The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Loose Ends
Review(s): 61

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2008-05-05
Reviewid: 150833Chapter: 1
Love this! :D

Reviewer: OtterfudgeDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124496Chapter: 1
"Though the procedure sounds somewhat unhygienic, I'm certain Miss Granger will wash the portion of her anatomy in question beforehand."

"Professor Sprout reports that she and Professor Firenze have come to an arrangement, and says that next term we should save "an appreciable amount" on fertilizer."

...Should it bother me that the two lines that most slayed me both involve posteriors? Ah, well. This is a wonderful piece. :) The memo format I thought was very effective and IC for Dumbledore; in fact, the whole thing was just Dumbledore being his subtle, charming, hilarious self, which made for a very nice read. Please do keep writing, and thank you so much for the laughs. ;)

Reviewer: KosDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123468Chapter: 1
Hilarious. I'm still cracking up.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118841Chapter: 1
If youi would have presented this as a meeting / speech, with minor interuptions, it would have come off a lot better.

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117221Chapter: 1
LOL.

I don't think I even want to know what the cure for acne is....

Reviewer: DNDDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114070Chapter: 1
*cracks up helplessly*
"Though the procedure sounds somewhat unhygienic, I'm certain Miss Granger will wash the portion of her anatomy in question beforehand."
This brought tears of laughter to my little eyes. *thumbs up*

The whole thing is hilarious! Gods, I should have people plug their stuff more often - otherwise I'd never come across this fic! *adds to faves*

DND

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113997Chapter: 1
Heh. Heheh... HEHEEEE Wonderful! It's brilliantly witty, and so like Dumbledore! I absolutely loved it, I don't even have a favorite part, it was all just so wonderful. Well, the bit about Severus not needing to thank the twins personally, and Hagrid not needing to return Umbridge's things himself and be friendly like, and and and... the list goes ever on.

Nice work

Reviewer: GemDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108196Chapter: 1
Hee hee hee. Oh, I like that.

Reviewer: InFabulaDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108124Chapter: 1
Very, very funny! I am still chuckling over Fred and George being thanked - "thoroughly" - and Firenze's "lapse".

What a shame Hagrid couldn't cheer Dolores up with a pet Skrewt!

Reviewer: GridleyDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 107991Chapter: 1
They have been thanked. Thouroughly. :-)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107893Chapter: 1
Hahaha! This was great. You captured Dumbledore's manner of expressing himself very well. I loved his little hints about thanking the Weasley twins and Firenze's "incidents." This is one fic I'll be happy to read again and again.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105766Chapter: 1
Funny, funny, funny! To an elementary school teacher, this is worth a good belly laugh. I've received memos like this one (though not as humorous) over the years and really enjoyed Dumbledore's reaction to all his "loose ends". This is cleverly written and altogether enjoyable.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105541Chapter: 1
You see, this is what happens when I read well-written comedy while I'm supposed to be working. My supervisor wanders over and says, "Oh, something funny about that memo?"

Thanks.

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102744Chapter: 1
Clever and subtle. A difficult combination to achieve.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102572Chapter: 1
Though the procedure sounds somewhat unhygienic, I'm certain Miss Granger will wash the portion of her anatomy in question beforehand.
-Hah!

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102130Chapter: 1
Hahah! Not sure what else I can say. I love these kinds of stories that are written like a note or memo. The remarks about Severus thanking the Weasleys personally and not applying for the DADA position were right on. Great work!

Reviewer: SuePDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100905Chapter: 1
wheeze*hack*cough* That's hilarious! LOL!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100898Chapter: 1
very amusing. very... dumbly-dorry. your writing style is scarily like Rowling's. Kudos.

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100894Chapter: 1
Well, I read Flashback, and decided I better go back and read your other stuff too.

I'm glad I did. THis little letter is perfect.

I must confess, I was a bit confused about the flies in the Ministry cafeteria.

-Steve

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100891Chapter: 1
This was really funny! Great job!

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92842Chapter: 1
That was hilarious! I loved part about suggesting that Snape may not want the Defense Against the Dark arts job. Also about Hagrid and the pet skrewt. Thanks abd be sure to write more.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88780Chapter: 1
Oh wow...That's great. "A more relaxed approach to that sort of thing..." lol. This made me smile when I was a bit depressed, thank you! Awesome fic.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85606Chapter: 1
rotflmfao damn that was funny more more

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83496Chapter: 1
Hilarious. I don't get the one about live flies though...

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75952Chapter: 1
*giggle* If Lupin goes back to being the Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher, then Hogwarts would be a veritable menagerie- well, at least on full moons! House-elves of varying degrees of sanity, a centaur, a werewolf, all sorts of owls, a couple nasty cats(what if Crookshanks met Mrs. Norris an' they fell in love? BEWARE! Oy, it's a new ship-thingy!), a phoenix, ghosts, some people who're weirder than all the creatures put together, and other assorted beasts, beings, and everything in between. Thank the gods Dumbledore thinks daily life is all a big joke and only takes the biggies seriously, or it'd be far too much for someone so old. "This is your Transfiguration teacher. This is your Transfiguration teacher on catnip." Oh, yeah, Gred and Forge- did'ja turn Snape into a canary? *grin*

Reviewer: lauraDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74686Chapter: 1
very very entertaining. lol :)

Reviewer: PadfootsAngelDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69155Chapter: 1
you`ve thought of everything

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 63994Chapter: 1
very cute =)

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 63988Chapter: 1
Fantastic and funny. Well thought up and written with Dumbledor down to a tee :0) hehe haha hoho I love his humour :0)
Mask
P.S Oh let Snape go down and 'Thank-them-in-person'. That would be worth the watch :0)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63950Chapter: 1
Great!! I really like the concept, and you did a great job carrying that concept out.

Favorite lines:
>>It will not be necessary, Severus, for you to go to Diagon Alley, and "thank them personally", as you have so kindly offered to do. <<

>>Severus, I take it that you will not be applying for the position again this year?<<

>>Though the procedure sounds somewhat unhygienic, I'm certain Miss Granger will wash the portion of her anatomy in question beforehand.<<

Sorry, I'll stop before I jut copy the entirety.

Good work!!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63930Chapter: 1
This is really funny! Good writing.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63913Chapter: 1
[It will not be necessary, Severus, for you to go to Diagon Alley, and "thank them personally", as you have so kindly offered to do. They have been thanked. Thoroughly.] Hahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!

[Also, no, I do not believe that she would like a pet Skrewt.] *snert*

This was hysterically funny and just a little bit naughty! I had great fun reading this. I'd love to see another one of these, perhaps after 2nd year? I'm sure you would do a great job spoofing Lockhart.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63717Chapter: 1
LOL! I have to admit it took me a few minutes to figure out what "task" Marietta has to perform to undo Hermione's charm, but when I did I laughed like a hyena. (Scared the cat in the process.) Also loved the bit about Firenze providing fertilizer for the greenhouse, that was positively inspired. Funny, funny stuff all the way through!

Reviewer: L.Date: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63587Chapter: 1
aw, v. v. cute!! I just love it, it was funny but accurate. I'm slightly frightened though of what Hermione has to do for Edgecomb....ek!!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63566Chapter: 1
Wonderful story, quite funny

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63565Chapter: 1
cute

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63558Chapter: 1
This was quite funny. It's hard to write a funny story. Looking forward to your next work ...

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63550Chapter: 1
"Severus, I take it that you will not be applying for the position again this year?"

HA!

What a great vignette. Perfectly in character and very cute. Well done. Can't wait to see more from you!

Reviewer: Seer CassandraDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63545Chapter: 1
Hilarious! I loved it! The kind of subtle humor was great. I also love your other story, Mission of Darkness. WRITE MORE!

"Miss Hermione Granger has, quite graciously, provided me with the key to unlocking the curse. Miss Edgecomb need merely complete an assigned task.

Though the procedure sounds somewhat unhygienic, I'm certain Miss Granger will wash the portion of her anatomy in question beforehand"

Hahahahahahahahahahaha

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63539Chapter: 1
That was very funny! :)

Reviewer: Grandma KateDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63531Chapter: 1
This is a hoot! Please writer a summary so more people will read it. More Please!

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63523Chapter: 1
hehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehe

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63511Chapter: 1
Cute, funny, and very enjoyable. Nice foreshadowing. Maybe you could have a sequel? A staff meeting before 6th year perhaps?

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63454Chapter: 1
very funny it took me a fraction of a second to get the key to end the curse on merietta but I lol and was glad I was alone
this was really good very funny(oh I said that already)

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63447Chapter: 1
*is laughing* Very funny, very cute. I loved this- it's exactly like Dumbledore to handle things in this way. This was GREAT.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63443Chapter: 1
Ah, very funny, and even better than that, very subtle, and very Dumbledore. Thanks for the laugh!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63405Chapter: 1
That was a very good read, specially because I can truly imagine Dumbledore writing something like that.

Good job.

Reviewer: Avari SloaneDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63403Chapter: 1
I'm very glad I don't have a weak bladder because I laughed so hard I nearly...well you know. Good one!

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63399Chapter: 1
Very clever! Excellent. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63393Chapter: 1
Thanks for the laugh! Very in character for Dumbledore, most definitely! Good job!

Reviewer: Silver PatronusDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63389Chapter: 1
"Miss Hermione Granger has, quite graciously, provided me with the key to unlocking the curse. Miss Edgecomb need merely complete an assigned task.

Though the procedure sounds somewhat unhygienic, I'm certain Miss Granger will wash the portion of her anatomy in question beforehand"

Ah, there's nothing like a good old-fashioned bum-kissing, is there?

Brilliant. Very funny, and very Dumbledore. :)

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63384Chapter: 1
Dear me, what sort of 'treats' did the Weasley's leave for the staff? And I hope they left the antidotes?

And I shudder to think what would happen if Severus did go to 'thank' Fred and George in person. Madame Pomfrey might be very unhappy with the results, no matter what

"Also, the Ministry cafeteria has received many complaints from other members of the Ministry about the presence of live flies on the menu. " -- Ah-ha-ha! And whose doing was that?? Minerva's? She needs to moonlight with the Brothers Weasley!

I rather think the plants in Prof. Sprouts care will grow *very* well with Centaur fertilizer! :-D

Well done and thank you so much for the laughs!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63371Chapter: 1
Great fun...this is a really wonderful note and you've done a great job capturing Dumbledore's playful voice. Very funny!

Reviewer: JonDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63362Chapter: 1
very funny! it's great to see post-OotP humorfics done well. the edge of silliness is most entertaining, and it's remarkable that the whole thing is still canon-compliant. Good job!

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63348Chapter: 1
OMG! That is hilarious! Especially since we all know what all of it is about!

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63344Chapter: 1
Ha- this is really funny, and I love the title too!! Dumbledore is really in character...I love the Firenze thing!!! Great job! You might want to add a short summary though, so people have an idea of what its about.
Mararet

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63334Chapter: 1
This is really funny. Took my mind off finals for a few minutes.

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63309Chapter: 1
*Am laughing too hard to comment coherently. However, you are a genius.*

Reviewer: marie78956Date: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63304Chapter: 1
That was great! I'm still laughing. I especially liked Miss Grangers key to unlocking the curse. I have to wonder what exactly was the "token of appreciation" sent to the twins.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63288Chapter: 1
::snigger::

::snort::

heheheh....

I would *love* to sit in on one of those faculty meetings... :D

well done!
ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63269Chapter: 1
Hee hee! This little note really did make me laugh out loud, especially as you really captured the voice of Dumbledore. My particular favourites are these lines:

"It will not be necessary, Severus, for you to go to Diagon Alley, and "thank them personally", as you have so kindly offered to do. They have been thanked. Thoroughly."

"I would like to remind everyone that we will, once again, be looking for a new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher for next term. I would be delighted to consider any recommendations you might have for candidates for the job. When we have selected a suitable candidate, I will broach with him or her the subject of appointing Mr. Harry Potter as Assistant Defense Against the Dark Arts instuctor

Severus, I take it that you will not be applying for the position again this year?"

Bwhahahaha!

Very good.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --