The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Falling
Review(s): 60

Reviewer: Ylime101Date: 2007-01-28
Reviewid: 147023Chapter: 1
OMG! this is the best lily/james fic i've ever read. i love love LOVE it! plz write more! this is definately one of my favourites!

Reviewer: jess_darkwaterDate: 2005-02-28
Reviewid: 115182Chapter: 1
there is only one word which could fully describe this and that is Wow!

Reviewer: SamanthaDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113736Chapter: 1
This is the first MWPP era fic I have EVER enjoyed. And that's really saying something. Thank you so much- you actually made this pairing interesting for me. I've always been bored by it. Thank you!!!

Reviewer: RoseWillDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106302Chapter: 1
Sweet. Good use of the imagery and not-sugaryness of it all.
Very nice characterisation of both of them, especially Lily's thoughts on James. (The specific ones). And the trap that everyone fancies Padfoot. :-)

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102311Chapter: 1
Oh, and I forgot to say something. I've taken up criticism classes and creative writing classes and all that. I've been in literary workshops and had been nagged by award-winning writers, and I just have to say that I couldn't find anything bad in your fic, considering I'm a creative writing major. You are good, and I wish I had half your talent. This fic's the best I've read, so far. I'll print it and keep this in my drawer, because I just lovelovelooove this. Keep on writing! :)

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102310Chapter: 1
Just three words: I LOVE IT. I love the way the author related the title with the setting, and with the plot. Falliiiiiiing.

.. and it makes me so loooove sick. *sigh*

Reviewer: PostoverstaDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102281Chapter: 1
Oh lord, I loved this so much!! Anazingly well done. I just wish there was more! I love how they're bantering w/each other, and how we see Lily's emotions change, it's just amazing! Well done!!!

Reviewer: lone astronomerDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99398Chapter: 1
I'd love to leave a constructive review, but I can't find anything wrong with the whole story. This is perfect. Well done.

Reviewer: lone astronomerDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99397Chapter: 1
I'd love to leave a constructive review, but I can't find anything wrong with the whole story. This is perfect. Well done.

Reviewer: salomeDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98291Chapter: 1
please finnish the story!!!write more!!! please!!!! it's great!!! I love this story!!

Reviewer: hydraspitDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78962Chapter: 1
Wow... that's all I have to say... you are an excellent writer. I wish I had half of your talent. Wonderfully characterized and perfectly fits to canon.

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77902Chapter: 1
Now that was a good story. It's very...true. Instead of a kiss-filled asking out, then a confession of undying love, you brought the story right down to Earth. Most like the ways it would and should go. I give you major points on this story. Congratulations

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77580Chapter: 1
i'm SO obsessed with this fic-seriously, it's not even funny. it's the best L/J fic I've read EVER, and this is, like, the zillionth time I'm reading it. it's an awesome fic, and i hope you'll keep writing-especially about lilly and james-i love reading about them.
-J

Reviewer: WillLupinSiriuslyLoveMeDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76406Chapter: 1
Omigosh this story is my favorite fanfic EVER!!! When are you going to write something else? I keep checking, but alas....

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71554Chapter: 1
I loved how caring and tender and sweet James's feelings for Lily are portrayed. The first few paragraphs about snow falling was a bit dragging... I skipped over it. Something that bothered me--
"obviously unintelligent but rather pretty Ravenclaw."
Shouldn't a Ravenclaw be intelligent?

Reviewer: MagnoliaDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71233Chapter: 1
ohhhh, this is soo sweet. Beautifully writen. I love it, what else can I say? I love Lily and James fanfics, and this is definitely a very good one. Even though it doesn't involve never ending chapters, it is still lovely. ^_^ I hope you continue your writing, because you definitely have a telent for it.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67726Chapter: 1
This was great. It's now a favorite Lily/James story of mine. Their interaction was really good. I loved the inclusion of the nargles!

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67192Chapter: 1
Wow! this is really nice!!! I especially like it because you used our knowledge of Lily and James, and showed us the transition between their fifth year, and seventh!!!

Your writing is also REALLY good!!!

Luv, me
GinnyAuror00

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65477Chapter: 1
i LOVE this story! *especially the end*...can you write another lily/james fic?

Reviewer: JessDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65329Chapter: 1
This is easily the best L/J story I have ever read. Your characters are well developed and consistent with what we know to be true in canon, and the dialogue is realistic and seems to flow naturally. Nicely done.

Reviewer: Kathleen C.Date: 2003-12-21
Reviewid: 64270Chapter: 1
I loved your story! You are an amazing writer and I just can't wait to read more of your wonderful stories! Falling made me laugh and it made me cry. I loved hearing about James and Lily's pasts. Thanks for writting this.

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 64016Chapter: 1
*sighs deeply* That was so perfect. Absolutely wonderful.

Reviewer: hollyhockDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 63993Chapter: 1
beautiful

Reviewer: andiDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 63971Chapter: 1
adorable!!! such a nice, sweet story!!

Reviewer: Angel StreetDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 63956Chapter: 1
I loved every moment of it.

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63925Chapter: 1
That was beautiful! I loved how you tied the snowflakes back in at the end. I really enjoyed this. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63857Chapter: 1
Ohhhhhh!! I loved it!!! It was just so perfect!! Now all it needs is... a Sequel!! :)

Reviewer: Olivia PitcherDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63793Chapter: 1
What a fantastic story! It's just so how I imgained the two of them to be, and to watch Lily gradually thawing out is just wonderful. the last piece back in the common room was especially good.
Also, beautiful ending.

Why oh why is real life never like fanfic??

Reviewer: JaquelyneDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63735Chapter: 1
That was wonderful. Well done! Sweet and Romantic in a Lily and James sort of way.

Reviewer: AlaDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63675Chapter: 1
Oooooh...I love it!! Your descriptions are so good!! They are almost poetry, some of them. This fits in very well with canon, and I love James and Lily, very IC. Excellent job, how bout a sequel?? PLEASE????!!!!
Ala

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61892Chapter: 1
Awwww so cute. Seriously, I'm melting here. Finally a post-ootp L/J that I actually seem to like! This was a very good story and I love the way you handled Lily's emotions and James' changings. I liked the fact that it was all slow, and not rushing into snoggings and stuff already.
Write more!!!

Reviewer: ClarryDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61816Chapter: 1
Wow! Fantastic, soooooo sweet! Funny too... wow just brilliant simply brilliant.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61807Chapter: 1
Excellent! Very enjoyable and believable portrayal of James and Lily, and you kept just enough of James the Prat to make the repartee really sparkle.

"It was a terribly invasive move, she thought dimly, to rest his head against hers. Odd that she didn't seem to mind at all. Perhaps standing like this, and the whole journey which lead up to this moment, was nothing but a fanciful hallucination brought on by mince pies, Santa and carols. Or perhaps, she reflected, the commander was a greater strategist that she could ever have imagined, and it was time for the enemy to graciously wave the white flag to end this little skirmish.

But not the war, she mentally added with a small smirk. The war wasn't over yet. And, she was quite sure, Hogsmeade would make an excellent battleground."

Wonderful imagery here, and sets the tone for the future relationship.


Alkari

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61806Chapter: 1
Wonderful! A very plausible trip from rancor to affection! I like the implied planning that James uses to prove he is not unworthy. And I like listening to Lily's thoughts as she sounds out her own emotions. Very well done.

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61803Chapter: 1
Oooh. I've always liked a good Lily/James, and there are so few of those that fit post-OotP canon. I'm glad you wrote this, it was masterfully done and a wonderful read.

Reviewer: minervamcgonagallDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61799Chapter: 1
The best story i've read lately. Perfection. Please write more, maybe add a sequel? Perfection in every way. minervamcgonagall

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61790Chapter: 1
So. Good. I'm dumbfounded.
After a moment to regain coherency, that was very poetic.
So. Good.

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61785Chapter: 1
That was REALLY good. I'm waiting for you to be upgraded to Professor's Bookshelf. Keep turning out work like this, and it won't be long!!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61781Chapter: 1
That's a lovely job of portraying James and Lily's relationship at its turning point. I've seen a lot of discussion about how they could have gone from the couple we saw in Snape's worst memories to being Harry's parents, and this is a nice take on how it might have been. I liked your James - he's very three dimensional. And you've carefully illustrated how he has changed since their fifth year and Lily's reactions to those changes. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Atropos

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61778Chapter: 1
By far the best Lily James fic I've ever read! This was lovely and the dialogue was so believable and in character....it was just wonderful! This was a perfect read for a cold winter night like this one. ^_^ Please write more, you are obviously an awesome writer and I would love to read more from you.

Keep it up!
Brittany

Reviewer: ghfghfgDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61761Chapter: 1
LOVED IT! GREAT ! AWWWW!

Reviewer: UilnslcoapDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61739Chapter: 1
Oh well done. A longish, drawn-out conversation is so rare in fan fiction. Most people want to rush to the "good stuff" as quickly as possible. Thanks for making the build up so believable and therefore making the payoff work as much as it did.

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61738Chapter: 1
Gorgeous...Funny...Bittersweet...

...Perfect.

A lovely winter's tale to read on a rainy winter's evening - well done!

Fluffy_Rose

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61730Chapter: 1
This was wonderful! Your dialogue was priceless and rang of JKR. I could feel all of the emotions running through them, especially James's uncertainty and Lily's realization of her feelings for him. Well done.

Reviewer: gingerSnapDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61723Chapter: 1
Really pulled at my heartstrings this one! I love the fact that James can be romantic & soppy but still cheeky at the same time. Lovely.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61700Chapter: 1
Beautiful.

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61699Chapter: 1
Loved your story! Any chance you'll write more?

Reviewer: SuseDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61694Chapter: 1
Nicely, nicely done!

Reviewer: Seer CassandraDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61685Chapter: 1
Sheer brilliance! I loved it! Very IC, at least to how i pictured Lily and James. Is Jame's scar the result of his fight with Snape from the memory in the pensieve? Very good tie in to cannon there. The snowflake begining was a great way to begin the fic, and I loved how you tied that "theme" in throughout the rest of it. Amazing writing! Write more fics! I'll be looking for your name in the new postings!

Reviewer: RonniekinsDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61668Chapter: 1
Ha! It's up! *applauds for you*

I read this for the second time and I still loved it. James.... and Lily.... they were perfect. And I loved the conversation between them.

And the snowflakes metaphor! Can't forget that!

When will we be seeing your other fic up here? Congrats on getting on SQ!

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61655Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. I think a lot have people have trouble with James/Lily fics (myself included) and their characterization, but I think you've done the best job I've seen. Great work!

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61651Chapter: 1
beautiful. I love James/Lily and this was a superb story of what might've happened seventh year, supporting canon perfectly and characterization.

Brilliant!

Reviewer: 3Date: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61644Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT. This is wonderful, perfect, true to everything JK says, and just what James would do and Lily would think. Wonderful-write more!

Reviewer: miaka mouseDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61636Chapter: 1
ok wow..i absolutely loved this... ::swoons:: beautifully written

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61635Chapter: 1
Damn. That was one hell of a story. I love the way your characters seem so real ^_^

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61630Chapter: 1
Loved it gimme more!!!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61629Chapter: 1
AMAZING!!!!!! so wonderfully written as well with everything building up to the end. nothing was forced; it all seemed so natural!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: perryDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61620Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness. That was incredibly sweet, fluffy, and generally everything that a person could ever want a short fic to be. Wow. I am in amazement!

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61616Chapter: 1
Awwww.

I read in the forums in a discussion about writing romance that the best kinds at the kinds that make you giggle. This is definately one of the best kinds. I love the ending.

I hope you write more soon.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61608Chapter: 1
I love it so far! I think you captured a young Lily excellently, and James was great. The writing flows well and the tone is nicely kept throughout and fitting for the piece. It captured me and kept me engaged. Wonderful, thanks so much for this! I can't wait to read more. 8-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --