The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141304Chapter: 1
Excellent +

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141282Chapter: 1
sweet!

Reviewer: BogglemindFGDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107122Chapter: 1
I loved this; it's such a good take on the three boys. I wish we could read the longer piece, even if it's not in canon... Anyway, great story.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98939Chapter: 1
This is a awesome story:-). If you still have the longer piece, even though it isn't cannon anymore, I would love to read it:-D. You are a superb writer.
Sam

Reviewer: Kathleen C.Date: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77667Chapter: 1
The story was wonderful! I even got a little bit teary eyed at some points! My favorite part was when Remus recived the breifcase from Sirius. It was so sweet and also very clever! Keep on writtin the great stories!!

Reviewer: AlannaDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75997Chapter: 1
Now, THAT was COOL!!!! I thought you portrayed each character very well, especially Sirius and Remus. JK's books, though, seem to say that Remus's parents tried to hide away from all the werewolf business. Still, I like this portrayal better.
I'll definately read more of your works.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75020Chapter: 1
Aw, bless! Sweet! Kawaii! See? I love it so much I forgot this isn't an anime site and no-one here- well, almost no-one- speaks Japanese! Remus's family's dogs/ Sirius's fanclub (particularly Zeus, who's very clever for an animal) are lovely, Remus's parents are very nice (poor thing, having to spend Christmas with their son locked in the basement yowling... poor Remus, having to spend Christmas locked up in the basement yowling!), Remus as a kid is sweet, Sirius is kewl (in a bittersweet way...), James seems like proof you shouldn't trust what Snape remembers 20 years after the fact, and the presents are all very fitting. I especially like the briefcase! Although Sirius must look awesome in that jacket!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70717Chapter: 1
From bitter to happy. I love your Sirius. He isn't just three-dimensional--he's something around twenty-seven-dimensional. He's absolutely wonderful, and this story is simply too cute for words. I love to see the happiness before the pain, and the innocence of all three little boys. Great job. I can't wait to read more from you.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67850Chapter: 1
Finally reviewing at long last!

First, I love your Sirius, but then you already know that ;) I'm glad the Potters and the Lupins were able to compensate where the Blacks fell so woefully short. The description of the rambunctious Christmas gathering was great -- reminds me a lot of holidays with my family (well, my mother's family, to be precise)!

Hex is just a teeny bit offended by Remus' "doesn't take much brains to be a Beater" remark, but is willing to chalk it up to youthful ignorance. I explained to him that Bagman isn't a shining example of the breed, but he's unfortunately the most prominent :)

I also loved the presents. Sirius was a dear to give Mrs. Lupin something that showed her the degree of his esteem for her, and I liked the backstory to the PoA briefcase. (And the leather jacket from James! KEWL.)

Great story!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66821Chapter: 1
This is a really lovely piece. It is heartwarming and sentimental without being over the top or angsty and the characterisation of each of the three boys is excellent. In particular, Mrs Lupin's talk with Sirius has the potential to be sickly-sweet or melodramatic but you have rendered it as sincere and touching. I also particularly liked the origin of Remus' briefcase. Nice to think when he's on the train in PoA he still has something with him to remind him of his friends.

Atropos

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-01-07
Reviewid: 66055Chapter: 1
Holy crumpits, Remus unwraps his presents just like me!

Very nicely done as always. I like Kathleen. I feel so bad for her! And excellent backflash to the full moon Christmas. I can see it so clearly. Keep it up!

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64940Chapter: 1
very good...excellant description of the amazingly strong friendship between sirius, james, and remus-i loved it...

Reviewer: Erin GowerDate: 2003-12-26
Reviewid: 64872Chapter: 1
Woman, you've done it again! This is a cozy,warm, makes-me-all-fuzzy,story that is well worth the read. I really loved the idea of the different gifts the mauraders gave each other, nice touch. Hope you're holiday's were peaceful.

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64825Chapter: 1
I'm sure you've already got this but here goes: If Sirius and the Marauders mastered the Animagus spell in 5th year, then the guys would have to be younger and so James wouldn't be with Lily. ANyway good writing

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64785Chapter: 1
There's two perfect sets of Parents-Lupin in the 'verse -- one of them is Thing1's compassionate and loving Lupins. This, equal in their affection and suffering, is the other.

And -- I lurve the dogs. Of course. I need a pack larger than of one-and-a-half, I really do....

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64773Chapter: 1
This was really good! I enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64730Chapter: 1
<<He held up a briefcase with the words Professor R.J. Lupin stamped in one corner in golden letters. He couldn’t suppress a huge smile. 'Thank you, my friend.'>>

I loved this part; I'd love to think that Sirius got the briefcase for Remus, and that Remus used it when he got the teaching position at Hogwarts. Great story. :)

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64712Chapter: 1
My Godmother has seven dogs... *grins*

I loved it. It was a great read! I especially liked the way you characterized Kathleen Lupin. She acted just like a Kathleen I knew once... with the exception of wanting more children. Problem was that she had more then she could handle!

Anyway, the briefcase was a REALLY nice touch. I really liked that idea. As was the ending. Fireworks on Christmas. They don't mix but it works just fine with James Potter and Sirius Black around. Heh.

Gaea, Hera, Zeus, Ares, Aphrodite, Poseidon, and Leda. All great and original names for dogs. I especially like the name Aphrodite since that's my best friend's nickname. Having the dogs follow Sirius around, too, is a nice touch. I can really see that happening. Have the sent of another dog on you... permentally... yes, dogs will follow you relentlessly.

Great work, once again. Especially loved this piece!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64697Chapter: 1
this is absolutely lovely! so well-written and sensitively handled; it's sentimental without being cheap and maudlin, and we love the way you've woven in all the little details; the briefcase, the Animagus Charm, Lily's sister, Ludo Bagman...

we've rarely read a Marauders fic we loved, but this is a miniature masterpiece!

Reviewer: Robbie ColfaxDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64681Chapter: 1
I had this very carefully woven plan to include Remus' briefcase in a fic of mine, but you went and screwed it up!

Kidding, naturally, I love it. Your version is much better than mine. Beautifully scripted brethren, here. Keep up the excellent fics!

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64658Chapter: 1
My heart's melting (which I'm sure isn't good for my health). I love your explanation for how Lupin got his briefcase and why it looked so old and tattered. I hope you write more!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64652Chapter: 1
Aww...nice. I love the Lupins' having a whole crew of dogs following Sirius around. ;o) I also love the origin of Remus' briefcase. Happy Christmas!

Reviewer: Zephyrus_ProlixityDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64642Chapter: 1
A true top-of-the-line Christmas fic! I love all your works as you already know, but this one has always been a special one. It's very true to canon in my opinion.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --