The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Anagrams
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2005-07-23
Reviewid: 127664Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this fic - I haven't read any at all for the longest time, and this was a fitting welcome back!

I like your Fudge very much, especially the way a reader who hadn't 'known' Fudge the politician might be taken in by his view of himself. A good observer - pah!

I'll definitely be taking a look at your other fics.

Thanks!

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126967Chapter: 1
Ooh, understated and creepy. Love it.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112594Chapter: 1
excellent tale
thank you

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-03-25
Reviewid: 75861Chapter: 1
This is really good! I love Fudge's observation: 'Voldemort. What a rediculous name.' Really great, and Fudge's observations of both Dumbledore and Tom Riddle and very interesting too.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70127Chapter: 1
Wow, Mely. Sometimes I think I have you figured out, then you write something like this that is so different from your other work and I have to start guessing again. This is spectacular. It sent shivers down my spine. Especially the last line . . . it's so characteristic of Fudge to completely miss the significance of something like this, happening right under his nose.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67719Chapter: 1
An excellent story, which ends on such a chilling note. I find it entirely believable that Fudge could have been in Slytherin -- he's a bungler, but he's certainly an ambitious one.

Tom seems very much in character, too -- charismatic, and just beginning to test the limits of what he can say and do.

>>Voldemort, I think as I turn another page in my book. What a ridiculous name.<<

Yeah, that's going to come back and haunt him!

Very well done!

Katinka

Reviewer: MianaDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65205Chapter: 1
Holy... Wow. Bravo, Mel. You succeeded in both scaring me and writing a wonderful piece. Good job!

Reviewer: ADate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64811Chapter: 1
I think reviewer 'Lamarquise' has a good point about a connection being established, but I also think it is premature. Remember, it is 1940 in this story, and Tom doesn't emerge as Lord Voldemort until approximately 1970. How many people are going to remember something they probably wrote off as a joke for thirty years? There weren't that many people in the common room, and Dumbledore said at the end of CoS that hardly anyone connected Lord Voldemort with T.M. Riddle.

I think this story works extremely well. I also believe you have NAILED the character of 17-year old Cornelius Fudge. I'm not so sure about Tom, though. Remember, in the diary vision he was apparently "friendly" enough to be addressed with first name by a Rubeus Hagrid who was two years younger and in a different house besides. I think Tom was probably well-liked in school, even though it was likely a charade on his part. Your Tom's hidden coldness, though, is almost certainly on target.

Very well done.

Reviewer: firewhiskeyDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64150Chapter: 1
very well-written and creepy. i have actually been interested in anagrams as of late, due to recently reading The Da Vinchi Code (which has 2 hp references!). it was cool to see some on the quill!

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62881Chapter: 1
Reading "Anagrams" at last here at SQ, I'm struck, all over again, by the simplicity and power of the idea, and by how you had Cornelius Fudge nailed from the very beginning of the first draft--the seventeen-year-old schoolboy already speaking with the pompous, self-satisfied voice of the politician he'll become...the observant eye of which he's so proud, that will serve him well in politics... and no ability whatever to grasp the meaning of what he sees. Tom is eerie and compelling--dominating the game moments after he's refused to play--and draining the lively energy away from the group when he decides not to play anymore. And is that a hint, at the end, that there's something more than obtuseness on Fudge's part at work--that somehow Tom's power has made Fudge almost forget that he's seen what he has? Or is it purely a matter of willful blindness on Fudge's part--that he's seen *something* for a moment, in which he can choose to believe in or not, and he chooses not to believe it because he cannot bear to? Either way, this was a wonderful story, believable and unsettling.

Reviewer: gfdDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62839Chapter: 1
Scary! GOOD!

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62838Chapter: 1
I love this story--I've read it and liked it elsewhere, and I'm glad to have been reminded of it here.

Your anagrams are so clever, and so revealing of the sort of thing Riddle *would* look for (Dumbledore=Mob Deluder... yikes!). I can definitely see Tom as a boy who was very good at puzzle games, but would only play them when he could find a way to make them hurtful and nasty.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-12-10
Reviewid: 62832Chapter: 1
Chilling.. very chilling.

Reviewer: BirdsongDate: 2003-12-10
Reviewid: 62805Chapter: 1
Very good! Quite creative!

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62732Chapter: 1
Excellently written and an interesting insight not only into Fudge but also Voldemort. not many people have written from Fudge's POV. I think you capture here the characteristics that made Fudge Minister for magic (For though some would call him bumbling and foolish he must have quite alot of talent and thought to have got where he is, technically as high as one can rize in the wizarding world). also you show an interesting side to Voldemort. A cold slightly distent but very intense pupil. Someone who you get the eerie feeling can do whatever he sets his mind to and you are not to sure that you will like it when he does. I have met some people like that, not many but some. These are truly the poeple to be feared because they are invisible to the world until it is too late. What is their to fear more than cold empty hate and ambiton that holds selfish desires over all else. I don't know. I am quite subdued by the piece you wrote and find it one of the best pieces I have seen on the net on Fudge or young Voldemort. well captured.
Mask

Reviewer: walrusDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62711Chapter: 1
Wonderfully chilling. That was the best childhood Tom Riddle I have ever read. I look forward to hearing more from you.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62698Chapter: 1
Amazing. I never thought that a story through Fudge's eyes could mean so *much*.

You've pulled it off wonderfully, too. Anagrams were a perfect way to do so, a very unique way to reveal Tom Riddle for what he is--and what he will be. Expertly done!

Reviewer: ElfirDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62682Chapter: 1
What a clever story! All the anagrams are really cute, but I especially like poor Naive Fool.

Reviewer: LamarquiseDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62680Chapter: 1
Ooh...good one. Foreshadowing both what Tom is up to and how Cornelius will see the whole conflict. Nicely done. Except you've got the direct connection there; everyone should know who Voldemort is, then.

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62659Chapter: 1
How very cool. I wish I could write something really eloquent and constructive, but this whole thing - the premise, the tone, the characterizations - it's all just so ... *cool*. Lovely piece!

Reviewer: CymbelineDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62657Chapter: 1
Oh wow! This is a truly amazing piece of work. Tom Riddle retains the chilling creepiness that has been in fics like the Very Secret Diary. Very well written. C Fudge is very IC, in fact, everyone is! *claps*
-Cymbeline

Reviewer: CinnamonDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62641Chapter: 1
Creepy. Creepy and very well done. I find it interesting and a little disturbing that those who are driven by ambition end up in Slytherin, yet that same ambition makes them the leaders of the Wizarding world. I despise politics, but feel they are a necessary evil. Those who would aspire to leadership seem to do so either for the love of power, or because they want to change things for the better. And maybe I'm just being cynical again.
Thanks for a wonderful story!

Reviewer: glitterDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62640Chapter: 1
creepy! but spine shivering good!!

Reviewer: marie78956Date: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62623Chapter: 1
Great piece. Good characterization of both Riddle and Fudge. I really like how you capture Riddle’s abilities to subtly manipulate people.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62615Chapter: 1
I loved it! The writing was excellent, capturing my attention and drawing me right in. The characterizations were also perfect, and the overall plot intriguing. Tightly woven and really enjoyable. Thanks so much for this! 8-)
Kate Lynn

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62611Chapter: 1
I really liked this fic, and I'm very particular about what I read. Well done!

Reviewer: Lil' MoonyDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62605Chapter: 1
Wow. I never thought about how Tom made up his name, or when it could have happened. I somehow can't see Fudge as a Slytherin, but then again, who's to say he wasn't?

Reviewer: MadelineDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62591Chapter: 1
That was so amazing! The atmosphere and mood you created was terrific. Keep writing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --