The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Destination Unknown
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: raisinghaleDate: 2006-03-30
Reviewid: 141467Chapter: 1
Wow. Really great story. I think it's one of the first that I've seen that goes so deeply into the life of Pettegrew (although I make no claim of having read any large portion of the stories present), and you've done it very masterfully. Also, I like the song. That always helps.

Reviewer: witch@heartDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122932Chapter: 1
This is probably the best Peter story I have seen to date. When one thinks about it, Peter Pettigrew is one of the most interesting characters in the Potterverse. He is a study in paradoxes: the Gryffindor who betrayed his friends out of fear, the weak boy powerful enough to wreck the great ones, the worshipful "acolyte" who destroyed everyone he loved. He is underused in fanfiction, and when he appears he is almost always apallingly two-dimensional. This story, however, delves deep into his point of view to show his version of events. You have shown the way he justifies his decisions, yet condwmns them. He hates himself, but cannot seem to kill his survival instinct. Most of all, you show the part of him that remains a Marauder. I think that Peter will save Harry sometime in future books, probably at the cost of his own life. This story paints a Peter who can finally dredge up the heart to do so. Great job!

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122920Chapter: 1
Excellent story! I still don't LIKE him, but I sure feel like I understand him better & that is all due to you & your wonderful detailing of life as Peter/Scabbers/Wormtail.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117501Chapter: 1
Wonderful Idea, well written -- quite enoyable.

Reviewer: MerlynDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116706Chapter: 1
Oh, my God.


You have officially written the first fanfic that made me cry.


That was amazing.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105983Chapter: 1
Powerful stuff. Surprised and overwhelmed by the writing. I had often thought of Peter/Wormtail similar to Gollum/Sméagol but I had not seen this concept so beautifully (and frightening) done.

Reviewer: AristotleDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97975Chapter: 1
I am absolutely speechless to the brilliance of this fanfic. It's absolutely brilliant. Just the way you portrayed Peter, having him think of himself as two different people, and all these thoughts and emotions...

I can't even begin to explain it. All I can do is applaud you.

Reviewer: LIWYDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88617Chapter: 1
I think you did a good job-it's not always easy to manage a disjointed P.O.V. well, but you pulled it off quite successfully.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88121Chapter: 1
I love this piece. It captures Peter's voice so well, and it just wonderfully written. I recced it on my LJ, hope that's okay. :) Thanks for sharing it.

Kate

Reviewer: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84599Chapter: 1
WOW.
This story is thick with emotion. I almost cried! Perhaps my favorite line was "He would sit back down and find himself split into two, Peter Pettigrew and Wormtail, sitting in one carriage facing each other. sooner or later, the train would crash, and only one of them would survive this crash. But which one? That depended on where this train was going." To be perfectly honest, I don't think of Wormtail quite like that. I don't think he fought as much. I don't think e thought about it as much. I think of him more as a rat, more selfish, more scheming, the kind of person who's, as Sirius put it in Prisoner of Azkaban, "own stinking hide meant more to him than your whole family!" I don't think he ever came close to standing up to Voldemort, but immidiately traded his best friends for his own life. But, on the other hand, I deeply appreciate your beautiful writing and an excellent sample of what might be the story of Peter Pettigrew. Wow, I really rambled on and on, didn't I? I rarely leave reviews and usually they're really short...
Keep writing.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82781Chapter: 1
very nice. interesting stream-of-consciousness, but it holds together well. you do a good characterization of Wormtail as weak but with good initial ideas.

Reviewer: NatashaDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82152Chapter: 1
Excellent work. I've seen a few Wormtail fics, but there are so few done well. People seem to want to forget that he -was- one of the Mauraders, and that his betrayal wouldn't have been a betrayal if there hadn't be a friendship there to betray.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79710Chapter: 1
Interesting that this story should come right after "Descent" in the listing. It's just as interesting a style, just as well-written, just as touching.

And it wraps up a very interesting view of Wormtail.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 77952Chapter: 1
*blink blink* I never thought -- I never imagined --... how could I feel compassion for _Wormtail_, of all people?

Your characterization is very strong; what I found most powerful was how you conveyed the ways he felt torn among his identities. You've articulated that despair well -- and the feelings of respite and relief your Wormtail felt at the Burrow.

Well done.

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77214Chapter: 1
Hey! All and all, I quite like it. It was a tad confusing with the tense changes. I wasn't sure if you were inside Peter's head when he betrayed Lily or James or after he betrayed them. Then it became apparent of the time-setting as I got further into the story.

I thought the characterization was welldone. We've seen so little of Peter, unlike a lot of the other characters...you can't tell if he is in character or not. It's a little hard to explain. Like we've barely seen enough of teen!Sirius...but the fics I've read that are based off Canon!Sirius is exactly what I pictured Sirius like as a teenager. But like with Peter, I would never be able to tell if James or Lily were OOC. It's kind of if the writer nails the right...feel of the imagined characterization.

And as far as that goes...you did great! Wonderful story, really!

Reviewer: SierraDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76799Chapter: 1
Wow!!! What a suprise that was! I thought it was very realistic, good job!I liked it. It almost made me cry several times.

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76615Chapter: 1
class a really good fic

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75833Chapter: 1
Starsea, this is an awesome story! There aren't many stories about Peter, and certainly not many I like, but this is very well done. It's always been hard for me to imagine why he would have betrayed them all like that, but not just be a spineless piece of nothing that everything thinks he is. You captured his self-torturing psyche very well. I like how Voldemort played on his fears and insecurities to recruit him, although I think Peter must have joined the Order sooner than you made out. I really liked your take on his thoughts during the Shrieking Shack. Very well done! I'd be interested in reading any other stories you write.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75574Chapter: 1
***Response***
Yes, brigit, I realised that afterwards I'd written the little note. :) I am waiting for my beta reader to reply to me about the second story I've sent her. Thanks for your review - well, your two reviews. ;) They made me very happy because you're one of my favourite writers. I'm glad you like the style, and I like Peter biting his finger too. So it was Goyle - well, nobody seems that upset about the mistake, but they ARE almost interchangeable!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75514Chapter: 1
I was scrolling through the reviews you've got and I saw that you wrote this:
"I'll have a couple of new stories here when the next submission date is decided. Look out for them."
You do know that existing authors don't need to wait for the submission date to submit stories, do you? You can submit whenever you want (after having them betaed, of course).

And now I'm writing a new review anyway, I would like to say that I loved the bit about Peter biting Goyle. :)

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75511Chapter: 1
This is a very interesting story about Peter. Not many people managed to actually give him a character of his own. I think you captured him well. I don't believe he enjoyed one moment in Voldemort's service. I can definitely see him mourn his friends and not being strong enough to change sides anyway.

I think the writing style you used (lack of quotation marks, lots of flashbacks) works very well. It fits Peter's character. Great job!

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73806Chapter: 1
Delightful story! I love how you captured Peter's (and/or Wormtail's) train of thought. I also like how you tied in the idea of a "runaway" train. Very cute!
Cheers!
-Ginny

Reviewer: RikkihjpDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73651Chapter: 1
Lately I've been thinking quite a bit about Wormtail and I've been trying to find away to express my feelings about him. I think that in many ways that he's a very difficult character tho get a solid idea of. I think that you did a most excellent job and he comes across in the story much as I have always assumed him to be.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71646Chapter: 1
I didn't want to read this. Who would want to read about Wormtail, you know? But I often like your thinking in the forums, so I thought maybe someone with a good brain like that could do something I'd find interesting with this character. And you did.

I've never been able to find a shred of good in Wormtail, but you've made me consider it. His actions in the books speak to power-worship and cowardice, but there is that time you mention when he bites Goyle's finger, which I don't know how to reconclie otherwise.--and it does sort of work, if there are the two versions of him, Peter and Wormtail.
Sure, it was confusing at times, but making a slightly mad man's head not at all confusing isn't properly portraying him, now, is it? I'm willing to re-read parts and think about them until they make sense, which they eventually did. So that was cool.

(I don't know if this is a good review. I've only recently started writing them.)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65958Chapter: 1
Hello everyone!

Many thanks for all the wonderful comments, everyone. Ajax, I realise that it was confusing, I didn't realise that I could use italics when submitting my piece. I'll know better next time. ;)

I'll have a couple of new stories here when the next submission date is decided. Look out for them.

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65914Chapter: 1
First, let me get my little bit of constructive criticism off my chest so that I can gush in piece ;)
This was very clearly written, except for the bits where Peter was talking to Voldemort and remembering conversations with Sirius at the same time (I think that's what was happening). In those sections it got a bit confusing and it was very hard to keep track of who was speaking.
Other than that, though, this was exceptional. I was so impressed. You got into Peter's head perfectly, and while there are many different possible interpretations of the character, you made yours ring true and really made me feel sorry for the character. To continue with your imagery, his life really has been a train wreck, hasn't it?
You have a gorgeous style which is very evocative, I found it very easy to visualise your scenes in my head. Peter pushing back his grey hair, little Ron bending over a rat, and the last scene with Pettigrew sitting by himself in a lonely compartment while the other three laugh in the next one over. It almost felt as if I was watching a movie in my head instead of reading it.
The ending was beautiful, very appropriate imagery.
A hearty congratulations on a superb piece of work.

Reviewer: Frank RawlandDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65238Chapter: 1
My impression of all the song fics I've read (which, admittedly, isn't more than a dozen or so) is that they torture the HP universe to make its characters and events fit the song's lyrics.

Yours is the first one where the lyrics are interpreted to fit the story (my impression, from reading GoF, is that Peter Pettigrew knows he's screwed up in a big way and doesn't know how to fix what he's done), and for that reason yours is the the only one I've liked.

Well done.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64622Chapter: 1
I admire you so much for this. I've no doubt that Peter must be extremely difficult to write, and for me you've succeeded totally in explaining why he did what he did and yet how he suffers for it every second of his miserable life. I was so moved by his grief at Sirius' death and his concern over how it would have affected Harry. There are so many stories which explore Remus' grief at being 'the only one left' because Wormtail 'doesn't count' or 'is lost', and it's great to be reminded of the part he may still have to play (like Gollum, indeed) because Harry saved his life.

There's so much more I'd like to say, and so many favourite lines I want to pick out, but I'd better not go on for too long - even though I feel your story deserves many more reviews than it has received so far. I suppose it's so close to Christmas that a lot of regular readers are just that bit too busy; I should be wrapping presents at this very moment, in fact!

Anyway, thank you for an amazing experience, and I'm looking forward more from you. Do you have anything in mind? I imagine that 'Destination Unknown' has been pretty draining; I've been astonished to find out at first hand just how much energy writing demands!

Have a very happy Christmas!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64186Chapter: 1
I really liked this. It was interesting how you kept merging the past with the present- it worked. The song was an inspiration- I haven't heard it in a long time and it really fits and sets the mood. Nicely done, and I hope we see more from you.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 64026Chapter: 1
Wow . . . that was awesome. The detail and emotion blew me away. Completely away. I'm not even on Earth anymore.

You did a beautiful job of connecting the dots. I can't wait for your next fic.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --