The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141560Chapter: 1
OMG.

This seriously almost made me cry, and that's quite rare! I got such a beautifully tragic mental image of Remus throwing things everywhere and crying when you described it...everything was just perfect and I wouldn't change a thing.

Also, you've inspired me to use the term "poker-face" more often in my writing. I love that term, and I love your work. Keep up the good stuff.

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136470Chapter: 1
Too short

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134923Chapter: 1
CORGI! How have I not seen this before? This was heartbreaking but oh so perfect. Such logical explaination for why remus seemed so...cold.

Reviewer: Angel of MusicDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86801Chapter: 1
Wow, then I must be a Werewolf. Just kidding. This is lovely. Touching. Sad. You have run with such a beautiful idea.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86672Chapter: 1
Good but short - I was hoping for another chapter to explore it throughly.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79360Chapter: 1
Short but great.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67644Chapter: 1
*shivers*

Wow...you express so much in these few short words. Some particularly poignant passages:

"...at suppressing the wolf as it tried to poke its loathsome snout into his everyday life"

and, of course:

"The snout, the tufted tail, the eyes, all known... the heart frozen all month awaiting the full moon's thaw, was not."

*shivers again*

There've been many "Remus mourning" fics in the wake of OotP, but yours truly is an original. Excellent job!

~Katinka

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66024Chapter: 1
This is an amazing little piece, and not at all what I expected. Usually the calm, unruffled Remus of fics seems a bit unrealistic, but this gives it a very strong reason. The images of young Remus tearing himself apart when he lost his friends compared with his inability to even cry now is very powerful. Good job.

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66019Chapter: 1
Oh my golly! Urgh, I'm so sad now...(lip trembles)

Very wonderfully written. I've always had a soft spot for Lupin and this certainly dug right into it. I so wish he was here so that I could give him a great big hug or something.

I still refuse to believe that Sirius is dead, though.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66005Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this as much as when I read it the first time on LJ. I'm struck by the *deadening* effect of Remus' lycanthropy, in contrast to how it turns him into a ravening beast. My favorite detail has to be the defiance in Mrs. Tonks's voice when she spoke of Sirius.

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65966Chapter: 1
That was short but very insightful and well written. I liked it a lot. Great job <33

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65952Chapter: 1
Wow. It's short, especially in this minute font, but it's impressive. The Remus-trying-to-stay-calm-at-all-costs is a favourite theme in fan fiction, but this is a whole new interpretation. And I like it.

When I read this, I can feel the cold.

You've written this no less than brilliantly. Thanks for letting us read this.

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65935Chapter: 1
Wow. Both yours and the LiveJournal link. There's so much to the werewolf aspect of things that doesn't get explored in fanfiction, so much (eek, going evil!Englishteacher on you) symbolism. So much damage gets hidden under easy-to-write fandom cliches.

You were sensitive to the psychological damage of being a werewolf, and to Remus himself, without being sappy. It's...well, I've been thinking of starting some sort of tally of the best fanfiction of all time, writing, characterization, innovation, everything, and I think this would be the first fic I've seen that really does merit that title. If it's not quite perfect, it's damn near it, and about as close as you can get.

Reviewer: Zephyrus ProlixityDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65877Chapter: 1
Absolutely marvelous. I loved this. You have reinforced my own thinking on Remus Lupin. I fear we as a fandom have unintentionally softened this character entirely too much. He is a werewolf, and I doubt very much the effects of this curse only impact a person during the Full Moon. Your story, brief though it is, makes this point beautifully. Very Well Done Indeed!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65868Chapter: 1
*snif* I read this first on your Live Journal...and it's better on re-read. It seems to be a very plausible reaction and very real. Great job!

Reviewer: percivalDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65830Chapter: 1
That was really cool. An aspect of being a Werewolf that I hadn't thought about, and a good explanation of his behaviour.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65815Chapter: 1
Ohh. I can see this being true. Remus always seems unruffled and calm, but I never looked at it from this light. Short but sweet.

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65797Chapter: 1
I was overwhelmed by this the first time I read it, and I again find it an amazingly powerful piece. You capture a side of Remus here that's stark, gut-wrenching, and so, so unsettling.

Writing good short-short fiction is very difficult. In a small bit of space you've conveyed so much, and done it so well... the contrast between Remus then (looks back about fifteen years) and now is striking. This piece is certainly one of the best Remus ficlets I've read; I thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing it.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65795Chapter: 1
Very good! That is such a sad aspect of self denial. I think it would be almost completely dehumanizing to lose teh capacity to emote. You've done a great job of not overstating the story, too. Enough to be sad, but no more. Great work!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65760Chapter: 1
The writing was truly wonderful. It flowed well, and the tone was perfect for the piece. You have a great characterization of Lupin here. This was an amazing fic, I look forward to reading more of your work. Thanks so much for this! 8-)

Kate Lynn

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --