, and yet so beautiful. Oh my dear, dear Neville. You've written a spectacular three chapters. I'm very excited to see what the next installments will bring.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61773Chapter: 3
oh what a sad ending damn that uncle algie anyways great writing keep it up hope you up date soon =)

Reviewer: PennyDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61722Chapter: 3
wow. that was amazing. love the insight into Frank and Alice. I was in tears during the face off of the Longbottoms and Bella. Curses to her name, that Bella is a beeyatch, but you wrote an amazing story. That was fantastic... thank you.

Reviewer: SophieDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61709Chapter: 3
I have been following this fic for a while, but have been too lazy to review, so now I will make an attempt at it! I really like your ability to link the canon facts of Neville's life (such as the threstrals - seeing his gramps die, the blackpool pier, his memory etc.) and form a detailed plot and fic. Moody and Gran are in character from what we know of them, although I think that Neville seems a little too old for a five year old towards the end of the 3rd chapter. The first two chapters were great in that we saw a glimpse of Alice and Frank's lives (and Neville's) before THAT incident, and I like how you have strung them all together - especially Sirius gaurding the Potter's bodies, and Frank being one of the first to the crime scene. Grandpa's speechs on his deathbed were very well written, and although I have to be truthful and say I didn't get teary, they were quite sad and sentimental. The Healer's speech, though, I thought was really good -

Tomís heart went out to the child, and he knelt down beside him. ďFirst of all, thereís nothing bad about being a Squib. If you are a Squib, it means you have different gifts than most wizards. And you may have to work harder for your goals, but they are no less important. But I wouldnít worry too much. I donít think youíre a Squib.Ē

I really love that passage, about Neville's natural curiosity, and how he became the character that we love today.

Please, keep writing! I love this fic!

~ Sophie

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61705Chapter: 3
This is really great! You manage to thread the scattered information we got in canon about Neville's past into an incredible fic (I had forgotten what allowed Neville to see Thestrals...). The story is engaging and heart-wrenching.
I also like your clever exploration of what makes Neville tick - his memory problems, his reluctance to do magic, his rapport with plants. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61692Chapter: 3
You really did it, this time. Now I'm crying and sniffling and my nose is running and I could have sworn my lip was quivering before.
Okay, better now. I'm really interested to see where you're taking the Algie character. He seems so evil in this chapter! But in the fifth book he gives Neville the mimbulus mimbletonia. I think perhaps there is a plot afoot!
Anyway, loved it, obviously. I just hope you don't get into the fifth book because I'm doing the fifth book Neville-style and then I won't be able to read it!
Keep 'em coming!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61690Chapter: 2
Your writing is absolutely wonderful. The end made me cry. All of your ideas make perfect sense. I especially liked Alice's garden.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61632Chapter: 3
I love it so far! I think you captured Neville excellently, and Tom and Neville's family were great. The writing flows well and the tone is nicely kept throughout and fitting for the piece. It captured me and kept me engaged. Wonderful, thanks so much for this! I can't wait to read more. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: snifflyDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61423Chapter: 2
Ohmigod. "" "" "" "" "". That is so sad. So sad. """""""". (ditto, but I suspect you knew that already)

Reviewer: AlexisDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61415Chapter: 1
Amazing story! Keep going please.

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61293Chapter: 1
this is very good. can't wait for the next installment.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61267Chapter: 1
Lovely. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: KalielDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61265Chapter: 2
This is really, really good- but the second chapter is sooo sad, it almost made me cry! I hope you continue this!
~Kaliel

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61212Chapter: 1
Good job! The connections to canon make this seem very much like JKR's own story. I like the role you've given to Frank in this whole thing. Sorry to know what must happen, soon.

I look forward to more!

Reviewer: MadelineDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61189Chapter: 1
This is a great story so far! It's very well-written and from a point of view we hardly ever see. Please continue soon :-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --