The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137232Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64619Chapter: 1
Very sweet! Maybe I'm not looking in the right places, but I rarely find anything about Neville. This was very well done. I think you showed his fears and nervousness well in your writing. My favorite part is when he says "I was in Gryffindor. I belonged in Gryffindor" because, as we see from OotP, he really does. Thank you for showing me some of the deep insights of a Longbottom.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62040Chapter: 1
awwwww!!! who loves Neville? I DO I DO!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: h-kittyDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 61968Chapter: 1
Yay! I really like how you chose to write from Neville's POV . . . he's a really interesting character, and not many writers address the reasons why he was sorted into Gryffindor. You've done a great job of capturing Neville's voice--a little timid and self-conscious. Good work!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61955Chapter: 1
"I was in Gryffindor. I belonged in Gryffindor.

I really hoped it was true."

Too right, it's true, Mr. Longbottom!! And you'll realize that when you kick some Death Eater ass for Harry Potter, too!

That was a really sweet fic. I absolutely love the new bout of Neville fics coming out, and this one is definitly one of the best. I really liked how you followed his thought processes. Good job!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61954Chapter: 1
Yay for Neville love! I thought this was the perfect characterization for a young Neville and a very sweet story. I also loved the little embarassing moment at the end before a perfect finish.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61953Chapter: 1
Yay for Neville love! I thought this was the perfect characterization for a young Neville and a very sweet story. I also loved the little embarassing moment at the end before a perfect finish.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61948Chapter: 1
I loved it! Nice portrayl of Neville.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61926Chapter: 1
Good job! Very sweet.

The hat gave a sort of harrumph in my head. Hufflepuff is not a house of duffers, just as Slytherin is not a house entirely peopled by monsters, no matter what the rumours may say
-The key word being "entirely"

Reviewer: BirdsongDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61918Chapter: 1
I thought you did well presenting Neville's fears and what his sorting would have been like. Good job!

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61895Chapter: 1
Great inner dialogue, very IC. Very insightful, using Neville asking Hermione for help with Trevor to demonstrate Neville's bravery.

Reviewer: VJADate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61889Chapter: 1
Excellent! Poor Neville - clever of you to have those little snippets of his past in his inner monologue. And "I should know - I was his hat" made me smile.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61873Chapter: 1
Nice work! Always good to see Neville get some face time. I think you do a good job of catching Neville's nervousness. Very appropriate.

I look forward to more of your work.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61867Chapter: 1
Hehe. I just love Neville. This story is so cute. I like how you've fitted Neville's personality with the writing style. The Sorting is a really original place to fit this in, and you've made Neville into a darling. I love his nevousness and the hat's response to this piece. Great job!

Reviewer: MashDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61863Chapter: 1
a very clever piece of work. good job.

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61859Chapter: 1
<<it shows more bravery to admit that one has fears and to face them than it does to try to show no fear at all.>>

That's the truth! This is an excellent character sketch of Neville. I think you did him justice. He's shown the world he belongs in Gryffindor, hasn't he?

And thank you for including this line: <<Hufflepuff is not a house of duffers, just as Slytherin is not a house entirely peopled by monsters, no matter what the rumours may say.>> It's refreshing to NOT read a fanon stereotype. Loyalty, justice, friendship and a job well done are not "duffer" qualities. And what's wrong with ambition?

Great work!

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61854Chapter: 1
Good!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --