The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: This Past of Mine
Review(s): 39

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146522Chapter: 6
Ready for more please.

Reviewer: *Date: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134456Chapter: 6
Is eventually somewhere in this century?

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94119Chapter: 5
Oh my goodness... that's so chilling, but it's absolutely phenomenal writing.

If you'd let me, I'd like to pay homage in the tiniest way and at some point mention Marlene McKinnon with a stuffed unicorn.

I really think your Marlene McKinnon is in character, which is strange to say, as she's barely ever mentioned, but I can sort of imagine her like this. It's really very good.

Reviewer: The AuthorDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91157Chapter: 1
Hey guys! Thanks again. To answer the question of "Who's Coming Up Next?" all you have to do is go to OotP, "The Woes of Mrs. Weasley" chapter.

I'm writing in the order the characters appear in Moody's photograph. So, yup, I'll have a James chapter AND a Hagrid chapter - everyone mentioned by Moody will have one. So if you're curious of who is coming up next, just look!

NEXT - Emmeline Vance
COMING SOON - Remus Lupin

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91138Chapter: 6
i have loved all you chapters so far and i do hope you keep on with this i would love to hear one about hagrid and some of the other more obscure chars from the books and even though there are a ton of storys about lily james remus sirius and peter you version would be nice to =)

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90942Chapter: 6
Wow. I've liked all of your chapters so far, but the previous one was truly brilliant, and when I saw your name on the update list again, I wondered whether the newest chapter would be as brilliant as well. And it is.

I like the reference to the gum wrappers. I like the way you wrong-footed me in the first few paragraphs. I like the way you set up this story. I like how you wrote Genevieve -- we all know such a person, don't we? You wrote her brilliantly. I also like Alice and Frank. I like the re-occurring warnings and "I told you so"'s.

Yes. I think I like everything. It's great.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90893Chapter: 6
I really like this! Great characterization of Frank and Alice. Interesting about that crustacean Genevieve, and how she plays Frank for a fool. I like that you had Frank be on excellent terms with James and Sirius, though a few years older. Alice was really sweet to try and help Frank the way she did, and to stand up to her friend to do what was right--we can see where Neville gets that from! So, great job, and I'm eager to read your next chapter. Particularly if you do James (he's my favorite character ever). Excellent.

Reviewer: zenjackDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90816Chapter: 6
Aha! Now we know where Neville gets it.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90738Chapter: 6
'She had forgotten her promise to Genevieve, and was instead thinking of saving the gum wrapper.'

Awwwww... This line really made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. That was, until I remembered the scene in the long-term residents' ward. It was tainted with a certain pathos, which made the whole story from then on, happy as it was, rather tragic. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I have a feeling that this may have been one of the first lines you thought of before putting pen to paper. -_^

I very much liked this installment, as well as each and every one that has come before. You really have come on a storm! ^_^

I also thought you'd like to know that your recent updates have inspired me to get off my arse and do something. That's all I'll say for now!

Thanks for a wonderful update!
- Ada K.

Reviewer: The AuthorDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88409Chapter: 1
Thanks for the good things, I'm glad you're all enjoying it! ^_^

Thank you, especially, Ada, for all the help you've given me, it has really helped me when I write. I was planning on sending this to you for extra editing, but went ahead and posted. But I'll continue to send things your way if you don't mind!

Kelly

PS - Nitpick Police: I hear you. :o) But, hey, if horses can be preg checked at 15 days, I can say a human can at 14. Lol!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88399Chapter: 5
Whoa, I wouldn't have thought there would be another traitor in the Order, but it makes sense. It's an intriguing theory about someone we don't know anything about. Very tragic, and quite an enjoyable read.

Reviewer: the nitpick policeDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88367Chapter: 5
How would someone know she was pregant if she was only two weeks along? :)

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88333Chapter: 5
*blinks in disbelief*

What a pleasant surprise I got when I clicked on the homepage and notice your name on the updates list and what an update it was, indeed! Your chapters are all so amazingly original, I mean, Marlene McKinnon? There's no way that I would have been able to come up with anything about her - not in a million years! - and yet you have and have done it brilliantly. The tone of this chapter is a little different, a little darker than your previous viginettes, but I found that I liked it equally as much.

Though, what I really love about your stories are your expansions on the little things that appear in canon that everyone else seems to overlook and the way you incorporate them as important events into your stories. It really makes them stand out and gives them a certain sparkle.

Thanks for updating. It really was nice to read another chapter of this.

- Ada K.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88280Chapter: 5
What a breathtaking story! I don't know how you got it from only one line; in fact I didn't even recognise the name when I saw the title of this chapter.

I feel so sorry for Marlene now. But she did the right thing. Rather die than betray your friends.

It's wonderful how you manage to bring the "Voldemort has his ways" alive in this story. It's sad, but I don't doubt this is exactly what Voldemort does use to get his information.

Wow. I feel a bit shocked now. Your story is so real. It seems that you spend those five months getting even better. I can't really express what this story did to me. In any case, it is brilliant.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70285Chapter: 4
I can't really find the words to express my amazement about this story. How you can write such a canon-true story about a character that we hardly know, is a mystery to me. But it all makes sense: the planned joke, the fact that Dedalus decided not to do it, his promised loyalty to Dumbledore, the violet hat... Somehow, you managed to trace back everything that we know about Dedalus (which isn't much) to one day, and describe that day excellently. I'm still amazed.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70248Chapter: 4
I've just caught up with this. What a clever idea and what finely drawn vignettes. You show wonderful imagination and work it well with the little bits we already know. I, like others, am partial to your Albus story. Very lovely. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70208Chapter: 4
These are fantastic- Moody and Dumbledore as uncertain, vulnerable boys- I especially loved Albus' mother's song, nitwit etc- really original use of the book. And the history of Dedalus Diggle's top hat- inspired!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70201Chapter: 4
Aww. Dedalus is a sweetie, and Duncan is the uncle everyone wants but all too few of us have. Loved the glimpse of Schoolgirl!McGonagall, too.

TSS

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65639Chapter: 3
You already know what I think of your stories (i.e they are great!) but I shall take this opportunity to elaborate, and, at the same time, boost your review count. *winks*

I have to say, that with each and every chapter, you seen to be going from strength to strength. This has to be my favourite of the installments so far; your descriptions of the young Albus Dumbledore and his interactions with his mother are sterling and quite probable, too! What I also liked were the names 'Edmund' and 'Chauncey'. I don't know why. It's the little things that make a story sparkle, and, suffice to say, the pair did it for me on this one. To finish with, your last line: 'Perhaps all Severus truly needed was a good lemon drop or two...' was a cracking conclusion to a great story.

All I ask is that you make them a little longer, so that we can read more.

Hope you had a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

- Ada K.

Reviewer: COOLCATCUTEDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65519Chapter: 2
so sad im crying why did you make it so sad
it good
I will write an other one when i really finish.
*****~kkrules~*****

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65399Chapter: 3
*Tears up* That was really good! Can't wait to see who you decide to write next.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65312Chapter: 3
Aww poor dumbledore...

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65216Chapter: 3
Great work! I really love both of these chapters. I think the Alastor chapter is better written, but I like the Albus chapter the best.

"Nitwick Blubber Oddment Tweak" is one of my favorite parts of Albus. I like your explanation of their origin. I particularly like how warm you have written Albus' early family life. I think love like that must be needed to build someone like Albus.

I'm really looking forward to seeing more of this.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65185Chapter: 3
OOOOH THIS WAS AWESOME!

Both stories!

Nitwit Blubber Oddmont Tweak.....I always wondered....
AND LEMON DROPS! Oh! This was so good!

Made my eyes tear up!
PLEASE UPDATE SOON!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65097Chapter: 3
It was a bit strange that the event from the past was incorporated in a event from the almost-present, but it fit together really well. I feel a bit dumb, though, because I couldn't figure out what Tonks exactly meant with her letter. Anyway, you did a wonderful job, and I'm looking forward to more!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63621Chapter: 2
Oh, I love this so far! The writing is just exceptional, capturing the emotions perfectly. I also love the images you create, like Harry falling into the picture. Moody was just excellent here. Really a wonderful fic so far, I can't wait for more. Thanks so much for this! 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63479Chapter: 2
Oh that was so sad. And so believable too. Youve done some great writing here, and I cant wait for the next installment.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63455Chapter: 2
I'm glad that your wonderful story has finally been posted. I've been on the look out for it for a while now, you know, and it's everything I expected and more. You write wonderfully well (as I have told you many times before now) and I can see you up on the Professor's Bookshelf one day and, eventually, getting together some cracking original work.

Waiting for the next installment,
- Ada K.

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63441Chapter: 2
This was very good- I liked the emotions that played out. I'm very excited about this fic, it's a wonderful idea. I can't wait to see who else will be on the list!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63428Chapter: 2
Very touching. I'm impressed. That's all I have to say. It's excellent, and I want to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63409Chapter: 2
Ooh nice. I think that characters like Moody (I hate to call them 'minor' or 'secondary') are such rich fodder for the imagination. I honestly never considered Moody as a teenager before, and like what you've done with him. His dad is an interesting character study too.

Paranoia at an early age - you've explained its onset for Mad-Eye vividly through this piece.

Reviewer: AlabasterDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63323Chapter: 2
This is a great idea for a series of short stories and i'm looking foward to the next one!!!!! this was really sad, though... :'-(, but very well written!
Alabaster

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62694Chapter: 1
Wow, very good! I was confused at the start, but I guess that was exactly what you wanted :)

If this is only the prologue, I'm very much looking forward to the other chapters! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62603Chapter: 1
The detail in this is wonderful. I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62587Chapter: 1
I really want to see where you go with this! Great job and hope you update soon!

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62558Chapter: 1
Ooh, this looks very promising. I can't wait to see what you do with it! That was a very creative dream-- it started out so real-- hope to hear more soon!

Reviewer: WrenDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62485Chapter: 1
Very good! I really like your characterization of Harry and his thoughts. Can't wait to see more of your work.

PS The Book of Amber rocks. ;-)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62423Chapter: 1
Great!! That is a great job of putting emotion to paper! I could really feel Harry falling into the picture! And such an evil twist for the dream to take! I'm looking forward to this!

Reviewer: NinaDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62385Chapter: 1
That was great!!! Very nice how you started with a dream and pretended it was real! Please write more!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --