The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 150

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-07-09
Reviewid: 148481Chapter: 5
Yay! I finally read this! You don't know how long I've been wanting to. I like this last chapter best, especially the part where Tom keeps trying to get it to sink in that Mark's a wizard when Mark's essentially known that for some time. I love the idea of Artists and Scientists, too, for our world and Rowling's. Now I want to read what happens at Hogwarts. :)

Reviewer: WhiskeyDate: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139617Chapter: 5
I really like this story. I was very sad when I read that Mark Evan's is apparently not going to play out a larger role in this story, but I really like reading "what if" fics like yours.

I like your explanation for why neither Mark's parents nor Harry knew that they were related. Very neat.

My one gripe would be with the idea that breaking a wand takes a wizards powers. I'd say it's inconsistant with canon as Hagrid still has his powers.

But that's a very small gripe.

On to the sequel. :)

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138920Chapter: 5
A really clever story, well-written too. I never made a possible connection between Mark Evans and Harry in OoTP, if I had, I'd have read this story before now! Your Mark is a lovely character and it's really interesting seeing the society of Little Whinging from the outside. Off to read more of your stuff now!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135512Chapter: 5
Nice Intro

Reviewer: MeggiDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128745Chapter: 1
Enjoyed what I've read thus far. Mark's muggle-like explanation for magic and the unexplainable is brill!

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122865Chapter: 5
Very nice! I love stories told from a different point of view. Interesting terminology Mark came up with to describe himself and Harry, and other people -- artists and scientists, I like that. It fits. Tom's struggles were keenly felt.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-27
Reviewid: 115071Chapter: 1
To reviewer "?" (

Assuming that your not plain trying to make trouble, you should know that birgit is the last person to plagerise an idea. She having had two fics plagerised.

I read the chapter that you linked to, and really what exactly does one thing their have to do with birgit's fic. The only resemblance I see is they both have an art class, and maybe also they both drew a dragon. An art class is a pretty common idea. I can think off hand of a half a dozen books that the charcters draw pictures in the fic. Besides I doubt birgit even read that fic.

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113828Chapter: 3
"although he didn’t remember telling them to, his feet had walked him to Privet Drive" - That's a lovely turn of phrase and very accurate. That is waht one's feet do sometimes!

I loved Mark's memories of the house with the dragon. They capture his longing to understand so well. :-)

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113701Chapter: 5
I love the reflective style you used in this story. I'm not even sure how to describe it, but it's powerful to read. I also liked how you portrayed Mark's point of view; the idea of artists and scientists is so interesting, not to mention creative. I'm looking forward to reading the sequels!

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112827Chapter: 2
Great stuff with the teachers and with Tom. Lovely reflection of how difficult it must be to make decisions as parents ... especially the decision to tell your son he's a wizard after 11 years.

What a lovely idea the hot chocolate conversations are! Very true, it does make lovely conversations!

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110210Chapter: 5
Oh, a nice story. I know I promised you a long review but I have nothing in my mind right now.

I like the story and I'm going to read the sequel right after I finish this review. So I'll just say 'Good work!'. Thank you.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110208Chapter: 2
Very good! It keeps going better and better.

Sorry for the short review, I just wanted to let you know that I'm still reading. I'll give you a nice long review at the last chapter.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110205Chapter: 1
I'm really glad that we made the deal. Because this story seems to be very good. I can't say much, as it's only the first chapter, but I think I might really like your story. :)

It's beautifully written, I like your writing style. It's...eh, it's hard to explain. :P I try. You make it short and to the point, without using too many adjectives but it still manages to be very 'alive'.

And this 'There are two kinds of people in the world: Artists and Scientists' is very intriguing - and it seems to work out rather well.

My favourite lines:

'He just didn’t see what was fun about maths. It was the thing his mother did all day, as she worked as a mathematician.' - not story-wise, but author-wise ;). Nice input.

'“Look, there are two kinds of people in the world: Artists and Scientists,” Mark tried to explain. “Scientists invent and build things to make their world more comfortable, Artists just use nature to do that.”' - intriguing but true.

I'll definately keep reading!

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110099Chapter: 1
A really interesting look at how Muggle-borns must feel about themselves. Mark is obviously very bright to make the connectiosn that he makes, like between Harry's haunted face and the trouble of the Wizarding world. I don't have time to read more right now, but I'm very interested in where htis is going.

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109403Chapter: 5
Birgit! I've read your story. I thought it was very interesting, all the connections. I need to read the rest now!

Reviewer: MercedesDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109358Chapter: 5
It's... pretty good

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106844Chapter: 5
Hi birgit !(Or "Dag !", since you're from the Netherlands. But I can't write the review in Dutch, I'm very bad at it.)

Since you had so kindly answered my questions in the forum, I wanted to know a little more about you, so I took a look at your profile and saw the link in your signature. That's why I'm here.

This story is very interesting - the kind that makes me forget to eat even though bread and cheese are right beside my computer keyboard ! lol I like your characters and will be glad to read more about them in the sequels.
Tot ziens.

Cybčle.

Reviewer: Ashtur an'VanganDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101260Chapter: 5
I'd meant to be writing tonight, but this story distracted me :) A very nice little story. Somehow, I'd missed the connection between "uncle Roger" and Lily and Petunia, though it should have been more than obvious.

I love the way that Mark is "in his own little world" as it were, it really fits. On to read more :)

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100687Chapter: 5
Artists and Scientists — what a great way for someone to "invent" a way to express what he is experiencing when he does not know about the magic of HP world.

The vacilation of Mark's Dad who is so artisitic, and the inability of Mark's scientific Mother to understand that vacilation, is well developed and completely plausible.

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96848Chapter: 5
Hey :)

I have enjoyed reading your story very much. It was very well written and your choice of using Mark Evans as a character was pretty nifty. I have loved the way you've portrayed him, he looks so nice as a boy :)

I love the way you've set up the family link. I was a bit concerned as for why Tom didn't know of Harry. After all every wird and witch know about him. But the explanation makes perfectly sense -- if Tom had left the WW before YKW was defeated, it's normal he doesn't know about Harry.

Now I'm intrigued and want to read the sequel!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96420Chapter: 5
Birgit, we put off reading this story for so long because, for some reason, we had the idea that it was a really-long, Super-uber, take-a-week-off-work-and-read-it fic. Instead, we find a quick, sweet, enjoyable read about someone who's, basically, an OC. Very nice!

Mark is so cute--sweet and innocent. We love the Artists vs. Scientists classification: We're Artists and it gives us hope that, tho' we're Muggles, maybe we have a little magic in us after all!

Nice character development with Tom, from denial to acceptance to passing his heritage on to Mark. You've done a good job slowly unfolding the backstory for us as well.

Our only complaint: We can't buy the idea that Wizards lose their powers when they voluntarily give them up. Small detail--otherwise, Great job!

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94427Chapter: 5
Interesting take on Mark Evans and certain aspects of the wizarding world.

>>“I’m sorry, Mark, I can’t. When a wizard purposefully snaps his own wand in half, he loses all his magical powers. I was once a wizard, but I’m not any more.” Seeing Mark’s disappointed face he continued, “But I can explain about Transfiguration, and all of the other classes.”<<

I think this is the first time I've read this type of interpretation on magic. I always thought of it as something that was inside, and thus couldn't be gotten rid of. But your take on it suggests that it's more of a choice, which also fits in with JKR's focus on the choices we make.

Anyway, cute story. I thought you could've expounded more on some of your ideas (though I'm a fan of longer fics, so that might explain why). A little less telling perhaps, and more showing. Nonetheless, I'm interested to see where you take this story and will read the sequels.

Thanks for a nice story!

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94101Chapter: 5
I've always been skeptical about the Mark Evans theory (way before JKR even added it to the poll) but reading this makes me think... Hmm.

I love your style. Mark is such an interesting character and I can't wait to read more. I was drinking sweet tea when I read this and this made it all the more enjoyable.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94079Chapter: 5
"For all I know, You-Know-Who might have been defeated years ago.”

I loved this line. It's just so ironic that the 'Boy-Who-Lived,' the saviour of the wizarding world, is staying a couple of doors down from them...

So Uncle Roger is Petunia and Lily's father, eh? Oh, this is wonderful, it really is! Part of me wishes that J. K. Rowling had simply refused to answer the poll question! However, I'll carry on reading regardless, as this is the world of fanfiction and it doesn't matter whether Mark Evans is a 'nobody' He's not a nobody to me, I can tell you! This is your world and your thoughts and, even though foundation of the story comes from J. K. Rowling, you have built it up from nothing and have made it touch the sky!

...god, that was so cheesey. It'd have been so much better it I'd just said:

HEEEEEEEY MAN!!!1 THIS STORY ROX MA SOX!!!1 HEE HEE KEEPUPTHE GUD WURK!!!~1

Well, that's true too, but I like the way I said it better... *winks*

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94077Chapter: 4
There seems to be a theme running throughout your chapter titles - not that I'm complaining, though...

I can't help thinking that, even if Tom's relationship with his son, Mark, is as close as it seems, by procrastinating and delaying what is sure to be the inevitable he is doing further damage.

Just bite the bullet and tell him, Tom!

Sorry. You can understand that I'm getting a little frustrated here... *blushes*

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94076Chapter: 3
"On the other hand, did all people who lost someone look this way? Mark didn’t know. Perhaps dying in a Scientific way was not the same as dying in an Artistic way, and the latter made you have this look."

I love the way you've written Mark's eleven-year old logic - and his teacher says that he's not intelligent? Bah!

All the same, this house with the stone dragon is really beginning to intrigue me. Is the man in the violet robes Dedalus Diggle? No... Wait... He can't be. He has a violet top hat, so that doesn't automatically mean he has a penchant for robes of the same colour. Could it be Mark's grandparents? Or is it someone else.

I guess I'll just have to read on! ^_^

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94074Chapter: 2
Mmm... Chocolate. Nice chapter title, I must say! *winks*

Enough of that. Time to get down to some serious reviewing. I read Jo Wickanninish's response regarding some other nutcase's comments about your chapter sizes, and I am inclined to agree with her. It's not the size of the chapter, it's the content. This only even becomes a problem when the content is not up to scratch. 'Artists and Scientists' certainly does not have this problem. ^_^

I like how you've detailed Mark's parents' feelings and it will be very interesting to see how their behaviour compares with that of the Dursleys - and also how Mark will react in comparison to Harry when he finds out, for that matter.

Oh... and about that cliffhanger. Naughty...

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94073Chapter: 1
That has to be one of the most well-thought out and intelligent starts to a fanfic I've ever read! You've fleshed out the character of Mark Evans remarkably and the scenes in the classroom where he exhibits his undiscovered magical talent and his teacher's reaction serve only to endear the reader to his character. You have already engaged my interest in what should prove to be a wonderful, original, well-written fic!

I read on...

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94004Chapter: 1
Intriguing beginning, I wish I'd started reading it sooner. I read on one of the threads that someone didn't appreciate the chapter lengths, but it's not the size of the composition, it's what's in it- don't worry about what they said. I liked the chapter length and I can't wait to keep on reading. So... I'll go do that now.

Reviewer: Asha EvergreenDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92735Chapter: 5
I loved Marks reaction to being told he's a wizard.

great story... *goes to read your other Mark Evans stories*

Reviewer: Nicky KendallDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91130Chapter: 5
I enjoyed reading this and gradually putting together the clues. I thought your mimicing of J. K. Rowling's writing patterns worked well. You had obviously given considerable thought to your story. Congratulations and I'll look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89909Chapter: 5
I decided I had to read all of your stories for obvious reasons. It was a good decision. The idea of "Artists" and "Scientists" is great, as is your explanation as to why even DD wouldn't know about Mark.
On to the next part.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 89031Chapter: 5
Not too sure about the whole snapping wand in half thing ... i could see someone getting pissed off and breaking their wand on purpose, then regretting it ...

Reviewer: nooneyaknowDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 89004Chapter: 1
that sounds really good. does this take place after H.J.P.'s fifth year at Hogwarts?

Reviewer: ElfinaDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 88005Chapter: 5
Great Story!!!!

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87438Chapter: 5
good fic. I really enjoyed it. I thought it was funny how he called wizards Artists and muggles Scientists. It was a nice twist. Great idea! Good job! I look forward to reading more of your stories.
Thanks

Reviewer: daisyDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86946Chapter: 5
noooo !!! i was liking this !!! do me a favour will u ? write a sequel where harry and mark evans find each other !!! they become friendly and stuff please !!! please !!! PLEASE????!!???

Reviewer: jamesDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85873Chapter: 5
>“You should consider having Mark repeat a year,” she said, hardly audible.

I have never heard of anyone in england repeating a year. It's not done.

A good story, I enjoyed it.

Reviewer: nocturnusDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85764Chapter: 1
Lovely fic. when i first read OotP I start wondering about Mark, I though it was just me, then I find your fic. i would really apreciate if you tell me when you post the sequel, he is a lovely kid!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79982Chapter: 5
Me again!

Hurrah!

I like the tone of the piece, sort of straightforward, and unhurried, which is sort of how I see Mark.

Will we be getting more physical descriptions? I love to 'live' the story when I read, and I hate having to leave a fuzzy gap when I read. I loved the 'hot chocolate' scene, and the 'paper on fire' scene, because I could see them, but I can't really see the characters.

Thanks!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79981Chapter: 1
Ooh! I rarely leave reviews after the first chapter, but I wanted to tell you how much I loved this one! I'm rushing off to read more, but I just love the way Mark sees things so dichotomously: Artist/Scientist, and that everything can be done in either of those ways.

Your writing is very fluid and fluent, a joy to read.

This is the first 'outsider' fic I've read; in the sense of someone who knows Harry, but little about him and nothing about his 'abnormality'. I'm intrigued. I bet you, like me, hugged yourself and squealed with delight at his mention in chapter one of OotP. *wipes away tear* Such happy memories.

Onwards!

Reviewer: GiniDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79825Chapter: 5
Wow! I was reading about Mark Evans in the forums over at TiP, and I wanted to read your story. This was really great, very good theories about how everyone's connected. I think I know who the 2 daughters were....:) Very clever story, I thin you did a wonderful job with Mark, hes so nice and sweet. I am excited about reading your sequel, I am sure it is just as great!

Reviewer: KEDmeDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77397Chapter: 5
Excellent story and I'm looking forward to the sequel. More Harry, please! Great job!

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77116Chapter: 5
Nice Job, i liked it alot. Mark is smart for his age, If he put all that together by his self.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77068Chapter: 5
Wow, that was really good. I'm just hoping that the Mark Evens mentioned at the beginning of book five would come out as one of the first years in book six, and hopefully Mark would become a Gryffindor (that would be the best way to meet Harry, and aquaint with him at Little Winging during the summer after Harry's sixth year) or into any other house but Slytherin, by the looks of it. I dunno why I despise Slytherin, but he doesn't look like one. Maybe that way, Harry can teach him everything (since he is REALLY close by) he knows over the next summer like a big brother before either getting finally murdered by You-Know-Who (ooh, I hope not) or leaving the school to experience the world outside before or after his Auror training (that's what Harry really want, right?).

One more thing. Wizards/Witches don't naturally lose their powers after snapping/breaking their own wands in half. Their magical powers are still within them (take Hagrid's, Ron's, and Neville's example), and they can always buy another wand from Ollivander's if they wanted to. But if don't think so, hey, believe whatever you want.

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75909Chapter: 5
Excellent story! I love your 'Artists and Scientists' analogy, and how Mark can sense something to do with 'artists' around Number Four.

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72388Chapter: 5
Oh, this is great! I've been wondering about Mark Evans. I love the Artists and Scientists thing that he rationalised out. He's such a sweetie!
I can't wait to read more about him in your sequel.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71427Chapter: 4
I really like the dynamics you've created for the family. Amy is the perfect absent minded professor. Poor Mark and Tom, I hope their father-son chat goes well.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-02-08
Reviewid: 69959Chapter: 5
Lovely, lovely, lovely! I just adore Mark. If I met him I would probably hug him and pinch his cheeks. I love the connection to the Evans as well-- whee! Mark and Harry are cousins! Incredibly wonderful. I love the idea that Mark knows about wizards, but calls them Artists. That one line was terrific. "I knew I was an Artist, and most people were Scientists, I just didn’t know that Artists were wizards and Scientists were Muggles. But now I know.” Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! I will eagerly await the sequel.

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69774Chapter: 5
this is corny
make it less corny
when is he gonna meet harry and go to hogwarts?
you dont even say what year harry is in.
so we dont know how old he is.

Reviewer: EileenDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69693Chapter: 5
Bloody brilliant!! I've truly enjoyed reading this story. It was succint and short, yet had managed to capture some of JKR's style... Thank you for writing it :)

Reviewer: Timothy TDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69687Chapter: 5
A very enjoyable Story. Seeing that Marc is a wizzard
just might be the right thing. Harry also might gain
a new friend even though he is in his final Year.
Please continue and we'll wait for your continued
story

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69034Chapter: 5
All right, the last was a cliff hanger I could enjoy. This one I don't enjoy. I was not ready for this to end. You have done a very good job of linking Mark to Harry. But, I think the Mark you have drawn might have looked up his cousins.

Your characterizations are truly wonderful. I *like* these people. It is easy to make people like canon characters. It is much harder to make us like your own characters.

I like this explanation:
>>“I’m sorry, Mark, I can’t. When a wizard purposefully snaps his own wand in half, he loses all his magical powers. I was once a wizard, but I’m not any more.” <<

That's very final!

I'm looking forward to the sequel!!

Great work, Birgit!

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69013Chapter: 5
I loved this and I can't wait to read the sequel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That was a very clever way to slip Harry's mother into the mix.Can't wait to hear what happens when he finds out that Harry is related to him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: JohannaDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68996Chapter: 5
Lovely story! I love how you tied everything together at the end and I especially enjoyed Mark, who was just adorable and reminded me a lot of my youngest sister. I also liked Mark's parents, who seemed very nice and fair.

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68862Chapter: 5
Great job!! I really enjoyed it!! So Uncle Roger was Lily and Petunia's father, but Lily's mum and dad were killed. So Tom is Lily's cousin, thus making him Harry's second cousin and Mark is Harry's third cousin!! Cool Harry had a family now! Maybe he can live with Mark! I really enjoyed this story you write it so well, I love how Mark looked at the world with Scientists and Artists! That was so cool! I loved it! This story proved to be a highly entertaining story! And I thank you for writing it! Your an awesome writer! Great job!!

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68827Chapter: 5
Birgit,

That was a great conclusion! You didn't fail to deliver after all the build-up of the previous chapters. Even though this is the end, I am very much looking forward to sequels about Mark. I hope you continue soon, because I'll be one of the first to read it. :)

The back story you made for Tom was wonderful. It was original, and very realistic. I loved the connection you made between Mark and Harry (Uncle Roger)... it makes me wonder if Mark being related to Harry means anything special... also, I wonder where Mark will be sorted! So many questions...! I hope you write the sequel soon.

Though many questions have been answered, I remain,

Intrigued, :D

Dinka

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68815Chapter: 5
Wow. That was a *great* tie in with the actual story and Mark Evan. I was a bit disappointed when I read 'THE END' but I am comforted by the fact you plan to write a sequel. I definitely can't wait for that so keep writing!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68765Chapter: 5
I really liked this story! I am looking forward to the sequel! Keep writing

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68732Chapter: 5
I liked this scene between Mark and his dad. The language was simple enough so I really got the feeling of an adult trying to explain things to his son. I also liked that Mark didn't like all of what he heard -- it's very human and realistic.

The backstory about Mark's father's family and his Uncle Roger's change of heart was nice, too. I hope Mark gets to meet his magical relative in the sequel. Great work!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68720Chapter: 5
Yay, I was so happy that you updated! I only wish that your chapters were longer... Anyways, your writing of Mark is very interesting, and so far the plot is evolving very nicely. My guess so far is that Uncle Roger's daughter with magic was Lily... I wonder what the Evan's are going to say when they meet Petunia!

Looking forward to your next chapter

Liz

Reviewer: Other GirlDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68707Chapter: 5
Very good! I'm guessing Uncle Roger was Lily's dad (but of course I could be wrong). Do you know the name of the sequel yet? Because it would be very helpful to know so I can look for it on the new fics list. Once again, I really like this story. It builds on the Mark theory I got when I saw his name in OotP

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68672Chapter: 5
I liked this story a lot. Are you going to make a sequel?

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68663Chapter: 5
No fair! Evil cliffie! Please hurry with the sequel.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68655Chapter: 5
I love this story. It's very light and simple, but it's also realistic. The simplicity of the storytelling is a wonderful contrast against the big themes of the story - the little detail at the end is also interesting for making you think.

What a great read.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: HPFreakDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68647Chapter: 5
...and the daughter's name was Lily Evans, later Potter. She had a sister, Petunia, and her son's name was Harry Potter. ;) Right? Nice story btw, really enjoyed it and followed it.

Reviewer: Squeak4everDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68646Chapter: 5
I loved this story, and you should definetly write a sequel. I take it the girl is Lily? :)

Reviewer: RuthieDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68627Chapter: 5
Yes, yes, yes! Sequel, sequel, sequel! We have to know what happens when Harry finds out! When Mark finds out!

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68621Chapter: 5
It was a really short story, but I enjoyed. I'm REALLY looking forward to the sequel! Write it soon!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68614Chapter: 5
OH, I just realized this was the end!
Excellent story, it tore at my heartstrings...in a good sense, though.
Can't wait for the sequel.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68613Chapter: 5
Yes, I am reading and enjoying. I thought little Mark's name being Evans (like Lily) was either a coincidence or a plot bunny of JKR's own. Who knows...are you going to turn it into something?

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68589Chapter: 5
The two daughters! I realised who they were after I actually finished the fic, but wow! What a wonderful way to relate the mystery of Mark Evans to canon facts!
The conversation between the father and son was lovely. The way Tom told Mark about both the good and the bad sides of the world and let him make his own decision was great, other parents might simply have told him about the bad things to influence the decision, or might not even have told him anything at all. I really like the depth you've given Tom, this story is so short but you managed to say so much about his past and also his personality. That's a mark of good writing!
I liked the bit about how a wizard can voluntarily give up his magic.
So congratulations on a great story. I'm looking forward to the sequel (will we be seeing Mark at Hogwarts, I wonder...)

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68570Chapter: 5
First off, let me say that I am happy that there will be a sequel. This was a great story, but I would have liked to have seen a bit more interaction between Harry and Mark. I know that they probably wouldn't see a lot of each other around Privet Drive, but somewhere...

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading the story. I just have one thing to, erm, point out that I don't think fit too, and that was:

“I’m sorry, Mark, I can’t. When a wizard purposefully snaps his own wand in half, he loses all his magical powers.

That just doesn't FEEL right, but it's your story, and you can write whatever ya like. All things aside though, I thoroughly enjoyed it. :) Keep it up!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68567Chapter: 5
I really enjoyed this story - not only did you give us some good insight into Mark Evans as a delightful & creative boy, but you gave him a family & background that supported it all perfectly. I loved the tie-in to Harry's family...I wonder if JKR has something similar to that up her sleeve for Mark.

Here are some favorite lines:

>>When a wizard purposefully snaps his own wand in half, he loses all his magical powers. I was once a wizard, but I’m not any more.<<

That just made my heart ache. It would be so sad to give all that up and then not be able to fully share it with your child.

>>I’m telling you both the good and the bad things about the magical world. You need to know everything to make a good choice.<<

An excellent parenting philosophy!!

I'm glad you plan to write a sequel - your Mark is a character I'd like to read more about!

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68561Chapter: 5
Yay! *chants* Sequel Sequel!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68556Chapter: 5
It does call for a sequel! That's interesting that when a wizard snaps his own wand, he looses all magical powers.

So *that's* how they're related! :) Interesting, and it sounds as if Aunt Petunia has no clue, nor Marks father either.

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68550Chapter: 5
(sigh of relief) Sequel. Good. But can the chapters be longer? Please?

Reviewer: MadelineDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68533Chapter: 5
This story had a very refreshing point of view. The theme of artists and scientists was well-organized. The ending was at a perfect point. Great story!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68524Chapter: 5
There better be a sequel! You can't leave us hanging now that we know there's a possibility that Mark is indeed related to Petunia, Dudley, and Harry! Very nice chapter though, I think your writing is progressing very well, Birgit.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68380Chapter: 4
Oh - what a cliffhanger!
Well, once again I'd have to say that I think intriguing is the best word to describe this story.
I like the part where Mark stopped his mother before she was going to go and said,
“If you’re going to drive,” he said, “you’ll have to stop thinking about that problem until you’ve arrived.”

In fact, I like all of the bits where you show how different Mark is, like the accidental magic fire he created in his bedroom.

Good work, Birgit!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68118Chapter: 4
Evil. That was just plain evil. I know you have the next bit done. I know it is just waiting stored as a bunch of ones and zeros somewhere in your computer. But nooooooo. You have some sort of plan. A schedule. You probably iron your socks, don't you!

Okay. Since I did really like this, I want to leave something positive. Even though I am not sure you deserve it.

Favorite parts:
>>“I’m off,” she said, reaching for her car keys, but grabbing a spoon instead. She was halfway to the door when she noticed. For a moment, she just looked at the spoon, then she slowly walked back and picked up the car keys. Mark seized her arms. She turned to him with a distant look in her eyes.

“If you’re going to drive,” he said, “you’ll have to stop thinking about that problem until you’ve arrived.”<<

I really like the way that describes her. Plus the way it describes how well they know each other. You can tell he cares for her, and you show that. Without using those words.

>>“I’m sorry!” cried Mark upset.

“You don’t have to be, it was an accident.”<<

That feels very much like a caring parent. Something you say whether it's magic or not. It is a great piece of realism.

Great work!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68107Chapter: 4
more more more

Reviewer: Carlie Darla Bianca RandDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68103Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Carlie Darla Bianca Rand!
Laura Carlie Darla Carems's real name is this!
Carlie Darla Bianca Rand!
Anyway, this story is good!
I can't remember if I had read it before or not!
But it's definately something origanal from a person's point of view that had only been spoken about in the fifth book!

Reviewer: HighlandgurlDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68059Chapter: 4
HOW DARE YOU STOP IT THERE!!!!!!! Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, please update soon, this is one of the best stories out there and I can't wait for it to continue!!
-HG

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68051Chapter: 1
Something terrible concerning the Artists. Because Harry Potter was an Artist too.
-and he knows that how? Everything was good until those last two lines. They were a bit much.

Reviewer: itsmeDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68043Chapter: 4
I am liking this story very much so far. It's a pity that the chapters are so short, I am always left wishing for more... Please update soon!

Reviewer: marbrielleDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68028Chapter: 4
Aw man!!! Such an evil cliff! Interesting so far, though...

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68027Chapter: 4
Nooooooo! Don't stop now!!!!!!!

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68021Chapter: 4
Hi Birgit,

I'm so glad to see this updated (and so fast, too!), I've been so curious to see the continuation. Of course, you didn't reveal anything new in this chapter :D, but it's okay. I really like this chapter, and more so because it's in Tom's POV. I like Mark’s POV very much, but I seem to enjoy Tom’s POV more. Perhaps it’s because Tom knows about the Wizarding World… I’m not sure.

I wish I could say something helpful, but I can't find anything to critique in this chapter... I like your writing style very much. I also liked the little joke about Amy trying to solve a problem. lol (did *you* ever pick up a spoon instead of keys? ;) Go on, tell the truth :D

Let's see... I still haven't used the word "intriguing" in this review! I can't believe I forgot. Yes, the story is very intriguing (:D) and I can't wait to see what happens next.

:o)

Dinka

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68003Chapter: 4
Oh, come on! Such a short chapter? Hurry up and update!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67920Chapter: 4
*chokes*
You just HAD to end the chapter there...
All the same, I love the story so far and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67879Chapter: 3
The world is divided into Artists and Scientists...I like that idea a lot. As people say here, fa riflettere.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67878Chapter: 2
For my part, I prefer tea to hot chocolate...:-)

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67877Chapter: 1
Really interesting beginning. I'm looking forward to continuing in my reading.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67873Chapter: 3
Birgit, that is a great job! I really like the way this is spinning out. There are some very good bits for a growing Artist:
>>Mark waited a couple of minutes, but nothing else happened. He went home, happy, because he had learned a lot of things.<<

I like this because it shows that Mark is patient and already different. He's different from other artists, too. I like that he is glad to have learned something and willing to keep that something to himself.

Great work!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67843Chapter: 3
Your story is getting more and more intriguing, birgit! Yuo have made Mark really come to life in this story and this chapter was great from his point of view. I like the flashbacks and can't wait to find out more about exactly what he's remembering. I particularly like his fascination with Harry Potter - I like the idea that 'artists' recognize other 'artists.' Hope to see more soon! Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67833Chapter: 3
I really love your Mark. He shows a depth and maturity far beyond his age, but at the same time the way he terms things "Scientific" or "Artistic" is still very childlike (in the best possible way).

I am really curious now about that house with the dragon on the roof. I hope to find out more about it through Mark's flashbacks. More soon, please!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67753Chapter: 3
I like how you capture Mark's confusion and I like his interiors, how he tries to find reason in a confusing world. I'm very curious about the house with the dragon. Looking forward to seeing Mark and Harry have an encounter.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67752Chapter: 1
I like your take on how Mark tries to understand why he is different from others. The Artist and Scientist distinction is really clever.

I like the idea of writing from Mark Evans's POV. It should make for an interesting story and I'm intrigued about the house with the dragon.

Reviewer: Fitchburg FinchDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67744Chapter: 3
This is an interesting, well written story. I think we were all curious about Mark Evans and his brief appearance in the Order of the Phoenix. It's always fun to speculate on a minor character's background. Also, Tom's struggle to tell Mark the truth about the Wizarding world is reminiscent of Dumbledore's difficulty in telling Harry about the prophecy.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --