The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-04
Reviewid: 136766Chapter: 1
Quite Nice.

Reviewer: Gabriella Du SultDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108932Chapter: 1
This is really great. I love Remus and how he doesn't play soft ball. I've recently been struck by the similarities between lycanthropy and AIDS (having lost a brother to the latter) and feel you've really caught the essence of it here. A really well done story.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86377Chapter: 1
Horrible. Horribly touching to be exact ;) Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75555Chapter: 1
Sometimes I really notice that it's a good thing people can't read minds. Even wizards and witches can't often do it. 'Cos if Remus knew that Bran was trying to be polite and guess Remus is younger than he thinks he looks... not exactly the sort of thing you'd be happy to find out! Aaanyhow, Remus was being painfully honest and then Bran was trying to just be unreasonable and not think about anything logically, so it's lucky that Remus is so nice or else there would have definitely been a fight!

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75055Chapter: 1
you have no idea how familiar this is. thank you.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70782Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful missing moment. Bran is a very realistic character, and the conversation between him and Remus is very touching. I hope that you will continue to write and post stories here on the Quill.

Reviewer: cntry grammarDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67777Chapter: 1
luved it.i always thought that remus should go talk to the guy in the bed next to mr. weasley.it was briliantly written.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67568Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really good! It's a great explanation by Remus of how werewolves might feel, and Bran seems like a pretty cool character. Will you be writing any more about him?

Reviewer: Ruler of the UniverseDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67154Chapter: 1
This story is so touching...I nearly cried...oh...a good work on describing Bran and Lupin's feelings.

Reviewer: Veronica (vrendo)Date: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67099Chapter: 1
I really like your fic! I admired how you put Remus into character! One-shot but awesome! definetely! Hope you continue writing like this!

Vrendo.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66935Chapter: 1
Thank you for this lovely missing moment. :)

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66785Chapter: 1
Wow, excellent job. This is one of the best one-shot werewolf fics I have read. You keep Remus very much in character, and the references from "Fantastic Beasts" are a nice touch.

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66773Chapter: 1
This is such an EXCELLENT fic!!!! I'm glad to see it here on SQ! I read it on FA but didn't review (one of my new year's resolutions is to take the time to review fics more often).

You did a terrific job with everything. My favorite part is:
"You saw those kids out there just now? One of them graffitied his copy of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them on my behalf. Where it says 'Werewolf' he added an 's' onto the end and then wrote, 'aren't all bad.' I thought it would be churlish of me to point out that he really should have crossed out the 'f' and changed it to a 'v-e', but I don't think grammatical accuracy was really the point."

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66762Chapter: 1
What a great Missing Moment story this is! I love the way Remus refuses to sugarcoat the truth. Bran's confusion and bitterness is wonderful, as is the reference to Harry's copy of 'Fantastic Beasts'. The ending was also nice, very simple.

Good work.

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66737Chapter: 1
Great story! Loved it!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66724Chapter: 1
Loved it. Very believable interactions and decriptions. Thanks for sharing your talent. I hope to read more of your work soon!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66720Chapter: 1
I loved this. Remus sounded so wise and patient. He had some wonderful insights. Bran seemed very real to me. I can definitely imagine his parents turning their backs on him. You did a great job with their emotions and with Remus.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66711Chapter: 1
I'd completely forgotten about this incident - thanks so much for the reminder! I think you've handled it beautifully. I love Remus' utter honesty coupled with a touch of 'playing the glad game' - my favourite line is: 'It's quite nice really, in the middle ot winter'! I have a disability and that's exactly the kind of thing I try to think and say! And I agree completely about not wanting to go back in time and change anything. This is a wonderful story, and I'd very much like to hear more about how Bran (I love the name Mallory!) gets on in the future. Thank you!

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66708Chapter: 1
Aw... now I feel all warm and squishy. Remus is so well-characterized here, and Bran -- I really like that chap. He's a realistic, likable character. :-)
Two big thumbs-up.
~Q

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66682Chapter: 1
Very nice story. That werewolf in the hospital was always an interesting point to me and when Remus went over to him in the book I thought that that man was a lucky guy to have Remus there. This story shows *exactly* what Remus would have said. Also the part where Remus says he wouldn't take it back, that was very nice and touching. Good job.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66680Chapter: 1
I think your characterization of Remus was excellent; eternal patience and calmness, and direct honesty, but always given kindly. You also gave Bran great depth and I think his reaction to his condition was very accurate. Overall a great story.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66664Chapter: 1
This was really wonderful. Your Remus was spot-on in character, honest even when it's not fun to be honest, but never unkind. You gave Bran's character a lot of depth, too. It left me wanting to see more between these two, which is the mark of good writing. Well done!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66663Chapter: 1
Wow, that was amazingly good. I wish I could write like that! I absolutely loved it, and I really hope you write more.

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66655Chapter: 1
How can I put it?

That was so well done. Remus was so Remus, and the he (and you) handled the situation was wonderful.

Reviewer: RuthieDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66653Chapter: 1
The more I read them, the more I like Remus stories. Thanks for this great missing moment!

Reviewer: AlianeDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66630Chapter: 1
awwww that was really good.
Remus rocks!
kepp up the good work

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66623Chapter: 1
Oh that's sweet. I love Lupin, he's the best, isnt he? You should go on with this story, you know, his letters to Remus or something like that. I think that's be neat.

Reviewer: RiibuDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66617Chapter: 1
Wow. This was a great take on what it means to be a werewolf. Bran's characterization was very realistic. Lupin's honesty with the matter was in-character, definitely. While writing this kind of story there's a danger that it'll become overtly fluffy, but you've avoided this danger excellently.

I see this fic also as a portrayal of the wizarding society in general, and werevolves' situation in that society in particular. These parts were really interesting to read, like the comments about the cost of the Wolfsbane potion, family reactions etc.

It was hilarious to find the comment about the graffitied Fantastic Beasts book, too!

Overall, this fic was touching, wise, and beautifully written. I liked it a lot.

Reviewer: HDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66616Chapter: 1
Brilliant!

I look forward to seeing more from you.

Reviewer: JaymiDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66583Chapter: 1
This story makes me want to just hug both of them, I'd have to be bit careful with Bran's am though I guess.

Reviewer: DexDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66579Chapter: 1
Lupin's probably my favorite character, and I appreciate stories that communicate his character well. This certainly falls into this category. (I also liked the concept of the WHS--good to see that wizards have civilized health care.) I look forward to this being the start of a long, illustrious fanfic career. No pressure. :)

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66563Chapter: 1
I cannot even put into words how great that was, I honestly can't but I'll try.

The feeling in this was amazing, I felt Bran's pain but at the same time I was slightly annoyed at his ignorance. Lupin was great and very IC. His words, like always, had so much wisdom behind them, which isn't an easy task to write.

I love these lines:

'"Let me guess," Remus said, easing back into his chair. "The Healers have been telling you that everything will be fine, it's not as painful as you think, you'll be able to handle it, and you'll have no problems leading a normal life."

"Sums it up."

"They're lying."'

That was so simply put but I love the feeling behind it, you really weigh your words before you write them.

"Bran didn't want to look at him. He wanted so badly to believe what Remus was saying - he did believe it - and he was afraid that if he looked into his eyes he'd see that his words were just empty, pretty lies."

That was beautifully put.

"Bran looked at him questioningly. Grey hair, lined face, terrible dark circles under his eyes ... yet he must look older than he really was, or wouldn't have asked the question. Bran decided to give him an age range that was something younger than he actually looked, just to be polite. "Mid-forties, I suppose."

Remus smiled. "I'm thirty-six."'

There was humor behind that but at the same time it was sad, but nonetheless it was very nicely put.

All in all I absolutely loved this fic and I strongly hope that I see your name again on SQ.

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66560Chapter: 1
What a gentle, kind story. It's so full of empathy and honesty and you've given Lupin a compassionate voice that consoles so well.

I think Bran is a great character in his own right. You've produced a man in the midst of an upheaval of all he's ever known and you've done it well.

I came away from this fic with a sense of tenderness and compassion. Beautiful job.

Kizmet

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66559Chapter: 1
Emily Anne, that was a very well-written piece. I think you've captured Remus and his sense of calm covering inner turbulence quite well here. The clock's song was also priceless, an excellent element.

The question of going back in time and changing circumstances is a sticky one, and I wrestle with it all the time in my own fics. I like the way you handled it here, and Remus's answer and feelings about it rang true to my understanding of his character. (And thank you for not making his parents evil.)

Well done.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66544Chapter: 1
Very nicely written. I like how Remus is so honest. He doesn't console Bran, he prepares him, which helps him more than anything else.

I like that you used the name Mallory. One, because it's my name, but spelled differently. Two, becuase it means ill-omened (I've already yelled at my parents for that one). Did you do that on purpose?

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66522Chapter: 1
Emily Anne, that was great! I can just see Remus having that sort of conversation - telling it like it is, but also trying to offer Bran some support. And I thought Bran's reactions to what Remus was telling him seemed very realistic. Hope to see some more of your work here at the Quill soon.

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66507Chapter: 1
sigh..... I love Lupin... that was perfect. I hope to see several more Lupin stories from you.

Reviewer: Magical MuggleDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66493Chapter: 1
That was so truely amazing! Not only was that a good idea to write about, it was really, really good writing. I think you should consider extending on this or something. I really enjoyed reading about Remus. Your story made me love him ten times more! Amazing job!=)

Reviewer: AdelaideDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66489Chapter: 1
*Sniffle* That was good! Ihad a plot bunny about this missing moment, but never could get it right. You captured Remus's outlook prefectly, in my opinion.

Keep up the Fantabulous work!
+Dela+

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66486Chapter: 1
A very touching interview - well done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --