The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Perfect Lilies
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: EmDate: 2005-10-05
Reviewid: 133774Chapter: 1
Beautifully written, Rein. Please, if you have more, share it; if this was the story in its entirety, it was a masterful short narration. Thank you for submitting it.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126771Chapter: 1
I like your work. Any chance for a longer piece?

Reviewer: CordieDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71409Chapter: 1
That was amazing!! ((And you know how much I adore Cissa!))

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62236Chapter: 1
Enjoyed your story. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62214Chapter: 1
[silence]

wow...what to say to that? Brownie Points for your summary...the alliteration of "lilies, loyalties, and Lucius" was awesome. And it's hard to write a good summary! (The story was good too, by the way. ;) But the summary is very important, as it gets you readers. Another obvious Mary-Sue fic, and the reader zips right by you. But this was cool!)

Anyway, about the story....I can almost believe it happened. Meaning that it's well-written and almost completely canon-like. Actually it's considerably well written considering they placed you in the Library. (Don't take offense at that, I'm in the Library myself.) And I find this much more realistic than your Bellatrix fic. I'm not sure, however, that Draco would run if slapped by his mother. He feels too cocky for that. Too...prideful. He would be shamed if he had to run from the abuse of his *mother.* I liked the bit about pouring the chemicals onto the rug, though, that was good.

Now that I read the fight over, however, I retract my earlier statement -- about it not quite being realistic. A reread has just convinced me that the fight was quite plausible and in fact quite moving.

...And a reread of this review has convinced me that I have stopped making sense altogether and must end here.

And so, adieu,
write more! :)

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62201Chapter: 1
I love stories about the Blacks, so I just had to read this. I like the way that Draco just lets all his anger go and Narcissa, although seeming frail, lets go and belts Draco across the face. This story makes you think about what side Narcissa is truly on. It seems like she doesn't really approve of Bella, and maybe had a soft spot for Sirius. I would like to see a sequel for this, that would be awesome! :)

Reviewer: madelynDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62189Chapter: 1
This story really makes me feel bad for Narcissa. One sister married well below her class, as far as the family is concerned, the other became a Death Eater that got caught and sent to Azkaban, cousin Regulus was killed, and cousin Sirius had the misfortune of being mistaken as a Death Eater and being sent to Azkaban. Most likely it was up to her to restore some honor to the family name, so she got stuck with Lucius Malfoy of all people. Yick. Not to mention the spoiled progeny she raised. Poor Narcissa. She has to believe it will all work out or her trophy marriage was for nothing.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62175Chapter: 1
I have this thing for the Black sisters, all of them, and I thought this story hit my Narcissa dead on. She's kind of confused who's side she's on.

In the books it never says that she's a death eater but her husband is and it seems like she supports him.

This was an awesome story and it demands a sequel. Something tells me Narcissa isn't all that fond of Bellatrix and she might have liked Sirius.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62156Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. What a compelling view into the Malfoy family life, and I find myself desperately wondering whose side Narcissa is *really* on. Your portrayal of Draco's bitter anger is also wonderful; I love his resentment and his pride. Especially, though, I love your Narcissa, who appears frail, then has the guts to send her son crashing into a pillar. Great job!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62153Chapter: 1
Damn. Very intense.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62150Chapter: 1
Extraordinary. I'm still trying to sort it all out in my mind...in some ways it almost seems like Narcissa is rooting for the other side. Brilliant piece of writing.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62072Chapter: 1
Interesting piece. Not sure how I respond to it. The interactions are very plausible. And I can see Draco reacting that way.
Nice job.

Reviewer: Diana SummersDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62063Chapter: 1
Well done! I've been looking for a story all day, and here's the first one that's truly well-written - fresh character portrayal, plausible scenario, and smooth use of language.

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62062Chapter: 1
That was very good - very sweet and poignant. Your characterization of Draco was perfecly in canon, and Narcissa was very believable as well. Nicely done, Rien!
Smiles,
Bella

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62037Chapter: 1
Oy, very good, I like I like. It's interesting to see Draco not *totally* on Narcissa's side, like some things, your version seems more likely than him being a momma's boy.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62016Chapter: 1
Oh, very good! You've given us a great feel for Narcissa--barely holding it together, trying to keep up appearances, to convince herself that everything is going to be okay. I also get the feeling that all is not well between Narcissa and Bellatrix, and I'd love to know more about why. (A sequel from Narcissa's POV, perhaps?)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --