The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Memory
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125858Chapter: 1
I've been re-reading the books in preparation for HBP, and while reading CoS (I'm a little behind), I could not stop thinking about your story every time Lockhart popped up. So I had to go search it out. Then I discovered that apparently I read it back in the days when I never reviewed. I've reformed my ways, and now I want to tell you that not only was this an excellent story that made creative and insightful use of a character we've never even met, but obviously in my case it was memorable -- one of the short list of fan fictions that have taken up permanent residence in my head, influencing what I think of the characters, not only when I come across Gladys Gudgeon, but Lockhart himself. Wonderful idea, and well executed.

Reviewer: EsraDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73838Chapter: 1
It amazes me the way in which you have taken a scrap of information, a brief mention of a name, and woven something so complex and wonderful out of it. Youíve turned an amusing minor detail into a beautifully poignant story. Gladys is so real, the descriptions of her are admirably concise but conjure up such a detailed picture of who she is, and the lovely, restrained style fits the story perfectly.

The last paragraph is particularly wonderful.

Iím never again going to be able to read about Lockhart without thinking of your Gladys.

Reviewer: ?Date: 2004-02-08
Reviewid: 69919Chapter: 1
Who was that? I don't get it. But it is good!

Reviewer: RonniekinsDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 64003Chapter: 1
I TOLD you people would like it if you uploaded it here! Ha!

Anywho, I read it again. I loffed it. Of course. :-D

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63914Chapter: 1
I really liked your opening lines. I like the narrative voice that seems to comment on the surroundsings. I also really like the idea of someone writing about Galdys Gundegeon and her obsession with Lockhart.

[Memories Ö
Remembrances of times gone by.] I don't think you need these lines here. The impact is greater when you go from the line of her being surrounded with gold picture frames to what is in the frames to the reader realising that pictures are all Gladys has left. Likewise, the "Memories. Inescapable memories" at the end isn't necessary. You've done such a good job of showing us GLadys remembering her husband and son that you don't need to tell us.

[In time, there comes a soft, familiar rush of feather-beaten air on her face. An echo of letters carried by school owls, as parchment falls onto her skirt. The lap of water from the bowl across the room, while the sun reaches through the open window, brushing her face with a warm tender touch. She breathes in the drifting scent of the zinnias in her garden.] This is a gorgeous, meloncholy image beautiful and sad at the same time. You've really captured this character, and the lonliness she feels, and have made me sympathize with her and with other eldery people who don't have much contact with the outside world. The image of the water tray and owl treats was so heartbreaking and you convay that this is all she has, this correspondence with Gilderoy. I never would have imagined a Gladys like this but you've given her depth and dignity. Lovely.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63883Chapter: 1
wow. a beautifully written fic. excellent.

Reviewer: Linnet GryffinDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63840Chapter: 1
Wow... this was beautiful. I dismissed Gladys as just another infatuated middle- aged lady, but this gave her a whole new light... I never made that connection with Davey Gudgeon...

Reviewer: PerryDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63801Chapter: 1
That was very beautiful and sad and such. I liked it a lot :-). It reminds me of the song Eleanor Rigby.

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63731Chapter: 1
that was perfectly written! so beautiful and poetic and sophisicated. Extremely Fabulous!

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63715Chapter: 1
Marvelously done. I don't even know what else to say about it, except that it's so good it gave me chills. I especially loved that line about "Her eyes twinkle, crinkle, and wrinkle" -- nice bit of writing. Excellent job all around.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63688Chapter: 1
Sadly sweet. As soon as I started reading, I realized you were going to link Gladys and Davey. And jsut that bit of foreshadowing gave the whole story more melancholy.

We can't laugh at Gladys any more, can we? And I guess you teach us that we never should laugh at the Gladyses of the world.

Well Done!!

Reviewer: AlaDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63670Chapter: 1
Wow- I'd never given Gladys Gudgeon a second thought till now- great idea, I love how you turned this into a story from just a few mentions in the books!!! lovely!
Ala

Reviewer: SasamiDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63667Chapter: 1
What a lovely story. I always dismissed Gladys Gudgeon in my head as another silly infatuated fangirl, but this story really brings to life another possibility. Very touching and sad.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63662Chapter: 1
This was on FictionAlley before, wasn't it? Anyway, let me commend you on writing such a great one-shot about Gladys Gudgeon. I think many people think of her as just another fangirl, but I think your interpretation of her as an old woman who's lost her family, and "adopted" Lockhart in a way, as very convincing. I'm a sports fan, and can tell you that while there are shallow fangirls, naive kids, etc., there are also fans like Gladys who really develop caring and concern for the "stars". Of course, I also find it sad and ironic that the man who Gladys has such genuine concern for is nothing more than a selfish fraud. But I suppose even stopped clocks are right twice and day, and it's nice to read a story where Lockhart seems to have done someone some actual good, even though that wasn't his actual intention.

Reviewer: darrel_doomvomitDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63660Chapter: 1
love it. yerp

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --