The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Two Sides of a Coin
Review(s): 43

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136480Chapter: 1
Very Nice

Reviewer: Ivy WryterDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113101Chapter: 1
Wow. It's amazing. It's also amazing how easy it is to beleive that Snape would be able to analyze his own feelings like that. It makes him easier to understand, and it's perfectly plausible for him to think like that, intelligently knowing what his emotions are and the reasons for them, yet not changing his actions. Brlliant.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 85003Chapter: 1
This was wonderfully written, DarkWitch- what a perfect analogy, Sirius and Severus being two sides of the same coin. Very poignant, a beautiful piece.




"They had been two sides of the same coin. One side in darkness, the other in light. Alternating, opposed. At the end of the day, still covered with blemishes.



He was still trying to come to terms with the loss of his opposite. Still trying to make himself realise that the Twin of Light, the golden one, the other side of his coin was lost to the world. Forever.


He had never realised that it would be so difficult. He had hated Black, after all.



Now Black was dead, and he was a one-sided coin.



He had never heard of a one-sided coin. What did one do with such an oddity? How did it exist, contrary to all logic?



Could it continue to exist?"

I messed up on the first post.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 85002Chapter: 1
They had been two sides of the same coin. One side in darkness, the other in light. Alternating, opposed. At the end of the day, still covered with blemishes.



He was still trying to come to terms with the loss of his opposite. Still trying to make himself realise that the Twin of Light, the golden one, the other side of his coin was lost to the world. Forever.


This was wonderfully written, DarkWitch- what a perfect analogy, Sirius and Severus being two sides of the same coin. Very poignant, a beautiful piece.




"He had never realised that it would be so difficult. He had hated Black, after all.



Now Black was dead, and he was a one-sided coin.



He had never heard of a one-sided coin. What did one do with such an oddity? How did it exist, contrary to all logic?



Could it continue to exist?"


- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84046Chapter: 1
"Sirius had been vilified, when the Potters had been murdered. Traitor. Betrayer. Death Eater. Criminal. Murderer. Gold into Lead. Of course, Black had eventually been exonerated. But there were those who would never believe that Sirius was anything but tarnished.

He had been praised and trusted, when he turned from the dark and began working for the light. Convert. Soldier. Spy. Former Death Eater. Member of the Order. Lead into Gold. Of course, he had been forced to prove his worthiness. But there were those who would never believe that he was anything but tarnished.



Ironic, that..."



Absolutely brilliant... I have nothing more to say.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81223Chapter: 1
What do you do with a one-sided coin? And what does any sensible person do when Sirius dies? Never thought about it like this. You seem to reach into the Marauder's heads and get out their personalities; it's really incredible.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80733Chapter: 1
Bloody brilliant! I have chills now from how good this was. So very...Snape.

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77139Chapter: 1
Poor Snapey. :) You like the Drama, don't you? And you're quite good at it... Now how about writing a humor fic? ;)

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74049Chapter: 1
DarkWitch, this is amazing, incredible. The words you write and the way you write them is beautiful. What you say is painful and dark, but it gives us an understanding of that pain and darknes...Does this make any sense?? :-) I love this.

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70107Chapter: 1
Wow. I love this fic. ou really give to us an indepht into the Snape's character. I so much agree with this, it was awesome.

<i>"Not even their last Occlumency lesson had achieved the hatred that he had wanted to feel. Potter looked like his father, true; but the horror and compassion in his eyes--Lily's eyes—after the boy had looked into the Pensieve had destroyed his will to hate him. He shook his head, sending greasy black hair cascading back into his face. He did not like Potter. He was certain that he never would. But Potter's green eyes—Lily's eyes—had been full of something shocked, appalled and disgusted. When he ordered Potter out of his office, he had been certain that he would never hate Potter, either."</i>

Simply wonderful. To-be-quoted. Great. Exactly the same than I thought. You also get to show the growth of the character Snape, from the rage he felt for the boy to the later realisation that Harry's eyes showed disgust. Excellent.

<i>Now Black was dead, and he was a one-sided coin.</i>

Interesting hold of the situation. I never thought of this in this dimension. but eventually you're right. Very clever.

Definitely a great fic :)

Reviewer: A. LupinDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 70002Chapter: 1
A very thought provoking look at Snape's psyche. I love the line, "The Potters...had proven notoriously difficult people to hate."
This story gives Severus far more depth and complexity than most people allow him. He truly is good at heart, but does not want to believe it.

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 69978Chapter: 1
Great concept. I love your style. It touches so many points while still narrowing down onto one main idea. You captured Snape in a way that opposes the surface image we see and it's changed my perspective on him. The connections between him and Sirius and the whole idea of them being opposites was well done too. It lets you see another reason as to *why* Snape hated Sirius so much. I especially love your last lines of the story and what they imply. I hope you continue to write!

Reviewer: gwenDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69723Chapter: 1
Sorry about the e-mail under me that a Canadian person trying to interfer with my computer. The story was great I really liked it.
Keep up the good work! Oh, and did you guys now that they are stoping at the 4 harry potter movie.
-gwen

Reviewer: gwenDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69722Chapter: 1
I look like I fell of the ugly tree and hit every branch on the way down. I love who ever wrote this. Will they marry me???

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69655Chapter: 1
I enjoyed that very much. I like the parallels that you draw between Snape & Sirius and the way that Snape sees Sirius as the wizard he could have been. You have captured Snape's character very accurately, down to a clever choice of words in his inner monologue. And I loved the "petrol & matches" line. Great work.

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69618Chapter: 1
Woah. REALLY good. I swear, I will never think of Snape the same way. That was one GOOD story.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67344Chapter: 1
It's very, very hard to keep Snape in character, and at the same time to write something as poetic as this. And, yet, this flows beautifully, and the glimpse of into Snape's thoughts is apreciated. :)

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66200Chapter: 1
I love that you've kept Snape in character and at the same time, he was not just spewing curses at Sirius with every word.

Great work.

dinka

Reviewer: JAnice SnapeDate: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66193Chapter: 1
I like it very much!!!
I like to see the thoughts of Severus as portrayed by you.
His sadness,his sorrow and his uncontrollable fate always attract me.

Reviewer: SassyBirdDate: 2004-01-07
Reviewid: 66097Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. Stunningly written. I loved the coin metaphor especially. I look forward to reading more of your work sometime in the future.

Reviewer: quincyDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66038Chapter: 1
Neat-O!!!

Reviewer: BjarkeDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66030Chapter: 1
Very Well Written. I really liked it. Please write more.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65915Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. It is good to hear of some human compassion, after he was that cruel (necessarily misunderstanding, but characteristically unnecessarily cruel) that he noticed that Harry was horrified and sympathetic.

And yes, there was no question that Snape hated Sirius much worse than Lupin. Further, I like your analysis of Snape's relationship (or, at least, observation) of the Mauraders and Harry. Very nice portrayal. Even nicer: "Still, the person he associated most with the werewolf was Sirius." It was Sirius who put Snape in danger of being with Remus during his feral night. Lupin dutifully (that month) hid in the Shrieking Shack like he was supposed to.

Another set of lines I liked a lot:
"The Potters, he thought, had proven notoriously difficult people to hate. He scowled.

How provoking."

This was a lovely reflection piece. Good work!

-----Miriam

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65912Chapter: 1
This was simply stunning... the coin metaphor was perfect, and the last few sentences nearly made me break down. Amazing... I never thought about Sirius and Snape being the other's twin of moral opposites, but it fits perfectly. And though most people think otherwise, I always did think that Snape hated Sirius just as much as, if not more than James. Again, this was positively wonderful.

- Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65828Chapter: 1
This is a really great story - a point of view that we don't see often in connection with Sirius. You do a really great job capturing inner thoughts and emotions. I'm very impressed.

Reviewer: Lady-Angel LyandraDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65806Chapter: 1
OMG, that has to be one of the best "grieving for Sirius" stories I've read. The two of them, Sirius and Severus, have been my favorite characters since both of them were introduced to the Potter saga. This is what I've needed, a closuer while yet the wound remains open.

Thank you.

Reviewer: AnoniDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65650Chapter: 1
Excellent insights into what might be going through Snape's mind after the events of OoTP. I'm looking forward to reading more of your writing!

Reviewer: ReneeDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65643Chapter: 1
An excellent story. I'd come across it before, but it improves on rereading. The parallels and contrasts between the two enemies present in canon are worked out very well here, and if anyone would think in terms of alchemy it would be Snape.
Contrary to one of the previous reviewers, I have no problem with the last line. It can easily be interpreted as a foreshadowing of Snape's death according to some higher order of things (or whatever the correct term would be). The thoughts that two sworn enemies could die for the same cause holds a lot of appeal.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65630Chapter: 1
This is great! I loved the line, "Petrol and Matches". How true that is. Keep writing more i loved this one!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65608Chapter: 1
Wonderful, Wonderful!!!! I don't often review. Only those worth reading. This is WORTHY. Your first story? WE see Severus very much alike. In my own story, Severus often questions his worth in light of his past. Are you planing more? If so, I look forward to reading. Hope you'll enjoy reading mine as much as I've enjoyed yours.

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65584Chapter: 1
Very nicely written. The contrasting of Snape and Sirius worked very well, I had never thought about the similarities and the differences between those two characters. I especially like the last few paragraphs of the fic, where the comparison is direct. Amazing how much they have in common when you consider them in the way you've written.
One thing I didn't like was the very last sentence of the fic. "Could it continue to exist?" could be interpreted as meaning Severus can't live without Sirius, which is a bit random (unless you're going for a slash story, I suppose). I love the paragraph before this, a one-sided coin is a clever little metaphor, and I think the story would be better if it ended there, without the last sentence. That's just my opinion, though.
Other than that nitpick, I enjoyed reading this, you used similes and metaphors to great effect and Snape was fleshed out nicely. Good work!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65546Chapter: 1
close to tears. deeply moving.. beautifully written.. keeps snape in canon but shows the side we all suspect is present but J K owling will never show coz she needs to keep in theme with the books. its great.

Reviewer: HDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65543Chapter: 1
This is...wow. I've never read such interesting musings, and I like how you made him go through each of the people he hates.

Brilliant.

Reviewer: SlimMorganDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65532Chapter: 1
I really like this idea. I had'nt thought of it but it makes sence.

Reviewer: LubnaDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65504Chapter: 1
Wow...that was so good! I really loved how you went through his attitude toward each person he hated. It was great!

Reviewer: J. LihaDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65503Chapter: 1
This fic obviously took a lot of thought and it was written wonderfully... bravo! I hope to see some more of your work soon!

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65494Chapter: 1
that was absolutely perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65470Chapter: 1
wow! This is really good! I love the last few sentences especially -- I never thought of it that way!

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65460Chapter: 1
Brilliant. You have an amazing writing style, and your construction of the relationship between Snape and each other character was very believable whilst remaining true to the characterisations and occurrences in the books. I would love to read anything else you write.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65447Chapter: 1
Wow.

That was powerful.

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65434Chapter: 1
An excellent musing upon the relationship between Sirius and Snape, eloquent and thoughtful. I especially liked the alchemistic references about gold and lead.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65422Chapter: 1
this is a very well-written fic. i think you chose a good topic. not many people that have tried this have been half as good as this one. this is exactly how i think severus would feel. thanks for the great fic.

Reviewer: Emily. E EtymDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65410Chapter: 1
Wow....

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --