The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Some Holiday
Review(s): 47

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126593Chapter: 5
Well, stink sap isn't bubotuber pus...just kidding, I loved it.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-22
Reviewid: 117386Chapter: 5
Most Excellent Tale - Thanks.

Reviewer: Wind WitchDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117112Chapter: 5
Oooh, very good.

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115327Chapter: 5
Haha! Finally I get to review one of your stories after the wonderful reviews you have given me so far. Too bad I don't have as much to say about this as you have mine...I feel so horrible. It was funny, I started reading the first chapter and realized I had read it before and didn't remember the name of it to read the final chapter. I'll read and review your newer stuff soon, I swear. Overall, I loved it. The main place I got confused was when Hermione was explaining what happened when the Malfoys came to visit. I had to laugh about Arthur and the chess pieces and Harry's response to Ron's "H-how.." was priceless. Good job and I can't wait to get into your other stuff!

Vala

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113095Chapter: 2
That was chilling. But beautifully written - I really should be going to bed, but I'm on to Part II.

My favorite line, because it evoked so many emotions in so little words:

“I had to say ‘the Burrow’ about six times before he understood me on the Knight Bus,” she had barely whispered before tears finally began to course down her cheeks and Ron had appeared at her side.

She stood and let her defeated self collapse into him, now sobbing hysterically in a way Harry found oddly comforting. It was unlike the feeling he got from Ron, whose arms were around Hermione tightly, although he didn’t seem to be aware of that, or of anything else.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112330Chapter: 4
This is a really sweet story (apart from the horrors, of course) and there are loads of little lines I like. I really enjoy your style - relatively sparse in areas, so you can concentrate on others.

The only small nitpick I have is about the Knight Bus - I thought canon said it only worked in Great Britain? Didn't Stan say, 'Can't do nuffink underwater'? In that case, how would they get from Portugal to the Burrow?

Apologies if this is a downright stupid question - it's not all that important anyway, I suppose, but it's definitely something that made me stop and think, 'Hang on...'

Otherwise, well done!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 110008Chapter: 5
Awwww! Nicely done :)

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92666Chapter: 1
Don't let Hermione catch you calling those house-elves "pesky." Tsk tsk. ;)

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76517Chapter: 5
I really liked this little story! I wish there was more!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72173Chapter: 5
Wonderful. I enjoyed reading this short fic. Congratulations for completing.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70960Chapter: 5
I agree that you mixed in just the right touch of humor with the more serious elements of the story, such as Ron's explanation of how Ginny wound up with the Lovegoods (though mixed in quite well with Harry's revelation about her being bullied and how Hermione reacts), or the reference to the chess pieces staying still to pretend they're Muggle pieces. I also loved the way Ron talks about the Malfoys. I think you did a very good job of keeping everyone IC. Harry's self-blame is also in keeping with the end of OotP.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70719Chapter: 5
Wonderful. You mixed humor with drama in just the right proportions. I can't believe that I missed this story before; it's a great read, entertaining and sweet at the same time. Well done!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68361Chapter: 5
Nice little fic.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68358Chapter: 1
Oh, dear..... now what? Honestly, Draco couldn't keep away, could he?

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67194Chapter: 5
this was AWESOME!!!
i really liked it!

Reviewer: Stubefied (Re:Flooing and the question mark)Date: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67010Chapter: 5
Thanks, of course, to everyone who's reviewed! You make me jump around the house with happiness in a manner very disturbing to my poor family. I wasn't going to post in the review section of my own fic, but then Megan woke up the nit-picker in me. Thanks, Megan!

Megan is right about the question mark. And it should have been followed by quotation marks, too. They were there, originally, in the version my beta saw. But that version was in Microsoft Word-generated html, and it turns out that that is not very good html and is occasionally a hassle for the generous souls who post our stories for us. So I decided to re-code it all myself, and must have missed a bit with the cutting and pasting. Oops.

While I'm here:
Lilac--I knew I was a bit vague with the Flooing, but I didn't want to belabor a minor point. Molly was referring to Flooing as a mode of transportation, specifically, of escape from the Burrow if it were attacked.

Again, I'm so glad you liked what I did and thanks for the comments.

Stu

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67003Chapter: 3
After the sentence you ever hear of a movie called star wars, there should be a question mark.

Reviewer: BirtdDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66973Chapter: 1
OMG...Must you end it so early? It was excellent so far....Keep writing please!

Reviewer: H.Date: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66938Chapter: 5
Brilliant; I loved the way you kept the R/H subtle rather than giving them an all-out snogging session, and the writing was great.

I look forward to seeing more from you.

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66926Chapter: 5
WoW! This is really good! just one thing... it needs a sequel!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66917Chapter: 5
Great fic! Very intense at times. It's a good thing you included the humor to break the tension!

Love your name by the way...

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66859Chapter: 4
harry is an absolute idiot with girls. I must say that you were very true to the books, unfortunately.

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66845Chapter: 5
Very well done indeed. I thought the part where Ron was carrying her was a tad far-fetched, but the rest was canonically wonderful.

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66838Chapter: 3
"What's a movie?"

Haha! Good one. Ok, I must keep reading.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66827Chapter: 5
Okay, "flooed" means called, gotcha! This was a fun story, though with the darkness lingering from OotP. Nice ending. Nice R/H. Great job!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66822Chapter: 3
hee hee...nice nod to B Bennett's story, there! :)

One more person to floo? I'm not clear on that point. Maybe the next chapter will clear it up.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66764Chapter: 2
AWWW!
poor hermione. that was soooo sweet. ron carrying hermione and putting her in bed. awww. keep on writing this it's fantastic!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66761Chapter: 2
This is shaping up to be a very good summer story - dark but with still some glimpses of HP humour inside there. I love the way you describe Ron. Harry's guilt is horribly plausible, as is the Malfoy attack. I wonder what Draco and Lucius thought when they found Narcissa?

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66722Chapter: 2
*glares at Harry* They're going to KILL you once they find out you think it's your fault. Stupid idiot! Stop wallowing in self pity!

...Um. I mean. Hi. *waves to author* Uh, you'll have to excuse me, I got really into it for a minute there...this is really good, the characterization is fantastic and so is the fluff. The FLUFF! The wonderful FLUFF!

I want to compliment you on the idea of not bothering to explain too much. I get put off by stories very early on when the beginning is just like the beginning of the five books (HEH! FIVE books!) and it's mainly guessing as to what's going to happen. I think this is a much better way of starting a fanfiction - simply beginning right where the action starts, and getting rid of all the needless exposition.

Also, I LOVE your screen name. Brilliance.

I can't wait to see more!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66688Chapter: 2
So, so good. Poor hermione, how terrible. I love the whole Ron-Carrying-Hermione thing. Very sweet of him. Please continue.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66590Chapter: 2
Oh, I love how Ron comforted her! Very cute! Oh, dear...those poor Grangers! And Harry, thinking it's all his fault. This was really gripping, and I eagerly await more!

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66577Chapter: 2
:'( That made me cry! Please continue!

Reviewer: pabloDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66554Chapter: 2
a very nice story! the theme of danger to Hr's parents keeps recurring, but is usually not dealt with directly. I really liked that she managed to get them out of there herself. And Harry's point about the memory of others' pain was very perceptive...

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66517Chapter: 2
Come on come on... need more.
Mask
P.S Will withold furthur comment till the 'more' as mentioned beforehand is forthcoming :0)

Reviewer: LilyDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65406Chapter: 1
OH NO. HERMIONE!!!! Glad to know they're ok. Great story so far though. It's really good. Just hope that you finish it unlike SOME people I know. Oh well you're story was reall good.

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 65000Chapter: 1
This is a very good story so far! I really want to know what happens next!!!!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64488Chapter: 1
interesting. Keep going, it has an interesting beginning. = )

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2003-12-21
Reviewid: 64294Chapter: 1
I'm very intersted to see where this is heading- please update soon!
~AB

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-12-21
Reviewid: 64236Chapter: 1
More, more, more. Thank you. lol. So far, so good! lol :)

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64193Chapter: 1
Wow, this seems intriguing. Very good beginning. Can't wait to see the rest.

Reviewer: BitzDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64192Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!
i h8 cliff hangers !
plz this story is REALY kl - i must hav mor!!!!!!!
i lke th last line !

Reviewer: ChanonDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64095Chapter: 1
Wow, I'm impressed it seems very exciting allready! Make sure you post asap!

Reviewer: FeeDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64089Chapter: 1
Well done. I really liked how you had Harry and Ron being typical teenage boys at the beginning, 'burping' *laughs*. Poor Harry - he always gets beaten at chess by Ron - I liked this in the story. I am interested to know exactly what has happened to Hermione and her parents to prevent them from being in Europe and presumably 'safe'. And why could Hermione (quote) <only meet Harry’s eyes fleetingly before she announced, “We’ve had a visit from the Malfoys.” > hmmmm...

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64057Chapter: 1
I'm intrigued and anxiously awaiting the next chapter. It sounds promising.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64052Chapter: 1
Wow.... this is too good a foundation... where is this story going, I wonder. Please update soon.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64047Chapter: 1
Oh, no! What did those terrible Malfoys do to her and her family! Can't wait for the next update!

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2003-12-19
Reviewid: 64037Chapter: 1
1st to review! tee hee. : )
any way. this is awesome so far! i wanna know what happens next!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --