The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137405Chapter: 1
Excellent tale. You are more than a bit cruel with that ending though.

Reviewer: BreeDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108108Chapter: 1
Nice story, the name of it reminds of another book I read, The Rag and the Bone Shop, by Robert Cormier.

Very unique writing style.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-12-13
Reviewid: 107663Chapter: 1
Excellent. So very realistic, and such *good* writing. Brava!

Reviewer: Getz BlackDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91972Chapter: 1
This is a really interesting idea, I like what you've done with it. You have delved into Percy's soul and shown his hurt admirably, I enjoyed it.

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91924Chapter: 1
Oh, great! Wonderful to see Percy coming to his senses. I loved the "He’d made himself believe that", so true of how we convince ourselves about what the others are thinking and meaning. Good work. Hope you'll post more chapters soon, I look forward to seeing where Percy is going...

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91502Chapter: 1
Oooh, clever! Not telling us where he chose to go in the end- so good. Extremely well written. You got across Percy’s frantic need to please authority, his work obsession, his jealousy of Harry- I’d never thought of that but it was very good. I liked how you showed him not fitting in in the family and his frequent run- ins with Fred and George- perfectly paced and very insightful story, keep writing!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91306Chapter: 1
This was one of the best characterizations of Percy that I've ever read. I felt very badly for poor Penelope. She did the right thing though. And wonderful Hermes! I loved how you left the end amiguous so that readers could make their own choice. I can't believe I hadn't read this!

Reviewer: anna MDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85671Chapter: 1
Darn it. I really wanted to hate Percy after OotP. But here you are making me feel sorry for him.
My favorite part of this story is seeing how Percy was treated by his siblings. I started feeling bad when I read the part about Charlie snubbing him, but it was the part about the twins recording him (and Ron and Ginny laughing about it) that really got me. Percy really has been...well, misunderstood, sort of, but really just the odd man out in the Weasley family. Yet that doesn't mean he doesn't want to be accepted.
I love how you portray the argument between him and Arthur. Even though it's from Percy's POV, you do a good job showing what Arthur is feeling too.
Overall, I think this is a very accurate and well-written prediction of how Percy will react upon finding out that he was wrong. Great job!!

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80395Chapter: 1
I really like your Percy - he's being wonderfully *Weasley,* while still retaining the characteristics of *Percy* Weasley.

Read this in the morning - great way to start the day. :D

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74811Chapter: 1
This is a most excellent story. I think that you did a very good portrayl of Percy and his feelings about his family and his job. It's good to see that their those who can write good, convincing stories about relatively minor characters. Cheers :D

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70058Chapter: 1
MMMMMMMMOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Llewella d'ambreDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63216Chapter: 1
I LOVED this! Wow! Percy is practically my favorite character, and yet I hardly ever see nice, long, good-quality fics starring him. This one was wonderful. I think it's good to see the missing moment when Percy will finally find out that the Ministry was wrong, and you portrayed it well. I like his guilt, his emotions. You played them out nicely, and it really made Percy into a character you just feel so sorry for. I really loved the "He made himself believe that"'s that you had in there. Nice ways to bring thougths together and show a correlation. Wonderful job, can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63198Chapter: 1
Hunter's Moon,
Stunning. Very realistic, and the relationship with Penny and Percy is beautiful. You have taken a dive into Percy's head, and came out with great feelings and thoughts. It's quite easy to imagine Percy like this, and I thank you for that. Will there be a second chapter involving the confrontation? I hope so. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but your official SQ beta is VoxM, right? If so, could you please email me, if possible? She is supposed to be mine, too, but I need some help contacting her.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63079Chapter: 1
Wow, I like this story. Your Percy is spot-on. Excellent! I love the way you tell us what happened both the day Percy left his family and the day he will return to his family. It's wonderful. And I hope that you'll be writing a sequel. This is just so good.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63064Chapter: 1
Great story! You've really captured Percy well in this fic. I do hope this is what happens before Book 6. It seems just right.

Reviewer: mehaalandraDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63015Chapter: 1
That's really good. Didn'y Penny have long curly black hair? I thought that's what it said...anyways, keep it up!

Reviewer: FalcoDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62990Chapter: 1
This may sound horribly like the traditional ff.net review, but....is this a multi-chapter fic? Please, please say it is - I'd so look forward to reading more of your Percy. You write him as a very sympathetic character, yet he still has all of Percy's less dmirable traits. And he matches my personal vision of Percy!

Oh, yes. I just remembered the whole constructive criticism thing. Well, I was so absorbed that I didn't have the 'beta' button switched on, but I did think that 'tarrying' is a slightly choice of word - a bit archaic, you know?

Thanks for the fic, Hunter's Moon.

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62975Chapter: 1
Wow. That was very affecting. For some reason, the line that got to me was "If everyone took little vacations whenever they felt like it, society would crumble—" It just captured something true and desparate and poignant about Percy.

Reviewer: Hunter's MoonDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62964Chapter: 1
Thanks for reviewing, everybody! I'm glad you like the fic. :) It was fun to write. As far as sequels go, I've got quite a different fic that's demanding to be written at the moment, but we'll see what happens after that!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62943Chapter: 1
Excellent! Please do a follow up chapter. Percy was wonderfully in character. I like how his pride still stuck with him enough to snap at Penny. I especially like how you cut from the present to the past and back.

Reviewer: KeridwenDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62932Chapter: 1
This is an excellent fic. Difficult to read at times, too, because you've done such a good job capturing Percy's internal conflict.

I very much like the way you've written the relationship between Percy and Penny.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62888Chapter: 1
Damn... that's a real kick in the groin. (And I mean that in the nicest possible way.)

I'll be back when and if you write what happens next!

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62863Chapter: 1
Very sad but very well done. I think you captured Percy quite well and I'm glad thatyou remembered that Penny is Muggleborn. I think this is quite realistic and I hope that when Book 6 comes out that this is what happens.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --