The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Real Reason
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: RomanyDate: 2006-01-17
Reviewid: 138648Chapter: 1
Although HBP has given us a different story for Snape's past, this is still a wonderfully plausible take on the Sirius and Severus backstory. How much more tragic that they could have started out as friends.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-22
Reviewid: 117369Chapter: 1
WOW. Powerful, well written. WOW. Thank you.

Reviewer: Emilydog777Date: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94765Chapter: 1
Also a really good story. I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73594Chapter: 1
Interesting idea! I, too, think that there is probably a lot more history between Snape and Sirius than we are aware of for them to hate each other so much. Schoolboy rivalry just doesn't seem to cover the depth of their relationship. I like your portrayal of Sirius's doubt and guilt about how he treated Snape and how he still can't get over all the bad feelings between them. I don't know if you meant to, but in a way you compared Remus and Snape when you described Remus as being "transformed by their friendship and trust"; Remus was transformed positively by Sirius and James's acceptance just as much as Snape was transformed negatively by their rejection. The ending is quite sad, since we already know that Sirius and Snape never do learn to move past their animosity. Well done.

Reviewer: PadfootsAngelDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69174Chapter: 1
Awersom I`d never of thought of that,its...its well its awersom as I said

Reviewer: LilyDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65511Chapter: 1
That's really good and I like it a lot, But it's kind of sad for old Snapey. I feel bad for him that he lost his only friend in his first year at Hogwarts. Boo hoo. Well, God bye person.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63061Chapter: 1
Interesting idea. I never considered that Snape and sirius were most likely from families who knew each other very well. But then OotP changed all of my idea about Sirius' family history.

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62973Chapter: 1
Well, that's just heartbreaking.

And totally believable.

-Steve

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62936Chapter: 1
Wow!! I'd never thought or heard of this idea before- very original!! You do a great job with "missing moment" fics. Also, I loved this quote:
"They had all learned, too late, that a single mistake could have consequences beyond what even a true Seer could predict. Fate was a web, strands reaching from the past to the future to touch and entangle in complex ways." What a great metaphor!!!!
Happy Writing,
Margaret

Reviewer: sbDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62918Chapter: 1
very well written ...nicely done and a really good idea.. i find it out of cannon tho...snape n sirus.. but its a great idea that they'd known each other before that coz they were pure bloods.. neva thought of it that way. i think tis a much better reason.. a fight b4 they met again at hogwarts..than the one in canon// well thats y its fan fiction innit ? g'dae !

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62871Chapter: 1
That's an interesting take on Snape and Sirius' relationship. When Sirius denied that he knew Snape it felt very cruel, but exactly like the sort of thing Sirius would do on the spur of the moment and then regret bitterly later. I also thought your adult Lupin and adult Sirius were very IC, particularly Remus appreciating the value of just being around when Sirius is finding things difficult. I don't agree with your interpretation of Remus' position in MWPP BTW, but I accept that its a perfectly valid view based on canon evidence, so that is just an aside. My only slight criticism is that some of the dialogue between young Snape and young Sirius seemed a bit fluffy somehow, based on what we know of their adult personalities. But in general I thought this was a really good job.

Atropos

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --