The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Secret-Keeper
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: SBDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119696Chapter: 3
This one was really short!
But it was cool!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100945Chapter: 3
So, I intended to leave you a more constructive review, but I am so thoroughly chilled by that last portion that I'm not sure I can. That was most likely your intention, and you succeeded admirably, but... ooh, that was chilling.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100944Chapter: 2
I shuddered when Sirius reminded James of Bellatrix.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100943Chapter: 1
Oh. Oh, oh. I'll write more after Chapter 3.

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73690Chapter: 3
Gufa, this is a delightful insight into Lily's, James's, Sirius's, and Peter's feeling toward the switch in secret keepers. To all those who now read this and have'nt read the story, do go and read it! Gufa, I hope that you'll continue this! Cheers!
-Ginny

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72025Chapter: 3
Gufa,
I had a hard time reading this, as I knew I would, because it is to me the most deeply painful moment in the whole series. The level of love and trust between the Marauders should have been enough to keep them safe... It was too cruel and ironic that, when the ultimate test came, Peter was chosen to take it.
I think Peter's insecurities rang very true- his bitter interpretation of his friends' words must have helped him convince himself that the friendship wasn't real. The hypocrisy of his manner of betrayal was such a poisonous thing- it must be so deeply damaging to be so mistaken in a person, to invest that much trust in someone false!
Lily's speech about trust is so intense and heartfelt- she pleas so passionately for Sirius to be the Secret Keeper because her trust is really *complete*. I'm glad in a way that it was only Sirius that they felt so sure about- that kind of trust should have been given to somebody worthy otherwise it would mean everything they believed in was false.

You brought out the deep trust between Lily, James and Sirius so beautifully that it made the ending as distressful as it should be...

Reviewer: EileenDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71629Chapter: 3
I've enjoyed reading this short fic trememdously as it feels so true to canon! The part where James forgot his earlier hesitation.. it made me all jittery and just want to reach out and remind him!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68835Chapter: 3
Nice. The whole bit of betrayal makes me uncomfortable. I think, since I know how it will turn out it's hurtful to watch it unfold. It's a testament to your writing that I can feel those emotions.

You do a nice job with Peter and his motivation. I think he would be very aware of slights and insults from the group. The little rat.

I'm also impressed with the constraints you've put on yourself to keep true to canon. Harder to do that way, but it is still coming out nice.

I'm looking forward to the next bit!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68834Chapter: 1
Nice start! I like the way you put James and Lily's faith in Sirius as unconditional. Knowing that you can trust someone absolutely is so rare. And I think it makes a nice parallel for Harry with Rona dn Hermione. Their trust will always be like that, I feel.

On to more!!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68749Chapter: 3
YOU MUST WRITE ANOTHER CHAPTER!!! YOU! MUST! WRITE! ANOTHER! CHAPTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68635Chapter: 3
Nice job! It's rather interesting to see what it was like for the Marauders, the few days before the attack. I was especially touched by the thoughts of Peter: that he isn't James' real friend. It's a pity he hadn't heard what James had said just before: that Peter is one of his brothers.

Just one advice: put empty lines between your paragraphs. It's hard reading things like this on a screen.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68538Chapter: 3
Another chapter! Yay!


I liked Lily voicing how she didn't want Peter to be the Secret-Keeper. It seems like James to want to side with Peter because they were friends from Hogwarts.

Peter as a bluff. Nice.

I liked Peter's seeming hesitation. Very nicely characterized.

Great chapter, thanks for it. :)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67124Chapter: 2
xony likes ur story and she wants badly more of it ^^

Reviewer: kATIEDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67120Chapter: 2
AWESOME!!!!!!! * but it was funny &not good at duh end 'cause' jame's changed his mind so quickly *LOL!I trust peter, of course, but I just…well, I guess you’re right. It is a good idea. Let’s go and find Lily"
*LOL*!!!!!!!!! but he did it after saying he doesn't trust any 1 else it like almost like u did it in a hurry *LOL*!!!!AWESOME j o b!!!!!!!!!!!! can't wait to read MORE !!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67102Chapter: 2
Anoter great chapter. There were a few minor technical errors, like:

I trust peter, of course

Instead of I trust Peter, of course

But that didn't deter. The characterizations continue to be solid. I've never been much of a Sirius fan, but I am enjoying him in this story, so that says a lot! And the writing is great. It would be nice if you could seperate chapters with a space between them, but that is just for easier reading.

Thanks for this! I look forward to more. Nice job with the tale of the Secret Keeper. 8-)

Kate

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66893Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
Very good.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66861Chapter: 2
Very nice. The bonds between James, Lily, Sirius, and Albus are all nicely conveyed.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63623Chapter: 1
I adored Silence by you, so when I saw a new fic I was ecstatic. And not disappointed! Fabulous writing, and I adore your characterizations. With just the right words you convey so much about the character and setting. Brilliant. I look forward to more, and thanks so much for this! 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63590Chapter: 1
Ooh...nice start. I am looking forward to the next chapter. Every time I read a Maurauders tale it hits me again just how terrible that whole situation was.

<<All I have is James, and Sirius, and Harry. They are the center of my heart. Who else do I have that I can trust with my life and that of my son? Remus…Remus is too vulnerable. We cannot ask him to accept this burden as well, though he would, gladly…”  Lily stopped, and turned away.>>

Very nice line. So sad.

Reviewer: aishaDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63568Chapter: 1
Very nice...I'm waiting for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63417Chapter: 1
Nice start to things and this is a very interesting concept. I like Lily's line: 'All I have is James, and Sirius, and Harry. They are the center of my heart.' It's so simply put and so eloquent.

I'm looking forward to more; I want to see your take on the rest of the events as they unfold.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --