The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Journey
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137817Chapter: 1
Excellent! MORE MORE MORE! I can definately see that as Lupin. Well done, indeed! There are several moments I'd like to see Lupin's side of, especially in third year. *shrug* Just an idea.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137533Chapter: 1
Thank you for recommending this Miss Sophia! This is great. My favourite bit:
"James had come up with that horrible name- Snivellus. They had taunted him mercilessly and Remus never said anything to stop it, even when he had wanted to. Wolfsbane was a notoriously difficult potion to brew; if Severus wanted to he could make things very uncomfortable for Remus and there would be no way to prove it was intentional. But they were adults now, and many things had happened since their school days. They had turned out to be on the same side after all, and he was fairly certain that the Potions master wouldn’t poison him."

This really makes me want to see the first meeting between Snape and Lupin - from Snape's POV!

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137532Chapter: 1
Thank you for recommending this Miss Sophia! This is great. My favourite bit:
"James had come up with that horrible name- Snivellus. They had taunted him mercilessly and Remus never said anything to stop it, even when he had wanted to. Wolfsbane was a notoriously difficult potion to brew; if Severus wanted to he could make things very uncomfortable for Remus and there would be no way to prove it was intentional. But they were adults now, and many things had happened since their school days. They had turned out to be on the same side after all, and he was fairly certain that the Potions master wouldn’t poison him."

This really makes me want to see the first meeting between Snape and Lupin - from Snape's POV!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137470Chapter: 1
Very Entertaining.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137469Chapter: 1
Very Entertaining.

Reviewer: Miss SophiaDate: 2005-11-18
Reviewid: 135984Chapter: 1
Very well done! I love how your story exposes the pain hidden beneath Remus's calm and collected facade. It really captures Remus's character and illustrates his unique way of loving his friends. PoA is my favorite book, and it was a true pleasure to read this missing moment from it.

Favorite lines:

"Perhaps [the dementor] had simply been drawn to the compartment where it could sense the most misery." -- Ooh, chilling!

"Did Harry have so little happiness in him?" -- This really tugged at my heartstrings.

"He took his case and made his way through the throng of excited students, feeling so very much older than his years." -- This line made me feel so sad and tired (but in a delicious, cathartic sort of way).

"Dumbledore had a mysterious way of getting what he wanted, and his urgings had overcome the younger man’s protestations. It had been impossible for him to refuse, really." -- I love how this line provides such a spot-on characterization of both Dumbledore and Remus.

Excellent, excellent story. Definitely one for my bookmarks list!

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109759Chapter: 1
I've been searching for that moment in PoA written from Remus's point of view for a long time and I've found it by sheer luck! It's Fate, I tell you.
It's really well done, encompassing almost all what is to come in PoA, especially when Remus takes the decision to not tell Harry too much about his parents. I was frustrated about that when I read the book and I've always thought that Remus must have decided that long before coming to Hogwarts and that it must have been a hard decision to keep for him.
It doesn't hurt either that your characterisation of Remus is perfect, mind you

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95054Chapter: 1
"A silver wolf shot out of Remus’ wand. It bared it gleaming teeth and charged, forcing the Dementor out of the compartment. The wolf, at once his demon and his guardian."

Of course it would take the form of a wolf. I can't believe I never thought of that before, but it makes perfect sense right now. Excellent story, Remus was perfectly in-character. I've always wondered if the dementer went anywhere else, why the conductor didn't do anything, and this is a wonderful explanation for all of that.
Once again, excellent work!
Smiles,
Bella

Reviewer: Avada KedavraDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 95018Chapter: 1
are you going to do the ENTIRE 3rd book through Remus? that would be really cool, if you did! i hope so, cuz this was great!

Avada Kedavra

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83058Chapter: 1
wow..umm..this is great! really. one of the best and most interesting fics i've ever read..and i've read a lot.

Reviewer: author11Date: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78581Chapter: 1
Ok, I just realized something WEIRD. I just came up with this idea the other night, without even hearing of your story. Grrrrr. Excellent job, though.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75473Chapter: 1
I enjoyed your story, especially that it was from Remus's point of view.

Reviewer: soandsoDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75273Chapter: 1
this is awesome. I ove alternate point sof veiw and this was a great person, and scene to pick, i loved it, you shoud write more.

Reviewer: alexDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73822Chapter: 1
I love Remus. You did a fabulous job keeping him in character. Its so nice to see his point of view. Are you thinking of doing a sequel? What about what he thinks during his extra Patronus sessions with Harry?

Speaking of which, I really love this line. "The wolf, at once his demon and his guardian." I always wondered what everyone else had for a Patronus - and I never would have thought of this for Remus, but its perfect!

Even without a sequal, it is really good. Great work. thanks!

Reviewer: ~*Pinny Whinney and the Guinea Pigs*~Date: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73141Chapter: 1
Wow! That was a really cool fic and i enjoyed it thoroughly! I absolutely adore Remus so i love every fic written about him. I love your style of writing and i hope you write many more stories!
Cya!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65266Chapter: 1
Awww... *sigh* I love remus...

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63625Chapter: 1
This is so well done. I love 'little Malfoy'!

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63601Chapter: 1
This is really good except that Remus does indeed say Voldemort.

Reviewer: P.D.YerfDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63571Chapter: 1
I loved it! I've always wanted to write a fic of this nature, but you beat me to it and did a wonderful job to boot! Great job, and keep writing!

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63556Chapter: 1
Interesting read. I spent two years writing PoA from Remus' point of view, so I know how difficult it is to mix in your own thoughts with those of JKR's. You've done a very nice job here of mixing the two together.

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63546Chapter: 1
Awww. that was cute. I really liked it. Cute but not fluffy, if you know what I mean. Keep writing and Update SOON!

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63507Chapter: 1
Ooooh, no, please don't make this only a one-shot!!!! This has the potential to become a really REALLY great full length story!!! It would be so cool if you did all of PoA from Remus's POV!!!!!!!!!! Please consider it!
Your Devoted Reader,
Margaret

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63442Chapter: 1
Well done! What a nice exploration of Remus' thoughts, and very in-character. As soon as I read your summary I thought "yes!" and I'm happy to see that you took your time and did an excellent job with the concept.
I particularly like the descriptions of Remus waking and listening.

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63435Chapter: 1
Great story! I love that you wrote this, having just recently re-read this passage in PoA, I wondered what was going on in Lupin's head during the train ride, not believing that he slept through the ride. You did JKR justice with this piece and I'd love to see a story from Lupin's POV for the entire school year.

Reviewer: walrusDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63289Chapter: 1
that was so fantastic, so in character, and so amazingly...Remus. He is my all time favorite Harry Potter character, and you just cleared up a lot of questions about that train ride. How about some more of that year from his point of view, hmmm? pretty please?

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63274Chapter: 1
What a great story! I really enjoyed your portrayal of Lupin in this scene. Getting his perspective of seeing Harry and comparing him with James... heart-wrenching. I loved how he felt protective of Harry, but felt hesitant to intrude. Thanks for a great read!

Reviewer: nana k.Date: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63268Chapter: 1
this was simply outstanding work. lupin is probably my fave supporting character, and your characterization was just pefect. it's a wonderful read.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --