The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Turning the Corner
Review(s): 98

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-16
Reviewid: 144819Chapter: 22
I couldn’t buy your arguing that it is harder to refuse than to ask for a date.
The stones were a great idea. And as your tale shows, anything can be misused.
Overall – fantastic, wonderful, a very enjoyable read.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123242Chapter: 5
Poor Michael! The pains of a first love are so real here. It seems Harry isn't the only one who's clueless about girls. The flying scene was priceless. This has got to be my favorite line though:

[After all, people who know each other well are supposed to feel comfortable together. I didn’t have to keep asking Terry if he still wanted to be my friend!]

Were you a teenage boy in a previous life? The logic is just so spot on. I haven't read a first person, teenage boy POV this good in a long time. It makes me a little nostalgic for high school.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123241Chapter: 4
[It was impossible not to wonder who the victims of these discussions were. I hoped none of them was myself. Then I realised what it would mean if none of the girls was talking about me, and started to hope that one of them was myself. Decent but brainless? Handsome but arrogant? Merely “sweet”? Oh, Merlin, which was the worst fate?]

Hahaha! You really get inside the mind of a teenager. You capture all the worries and anxiety, yet it's not angsty but is instead rather poignent.

Ooooh, can't wait to find up what sort of evil Malfoy is up to. The whole stone color code arrangement is quite clever and I can't wait to see how the bet turns out!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122678Chapter: 3
[but Padma said that Muggle Indian costume would look stupid at a wizarding ball]

I gues the costume designer for the GoF movie wasn't listening! Then again, this is the person who put Hermione into frilly fushia robes. :)

The boy's POV about a ball was really good. I can see the girls getting all excited and the boys not caring much about it. I liked how the Slytherins had Herbology with the Ravenclaws and I liked the scene where the Slytherin boys and girls are gossiping about getting dates. The dialogue fel very natural, as if I was easdropping on them.

This fic is so much fun! It should be required reading before anyone sees GoF!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122677Chapter: 2
[Professor Flitwick appeared in the doorway and gently reminded us, “Friends, I know it’s Corner’s birthday, but that’s a little louder than necessary. Can’t you revel without carousing?”]

Hehe. That sounds just like Flitwick. I bet he's a great Head of House.

[her hair like a black satin bell-rope] great description

Loved the charmed book! Awesome invention! I really like hearing Michael's POV about Hogwarts. It's so interesting to see the events in canon from another POV. You are the queen of capturing missing moments!

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121192Chapter: 22
I very much enjoyed this story! I usually stick to one shots, but yours was really engaging and original. I liked how you created new characters that were so developed for having so many. Great job. :)

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119881Chapter: 18
Okay, you can have all the obsessions with rainbows that you want, but I demand that you change Ginny's robe color this instant. Honestly! You do such a superb job filling in the background details, but don't go mucking about with cannon. I forbid it!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112758Chapter: 22
Wow! I loved this. I started reding it and just couldn't tear my eyes away from the screen. You have really brought life to an obscure character-I really like Micheal. He's so honourable, I really liked the way he cheered up that first year girl. You characterised everyone perfectly and really brought the world of Hogwarts to life. You have also made me truly loathe Blaise Zabini and Malfoy (well, actually, I loathed him already). I was glad in the end when Zabini had to give up his takings, but I wish Malfoy had been punished too. That boy is such a little ferret.
I think you have done marvellously well in portraying a pre- dance school and introducing us to many lovable characters who were previosly just words on a page- I think Corner will suit Cho very well. He's rather like Cedric in many ways- honourable, gentle, kind. Well anyway this was an amazingly inventive and insightful story- could there be a sequel? Please?

Reviewer: ToadieDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98052Chapter: 22
I absolutly loved this story. I found the story yesterday and couldn't stop reading.
I really liked the way Ginny and Michael met... love at first sight ... and I like the way you portray Michael. He does seem like a person who would break up with Ginny to comfort a crying Cho.
I also liked the Slytherins: Nott, Blaise and Malfoy and their typical behaviour. I knew Blaise wouldn't be able to win the bet.
Padma was very IC as well, just as I imagined her. It's nice to read a story that doesn't centre around Harry & the Gryffindors for a change, especially if it's written as wonderfully as this.

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93429Chapter: 22
This is one of the most excellent HP fanfiction i have ever read!! Keep up the good work!! :D

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84061Chapter: 18
Rainbow green?

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81863Chapter: 18
"I tried to push my way forward. “Don’t push!” exclaimed Penelope Clearwater irritably. Then I realised that there was nothing I could do even if I did reach the scene of the crisis, so I stopped trying."

Very noble of him to want to try at least. I suppose it's stating the obvious to say he's a very caring individual. ;)


"Her hair and eyes were made of fire and her skin was made of snow. Her robes (rather faded) were rainbow-green. In fact I would have believed her if she’d said she had stepped off a rainbow a minute ago, her colours were so clear and soft and bright. I stared and stared."

Awww. The moment of truth, so to speak. I do believe he's smitten! You've made it very clear that Michael is a lovely boy, but he's also idealistic and susceptible to love at first sight.


"Eventually I remembered that Luna was my partner this evening; I must pay attention to Luna. So I craned my neck and stared down at Luna’s plate."

*laughs* Oh, Michael, you darling.

Excellent chapter, your writing is wonderful as usual and the touch of humour true to form. I had to take a break for a few days, but I did recieve your email (thank you!) and now I'm going to finish the story. (You don't happen to be planning a sequel, are you?)

Reviewer: MajickDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81434Chapter: 22
What a wonderful story. Sweet,funny, and thoroughly enjoyable. It's a pleasure to read a story with a good heart to it, rather than one where the characters exist only in their own worlds and for their own desires.

Your Michael exists in a fully formed world that has little to do with Gryffindor and Harry Potter, although familiar touchstones exist to guide us through the chapters. The interactions between Michael and the other Ravenclaws - and between Ravenclaws, Slytherins and Hufflepuffs - ring true, and the freindships that exists between Michael and Terry is every bit as full as that which exists between Terry and Ron.

Well done on coming up with a story where Michael is a fully-formed character, rather than someone Ginny just settles for as she moves past her crush on Harry. He is kind and caring - despite what he may think of himself - and seems like a good person. That things do not work out between him and his fire-maiden is a shame, although one senses that his life will have been enriched by being around someone who, perhaps, will have shown him the virtues of not taking himself so seriously. Until he learned to laugh about himself, he would not have been suitable for Ginny, but he did, and so he was. While I doubt the stability of he post-OotP relationship between himself and Cho Chang, if JKRs Corner is anything like yours, he may be just the person to set Ravenclaw's Seeker back on track, and maybe bring a smile to her face.

As for Blaise Zabini... At the end, I was cheering Malfoy on. What a wonderfully slimy, self-obsessed and downright despicable excuse for a human being. He must have been a lot of fun to write :-)

Thank you for a wonderful story, and I hope to see more from you in the future.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81428Chapter: 17
"She was wearing huge dangly earrings, shaped like snowflakes, and a sparkly snowflake headpiece, which looked as if it belonged on a Christmas tree rather than on a person. Despite her obvious attempt to follow a seasonal snow theme, I was struck by how bridal she looked."

LOL. I'm not sure why that strikes me as being so funny, but it's certainly SO Luna. Excellent chapter - I told myself I'd review each one as I went along but as it turns out I'm too lazy for that. My apologies. You should still know I love this fic to death!!

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81401Chapter: 8
" When a person of Crabbe’s size threatens a woman’s safety, every man has a moral duty to learn more." Gah! Why? You make me love Michael despite myself. Brilliant line, though. I enjoy how chrivralous he is - but with a touch of flightiness in him, so the breakup later on with Ginny is explainable. Excellent job with this fic - I've been reading it for days now and recommending it left, right and center. ;)

Reviewer: KatiejuneDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80413Chapter: 22
This story is fabulous! After reading All Night Long, which I also enjoyed immensely, I went back to read any thing else you had written. I was not disappointed. This was probably the most through, most professionally written piece I have read, and that is saying a lot because there are quite a few very good authors on this site. I loved the story, seeing life at Hogwarts from secondary characters from really helped round out daily life at Hogwarts. I only hope I don’t get confused when reading books 6 & 7! The characterization was so vivid and developed! You didn’t leave anyone out! I really enjoyed the extras about who was going with whom and who was wearing what from a boys point of view. I loved the side plot with Malfoy he is so terrible, I would watch out, if your son is already thinking of things like Silencing Varnish you’d better keep an eye on him! Please put me on a fan list to email when you write another story.

Reviewer: RonniekinsDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79954Chapter: 22
Ooh, that was wonderful.
That a Michael Corner fic actually EXISTED was enough reason to read this, as one of my friends said, and this was amazing. I loved the way you've written the Yule Ball, and expanded it far beyond what we saw in GoF.
Michael's character was definitely fleshed out--I felt as if he was a real person, with real problems just like me. The other Houses, which we don't see much of in canon, were very nicely written as well.
Kudos on a job well done!

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79643Chapter: 22
Wow! I couldn't stop reading. I ought to get to bed it's so late. But not before I tell you how fabulous that story was. It seemed to keep eo canon so well. So many minor characters brought to life and given major personalities. Brilliant! Well Done Grace - You fully deserve to be on the Professors Shelf.

Reviewer: Thomas Henry Guy the 8thDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79609Chapter: 1
wow... gee, thats a lot of questions to answer...

Reviewer: RonniekinsDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79548Chapter: 2
This is very interesting. I love fics from minor character's perspective's, and this certainly is a good one. I love the way you've fleshed out Michael's character. However, I do have a quibble. Sometimes you use some words that are just out of context with the rest of the fic. For example: "
I realised Padma was a seriously cool girl."

The word "cool", and especially "seriously" before it, just don't fit in with the rest of this. Otherwise, this is a very nice fic, and I will continue with it!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79124Chapter: 22
I didn't happen across this fic until it was all complete, but I loved reading your depiction of Michael Corner! You make him out to be a very decent chap, even though rather clueless when it comes to women. You even foreshadow his eventual break-up with Ginny in OotP by characterizing him as the type to suddenly fall for girls and think of them in flowery poetic terms, even if they might be ultimately incompatible. I thought Luna's characterization was also great; I can totally see her using the Yule Ball as an opportunity to get journalistic leads from the foreign students. The Zabini/Malfoy bet was a hilarious sidebar, though my perception of Malfoy is that he isn't as smart as you portray him to be. The "Tepes" reference totally flew over my head until I did a Google search, but when I did, it immediately made sense. But of course, Hermione would know about it. :)

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79121Chapter: 22
I love this story! Malfoy and Zabini are despicable, I adore Luna, Ginny is fantastic, Colin ROCKS, and the little hero, Corner, is very well written. I'm sorry I didn't finish it earlier - I started a while ago, but forgot about it. What a mistake. I love the characterization of everyone - this is one of those stories I just KNOW I'm going to get mixed up with the canon every time I read the books or try to write a story. Very, very, good job. Thanks so much.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75466Chapter: 22
>>“I was way too excited to sleep,” a ring-eyed Creevey was explaining to his friends, “So I didn’t go to bed at all, I stayed up all night to develop this lot. My brain just wouldn’t shut up until I’d printed out every last one. Hi, Michael! I have a great one of you and Luna over here!”<<

Yes, Colin of the boundless energy!

>>She would appear in the Great Hall eventually. Everyone needs to eat, and if she didn’t want brunch, there would be afternoon tea, or dinner. And when she arrived, she would find me waiting for her. I would wait all day if need be.

Ginny. My rainbow. My fire-maiden. My dream-come-true and laughter. The girl with amber in her eyes.<<

What a perfect note to end on - LOL! I've grown so fond of Michael, I'm sad to say goodbye. Thank you for writing this sweet, funny story!

~Katinka :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75465Chapter: 21
>>He has the most exciting news – he has an uncle who knows where the giants are! He was just telling me that he can help arrange an expedition to meet them and negotiate an interview. Daddy will be so pleased!”<<

Hee hee! You've written a delightfully in-character Luna.

>>The compère from the Weird Sisters was saying something about this dance being the opportunity for those who had come to the ball with someone special. “You’ll never forget this moment, so select your partners carefully!”

I have, I have! I thought.<<

LOL! Michael's so earnest!

>>She missed the beat of the dance for a second, as if the question had thrown her. I had been tactless. She would despise me. But she regained her composure with a resolute shake of her head.

“No. Nobody who counts for anything. I’m on my own.”<<

Aaahhh...as someone who's a sucker for H/G, that made me sniff.

>>Ginny … I had met Ginny … and all I could think about was a pair of amber eyes.<<

I've really enjoyed your scenario of how Ginny and Michael could have met. I get the sense of, "Yes, this is just how it could have happened." I can easily see how Ginny could enjoy Michael's attentiveness and company, even if they might not be suited for the long-term.

Another element of this chapter that I appreciated is how Michael continues to mark what his friends and other couples are doing. That makes it not seem as though he, Luna, Neville, and Ginny are the only attendees at the Ball. :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75464Chapter: 20
>>“A red stone means she was willing to have sex with you.”<<

I wonder if Cneajna's might have had other plans, given her ancestry. Eeep!

>>Zabini sprang almost to Malfoy’s throat. “That’s twice you’ve cheated this evening!”

Malfoy shrugged. “Binding magical contract, Zabini. You give me your money or you suffer the curses.”<<

You know, it *is* rather refreshing to see Malfoy be nasty to someone other than Harry. ;)

Ooh, almost done!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75463Chapter: 20
>>“A red stone means she was willing to have sex with you.”<<

I wonder if Cneajna's might have had other plans, given her ancestry. Eeep!

>>Zabini sprang almost to Malfoy’s throat. “That’s twice you’ve cheated this evening!”

Malfoy shrugged. “Binding magical contract, Zabini. You give me your money or you suffer the curses.”<<

You know, it *is* rather refreshing to see Malfoy be nasty to someone other than Harry. ;)

Ooh, almost done!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75462Chapter: 19
>>“I hope I didn’t miss anything by not going to those practices,” worried Longbottom.

“Probably not, it wasn’t difficult,” Ginny reassured him.<<

Don't speak too soon, Ginny! :P

>>Roger Davies and Fleur Delacour were gliding onto the floor, as if the whole hall belonged only to them. For a moment I could have believed it did, they melted so effortlessly into the music. But Diggory and Cho Chang glided after them, a little less expert, but a sublimely beautiful couple. Then came the flat-footed Krum, touching Hermione Granger’s waist as lightly as if she were porcelain, and Parvati Patil, firmly locking Potter into precise circles.<<

Great description! I really like that paragraph. Michael's the type to notice those sorts of details.

>>“Luna’s a comet,” was all I could think of to say, “never trapped in anyone else’s orbit.”

Luna giggled, as if I had said something terribly witty, but Susan looked bewildered, trying to work out the logic of the joke.<<

Hee! It's just like Luna to take that without offense. :)

>>She looked into my eyes – she had wonderful eyes, of the brightest amber-brown – and smiled as she rose to her feet. And as the Weird Sisters struck up an allegro, Ginny Weasley was in my arms. She’s a rainbow. She’s a snowflake. She’s a fire. She’s a dream …<<

jasd;lfasjdlfkjasdlkfasdlkf; :D

>>I followed her gaze. Longbottom was very politely holding out his hand to Millicent Bulstrode, even though she was twice his size and scowling ferociously. <<

*adores Neville*

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75085Chapter: 18
>>“I have a krauty one too!” Montague called over his shoulder. “Anyone else want a go at getting off with the foreigners?” There was some enthusiasm in the crowd, and he threw a small cabbage-shaped charm to his friend Warrington.<<

Well now, *that* was classy, Montague! It's a good thing, for his sake only, that his date doesn't have a better grasp of English.

>>Odd, I thought. Roger Davies had dominated our common room every day for three and a half years. And Tracey Davies had been in our Herbology class for two and a half years. Yet I had never made the connection that they were siblings. <<

Huh. Neither had I.

>> She was the most ethereal vision in the world.

Her hair and eyes were made of fire and her skin was made of snow. Her robes (rather faded) were rainbow-green. In fact I would have believed her if she’d said she had stepped off a rainbow a minute ago, her colours were so clear and soft and bright. I stared and stared.<<

Woohoo! Michael's back in top form. The bloke really knows how to appreciate female beauty. :D I once knew a fellow whose eyes were the same gorgeous russet shade as his hair, so I like the phrasing of "her hair and eyes were made of fire".

>>I was jealous of Zacharias and Tracey for sitting between me and the fire-maiden,<<

Bwah! :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75083Chapter: 17
>>In the afternoon, a strange gloom settled down on me. The girls, and some of the boys, were shrieking with laughter, but I didn’t feel like admiring my new possessions any more. I knew why, too. It was happening. The long-expected Yule Ball was upon us. It could not be avoided. Everyone else had a partner. And I was only going for the food.<<

*giggles*

>>Luna wrestled with her surprise for a very short time, but it was obvious what she wanted. “All right, then. But you need to understand, Michael, that just because we’re going to the ball together, that does not make me your girlfriend. It’s just for this evening, and only for dancing and conversation, all right?”<<

sdgdfsdsgdhjlhjasfa;jkj! How sweet of Michael to ask Luna, and good on her for making her "principles" clear. ;)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74866Chapter: 16
>>Jennifer stared at me defiantly. “I don’t care what anyone thinks – I’m going with Colin Creevey. And proud of it!”<<

Oh, this whole scene is too funny (says she who was a school year ahead of her husband, and is now even in a different decade). Easy, Jennifer, easy!

>>Let’s have a go at the Congo.<<

LOL, I can totally see Prof. Dumbledore at the head of that line!

It can't be much longer until this all blows up in Zabini's face...

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74865Chapter: 15
>>I managed to throw a couple of good hexes at Moody in our final DADA lesson. He said there was some real passion in my aim. I didn’t tell him that it wasn’t hatred at all, just exasperation with silly girls.<<

hee hee

>>On the way out I nearly collided with a pretty girl with a dazzlingly clear complexion.<<

Woohoo, Eloise! :D

>>I’m being paranoid because I’ve had to settle for whomever I could get instead of having a real choice.<<

This is probably the point when Michael wishes he weren't listening to the conversation, right? ;)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74864Chapter: 14
>>The scene that followed was extremely wet.<<

adkfja;sldjfa; A very boyish observation!

>>And he said, ‘Well, do you want to go to the ball with a bloke who’d rather be taking someone else?’”<<

Ouch. That goes down on the list of "Things You Just DO NOT EVER SAY to a Girl".

>>“Sorry. I didn’t mean to be – well, anything, really. I was just thinking about the difference between wanting a particular partner and wanting any partner. It’s not at all the same kind of misery.”<<

So Ravenclaw, although I've got to question the appropriateness of saying that out loud at the time. ;) You really do a great job of subtly indicating the characters' house affiliations through their actions and thought processes.

>>“I believe,” I agreed, “that if you look cheerful and friendly, there would be a couple of boys out there who’d invite the two of you as friends. Otherwise, of course, you can always go to the ball only for the food.”<<

Maybe *Michael's* the Seer? :D

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74862Chapter: 13
>>Daphne Greengrass had such a regal carriage and perfect figure that her friends called her “Queenie”, but she had the repellingly imperious manners to match.<<

Hey, you single-handedly resolved the conflicting name issue with Ms. Greengrass! :) Good for you!

>>Pansy, Daphne and Millicent lost interest and moved back to their flowers, but Tracey, with a malicious gleam in her eye, said, “Go on, Flavia – you can tell me.”<<

Very Slytherin of her!

Catty, catty girls -- but from my best recollections, nothing brings out the claws like the prospect of a dance. ;)

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72934Chapter: 22
Wonderful as always. I'm sad that you've finished but on the other hand, I can now go back and reread it and find all the little details that I probably missed. I'm glad Padma and Michael sort of reconciled with each other. This story was amazing from beginning to end, the characters were all sympathetic and well developed and I loved the sideplot of the bet between Zabini and Malfoy. Really well done!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72473Chapter: 11
>>There was something drearily familiar about seeing a girl sitting alone in the hall, so I approached cautiously.<<

Heh heh, he HAS had a lot of that lately, hasn't he?

>>She wouldn’t go with me, because I had asked her wrongly, but she’d go with Zabini, because … because he had eyelashes? If vanity had been a porcelain vase, mine would have just shattered into a thousand pieces.<<

skfjdlkfjaslkdfjkl Dear, sweet Michael. ;)

>>“Are you really suggesting,” Tracey cut in furiously, “that I’m not the human face of Beauty? That my lightest glance doesn’t inspire a volume of poetry? That my tornado of invitations to this ball won’t drive me to Confundus?”<<

My kids are sleeping, so I trying to snicker *quietly* at all this. :D I believe I've used lines similar to Tracey's on my own husband.

>>I wasn’t ready to use words like “peaceful” or “relaxing” out loud, but already I was thinking them in my mind.<<

So in touch with his feelings!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72463Chapter: 10
I like the way you've made the Ravenclaws and Hufflepuffs chummy. They don't seem to have the kind of animosity between their houses as Gryffindor and Slytherin do.

"Transcendent Love Affair" -- hee hee Sounds like he's more been more in love with the idea of being in love.

Hmm...Zacharias and Parvati don't work out, obviously, so I'm curious to see what will happen to them.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72461Chapter: 9
>>We spent the Muggle Studies class bewitching a velly tision set so that it only brasscorded a reflection of the scene in the classroom in front of it, and we didn’t listen when we were told that Muggles called this a “sozed klirkit V.T.”<<

hee hee Yeah, you've got to think their Muggle Studies course is probably a little backwards. Arthur Weasley works with Muggle stuff all the time and he still can't get names right!

>>I realised I hadn’t asked her directly, but I did think it was an unfair splitting of hairs. “Well, we’ve both talked about the ball on the assumption we’re going together. There didn’t seem to be any point in asking you once we both understood that.”<<

Dude, SUCH a Ravenclaw! ;) Well, at least he and Padma know where they stand with each other now.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72453Chapter: 8
>>“You ask a third-year girl to the ball, and what’s she going to say? Of course she’ll accept you. If she doesn’t, she can’t go at all. The average third-year would accept a date with the Giant Squid rather than miss out on the Yule Ball."<<

asjdf;asdlfj;ad So hilarious, and sadly, so true. :) Fourteen year-old females can be rather transparent.

>>Apparently it would, but I lost concentration at this point. What on earth was Padma playing at? And with Zabini! She was no fool; presumably she had worked out that Zabini’s invitation had not been a serious one; and presumably she had given him a frivolous answer.<<

You can just see Michael's Ravenclaw mind whirring with this one.

>>"Second, you don’t ask Bulstrode. She’s not a woman."<<

Okay, I shouldn't laugh at that one, as it's rather mean, but Draco's mode of delivery was funny. ;)

Eeep! Michael's been discovered!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72437Chapter: 7
>>“Yes, that’s really bad, as you said. But did I miss something? It’s not as if Mr Disappointing has actually done anything wrong. You said he was never an official boyfriend. So presumably he’s free to take whomever he likes to the ball.” I didn’t get it. Did girls think they had the right to reciprocal interest from any boy they fancied?<<

*rolls eyes* Of course we do, Michael! He was quite funny in that conversation -- Such A Boy.

>>“Library.”<<

Woohoo! And I bet I know what Viktor's gonna do there! :D

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72436Chapter: 6
Well, so far, this chapter has inspired an urge to kick Blaise Zabini soundly. ;)

>>“Some people take years to work out their own weaknesses.” I’d read that line in a book somewhere, and I was glad it had come in useful.<<

asd;alskdjf;dk Michael doesn't have a copy of "Women are from Venus, Men are from Mars" on his bedside table, does he?

>>Professor Dumbledore wouldn’t want an eleven-year-old girl to be drinking mulled mead at a late-night party surrounded by ravening Slytherin boys.<<

LOL, Michael's adorably noble. Such a gentleman!

Hmm...I'm curious as to who asked Ginny to the Ball.

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72138Chapter: 22
Brava! Wonderful work. I think it's a testament to how fun it's been for me to follow this story that I've posted a comment three times - something I've never done! You've done such a great job with all of the characters, and I will miss Michael's very comical matter-of-factness. That is, unless you treat your readers to another great story...

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71933Chapter: 22
Wonderful, wonderful story. I'm glad it's all worked out wonderfully. It's been fun-amusing, touching, and sweet. ^_^

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71930Chapter: 17
How fitting! Michael is going with Luna! Very sweet of him. ^_^

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71926Chapter: 9
Again, I return. This is a lovely story, and Michael's view as a thickheaded boy hehe is very darling, fresh, and wonderful. I am still reading (you've been updating so often!) but at a snail's pace. I love the twists and turns and the Padma and Parvati issues that fit wonderfully with canon yet in itself is a completely spiffy story.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71877Chapter: 22
Grace, milady, that was incredible!

I don't know *why* I didn't realize that you had a story up here sooner! And, wow, that you were good at writing! (personally, I like this story much, much better than your artwork, but that really is because this story was v. cool!)

You tied together a lot of things I never even thought of! That Tracey and Roger were related! And the personalities of all the different characters seemed so real! And just why Padma and Parvati were available...(though why Dean asked Eloise instead of Parvati, I'll never know...) Every single character written in here was believable, from Terry to Ginny to Cneaja Tepes (I think I spelled that wrong...)

And also, major points for giving Michael such character. Most stories make him look like such a git. I like that he was very *serious* about Padma, and Penelope's book was a riot!

I'll have to disagree with you about those extra girls in Gryffindor. I'm sorry, but if Jennifer Rivers and Lilith Moon had existed, we'd have heard of them by now. That said, you took something that I didn't believe in and made me almost completely believe it! That was really, really cool.

Zabini's bet was horrible and disgusting (poor Millicent! To not be thought a girl, and yet willing to have sex with Zabini! Oh dear...) but completely made sense. And I completely agree, Blaise *would* be a boy, and he *would* be devastatingly handsome.

And you blended in OotP stuff nicely too, Luna and the giants and Zacharias... you're showing us a side of Hogwarts Harry never gets to see (too wrapped up in Voldemort, of course).

Anyway, I bet this review sounds really trite and cliche and like a thousand other onese you've read so far (except that they probably all included the good parts to thank you for that I left out...) but this really was a cool story!

Now, what do you have planned next, hm? I'd *love* to see Michael's take on the relationship in OotP. And do you think Ginny was serious about going with Dean? I think she was, but I'd love to see what you think about it.

anyway, the whole thing was amazing and believable and completely in canon and really cool, so hats off to you, and write another story soon!

~TPR

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71785Chapter: 22
Just want you to know that I really enjoyed this story. Will there be another story with the break up???
Keep writing!

Reviewer: DDDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71761Chapter: 22
Excellent story - I'm sad that it's over so soon, but hopefully there will be a ball in either book 6 or 7 (of Canon) and you can write a sequel.

The plotting and pacing were excellent, I liked the questions in the prologue as a way to generate interest and I thought you did a really good job (unlike most stories I've read) of portraying a male point of view on relationships (although the part at the end where he starts falling in love is a bit strong - in my opinion).

Overall, of all the stories I've read, this definitely counts as one of my favourites and one I'd recommend to others.

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71715Chapter: 1
oh! why is this finished! this is a brilliant fic!I really like how you chose Michael as your main character, he works really well, and you developed such a minor person into such a great one!!! wow, i loved this! grr, malfoy's such a cheater!!!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71702Chapter: 1
R/H all the way. Any other ship is inferior, and I like H/G as a side ship. Anyway, the Yule Ball is done, and I couldn't care what everyone else thought of it. All that matters is that Harry, Ron, and Hermione didn't have a good time, but they're all alive. I don't think I want to read any more of this story.

Reviewer: DexDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71648Chapter: 22
Very nice! We readers don't spend very much time around the Ravenclaws, and I enjoyed watching things play out. (Of course, I had some trouble following who had asked whom, but then again, I had trouble in school as well . . .)

Reviewer: MelanieDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71634Chapter: 22
This story was so good!I like the last chapter the best but the whole story was great!!

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71587Chapter: 17
Ummm... it's Borreé, with 2 r's... sorry, this really bothers me because I play this song on my violin and... yeah... the funny thing is I also play the Gavotte and Minuet, too. Great story so far! Can't wait to finish!!

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71553Chapter: 19
I've been thoroughly enjoying this story - thank you! It's clever and well-written and funny and believable. Michael is quite a sympathetic character with a good heart! My favorite line in the most recent chapter:

“Good evening, Michael,” said Justin Finch-Fletchley. “Come to join the solar system?”

“What, are we planets?” asked Susan Bones.

It was odd how Justin had perceived them as a stellar system too, as if he had read my mind. “Luna’s a comet,” was all I could think of to say, “never trapped in anyone else’s orbit.”

Thanks for your wonderful work and frequent updates! It feels like we're nearing the end of the story, but I wish it'd go on forever. :)

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71483Chapter: 19
Wonderful! Zacharias and Tracey make a great pair and that was an interesting twist to have Michael go with Luna. I agree with Ginny completely, Neville is a darling. And of course, I was glad to see that you know your Douglas Adams unless you were referring to the biblical Babel in which case, it's wonderful to see you know your Bible. I'm glad you're posting these so quickly. As for Eloise and Lee, in my fic, they're only mentioned briefly in passing. Can't wait for the rest!

Reviewer: Becky G.Date: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71400Chapter: 16
How is it possible for Michael to be such a cool person? It's wonderful. I love him. This is wonderful. It's so great how the Ravenclaws are so logical. It's hilarious when they're all logical together. I don't know why, it just is. And I loved with all my heart and all my soul: "“Are you really suggesting,” Tracey cut in furiously, “that I’m not the human face of Beauty? That my lightest glance doesn’t inspire a volume of poetry? That my tornado of invitations to this ball won’t drive me to Confundus?”" It was in a previous chapter. It's the absolute best line of the century. I think I just might have to make it my away message-is that okay?

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71344Chapter: 16
You and I must think fairly alike. I gave Eloise Midgen a Gryffindor date too (except I gave her Lee Jordan). I'm so glad you've got your NEWTs. You deserve them! Plus it means that chapters will be up faster. These three chapters are wonderful as usual, I'm still sympathetic to Zacharias, after all, he is a boy and they're usually quite clueless at that age. Just look at Ron! Keep up the good work, I can't wait for the rest!

Reviewer: remembercedricDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71333Chapter: 11
Sorry for how short this is going to be, but I had to write quickly how brilliant these lines are:

"She wouldn’t go with me, because I had asked her wrongly, but she’d go with Zabini, because … because he had eyelashes? If vanity had been a porcelain vase, mine would have just shattered into a thousand pieces."

Onward and forward,

remembercedric

Reviewer: remembercedricDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71331Chapter: 10
I really like the "voice" you're using for Michael. My favorite thing about him (I have no idea if this was intended or not...if not, then never mind) is that he's egotistical enough that he just states everything about himself plainly, even the flaws, so that the reader gets an accurate picture of him.

My favorite line in this chapter:
"And there is no need for the rest of you to stop working – you’ve all seen incompetent idiots destroying their potions before.”

VERY Snape-esque. :)

Also, I'm not sure (I haven't had time to check here every day lately), are you uploading multiple chapters at a time? If so, you'd probably get a lot more reviews if you spread them out a little.

remembercedric

PS I love this chapter title

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71271Chapter: 13
You posted about seven chapters at once, right? I feel sure I wouldn't have missed that many updates. This has once of the most innovative premises not directly involving AUs that I've seen. Keep posting chapters by sevens -- preferably weekly.
I'm glad Blaise thought of asking first-years; when I read Draco's terms it was the first loophole I thought of. (It would've worked equally well for Draco, too, and cost Blaise an awful lot of money if he doesn't color all twenty balls, but Draco's dim and can't really be expected to think of such deviosities.) The Silencing Varnish was a method of cheating I *hadn't* thought of, and I tip my hat to you.
If the Ravenclaw girls are smart, and the Slytherin girls vindictive enough, they'll just tell anyone who can't outrun them not to take Blaise's date offer no matter what. That should be vague enough to avoid his little varnish trick, shouldn't it?
So who was Parvati's first choice, the one who didn't ask her? I don't recall that you said. And why did she complain about being "stood up"; did Zach Smith do the stupid thing instead of taking Michael's advice?

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71267Chapter: 13
Hooray! New chapters! Now I really want to know who Michael went with (I'd be even more willing to go with him after these chapters) I was glad to see Penelope's book brought back. I could use a book like that. And you know what? I actually quite like Zacharias. You've fleshed him out into a very compelling character. I can't wait for the next chapters and hope they'll be out soon.

Reviewer: AmandaKedavraDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71196Chapter: 13
Very entertaining read! Write more!

Reviewer: StaticDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70823Chapter: 9
Excellent! You have wonderful characterization. I think that you've drawn Padma especially well. This story is humurous and effective and true all at once. I'm hooked---what happens next? Kudos to you. --Static. :)

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70799Chapter: 9
I'm so glad to see more of this story. I've been enjoying it since the beginning and these chapters don't disappoint. I quite like Michael <I'd go to the Yule Ball with him :)> and he's gotten my sympathy. I can't wait to see what happens at the Yule Ball. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70638Chapter: 9
So far, this has been an interesting read. Keep it up, I'm quite intrigued to know how you think Michael and Ginny got together.

Reviewer: *LuNa*Date: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69820Chapter: 1
Thank you for dedicating this book to me! (He He)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69606Chapter: 5
>>Meaning to consult him about the best way to warn off the girls, I went to meet him in the hospital wing afterwards.<<

I find it rather funny that Michael is *less* concerned about Terry's burns than he is about thwarting Zabini's evil plans.

>>But how on earth was he going to stop the girls finding out they were being twenty-timed when they discussed his invitations with one another?<<

LOL! That's some serious female wrath he's chancing there.

>>But as we trudged back to the broom shed, it did cross my mind that one possible reason for Padma’s touchiness was that she was perhaps becoming bored with me.<<

Hmm...do you think it might be because YOU HAVEN'T ASKED HER TO THE BALL YET, Michael? ;)

A fun read -- look forward to more!

~Katinka

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69605Chapter: 4
>>Decent but brainless? Handsome but arrogant? Merely “sweet”? Oh, Merlin, which was the worst fate?<<

I believe that would be, "Michael, you're a really special guy..." ;)

Loved Anthony's act of daring! Good for him.

>>This bet wasn’t just a Slytherin thing any more. If Zabini really wanted to win his bet, he’d be hitting on girls from other houses too.<<

Uh-oh, infringement on Anthony's turf!

I'm curious to see how Blaise and Draco's bet turns out. (BTW, have I thanked you already for making Blaise a boy? JKR just doesn't seem to go for androgynous names, and I believe Blaise is traditionally masculine.)

~Katinka

Reviewer: Tamira luneDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69356Chapter: 5
Heehee....Gotta love the poor guy. Keep it up!

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68486Chapter: 4
Thanks so much for this story! I'm really enjoying your insight to a much-neglectd house. I like the way you write Michael as well - he has a uniquely understated, dead-pan sort of humor. Really looking forward to more!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68482Chapter: 4
This is too brilliant and too cute. (actually it's just right so keep going)The Malfoy/Zabini bet, sounds so much like canon Malfoy. The way you portrayed Corner is canonical as well (he's so sweet).Your dialogue in this fic is natural and realistic, something that really compells readers.
You know, I really like these 'missing moment' fics, I should read more.
Keep writing
-Meg

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68270Chapter: 3
Laughter dying! Great tie-in with the previous chapter. Poor Michael- has he even directly asked Padma to go with him? Grasshoppers. Hehe.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68269Chapter: 2
Not only is the title brilliant, so is this chapter and Penelope's book. I love you pluck flat characters from the book and give them wonderful personalities. I admit, Michael was always a bit of nuisance to me, but this story is making me re-evaluate my entire previous opinion. Lovely work, keep it up!

Aerin

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68268Chapter: 1
Hehehe, the introduction style is quite amusing, plus its very intriguing. I love the questions. Especially the one wondering about Blaise's gender.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68246Chapter: 4
No! You have to write about what happened with the bet!

Reviewer: remembercedricDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68207Chapter: 4
Could I be more addicted to this story??? I doubt it...

It took me all the way to the second chapter to figure out why I was enjoying it so much...You wrote it in the first person! Almost no one does that anymore. It just makes for such a good story. I cant wait to find out what's happening with the bet between Malfoy and Zabini. How on earth did you come up with that? It sounds complicated. I hope he asks either Hermione or Ginny. Ha, the laughter. Good writing!

remembercedric

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68177Chapter: 4
great chapter! we thought chapter 2 was a little slow; you caught the girls' excitement, but michael's conflicted-ness didn't really come through: he seemed more amused by it all then tense, and since the story's from his POV, his conflict should be paramount. in this chapter though, you've captured all the conflicting emotions of the moment; love this line:

<<I hoped none of them was myself. Then I realised what it would mean if none of the girls was talking about me, and started to hope that one of them was myself. Decent but brainless? Handsome but arrogant? Merely “sweet”? Oh, Merlin, which was the worst fate?>>

and malfoy's bet with the zabini; what a brilliant game! and michael's right:
<<This bet wasn’t just a Slytherin thing any more. If Zabini really wanted to win his bet, he’d be hitting on girls from other houses too.>>

the whole chapter is just funny and nerve-wracking and great! it's ominous that michael is counting on padma, but hasn't asked her yet...we can't wait to see what happens.

Reviewer: Tamira lUneDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68176Chapter: 4
Hehehe. I like this alot. Please keep it up!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67647Chapter: 3
This passage doesn't seem like much on the surface, but I found it highly evocative of Michael's canon description:

>>“It seemed to take a very long time,” I complained.

“You were just bored because you didn’t understand. Honestly, it wasn’t anything worth translating!”

“The visitors seem to take up a lot of your time with things not worth translating.”<<

In my head, that made me hear:

>>"You seem to talk about Harry Potter a lot, Ginny."

"Well, he's Ron's best mate. It's nothing, really."

"You seem to be really interested in nothing, then..."<<

:)

As before, his Very Serious tone makes me laugh:

>>At the idea that she might think me a grasshopper, all laughter died.<<

He reminds me of a former boyfriend who used to quote "The Bridges of Madison County" to me, LOL.

~Katinka

Reviewer: GretchenDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66380Chapter: 3
“It seemed to take a very long time,” I complained.

“You were just bored because you didn’t understand. Honestly, it wasn’t anything worth translating!”

“The visitors seem to take up a lot of your time with things not worth translating.”

“Well, that’s the point of the tournament, isn’t it? To make friends with our foreign guests?” Padma was irritated. “Tahleb is a really interesting and humorous person, you’d think so too if you bothered to listen to what he says.”


That whole bit was so reminiscent of Ron and Hermione arguing about Krum, it made me laugh out loud.

A very good job to you!

!~*Gretchen*~!

Reviewer: nisadhaDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66362Chapter: 1
dont you think that some of your points aren't true?

Reviewer: yuvani bandaraDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66361Chapter: 1
thats all true but you can't say why was ginny attracted to michael because that just happens normally and some of those questions are like me asking 'who created the world?'- i.e the vampire existing one. And if Dean Thomas did fancy them that much it's not a crime to be ashamed to ask them is it? OPf course Draco Malfoy did something mean to Harry. Like remeber the time when he told off Harry, Ron and Hermione to Prof. McGonagall; when they went to see Norbert being born in the first book.

Reviewer: yuvani bandaraDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66359Chapter: 1
thats all true but you can't say why was ginny attracted to michael because that just happens normally and some of those questions are like me asking 'who created the world?'- i.e the vampire existing one. And if Dean Thomas did fancy them that much it's not a crime to be ashamed to ask them is it? OPf course Draco M

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66341Chapter: 3
I really love this. Write more =D

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65873Chapter: 3
lolz. Cute and nice...He seems a bit daft and I like that...THough I did think he might be in Ginny's year.

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65871Chapter: 3
Very well done. I especially liked the second chapter, but of course I'm too lazy to review for every chapter. Keep posting :)

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65835Chapter: 3
vey cool

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65764Chapter: 3
I just wanted to tell you that I'm greatly enjoying your story! And I like your idea of Blaise Zabini; i've always pictured him as a ladies' man among Slytherins, too.

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65745Chapter: 3
lookin good!!

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65648Chapter: 1
Excellent. Do continue.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64897Chapter: 2
Lovely job. You've created someone with a lot of depth. I'm looking foreward to his take on things in the future.

Please don't take this next bit I am going to say as a negative. I would not have you change anything here. But, to me, Michael seems like a girl's interpretation of a "nice boy". You have him a bit mature for his age (are we in fourth year as he writes?) Both his reminiscing self and the actions of his younger self are what a girl would like to see. Now, maybe that *is* Michael Corner. We don't know much and you can draw him that way. I like him, but I thought I would profer a (not THE) male perspective.

Favorite parts:
I especially like the way you had him notice Padma for the first time. A very smart Ravenclaw set of interactions!

I rally like the charmed knife and the extra piece! Nice thinking!

I enjoyed this and am waiting for the next chapter!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64791Chapter: 2
Wow, what a fun beginning. I liked the list of introductory questions -- you've done your research. ;) Michael's "memoir" tone is very amusing, too. I got a kick out of his lovesick tribute:

>>Padma. My lotus-flower. My river-goddess. My muse and inspiration. The girl with midnight in her eyes.

And I laughed out loud at his somber realization:

>>Padma Patil was my girlfriend.

Quite funny indeed. I look forward to seeing where you take it, and how you bring Ginny into the mix. :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: tmair luneDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64752Chapter: 2
wow neat I haven't seen a Micheal fic before. Nice ideas and you're avoiding cliche nicely!

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64723Chapter: 2
This is a nice start. I very much like the charmed advice-book, just the kind of thing you'd expect to see sitting around the Common Room.

This looks to be an ambitious piece once it's done. I look forward to more--I like the pace you've set for it. It moves quickly, but gives enough detail to satisfy the imagination.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64707Chapter: 2
aw, this is great!! I'm totally in love with it...can't wait for more!!

Reviewer: HDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64698Chapter: 1
I love the quote at the beginning from Midnight's Children.....I haven't found many people who've read that wonderful book.

Great story, very interesting and well characterized.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64695Chapter: 2
this was a pleasant surprise! not necessarily a topic we'd ever thought that much about, but so well-writ that it kept us reading. looking forward to more!

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64687Chapter: 1
Hey!
My name is Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
I read the questions, without reading a story you MIGHT have written!
I think that I might know some of the answers to your questions!
I'm guessing them for fun though!
1. Why was Michael Corner attracted to Ginny Weasley?
SHE MIGHT BE GOOD-LOOKING AND I LIKE RED HAIR JUST AS MUCH AS WHITE BLOND!
2. Why was Ginny attracted to Michael?
HE MIGHT BE GOOD-LOOKING!
3. How did Neville Longbottom feel about that?
I DON'T KNOW!
4. Who was Michael’s official Yule Ball date, and how did she react?
I DON'T KNOW!
5. If Parvati and Padma Patil were the two best-looking girls in fourth year, why were they still dateless as late as the last day of term?
I DON'T KNOW! THEY'RE THE BEST GOOD-LOOKING GIRLS IN THE FOURTH YEAR? I DOUBT IT!
6. If Dean Thomas fancied them so much, why didn’t he invite one of them to the ball?
I DON'T KINOW! HE FANCIED THEM?
7. Whom did Dean Thomas take to the ball?
I DON'T KNOW! YOU DON'T ALWAYS HAVE TO TAKE SOMEONE TO THE BALL TO GO, YOU KNOW? HE TOOK SOMEONE TO THE BALL?
8. Did Draco Malfoy ever do anything spiteful, manipulative or dishonest that was not directly targeted against Harry Potter or his friends?
I DON'T KNOW!
9. Why did Vincent Crabbe and Gregory Goyle fail to find dance partners?
SORRY BUT, USE YOUR BRAIN! HOW ARE THEY DESCRIBED IN THE BOOKS? HOW?
10. When Percy Weasley attended the Yule Ball, did he ever acknowledge Penelope Clearwater’s presence at Hogwarts?
I DON'T KNOW!
11. How did Eloise Midgen’s acne improve so dramatically?
I DON'T KNOW!
12. Has anyone ever succeeded in striking Zacharias Smith dumb?
I DON'T KNOW!
13. Who hates Roger Davies most in the world?
I DON'T KNOW! DAVIES IS ALSO A FORENAME, YOU KNOW? DAVIES CAROMS SOUNDS NICE! HE! HE!
14. What gender is Blaise Zabini?
I DON'T KNOW! SOUNDS LIKE A GIRLS' NAME! IT IS BOTH, YOU KNOW?
15. Is there anything at all to be said about Moon, Rivers, Roper, Runcie and Spink?
ERR... I DON'T KNOW!
16. Is it socially acceptable for a woman to go the ball with a Younger Man?
YES! IT'S SO OBVIOUS AND IT'S ALSO A FACT! OF COURSE IT'S SOCIALLY ACCEPTABLE FOR AN OLDER GIRL TO GO TO THE BALL WITH A YOUNGER GUY, AND VISE VERSA! IT'S ALSO SOCIELLY ACCEPTABLE FOR AN OLDER GUY TO GO TO THE BALL WITH A YOUNGER GIRL, YOU KNOW? IT DEPENDS ON THE PERSON THOUGH! HE! HE! IT DEPENDS WHO YOU TAKE! HE! HE! I'M EVIL! HE! HE! THAT WAS MEAN WASN'T IT? HE! HE! I'M MEAN! HE! HE! I'M NICE! HE! HE!
17. How quickly can a wizard learn a foreign language?
IT DEPENDS! IT DEPENDS ON WHO YOU ARE, YOU KNOW? ERR...
18. What is wizard dancing like?
IT'S OBVIOUS! LIKE MUGGLE DANCING, OF COURSE!
19. Do vampires exist?
IT'S SO OBVIOUS! NO!
20. Did anyone photograph the Yule Ball?
IT'S SO OBVIOUS! NO! IF SOMEBODY DID, IT WOULD BE THE CREEVEY KID! COLIN CREEVEY!
This was answered by Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
You can also e-mail me and tell me if they're correct or not! He! He!
You can also e-mail me to correct me! He! He!
My e-mail address is laura_carlie_darla_carems_1463@hotmail.com
E-mail me at laura_carlie_darla_carems_1463@hotmail.com

Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64636Chapter: 2
A wonderful story. I really liked the dynamics between the characters here here, and the premise of the story. The writing is tight and flows well - it captured me and kept me engaged. I also love the characterizations. I can't wait to read more of your work. Thanks so much for this! 8-)

Kate Lynn

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --