The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: His Friend
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: jannehDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94728Chapter: 1
I couldn't help but be distracted throughout the entire story with the thought that Ginny couldn't have been at the Coffeeshop for this because she was at Quidditch practice all day with Ron. When doing missing moments like this, a writer needs to work out if the character in question actually could be there or not.

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94573Chapter: 1
I like it! But isn't Ginny supposed to be at Quidditch practice on Valentine's Day?

Reviewer: NameDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94495Chapter: 1
Nice story

Reviewer: AveDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73827Chapter: 1
I think that the way you portray Ginny's thoughts is very realistic.
This is a great story!!! The only flaw is that at this time, Angelina made the Gryffindor quidditch team go to a team practice all day, so Ginny couldn't have been at Madame Puddifoot's.

Reviewer: wienerDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67866Chapter: 1
Aha Ahaha

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67801Chapter: 1
A sweet little ficlet...I loved it.

Reviewer: Elena_BittenDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67770Chapter: 1
This is really good. While reading this, it actually seemed like I was seeing things through Ginny's perspective. Some fanfic writers tend to make Ginny seem more childish, but you've done a wonderful job. Keep up the good work. Maybe you'll do more missing moments from Ginny's perspective? I hope so. Thanks for the good read. *later days*

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67670Chapter: 1
Hi Andromeda! I feel as if I'm writing to myself, as I also call myself Andromeda sometimes. Not on SQ, though, as my story is about her and I thought it would be a bit much! Are you interested in her too or do you just like the name?

Am I right that you're not much older than Ginny yourself? I saw your Wizard Portrait and I've been waiting for your story to appear. Wow! - you make me feel old, as I'm not much younger than the real Andromeda! I think you've handled Ginny very well, and the first person is great as you're a teenager too and can really get inside her head. Through her observations, Harry's confusion and embarrassment came across very clearly, and I felt even more sorry for him than I had done before!

I suppose it's possible that Ginny and Michael could have had a little more conversation - and wasn't it the morning, not the afternoon? Still, I think it's a marvellous effort, and I'm looking forward to more of your writing - I can imagine you making a very good job of the 'Chocolate in the Library' scene! Just a thought! I wish you well.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67510Chapter: 1
Nice =)

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67487Chapter: 1
This is good, seriously. Maybe you should try the date from other points of view...*Roger Davies*...just joking but you never know...

Reviewer: suDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67474Chapter: 1
The constellation Andromeda is the exact same one that we the Chinese call Spinning Maid. It has its roots in one of the oldest Chinese love stories.

The Spinning Maid and the Cow Herder fell in love, and for that all the world about them was forgotten. The cows wandered over the paths of the heavens, and the clothes of the country were faded and worn. So it was until the king, in concern for himself and the welfare of his people, commanded that they be separated to the farthest corners of the sky.
And so it was as the king ordered. The cows were confined and the loom attended. But the lovers were sundered, and they met only once a year, in the seventh day of the seventh month of the Chinese calender. Then the birds that fly north would form a bridge between them and they would cross over. And so it was that once a year the Spinning Maid would meet her two sons that tarried with her husband.
While I do not know the name of the contellation Cow Herder in any language in English, and people laugh at the sound of translated Chinese language, in Chinese it is truly beautiful.
Pardon me if you are Chinese-if you are you must have heard this tale a thousand times.

Reviewer: The French RabbiDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67106Chapter: 1
Ahhhhhhhh, that's so cute.
*hugs Ginny*
Don't give up!
And write more.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67088Chapter: 1
This was sweet and very good. You write Ginny very well and capture her emotions about Harry. I'd like to read more about Ginny from you.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67080Chapter: 1
Perfect!

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67070Chapter: 1
you know, this story wasn't bad. i do like missing moment stories. well done!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67043Chapter: 1
I really liked this. Poor Michael. Poor Ginny. But at least Ginny has figured out that being friends with someone is the basis for a lasting relationship.

Reviewer: leave_after_i_say_hiDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66988Chapter: 1
this story was wonderful. you made a ginny/harry kind of love, and made it into a missing moment kind of deal. you should write from the ginny point of view more often. she's a character that needs to develop on her own, and not to be known solely for the fact that she's a weasley. nice job.

---****---
tori

Reviewer: BirdDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66976Chapter: 1
It was ok I guess...Maybe its better then I think it was but I can't get into Ginny being like that. It seemed like she had moved on in book 5, so I think you were a bit out of character with her. ...But anyways you made a kind of event mistake...Ginnys says that Harry acts nervous around Cho but in the book, he says talking to her is as easy as talking to Ron and Hermione. It was ok but I can't get into Ginny fics so much.

Reviewer: jorgieDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66968Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this missing moment you wrote it very much in character with Ginny and gives an excellent alternate point of view of that sene.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66950Chapter: 1
i really liked this, it showed ginny realistically i think. i d hope h/g becomes a reality!
Beth xx

Reviewer: lineDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66927Chapter: 1
brilliant and very wonderful !!!
please keep writng, it was amazing :)
~~Line

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66887Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
This story is good...
Only that if Ginny crushed Harry... she should be upset like the world would end... not be looking on the bright side that even isn't that bright.

Reviewer: JessDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66882Chapter: 1
I thought that this story was very well-written; I especially liked how the characters were so...in-character. :D You created a "missing moment" that actually ties in well with the actual book. Great job!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66875Chapter: 1
Nice Ginny the one you handled here. Good job.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66864Chapter: 1
Wonderful! This ought to be an ode to any little sister who's ever had a crush on one of her older brother's friends. Perfect characterization of Ginny and Michael, too!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: KEDmeDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66857Chapter: 1
Missing moments like these are so cool, especially when they are this well-written. I usually don't like first person POV, but you have done it very well. Nice job!

Reviewer: Magical MuggleDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66853Chapter: 1
How cute?! That was really good! it sounded just as Ginny would sound! Poor Michael...Maybe not...He DOES end up running after Cho. Maybe they just should have switched. Cho with Michael and Harry with Ginny! Hehe. Anyway, great job! It was amazing writing!

Reviewer: Carlson's WifeDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66851Chapter: 1
wow. that was so nicely put together... i want more!!!! four exclamation points! nice job andromeda!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66844Chapter: 1
Wow! I think this is really good, and that it really portrays what Ginny must have been thinking around that time in OotP. She's really in character, and it was cool to see that scene from another point of view. One thing though... if I were Michael, I would not still be hanging around. Did they talk at all? Nice way to brush him off, Ginny. ;)

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66820Chapter: 1
That was really really good. I like H/G quite a bit and you did this quite well. You put emphasis on the ship but you didn't make it mushy and extremely lovey-dovey. Most importantly you identified that Ginny most importantly just wants to be a friend to Harry, a person to lean on and if it comes up a shoulder to cry on. If the possibility of a relationship comes up, she'd be fine with that and happy about it, but that isn't what her focus is really on, her main focus is just being a good friend to Harry.

Excellent job!

Reviewer: EmmKayDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66818Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story!! One of the best Ginny in OotP POV's I've read so far. Both the dialogue and description are wonderfully written. The H/G love overflows, yet Ginny is still perfectly in character and believable. A beautiful job overall. I'm looking forward to more stories from you--you're very talented! Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66809Chapter: 1
Nice little insight into Ginny's thoughts at the moment. Very much IC with OotP Ginny. :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --