The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Muggle Thoughts
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: QemDate: 2005-05-16
Reviewid: 122161Chapter: 1
Nice, good work, you beautifully filled that out from Mr Roberts opinion. If you do decide to continue could you email me to let me know? It finishes of nicely as it is though. o.o;

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117471Chapter: 1
How cute! I like how well you elaborate on canon.

Reviewer: QuiddichWorldChampDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104363Chapter: 1
Ooo! I want to see some more of this... I like the interraction between the worlds, and unfortunately Rowling doesn't do much of that, so I have to rely on the (admittedly brilliant) skills of folk like you...

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: NinevehDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101741Chapter: 1
I found this story via a rec. on FictionAlley, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The scene with poor bemused Mr Roberts and the Weasleys is a very funny one in GoF, and I liked your interpretation of Mr Roberts' trials with the affair (there's something slightly sinister about the way that he struggles to work out what's going on, and is just ruthlessly memory-charmed again and again). Mr and Mrs Roberts' relationship is convincing, and you manage to convey t'rural Yorkshire accent without being irritating or patronising (ee bah gum).

"Mr. Weasley was looking decidedly nervous now, and looking round rather desperately, as if for divine intervention. Suddenly, with a sharp crack, an intervention did occur, dressed in plus fours."

Very funny. Off to see if you've written anything else.

Nineveh (on FictionAlley)

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81381Chapter: 1
It was really good!!! I never thought of seeing it in Robert's point of view like that!!! Keep on writing, and I'm glad you didn't put him through all of that torture!!!

Reviewer: ~*~Date: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80532Chapter: 1
This is really good. I feel a bit sorry for the unfortunate Mr. Roberts, though. :-)

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75765Chapter: 1
OOh! This was great, really creative. You handled the confusion of a muggle quite well. I imagine that I would react the same way if I was surrounded by 100s of wizards! This was awesome, I hope you continue it, its not too often I've come accross a fic this creative!

Liz

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73720Chapter: 1
interesting perspective on the world cup. I liked that he remembered his kids when Arthur looked worried about the twins.

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73681Chapter: 1
Yay from me, too! Well, the Muggle Hunting incident *is* a little disturbing, so I'd understand if you don't want to go into that, but please do give us some more "Muggle Thoughts" on the wizarding world! They do make for great humour when written well, as your story is.


Like "When did you ever hear of Bulgarians playing cricket?"

and "Although when hed looked again the horse seemed to have vanished. Wings and all."

and "And he was sure hed heard a haughty blonde woman snap at a pale faced boy called Drake earlier whod call their son after a male duck?"

Those were priceless!


Anyway great original idea, this one! Keep them coming!


Jolie

Reviewer: EvaDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59641Chapter: 1
yay

Reviewer: P.D. YerfDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53947Chapter: 1
YAY!!!!

Reviewer: ronniekinsDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46546Chapter: 1
now i've never read anything like this before. good job!

Reviewer: EnchantedOnyxDate: 2003-08-03
Reviewid: 45159Chapter: 1
I came to your fic from the Niffler page on Fiction Alley. I just wanted to tell you that I really enjoyed it. It's very good. And I was also disturbed by the whole 'obliviating' of the Robert's family so many times. It's like MIB-where J asks if the flashy thingy causes brain cancer.
Anyways-nice fic. I love it!

~Enchanted

Reviewer: TrishDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45078Chapter: 1
You get a 'yay' from this end. Good characterization of the Roberts and a wonderful look at Obliviate. Great job!

Reviewer: tybalt-quinDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 45008Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this - it was a great telling of a GoF scene but from a unique perspective - and it's not often you get people trying to imagine what wizards seem like to muggles who aren't in the know.

Especially loved the description of the Twins and Drake ...

Reviewer: PhoenixDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34969Chapter: 1
Hehe that was great! I love it and put it up for recommendation at my LJ: www.livejournal.com/users/Phoenix87

Reviewer: RiibuDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29771Chapter: 1
It's not often that there's an opportunity to read about the wizarding world from a Muggle perspective. This was an original idea, and I liked it.
This fic also makes the reader seriously think about the nature and morality of the Obliviate spell.
The fic was well written, and in my opinion there's no need to continue it; it was a very good one-shot.
Thank you for writing this!

Reviewer: PhoenixDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29697Chapter: 1
I love your fanfic! It was kind of funny actually. I recommended your fanfic at my website http://groups.msn.com/hpkingdom/recommendedfanfic.msnw I hope more ppl read this fantastic story!

Reviewer: WizDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29622Chapter: 1
Excellent writing. I would have liked to see a longer version, perhaps a bit of backstory on Mr. Roberts an more detail about his family. We hear what his wife thinks, but what about the children?

Reviewer: Kalari_KupuaDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29417Chapter: 1
Very nice work! This was a great look into the Muggle view of the wizarding world (I love those kinds of stories) and also showed how scary the power of Obliviate can be...*shudders* It's all rather Gestapo, isn't it?

I thought the length was perfectly appropriate and the characterisations of Mr. Roberts and his wife were hilarious, but also entirely appropriate.

Wish I had more time to review, but am running late, so will just say that the concept was well-done, the interactions funny, and the idea superb!

~Kalar'i

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-03-28
Reviewid: 25551Chapter: 1
You've done a lovely job with Mr. Roberts, an ordinary man in an extraordinary situation. I enjoyed his reactions to the miraculous things around him and I especially liked his calm response to his excitable wife.

I'm relieved that you didn't show the scene where he and his family were tormented by the Death Eaters. More than ever, as I read your story, I thought about what good people these are, and how horrible their foul treatment at the hand of those monsters was. I found myself thinking of the helpless victims of mob violence and for the first time I saw "Obliviate" as a blessing.

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-03-27
Reviewid: 25482Chapter: 1
I was looking for a Library story, for the review challenge and randomly
clicked on your name. I'm glad I did. This is a story that I've wanted
to read for ages, and was wondering if I'd have to write myself. You've
done it much better than I could have, though. You write the accent very
well.

Seeing the wizarding world from the outside is very funny, specifically
the Weasleys. Mr. Roberts comes across as a rather fatalistic though
persistant man. A pity he's up against the obliviators and can't win.

As, I said, rather fatalistic. He sort of accepts the strangeness of
the whole thing, even if it does make him curious, instead of running
screaming and calling the police, as I would do under the circumstances.

NM

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19336Chapter: 1
Now that's really good. A muggle's view of strange happenings! Cool!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18718Chapter: 1
The answer=yay.. I like this story a lot.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11902Chapter: 1
I really liked it. It deffinately focused on a diffrent group of people. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10531Chapter: 1
"And he was sure hed heard a haughty blonde woman snap at a pale faced boy called Drake earlier whod call their son after a male duck?"

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! I'm ROTFL! that's great, that's GREAT!

yes, I did like this. No, I wouldn't like to see poor Mr. Roberts tortured, but I would like to see more of your writing!

~TPR

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-22
Reviewid: 9830Chapter: 1
>Admittedly you didnt often see such red hair, or so much of it at one time

Hee! I love this. And I love how John finds Arthur staring at *him* - that's a wonderful touch, as is John's instant suspicions about the twins.

Stories about exceedingly minor characters always make me smile, and I really like this one - John is funny, and observant, and I loved seeing the campground and wizards through his eyes.

Reviewer: AnonymousChicDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1824Chapter: 1
That was really funny. I'm glad someone thought of this.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --