The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Distractions
Review(s): 158

Reviewer: siriusgirlDate: 2007-09-20
Reviewid: 149352Chapter: 6
good story! I love it!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-09-06
Reviewid: 149178Chapter: 6
The friendship between Anne and Theo is so real. I love the outside perspective on the rise of the Second Wizarding War, both from someone who is on the front lines (Theo) and someone who is not as affected (Anne), but who is still in danger. I like how feelings are developing between the two, but that romance isn't the entire purpose for their friendship. Great story, looking froward to reading the sequals.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-08-20
Reviewid: 148938Chapter: 5
[had, she thought, relished practising on her entirely too much.]

That's both funny and disturbing.

[Where did you learn all these spells, anyway?" she'd asked curiously. They weren't illegal, or Dark magic; just a wider variety of hexes and jinxes than Anne had heard of.

"Home," Theo had replied tersley.

She'd left it at that.]

I like how Anne and Theo can communicate so much with just a few words. The implications of Theo's father using those hexex is rather chilling.

[Now he seemed to have reached a decision. He didn't want to be a Death Eater; he didn't want to fight them; he just wanted to stay out of the way, and that meant blending in with Malfoy's crowd without drawing attention to himself. He didn't like Muggle-borns or halfbloods, but he didn't think they should be killed or tortured for being what they were.]

I like that you make Theo an interesting shade of gray. He's neither coward nor hero, and in making him so real you took a big risk that really paid off. It's always so tempting with fiction to make our protagonists so wonderful, but you've really examined Theo with a critical, unforgiving eye and the story is all the better for it.

[She'd clearly been spending far too much time around girls who thought that any interaction with boys beyond the requirements of class clearly meant you were dating.]

It's so refreshing that Anne and Theo are just friends and that Anne doesn't spend all her time crushing on him.

[Luna Lovegood's a Ravenclaw," put in Gabby.

"She's just weird.]

*snert* I like how the students know that something is up without knowing the full story. It's always so interesting to read canon from a different POV.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-03-27
Reviewid: 147608Chapter: 6
I just reread this in an hour-long marathon read. It's been nearly two years, and this is such a good series, I needed to pull it out of the ashes of my memory and rekindle it. It's spring break, and this is good reading!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138279Chapter: 6
I enjoyed this introduction to your work tremendously. A pity you have never felt the need to clean up the huge quantity of distracting errors though.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132588Chapter: 4
[What's the point in being alive if you aren't enjoying it?"
"What's the point in being dead?"]

Great exchange. I love the dialogue between Anne and Theo.

["I was only two. It's not as if I really remember or anything."]

Hmmm, so this wasn't the death that allowed him to see Thestrals. I'm curious about that.

I really love how Anne isn't perfect and how she has her own prejudices to overcome. I especially loved the conversation where Theo stood up for his family and said just because they were Death Eaters doesn't change the fact that they're still his family. I also like the growing attraction between the two of them and how it's gradual. I also love how you made Theo neutral and looking out for his own skin. It's a very human thing to do. He reminds me of the German citizens during WWII: he's not a Nazi but he's not a revolutionary either. He just wants to survive. Really great job, especially the dialogue exchanges.

Reviewer: claudiastarDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130514Chapter: 6
great fic. I love the character of Theo. He is very original- complex and convincing. I love that they come together through music. Your dialogue was very well written too, natural and realistic

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126102Chapter: 6
My sister recommended these stories to me, and she was right! What an interesting and unique idea. Not only is the premise solid and fascinating, but it is well carried out. I love the character of Anne; she seems so very real. So many characters in fanfic and in the real books are loud and rambunctious and call attention to themselves. It's so nice to read a story about two people who DON'T stand out from the background. They seem like very real people who just happen to be magic and about to launch into the second war against You-Know-Who.

Well done. I can't wait to read the others!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122675Chapter: 2
Great chapter. I really like how both Anne and Theodore struggle to understand each other's POV. I like how they do it without lecturing or getting on a soap box. The dialogue feels very natural and unforced. I especially like how Anne is timid and a little shy; it makes her more believable. I also liked how her house-mates discussed the Death Eaters escaping. I always love hearing about how the rest of Hogwarts deal with the events in canon besides Harry's circle of friends. Great job!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121511Chapter: 1
I really like how you're developing Theodore Nott. He's definitely prejudiced, but now that it's being challenged he's actually thinking about it. I also liked how his attitude didn't change immediately. It feels more organic for his development to be gradual.

Anne is a great OC. So often female OCs stand out so much and scream for attention but I like how Anne is just a simple, quiet Hufflepuff who likes to play the flute. I also liked when she stood up to Theodore, but when she does, you can really see her screwing up her courage for it.

I'm looking forward to seeing the relationship between these two develop and I'm looking forward to Theodore's character development, especially around his housemates.

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118815Chapter: 6
I loved this story!

Anne Fairleigh is a great OC - engaging, interesting and easy to relate to. I particularly love the fact that she's a Hufflepuff - as the writer of a Hufflepuff OC myself, I know how underappreciated the house is as a whole! Anne was a fabulous narrator - I really enjoyed the insight into her thoughts!

Likewise, the way you fleshed out Theodore Nott was awesome. You have a real gift for writing relationships and interactions - the way that Theo and Anne's awkward friendship grew was great. I particularly liked the way that you used music as the instrument (no pun intended) for bringing them together. It was really nice to see the events of canon happening around the main thread of the Theo/Anne relationship.

I really, really enjoyed this story and I'm off to read the sequels straight away!

~Issy

Reviewer: PolestarDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114248Chapter: 6
I finally got around reading this fic after hearing good things about your fics, and I'd say the praise was definitely merited. I read all this in one sitting and may be tempted to go on reading the next story. I love good stories about interesting original characters or very minor canon characters, and you've developed both Anne and Theodore very well. I love the way their friendship grows during the story. I also like seeing Hufflepuffs with character and Slytherins who aren't The Evil, so this is enjoyable in that respect, too.

Your writing is generally good, I especially enjoy your dialogue, and you've got some great bits for Theo in particular (I laughed out loud at that part in Chapter 1 where Anne asks if he thinks of her as a person at all and his first response is "No" and then he starts to correct himself). Sometimes the narrative is a bit hard to follow, though, usually because I can't tell who is being the viewpoint character in some paragraphs. But in general it's very good.

And I must let you know that I squealed out loud when Anne told about having enchanted Umbridge's desk to sing "Do You Hear The People Sing?" I'm a long-time Les Mis fan, so seeing it casually referred to in a good HP fic really made my day.

Reviewer: hiDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110263Chapter: 1
hi.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109240Chapter: 1
Had an urge to go back and reread after catching up on Disavowals. It's really a jolt, coming back to the beginning. They've come a very long way!

I noticed you have a glitch with Gabby's name -- here it's Hill, and in Disavowals it was Hayle (if I'm remembering right). Just thought you'd appreciate the note.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107446Chapter: 1
[and they were always there to talk to about the things her parents didn't quite get (like Muggle-born-killing monsters, escaped convicts, and Triwizard Tournaments).] Ha! Liked the phrasing there, the juxtaposition of the wizard world's dangers with things parents would be better off not knowing about.

I like Anne. It's so refreshing to read about a normal character for once, but you make her special enough to stand out. I also like the idea of Anne's neighbors being liasons for her. It's makes a lot of sense. There's a lot of information piled into the first paragraph, but then the rest of the piece flows smoothly. I really like the interactions between theodore and Anne. There's a pricklyness that feels natural; a mutual dislike that isn't covering for romantic feelings. Looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: jaderookDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104076Chapter: 6
I'm so very impressed with this fic. Someone recommended it over at fictionalley, and I had to come take a peek. I loved the way you meshed this with canon and the writing was fabulously done. Plus, being a flute and piano player myself, it's always nice to see this music appreciation incorporated into the plot. Lovely. I'm off to read the rest now...

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103629Chapter: 6
I'm truly addicted to this story. Even though I rarely read fics about minor or original characters, I've found that this story surpasses all that I've yet read. You've painted a truly perfect picture of a Slytherin that doesn't want to follow the dark side.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102368Chapter: 6
I'm so glad someone has written a story which includes music and how it can tame the savage beast in all of us long enough for people like Theo and Anne to put aside their differences and learn to first tolorate each other and then form a friendship. Of the two characters, my heart goes out to Theo the most; his internal struggles show just how unhappy he is living in a house which is despised and misunderstood by the other houses because of the attitudes of a few. Anne seems to be a good influence on him, making him rethink his attitudes while providing support for when he's at his lowest.

This is brilliantly written and makes me care about the characters as much as I care about what happens to the Gryffindors in canon.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101975Chapter: 6
Distractions! I love it that that word popped up in this chapter so often. It was there in the other chapters as well, but it was there a lot more in this chapter. I was especially charmed by Theo saying that he can never stay distracted when Anne is near him.

A tiny piece of criticism: the summer holidays don't last three months. Remember, the Third Task in GoF was at June 24, so the summer holidays don't start until July or perhaps the very end of June.

Apart from that, everything is great. This is an excellent story, even brilliant at some points, and I'll definitely be back to read the other stories in the series.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101973Chapter: 5
Making this quick, because I really want to read the next chapter. Lovely chapter, although I think you're better writing Theo and Anne than Anne and her friends. Anne's friends are rather flat characters, but fortunately, the story isn't about them and you make up for it by writing Anne and Theo so brilliantly.

I'm off now to chapter 6.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101970Chapter: 4
Ooooh, I love it. I love that Theo is finally moving from considering Anne as an exception to considering the possibility (however briefly) that his family might be wrong about Muggle-borns. I also love it that Theo still misses his father, whatever evil he might do.

I have one nitpick. You're definitely not the only author who does it, but it really annoys me: "pure-blood" is with hyphen! In case you own some odd edition of the Harry Potter books in which it's "pureblood", please tell me, but I've never come across them yet. Oh, and now we're at it: "half-blood" is with hyphen as well.

>>So they continued to play for themselves, while the school around them crumbled.<<
Wow. This is a really powerful sentence, thrown casually in the story, it seems. Isn't it ironic that the school is crumbling because of prejudice and at the same time, Anne and Theo are getting over their prejudice?

>>It was just a mercy things hadn't started getting this bad during the Easter holidays.<<
Not just a mercy; it was the Weasley twins being *wise*. I love those references to canon in the story. Now I'm at it, I also love the references to the story itself. Like when Theo thinks that he and Anne shouldn't change, following by Anne thinking that the both of them have changed.

I'm off to the next chapter.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101178Chapter: 3
Friends. Wow. Halfway the chapter, I thought things were about to get worse. There was an ominous feeling about the whole chapter. However, things just got better. Now they're friends, officially. *And* Theodore has admitted that he doesn't agree with his parents entirely. That's a huge step.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101173Chapter: 2
Wow. Great chapter. It started a bit slowly, I suppose, but at one point, it grabbed me and didn't let me go again until I finished.

One slightly critical comment I would like to make is about the number of run-on sentences. I know you're probably writing them on purpose, but I think it's over the top. Sometimes it's just confusing.

I'm in awe of both of your characters. You've made them very complex 3D characters. I love Anne, but I love Theo even more. The way he struggles with his prejudices and the war and expectations other people have about him, it's just great to read.

I'm off to the next chapter.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99267Chapter: 1
Very interesting. We've started to discuss this story in the Quill Literary thread at the Pensieve, so I'll probably be reading & reviewing a chapter a week. (We'd love the author's input, by the way.)

I really like this chapter. The entire concept is very interesting, of course, but you also work it out very well. Theodore's ideas and actions seem very realistic, and you've also fleshed out Anne's character nicely.

I wasn't too impressed by the pieces with Anne's thoughts, though. The start of the chapter and the scene in the Owlery even more are not very compelling. I wouldn't say that it's boring, but I found it hard to keep concentrating on it. In contrast, the first dialogue between Theodore and Anne is so well-written and so lively that I felt like I was there, in the music room.

The development of Theodore in this chapter is very interesting. I was especially touched by the first time he actually said something politely, and by the fact that he seemed to be trying to act normally towards Anne at the end. I'm looking forward to seeing how this develops further.

Also really interesting is the fact the Theodore is bothered by Malfoy treating him like something less, while he's doing the same to Anne. Another great thing I found the recurring "Anne=nobody" theme. I hope that Anne will find out later in this story that she's not just nobody and that she doesn't need to be unnoticed all the time.

I'll be back in a couple of days to read chapter 2.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98334Chapter: 6
Elsha, we've been meaning to read this series for a long time and, now that we've finished the first part, we can understand why it comes so highly recommended! Anne and Theo are such lovely, rounded-out people. We love that you've made Theo hang on to some of his prejudices, rather than resorting to "He was changed by the love of a good woman" nonsense. His internal struggle is very raw and honest, and though he's changing slowly, it does take a long time to adjust a lifetime of inbred prejudice, doesn't it? Anne, too, is so real: such a Hufflepuff! It's a refreshing change, after all the Spunky!Ginnys and Intense!Hermiones out there (as in-character as they may be), to see Anne's patience and reticence, and her loyalty to Theo, even when he's being difficult.

We really wanted to do a lovely, thoughtful, chapter-by-chapter review of this, since those are the nicest kind to get, but we're trying to get as much reading done, before The Week of Doom, as we can. Therefore, we're off to read the rest of the series!

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98165Chapter: 6
Very insightful. skillful weaving of the analogy between the Death Eaters and the SS.

One little correction suggested.
"Lots can happen in three months," said Theo darkly. "I hope my parents let me come back."
Didn't you say that Theo's mom was dead?
How can his father decide if Theo returns to Hogwarts when Nott Sr. is in Azkaban?

Reviewer: Ashtur an'VanganDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97556Chapter: 6
Oh my. Oh my. I'd started this way back when you started, but got distracted with my own projects. I'm sorry it took me so long to get here. I love character pieces, and this one is just incredible. Both Theodore and Anne are very real. Their actions don't always make sense, but I mean that as the highest compliment, because people are not relentlessly logical, but can do some pretty surprising things.

Anne does a dedicated 'Puff fan proud :)

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96986Chapter: 2
just so you know, in England, instead of making fun of dumb blondes, they make fun of the irish. kinda mean, i guess. i have a friend who is british so i know. Only, all their jokes are like ours, but with english, scottish, and irish people. quite ironic, you know?

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96981Chapter: 1
ummmm...just so you know, Theodore Nott is the same age as Snape, and Lily and James. It said so in the book. He wasnt in the same year as him. A his parents maybe, but not harry. just so you know.

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94753Chapter: 6
This is the ebst story I have ever read, please continue writing it!!

Reviewer: mishaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94540Chapter: 6
Loved it!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90520Chapter: 6
I really enjoyed this story. It was extremely well-written, the characters were quite real, and it made me think. Very interesting food for thought.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89984Chapter: 6
Wow. This is an excellent story. A good conceit - there must be more to Slytherins than cartoons like Malfoy, and the Hufflepuffs always get ignored for being loyal - and wonderful writing. You hit all the important points in the characters without the story slowing down, and the characterization itself is marvellous, detailed and solid, and perfectly likable.

Reviewer: Ciela NightDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88867Chapter: 6
Excellent story! I read it through in one sitting. I don't think that I've ever read and enjoyed a story with an original character so much. Anne is a well fleshed out character who is not perfect (like those dreaded Mary Sues) but has her own characteristics that make her such a sympathetic person.

And Theo, I will confess, before I read your story I never thought about him at all, except as a minor Slytherin student/minion. But you've made him a person, with very real flaws and prejudices but still somehow real person. Okay, I'm starting to ramble so I'll stop.
I really enjoyed this story and I'm off to read its companion stories!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88765Chapter: 6
Great story! I really like the way you show Theo's evolving attitude about Muggleborns and the Death Eaters. I believe in him because Anne is an exception, because he doesn't have a total change of heart. And because he loves his father, in spite of what his father is. His disdain is very real, but he's sympathetic nonetheless. You did a great job with his character.

Anne is very interesting. I asked myself once or twice why she put up with him. But as events unfolded, and I understood her character more, I decided she's the only kind of person who could. The way she doesn't have a visceral reaction to the insults and history because she's Muggleborn makes sense; having her reach an understanding by drawing on Muggle history is brilliant. Her introverted, observant personality is also refreshing; it's not one I've seen often in fanfic. I like her a lot.

Now off to read "Discussions." :)

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88322Chapter: 6
I didn't think I would, but i really like this. It's well written, not just a Romeo and Juliet love story, and with interesting thoughts. I'll go and read their owl post now. Anyway, good story!
Oh, and I liked the bit of Shakespeare - he's just the kind of Muggle guy Theo would know about!

Reviewer: lise carewDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84036Chapter: 6
wow... this is a really great story. it reminds me about the hights that fanfiction can aspire to, for which i thank you deeply. brilliant :)

Reviewer: arochwen romenDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82033Chapter: 3
are you a rugger, too?

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81243Chapter: 6
Great job! I have really enjoyed your story. The characters are so dynamic and real. I can practically feel what they are feeling, which helps put my own life into perspective. Thanks bunches and can't wait to read Discussions! God bless.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80354Chapter: 6
I MUST READ THE SEQUEL!!! IT'S LATE APRIL!!!! It will soon be early May, the time you said you would HAVE THE SEQAEL!!!! I WILL KILL YOU IF YOU DON'T HAVE IT UP BY MAY 12th!!!!!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79787Chapter: 6
A wonderful story. I hope book won't contradict it in any way.

Reviewer: HelenDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79494Chapter: 1
Priam, Hector, Andromache... I like that. I also like the 'Gwaihir' being the owl. Though he really should be an eagle.
I really like the way you've made me think about this unknown Slytherin being human. By linking him with music. I really like that. Keep it up.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79397Chapter: 6
great fic. I loved it and can't wait to read the sequel XD

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79018Chapter: 6
As it is rather late, allow me to be brief. You wrote very well, but I really enjoyed your plot. I think it facinating that you were able to take Nott and turn him into such a facinating person- kudos to you! All right...must fly and finish my work...
-Ginny

Reviewer: brettDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79001Chapter: 6
hey just wanted to say that i totaly love your story its really really good. and i can't wait for more and the sequel! you write really well keep it up

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78930Chapter: 6
I thought I wrote a review for the last chapter, but it seems I didn't, how awful of me!

I loved this chapter. I loved the fact that Theo would have go home and face the fall out from the DoM disaster. I loved the little irony of Anne's "don't stop on my account". I loved the tension between them, the awkward kisses, oh - everything! I can't wait for the sequel.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: CorrieDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78834Chapter: 6
That was so beautiful, thank you! I am looking forward to reading Discussions, I thought we were going to have to beg you to write a sequel when I saw 'so it ends.' It will be interesting to see Anne and Theo adrift without being connected by the weekly practices. I'm gonna cry now, I love the way both of the characters have changed throughout the story, it makes them so real! Wow, I don't think they've actually written to one another before, except from the hall incident where Anne bumped into Nott. It's so hard for me to write letters to people I am used to relating to verbally. Writing letters could drive home that their friendship is serious too, oh my. :D

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78589Chapter: 6
*That's not the end, is it?*

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78568Chapter: 6
I've really enjoyed reading this - your characters are very believable and I was so glad to find a realistic fic about music at Hogwarts - something I've always wondered about! A brilliant, accomplished fic, well done! Looking forward to 'Discussions'...
Fluffy_Rose xxx

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78511Chapter: 6
What a wonderful story. Anne and Theo are exceptional characters and you did a fine job of making the reader care about them. This story was a perfect aside to the HP stories and excellently addressed prejudice in all forms. I look forward to reading your sequel!

Reviewer: CGDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78438Chapter: 6
Thank you for such a wonderful story!!! I'm looking forward to your sequal and MORE (ahem ahem) installments of Anne and Theo through Hogwarts:)

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78412Chapter: 6
I loved this! I really enjoyed following it's progress. You're an excellent writer. I won't be able to wait for early May for Discussions!

-Linnet

Reviewer: LoraDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78410Chapter: 6
Awesome! I don't really write, or read, fanfiction, but my friend told me I simply 'had' to read your story.
It was very well-written and fun to read. I liked how you made the characters down to earth, and didn't have them fall into each other's arms as soon as chapter six started(It's a cliche some people tend to use in writing). It makes them realistic. You should be proud of yourself! Nott is now a character I'll be on the lookout for in the last two Harry books.
Keep up the good work! I'm sure everyone is looking forward to Discussions!

Reviewer: LoraDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78408Chapter: 6
Awesome! I don't really write, or read, fanfiction, but my friend told me I simply 'had' to read your story.
It was very well-written and fun to read. I liked how you made the characters down to earth, and didn't have them fall into each other's arms as soon as chapter six started(It's a cliche some people tend to use in writing). It makes them realistic. You should be proud of yourself! Nott is now a character I'll be on the lookout for in the last two Harry books.
Keep up the good work! I'm sure everyone is looking forward to Distractions!

Reviewer: AnnikaDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78406Chapter: 1
I loved this story. It's definitely one of my all-time favorites, and I cannot WAIT for Discussions.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78395Chapter: 3
I haven't finished the whole thing yet... Is it going to end up with Anne/Theodore fluff? That's all I want to know. Don't give anything else away though.

Reviewer: AlisonDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78390Chapter: 6
I loved this. I don't normally read fanfiction with original characters (I'm more of a R/H kinda girl), but this just showed me what I'm missing out on. Can't wait for Discussions. :)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78351Chapter: 6
Thanks for a nice, and generally sweet fic. The teen romance was light and well done. Looking forward to Discussions.

Your Nott will be the one I think of until JKR writes otherwise.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78347Chapter: 6
Very nice job. I'll be eagerly awaiting the sequel.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78346Chapter: 6
Very nice job. I'll be eagerly awaiting the sequel.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78339Chapter: 6
this was such a lovely story and i cant wait for discussions

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78298Chapter: 6
thank you for writing this.

Reviewer: Slipjig66Date: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78284Chapter: 6
I really enjoyed this story and I cannot wait for the sequel. Yours is the only story that I've read in a long while that wasn't abou the trio, and it was a very interesting read. Great job!

Reviewer: NimrodelDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78278Chapter: 6
I want to say that I really liked that story. It just makes me feel more kindly to an unknown Slytherin. Oh, good on with Gwaihir being Anne's owl/post carrier. I simply ADORE Lord of the Rings- as much as Harry Potter.

Reviewer: atrosieDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78275Chapter: 6
I really enjoyed this story. Anne is a wonderful character who reminds me too much of me, while Theo is a well-thought out teenager. The character developement was great, and I thought that their thoughts about various "main" characters (Harry, etc) were interesting. Those thoughts are what makes these types of stories so great: you get other people's point of views. I'm looking forward to the sequel.

PS: I loved that Umbridge's desk sang "Can You Hear The People Sing" from Les Miserables. That is such a fitting song!

Reviewer: witch@heartDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78274Chapter: 6
This story is very interesting and well-written. The character interactions are natural and realistic, and the theme raises universal questions about predjudice in a thought-provoking way.

Both protagonists are three-dimensional and well-drawn. They react to their surroundings in ways that strike a chord with the reader. One thing that I particularly liked was the way Anne's Hufflepuff traits were brought out. Usually, fanfiction Hufflepuffs are cheerful, outgoing dunderheads. It is extremely refreshing to meet a quiet Hufflepuff who actually has thoughts of her own. Theodore is an equally atypical Slytherin. He is more realistic than most "good" Slytherins; it's good that his predjudices and selfishness are very much in evidence even through his overall niceness. Another lovely touch is that their relationship doesn't instantly and melodramatically burst into the open. They keep their frienship small and cloistered, like people very often do in real life.

Being a hopeless romantic, I must say that I also enjoy the fluff that's starting to creep in. It was, however, good that you didn't immediately make it a romantic relationship. The occasional burst of humor to lighten things up also works well. "I'm being corrupted!" Doesn't THAT ring a bell! The way they are both trying to ignore their feelings is hilariously endearing.

The music thing is a nice touch too. You have (almost!) made me want to practice my flute, which is saying something. The way they use music as an "escape" is also very true to life.

All in all, I loved reading this fic and was sorry when it ended. Seeing the fifth year from a viewpoint far removed and very different from Harry's was extremely interesting. I can't wait to see more of Anne and Theo in the sequel. Thanks, and Happy Easter! (or Passover, or whatever you happen to celebrate! :) )

Reviewer: ClarryDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78222Chapter: 6
I've really, really enjoyed this fic! I love Anne and Theo's charactors. Perfect! Lol. Thanks for a great fic.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78216Chapter: 6
If there's one thing I hate it's reading a good story and then getting to the ending only to find the ending is bad! This was not the case! (I had you there for a second, didn't I?) The perfect mixture of a real conclusion, with room for more to happen (because, after all, characters don't just die once the story ends), and a last sentence that makes you smile. :)

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78212Chapter: 6
I love this story! You've built a beautiful friendship between two unlikely people, but unlike many stories with the same situation, they manage to keep their heads out of the clouds (most of the time). That is what I particularly liked about this story: it's Romeo and Juliet (sort of), but REAL.

I also love how this isn't quite a romance (yet!). I love seeing relationships develop more, instead of being rushed into mad snogging sessions. It makes it so much more enjoyable when they actually do get together (which they will, won't they? I sure hope so!).

I also love how much this story made me think.

I'm not sure if this review makes much sense, but I can't wait to read more in Discussions.

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78185Chapter: 6
When I found this a couple of weeks ago, I was thrilled. A story that *really* touches on war and the grey between "us" and "them" and "good" and "evil"--almost like, you know, the baseball games that the Union and the Confederates would play between trying to kill each other, or something. Things that show how much harder this really is, and how much of not a game it is.

So I went to read the rest of it at ff.net, and while I see the original in this--I think having another beta reader has improved your writing. This is more tight, and clear, and the transitions in Theo and Anne's trains of thought are more natural. (I think this would be the one piece of advice I would give you, if I were giving advice: not to rush changes in character. Romance, trust, friendship, dislike, indifference have to flow and grow from the characters--wait for them.)

I can't wait to see more of your work in the Theo-and-Anne-verse, as I think it's the most real discussion of Life that I've seen in fanfiction. Bravo. And happy writing!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78136Chapter: 6
Lovely conclusion to a lovely story. You have done a great job in examining some heavy themes in a very realistic way between two teenagers that you created. You came up with their personalities and motivations, and made then both astonishingly real.
I really liked Theodore's opinion of Malfoy at the end. You could see his maturity and realism in that statement. Nice way to show his character progression in this story and how he will progress in the next. Looking forward to your next series!

Reviewer: NattsgddfghbDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77390Chapter: 5
wow... i was clicking through some fic.. then i saw this.. started reading.. and i could NOt stop!! its soooooooo good!! you'd better update soon!! :-)!! wow.. that all i can say!! lol! i really like the theme of prejudice! thoe's point of veiw is probably common! ooooh i hope they get together.. they could be so cute! but if someone finds out.. ooooooh trouble....

Reviewer: Kat SoloDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77387Chapter: 5
This story is so well written and original! The characters are so real one can't help but care what happens to them. Great job so far and I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77339Chapter: 1
I've read it all now -and everything that follows it on ff.net because it's just wonderful. You've explored the difficulty of choosing to fight on the right side with really amazing insight. Your characters are real and complex- Nott is no transformed overnight by any means... and his reasons are so realistic rather than those of a romantic hero. He's fighting because it's the only logical choice- not through moral conviction- but it counts. I'm so glad to see the idea of inter-house unity and overcoming prejudice focussed on in this way- it has really been carefully and excellently done. :D Thankyou again Elsha.
~morcherry

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77302Chapter: 5
Another great chapter with only one major flaw - please fix the "awayÉso"s and "canŐt change"es.

"Anyone want to go check for Harry Potter in the Hospital Wing?" suggested Mai.
-made me laugh

practice my flute,
-plenty of dirty joke material there.

"Home," Theo had replied tersely.
-Another homeschooling success story. Reminded me of Sirius or Lupin's comment on how Snape knew so many so early.

We're Hufflepuffs, we're loyal and patientÉwhat does that do?"
-Cannonfodder? "Professor Sprout why do we all need to where these red shirts now?"

I also enjoyed reading another student having a positive impression of Hagrid.

Thanks for another chapter so soon. Looking forward to the next.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77229Chapter: 5
The formatting problem was a bit distracting at first. I thought the first part of this chapter was better than the second. The first had that funny Anne/Theo exchange with all the emotions that we've come to love bubbling underneath the surface. The second part just seemed flat - it was still great writing, but compared to the appearance of the Quidditch article, there was hardly any emotion, any tension. The girls teasing Anne didn't help - I understand that was to show they'd seen her with Theo, but it still felt repetitious. However, the second part did pick up at the end with the realisation that the Second War had begun - the reaction of the girls in Anne's group was irritating but realistic, reminded me a little of what Marietta Edgecombe might have thought. These people really do have no idea... Anne's last thought seemed strangely flippant to me, although I know you were going for bitter sarcasm. I just didn't feel it.

I did enjoy reading this chapter and I'll be back to read the next one.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77215Chapter: 1
Elsha, I'm only on the third chapter so far but I had to say how stunned I am by this fic. It's such a fascinating study into prejudice and learning to work out your beliefs for yourself. Your characters became real people straight away- I can understand Anne and Theodore so well already... their behaviour rings really true- Anne's quiet, non-confrontational but still curious nature is very normal, as is Theodore's need to distract himself- they're both still young and not set into any ideology I suppose... Anyhow it's excellent. Thankyou :)

Reviewer: IrisDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77175Chapter: 5
I love this story! Keep writing and please post soon! I really like the alternate point of view and the somewhat original issues and stories!

Reviewer: IrisDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77173Chapter: 5
I oved this story! Keep writing and please post soon! I really like the alternate poit of view and the somewhat original issues and stories!

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77137Chapter: 5
It ended too soon! This is a great story, very readable and enjoyable.

Please update soon =]

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77053Chapter: 5
Another great chapter! I liked the "I'm being smiled to death." line--he needs to have lines like these so we can see why Anne likes him despite the brooding hero demeanor. Their next conversation should be interesting and full of emotion on both sides--you've set it up well.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77041Chapter: 5
You appear to have a very slight formatting problem...:-)
Anne's changing thoughts and emotions and awareness in response to what happenes around her is beautifully portrayed. Keep up the good work!!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77039Chapter: 4
"Neutrality, after all, still had to come first."
Wow.
:-)

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77014Chapter: 5
*applaud* *applaud* awesome chapter i love the conflict cant wait for the next chapter please update soon =)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76634Chapter: 4
Wonderful job! I had a chance to read all the chapters in one go. You do a great job with tone. The tension and the fear of Hogwarts mirrors as the tension and fear in Theodore. Anne is a good contrast to this in her innocent directness--which makes me afraid for her. I understand your title now--hopefully there will be a way for the Sorting Hat's vision of a better future to come about--rather than this Hufflepuff/Slytherin truce to be a mere interlude. Looking forward to your next two chapters.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76627Chapter: 4
sorry that review came mid story.. i have a strange habit of sometimes doing tt when the story is too good and i cant contain what i wanna say.
enuf abt me. YOUR STORY RULES !!
the roance you're slowly writng into this is extremely well timed. and well written.. and ..HONEST. that's the word. *sorry if u have nit a clue what im rambling about *
just waiting for more..

kayjal

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76626Chapter: 4
Theo patted the ground between them. "Move over."

"Why?"

"It's cold."

"Whatever. It's April! Spring! It's supposed to be getting warmer!"

Anne moved over anyway, and Theo put a very tentative arm around her shoulders. Warmth was an excuse, he knew that…but so what. It was comfortable. It was safe, and that was an unusual feeling


You seem to be forcing me to re-evaluate things I've never doubted before, you make me think about things I don't want to, you have from the first time I saw you, and it's not even anything you do! It's what you are that's doing it! And, you know, you're actually quite pretty, not that I've ever thought about that before either, and I-

Help.

oh dear. i do so love your story. im dying to know the end, yet wishing it wouldnt. half like i feel about the HP Books themselves. :D and i do so love the way you've inter-woven everything that happened in the 5th yr with this story, yet made them seem so distant from it. harry and his lot. hahaha . the fleshing out of theodore's thoughts are excellent. something i was thinking about.. that some slythein might feel but i dont have such a way with words. thank god u do :)

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76548Chapter: 4
I'm really enjoying your story. I love the fanfics that go right along with cannon, but follow different characters. I feel like I'm getting to understand what other students at Hogwarts are feeling. Keep it up! I can't wait to read the rest. Yay!

Reviewer: RosieDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76516Chapter: 1
I think your fic is amazing. It's definitely one of my favorites, if not my favorite. Please keep writing, and faster if possible. (Although you are extraordinarily fast at cranking out chapters, and we praise you for that.) I love the way you've so perfectly developed all your characters and they interact so realistically. I can't wait for the next chapter, especially after some romantic potential appeared. (Hurrah!) I adore Theo in particular, and know that I will never look at JKR's character the same way in future books. You're very good at angst and inner turmoil/unsureness, lol. He's very funny. Anne is also lovable. Most of the fanfictions I read are shipping and concern main characters, and I'm very glad that I decided to try yours. I adore it. Please keep writing! So far, yours is the only fic I've taken the time to review. (lol, what an inspiration!)

Reviewer: DonzaboboDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76422Chapter: 4
WOW, really good, its a very clever idea. Keep up the good work!
Luv

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76400Chapter: 4
This is an excellent story! You've done a terrific job with Theo and Anne! The way their friendship evolves is very realistic. Their discussions are a great way of examining good vs evil, pureblood vs muggle, etc. I truly love that they are both 'exceptions' to the rules. I don't think any end to this chapter could be better...it's a perfect bit of fluffiness.

" Theo stiffened for a second, then put his arms around her a bit awkwardly. After all, he was a teenage boy, and he would belying to say he wasn't enjoying the feeling of holding her. He had the impression this opportunity might not come his way all that often. Some of her words struck a chord…you don't understand. How often had he thought to himself that Anne couldn't possibly understand, she was Muggle-born, she didn't see…blindness, it appeared, worked both ways.

"We can just both not understand together, then, how about that?"

Anne's reluctant laugh was muffled by his chest. "Okay then. Not understanding seems to have worked so far, hasn't it?"

Theo allowed himself to lean his chin on her head, and eke out the moment. After all, it wasn't as if he'd have many moments in his life to hug pretty Muggle-born girls, even this one, so he might as well make the most of it. Neutrality, after all, still had to come first. And Anne was a break in neutrality that could be very dangerous. Still, no reason not to enjoy it for now. "

Reviewer: CGDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76386Chapter: 4
this story is getting more interesting and interesting by the moment- please hurry and post your next chapter soon!!!!

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76383Chapter: 3
I don't leave many reviews because I don't feel I'm very good at it, but I think you should know this:

Seeing your name on the updated fics lists really makes my day.

I absolutely love your story. I'm supposed to go out to a party tonight and now I'm sitting here debating whether to read chapter four and then go or wait till I get back.

I love Anne, I think I was hooked initially because of the music angle, but now I just love the whole thing. I can't wait to read more. Your writing style is lovely and the plot is fascinating.

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76320Chapter: 4
Dum dum dum. Ah, excellent! a barrage of disquiet and difficult thoughts, as innocence is effortlessly portrayed by flowing dialogue.

Hehe.. will wait for more. It's getting exciting.

Reviewer: kassioDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76315Chapter: 4
Very sweet story. Congratulations. The changes seem very realistic and it's very thoughtful that you haven't depicted Anne as a pure and perfect Angel with Theo the only one that has to learn things. I'm glad you chose Theo by the way, a character that isn't described in much detail in the books. It makes the change much more credible as there aren't a lot of clues in the book contradicting your story as you probably would have had with Draco or someone of the like. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76314Chapter: 4
I love this story! I especially like how you make the characters so realistic in their reactions and their prejudices. The fact that Anne didn't realize that Theo would love his parents as much as she loved hers was great. Keep up the good work. =]

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76287Chapter: 4
This is becoming one of my favorite fics. Sorry not to leave a longer review, but I am looking forward to your next chapter.

I like the idea of their practicing DADA together, nicely ironic. If anyone broke in they could pretend it was for real.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76279Chapter: 4
I like the way the Hogwarts events affect these characters, and yet they give us a fresh view on everything. More discussions on family and prejudice - very intelligent and thoughtful chapter. Poor Theo! *lol*

"You seem to be forcing me to re-evaluate things I've never doubted before, you make me think about things I don't want to, you have from the first time I saw you, and it's not even anything you do! It's what you are that's doing it! And, you know, you're actually quite pretty, not that I've ever thought about that before either, and I-

Help."

Bwhahaha! Make him suffer!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75995Chapter: 3
great chapter love the way this story is turning out hope you update soon =)

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2004-03-25
Reviewid: 75865Chapter: 3
This is turning out to be very interesting... more more more!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --