The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 44

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-12-02
Reviewid: 136671Chapter: 1
oooh, i like it!

Reviewer: Mark CaldwellDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131492Chapter: 1
Wow... I remember reading this months ago but totally forgot to leave a review...

*feels guilty*

...you have my deepest apologies and you may punish me at your leisure!!

This story actually had me missing Christmas, which is a really hard thing to do to me since normally I just ignore the whole season. But in some odd way I actually found this story to be very festive. I think this might be because I can relate to Snape in this instance. I tend to do what Snape does here and just get on with simply enjoying something on my own time while the rest of the world gets on with it's own festivities!

I really can't stress enough about how well I really think you have captured Snape's true personality in this story. He comes across as the person I see him as, not evil and not uncaring, but someone who is very private and has his own pursuits in life that no one around him understands. There are just so many aspects to his character that you can hardly begin to list them and yet few of them make him a nasty or bad person! He is just who he is, deeply misunderstood, by all except for perhaps Dumbledore but we'll never know now unfortunately. So here I feel you have really managed to capture a lot of those characteristics without need of pointing them out.

In light of the most recent book, HBP, this story actually has an even greater aspect now. Snape would still know he was very much in a war while those around him, forsake of Dumbledore, knew nothing about it. And this would most likely make him even more cynical of such celebrations, adding even more credence to your plot line.

It is a brief but poignant story you have created here, it is incredibly well written and a pleasure to read! Excellent work and I look forward to reading more of your stories!!

Reviewer: davidDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125404Chapter: 1
feels very snapeish, if that's a word, fits the character from the books quite nicely, well done.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109920Chapter: 1
quite enjoyable - Thank you very much,

Reviewer: ButterfliesDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109366Chapter: 1
I loved this! I very much identified with Snape's feelings about Christmas. "Excellent work, Ada"

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107400Chapter: 1
nice, short and sweet. Why has no one done any hannukah stories?

Reviewer: ThrynroseDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100700Chapter: 1
Nice. I love reading about the inner workings of a misunderstood man...

Reviewer: CeLiDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94745Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Ada... :-)

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93427Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Ada.
:-)
Maleformationes of the Bodye?? I laughed out loud there, I admit...
I always enjoy an interesting look into Snape's mind, and this certainly is. I wonder what he does think of Christmas...possibly something very like this. He's very realistic, anyway.
Good work!

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92033Chapter: 1
I absolutely adore your story! It’s a common misconception that Severus hates Christmas (or just about any kind of festival, really). Even though he’s portrayed as a rather lonely man in canon, it doesn’t support the seemingly famous opinion that has been taken as a fact that Severus hates holidays because he loathes seeing others having fun during these holidays. But you’ve successfully shown us just the opposite in your story, and I love it! Severus does seem to be the type who’d like to sit all day in his dungeons with his book and a cup of mulled wine on a holiday, enjoying a quiet time to himself.

“Naturally, he refused, though he did so in as polite a manner as was possible when one was sneering inside.”

I really like this line with its wry humour. I could just imagine Severus doing that! Although I have to admit that the picture of Dumbledore normally accompanies such an image since I imagine Severus must have quite a number of times presenting this side to Dumbledore.

Plus, I really admire your writing style. It’s really great!

~Shina Laris

Reviewer: DanielleDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89483Chapter: 1
I like that you write about snape like is is human and not some monster.

Reviewer: Angel of MusicDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86794Chapter: 1
You want this short? Well, I’ve never been much use for conciseness so you’re going to just have to deal with my overgrown yammerings.
Lovely. Snape, being a favorite of mine, was not entirely butchered… normal, I would say, something Snape certainly is NOT, but it was entertaining and well written. If only I wrote as well as you I’d actually have the guts to place a fan fiction on this site. However, I have not yet found the brazenness in me to do so with such fourth rate, Mary-sue ridden… Well, you wouldn’t either if you wrote like me. Anyway, thank you for such a beautiful piece.

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86219Chapter: 1
I have I said how much I love this. Its a nice and belive take.. ands Il like the the "Spare but a thought for the Slytherin at Christmas, but please, I beg you, nothing more!" lione

Reviewer: RamDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68123Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Ada

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68111Chapter: 1
i am going to say something that i have never said nor thought about any, and i mean any, hp fanfic i have ever read. even though not written in her style, i truly believe that jkr would appreciate this embelleshment on one of her characters. i don't think you butchered it at all.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67220Chapter: 1
I loved it. I think you captured Snape excellently, and his interaction with McGonagall was great. The writing flowed well and the tone was nicely kept throughout and fitting for the piece. It captured me and kept me engaged. Wonderful, thanks so much for this! I can't wait to read more of your work. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66349Chapter: 1
I liked it. One of the main reasons I did is I am a reader myself and have been in places and houses were just no one understands it. by this I mean I go to be in a room on my own and read and they come in to get me to see whats wrong or who has offended me. I heartily agree with Severus, but like him in this fic you must forgive people their good natured Gryffindorian annoyingness. If Hermione wasn't so awesome Snape would be my favourite character as well. he is definetly my second. Thanx for the fic.
Mask

Reviewer: Verlinda HenningDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66305Chapter: 1
I liked your story a great deal--you paint a vivid picture of the humanity (if you'll pardon the expression) of Snape. A *very* good character piece (the hardest type to write, from my perspective).

Belated Merry Christmas to you and I hope your New Year is happy!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65908Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Ada...

And I'll say a bit more, too. I love your characterization of Professor Snape... it's really perfect. And the explanation of what Christmas meant to him was departing from the norm a bit, and it is a really fresh (oh dear, how stupid that sounds!) idea. I hope to read more of your things in the future!

Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65632Chapter: 1
Ada, you are nothing if not eloquent. :) I love your works and this one is lovely. I don't know that it's neccissarily butchering Severus, I would like to believe he has a heart somewhere in that ball of grease! lol. But I agree, Severus is one of my favorites and I just love fics about him. Yours are particularly lovely. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year darling. Well done.

Reviewer: PatDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65471Chapter: 1
I am in complete agreement with Professor Snape as to how to celebrate the season. Although for me it is sitting in my home office reading fanfiction, not sitting in the dungeon readig "Most Potente Potions". I was dragged off to a New Year's party last night, when I would much rather have stayed home. So Ms. Ada, thank you very much for the story. Snape is also my favorite character, and you write for him very well. Happy New Year.

Reviewer: Neville SoulmateDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65404Chapter: 1
Bloody briliant. Not much else to say, really... Is there any chance of a sequel, or, say, a second chapter? Please?

(Festive? Try telling that to Voldemort... Peace and goodwill to all Death Eaters! ^_~)

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65341Chapter: 1
It's rare to see Snape as a real human being with feelings and reasons and a personality other than being nasty, but you gave him all of those things, and well, too. Good job. Happy New Year.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65295Chapter: 1
Wow! You really do have an excellent writing style (lovely varied vocabulary), and you capture Snape's character excellently - not too nice, but with his own nobility and inner logic. I love it! Thanks so much for sharing this. I hope you'll write more soon. Happy New Year!

Reviewer: Llewella d'ambreDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65277Chapter: 1
Excellent job, Ada! :oP But, honestly, I really did enjoy it. Of course, I always enjoy your writing, but this was a nice little Christmas ficlet. I love old Snapey boy, so added bonus there. Keep up your fantastic work, and hopefully I will get over my WB and have a new chapter for you to read soon...

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65256Chapter: 1
Quite good fic...but I'm not sure I'd agree with you...I think there is probably something deeper there, as Severus is such a complicated character. But hey, it's your story! Nice work! Looking forward to the next 'What Would You See'!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65242Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Ada! :D

Reviewer: BjarkeDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65212Chapter: 1
I realy liked it. And I know the situation (as I suppose you do yourself): just wanting to have som quiet time for yourself, and people getting worried or hurt.

Reviewer: LubnaDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65211Chapter: 1
Good read!

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65194Chapter: 1
Not what I expected. Snape with his stockings and grey nightshirt... I'm not decent... Not precisely what I would think would be in character, but you're writing about Snape when he doesn't have to be "in character".

Nice Christmas story!

Kizmet

Reviewer: J. LihaDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65193Chapter: 1
Wonderful ficcie... ^_^ The thought of dear Severus sitting in an armchair, quietly reading, is quite... *blushes* well, it makes an interesting picture. Damn my overactive imagination! -_- Hope to see more soon!

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65190Chapter: 1
That was lovely. It's nice to see Snape in a happier mood and it's very true that some people just enjoy alone time.

Great job Ada and I despretly hope that 0your name will pop up on the Sugar Quill new fics for a long time. You're one of my favorite authors on SQ.

Even though Christmas is now over this fic was still a joy to read. I hope everyone had a very joyous holiday season and has a very happy New Year.

Reviewer: KSDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65189Chapter: 1
I liked this story a lot! I love your characterizations of Severus. Keep up the good work!
~KS

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65180Chapter: 1
Oh I thought this was great!

Severus and I have more in common then I ever thought...
freaky.

"Christmas was a time when he could sit in peace, to read, to write,"
Its like you stole the words from my very mouth!

Great JOB!

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: SNAPESPRETTYPRINCESSDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65174Chapter: 1
LOVED THR CHRISTMAS FIC. LOVE THE SORTING HAT FIC ....FA LA LA LA LA..LA LA LA LA. WAS THAT FESTIVE ENOUGH? I REALLY DO ENJOY YOUR WRITING ADA PLEASE CONTINUE. :0)

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65167Chapter: 1
Excellent fic... and a very good Snape. You didn't butcher him at all! (Although he might have been slightly deli sliced and packaged... te he he, meat metaphors are fun!) You did a good job capturing his feelings towards all the problems he deals with, although he's not as snarky as usual, although that is probably due to the lack of any Potter or Weasley. All in all, I enjoyed it.
Now shoo... go write some more "What would you see?"
~Ella

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65157Chapter: 1
yes---your work was excellent here! and yes----I DID have a white christmas:-) keep up the lovely job!

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65152Chapter: 1
Excellent Work, Ada!

Hannah

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65142Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Ada. Merry Christmas!

Reviewer: reenieDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65139Chapter: 1
love it good job and verry in keeping with the rather ummm non cheery but cool potions master

Reviewer: JayneDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65128Chapter: 1
One of the best for keeping Severus in character, yet delving deeper into the twin forces at work in him.

Oh, and just the thought of Severus in his grey nightshirt...jingle bells, jingle bells.

Back to my regularly scheduled comment, that the best begging for a response I've ever read, so kudos on that as well.

Happy Holidays, Ada.

J

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65123Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Ada. I really like his bookshelves, and his motivations for solitude. Your Severus is someone I wouldn't mind sitting alone with and reading quietly. Companionable, even if aloof. Excellent work! :)

Reviewer: IsabelA113Date: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65079Chapter: 1
Charming! I am also fond of the brooding Potions professor, and I think that you have done a wonderful job of giving us a new perspective on him without forcing him out of character. Great work.

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65076Chapter: 1
::sighs:: Well, it is Christmas so I guess I *have* to leave a review, don't I. LOL
Excellent work. I always saw Snape as a very solitary person and you did a good job portraying him as that. Snape would be appalled. LOL

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --