The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sanctuary
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126134Chapter: 1
Quite good. It would be nice if there were more. Any chance?

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-02-08
Reviewid: 69898Chapter: 1
wow that was soooo good. i was holding my breath the whole time. great work.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69162Chapter: 1
I actually really, really liked this. :D I thought I'd go looking to see if you'd written anything after seeing the Hard To Get Right sentences thread on TIP, and how every time you wrote a sentence I fell in love with it.

You're what I'd call a very visual writer, in that everything you write about can always be imagined perfectly in my mind. I think your style is also very simple and easy to read, yet it has such depth in it that makes everything so real and magical. So for those reasons, I really did enjoy reading this :)

I also loved your portrayel of Lily here, too - I've never really been able to identify with her properly, but I did love how you wrote her. Have you ever considered writing more about these characters anywhere?? Or have you already, and I just haven't found them? :P

Either way, wonderful job and a very enjoyable read! =)

-Jules, who's having trouble expressing herself today, so is very sorry if this doesn't make much sense. :P xx

Reviewer: ProngsieDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68113Chapter: 1
Fantastic stuff! I really enjoyed reading it.
I love that you hit on just about every point I've thought of as to the reasons Lily stuck up for Snape and having Snape point them out was brilliant.
Great characterisation of Snape as well. Not the poor, geeky, picked on kid that he often is in fandom. Makes me believe he did give as good as he got with the Marauders.
Lily was great because we all know she wasnt really innocent Miss Perfect and you've given her a bit of an edge.

Hope you write some more!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67767Chapter: 1
Oh, I very much enjoyed that. Your Snape is not the full blown adult potions master that we all know and love, but a very believable younger version. And amidst all that snarkyness and sarcasm were a few moments of true vulnerability - when he admits that he can't go back to the Slytherin common room for example. The tension between Lily & Snape is palpable, and I for one was really not sure what he was planning to do when he had her trapped against the door. Your examination of Lily's mixed feelings about the 'Snivellus' incident was also very interesting. I liked the way that you made her have slightly baser motives than the ones often ascribed to her in fanfiction. Overall an excellent look at the aftermath of the Pensieve scene.

Atropos

Reviewer: MichellaDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67362Chapter: 1
Wow.... write more please!!! Like, other times they meet, and if Snape really does throw himself off the Astronamy tower.

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67204Chapter: 1
This is an absolutley brilliant story! Exquisite! Magnificent!

I love the way you portray Snape, I've always sympathised with him, and you humanise him very effectively by displaying how hurt he actually was by Potter's actions.

I think maybe a somewhat different reaction from Lily would have been better during the physical confrontation, something deeper than just horror...but I admire the tension you create between the two characters.

Please write more! I am dying to read about Lily's next thoughts, and the next time the two meet! Well done indeed.

Reviewer: La_MarquiseDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67167Chapter: 1
This story is really GREAT!!!!! I loved it :)!!!!!!!!!!! Your perception of the characters is very interesting : they are not all black or white. I hope you will soon write again, I can hardly wait!!!

Reviewer: Mercury GrayDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67166Chapter: 1
he reminds me of grima wormtoungue here...the greasy hair, the mad obsession with a girl he can't get...yeah, just thought i'd tell ya. very good writing, though

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67123Chapter: 1
*OMG*!!!!!!!!!!AWESOME*STORY*AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67113Chapter: 1
I forgot to say that I really liked characterisations of Severus and Lily. I see that I've got some competition here as to good Snape-character writers...

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67112Chapter: 1
It was very well-written, I thought. Simple, yet eloquent - a style that I like, and one which I admire you for having gotten to grips with. It's harder than people think it is to master, and you've done it well.

The story was well-paced (very important in my fanfiction set of priorities) and I liked the tension you created between Severus and Lily, though I'm not sure about the physical confrontation (where Snape forcibly prevents Lily from leaving at the end). I know I've had him do it before, but I'm not sure whether Severus would do that in this context. I believe your story would work just as well without.

The part I loved most, however, was your dialogue - this line in particular: "So I am often told. And you, my dear Lily, are a liar and a sycophant of the worst order. Fouler still because everyone thinks you as pure as your namesake."

Excellent motivations on the part of Severus.

Overall, a well thought out and essentially well crafted one-shot. Well done!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67067Chapter: 1
* swpies her eys* im NOT crying. lovely fic though. like i said .. im NOT. NO.
j.p inscribed on her desk with a heart around them.....well that explains alot. i think you have both of them so wonderfully in character...

Reviewer: BjarkeDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67058Chapter: 1
Really good! Very true to characters. Write more, please?

Reviewer: BirdDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67016Chapter: 1
Wow this is excellent. In fact, this is one of the best fanon snapes I've read! He was wicked, he was cruel, a bastard, and yet he still remained so sympathetic. You scared me to because I thought that Snape was going to rape her for a second. Though I still would've liked it even if he had. Good job!!!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67014Chapter: 1
Oooh. That was, um, well, intense for one. Snape is well on his way to becoming the bitter adult Potions Master we all know. I like that you show his need for honesty.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66998Chapter: 1
Horrible. Tastless. I hate it. Everyone who said this was good have no sense of taste. Oh, by the way, its Opposite Day! Happy Opposite Day!

Reviewer: kit blackDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66954Chapter: 1
Excellent! Exquisite!

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66892Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
Very good.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66862Chapter: 1
oh, bravo! what an awesome snape-and-lily fic! i loved how your snape wasn't a bitter, cold, and cynical person, but had depth and emotion and a sense of humor. i love this!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66852Chapter: 1
W-wow. A very powerful fic... Great characterization (or however you spell that) of Snape. I like the idea of the hiding place... I had, of course, thought of everybody's reactions to that incident, but not like that... Spot on would be the correct phrase. And what Lily feels about what she did - or didn't - do - very good. More!

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66849Chapter: 1
That was a spot-on portrayal of Snape! You kept him snarky but honest, horrible but honorable. I also like your Lily, who seems to correspond with what little we know about her. Bravo!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66843Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really really good! It's really canon-ish, as in you have the characters very in character! Great job!

Reviewer: fdsDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66799Chapter: 1
df

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --