The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: KristinDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129324Chapter: 1
Really good, and I loved it. Keep it up, please!

Reviewer: SabrinaDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124695Chapter: 1
Awww... that was really cute. I loved the idea of the globe, by the way. V. Nice.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110349Chapter: 1
a good read. thank you.

Reviewer: Scribe2Date: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80228Chapter: 1
Nice work with this. I love this pairing absolutely to death, and you've done it justice in such a subtle and accurate way. Beautifully done, and I like the gifts they got each other! Just the thing--a classic book for Lupin and a taste of freedom for Black. And I don't think Arthur would have too much of a problem with the globe as long as he could use it to study muggles! ~Scribe

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79794Chapter: 1
lol! This is really funny and really great. I love the snowglobe idea, and how Remus is so IC.... yay for this story!

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72222Chapter: 1
This was pretty cute. The writing was good and the globe was a very interesting, magical touch. I'd like a charm like that!

I think, however, that it could use to be pared down a bit. I found that occasionally it was too descriptive and in the middle I started reading more quickly as I was unable to sustain a deep interest in the narrative, which meandered too much for my taste. I think it's a good storyline and good characterizations; it would just be good if it didn't take so long to get there.

For some reason the relationship parts rang a little false for me; I love R/S but it seemed a little bit unnecessarily obtuse for it to have to be mostly an inner monologue by Remus, for the majority of the story. You have written a delightfully vivid, passionate, loving Sirius (something I really appreciate) - I suppose that I was just expecting this to transfer into the other aspects of his life as well.

Sorry this review is so jumbly.

Reviewer: EileenDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72092Chapter: 1
Reading this has been truly enjoyable, and it left me with a warm glow within. Thank you! :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68587Chapter: 1
Hi, atropos! Congrats on making SQ!

I'm trying to review as I read (and work...hehehe), so pardon me if this is a bit disjointed.

First of all, LOL on the "monstrous regiment of Weasleys"! I can just imagine there being so many of them that they have to eat dinner in shifts (which isn't the case, as we know from OotP). I also really enjoyed Mr. Lovegood's appearance here. If he's really as, erm, interesting as he sounds in your story, Luna must have a very unqie home life! (I bet he encourages all kinds of creativity, though...*sighs wistfully*)

Anyway, moving on...I also like the idea of goblins not caring about Remus' condition. I, too, think that they'll take money from Voldemort himself because it's business and they are simply providing a service to anyone who can afford it. (Oi, my economics background is showing...)

The Remus/Sirius scene was great. I enjoyed Wheedling!Sirius and do agree that it's a sign that he's slowly getting over Azkaban. (And Neville's toad Patronus -- too perfect! ROTFL! And the wizarding version of "Deck the Halls"! Exploding SOX! "eye-watering colors"! Good grief, I can see this is going to be one of those fics with too many lovely details to list in my reviews...)

I can sympathize with Remus over the prospect of having a big Christmas celebration. Thanks to my own large family, holidays are always noisy, people-filled times for me and I wouldn't have it any other way!...And I can also sympathize with his very tight budget. That's right, curses on anti-werewolf legislation! >:( And now I am curious about what Remus bought Sirius!

And LOL on the Christmas decorations! I'm sure they kept Sirius from climbing the walls, but I had to laugh at the furry fanged holiday wreath and the other decorations that went awry! (And Tonks as Lucius Malfoy -- LOL! Hee, too, on "fool of a Black"!)

The presents that Sirius and Remus exchanged were lovely. I'm so glad you told us what they were in this chapter!

Great job!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68436Chapter: 1
I loved the details you put into the last minute Christmas shopping. I wish J.K. had put more detail into that time in the book since it was the last time we really saw Sirius happy. It was nice to see that he was having so much fun that Christmas. And the globe was a fabulous idea, although it kind of reminded me of a device in the last Tomb Raider movie.

Anyways, this was a highly enjoyable story and I hope you continue writing.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68267Chapter: 1
I've often seen your name on the Pensieve, so I was delighted to read your first SQ story.

Your story is one of the best I've read on the Quill. It's inventive and well-paced with great dialogue and characterization. The gifts that Sirius and Remus exchange will stay with me for a long time to come.

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68170Chapter: 1
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH it feels so good .... We siriusly lack this sort of stories, so beautifully written and otw but not vulgar. Simply in-character and just ... beautiful...*sigh* WRITE MORE !

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68112Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. So well-written and poignant. I love the relationship you created between Remus and Sirius, though it could be platonic just as well. Makes me want to cry all over again for Remus's loss.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68050Chapter: 1
"Please come quietly Mr. Lovegood..."
-nice to include him

Exploding Socks!

I enjoyed this very much. What a wonderful exchange of gifts. Also the slash was nicely understated.

My only disappointed was when I went to look for more of your stuff and found none. I hope more is on the way.

Reviewer: finchDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67997Chapter: 1
A wonderful story! Good pacing, well written, entertaining, funny, melancholic, inspiring - it's got everything. I could see it all, and I felt completely drawn in.
Both Remus and Sirius really come to life; their portrayal seems very much in character to me. And whatever is left unsaid shines through between the lines.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67993Chapter: 1
This is a great fic. It left me with a really happy feeling, and I guess it left Remus and Sirius with the same happy feeling. You've really brought them to life.

I especially loved the Fork-Tailed Purple Couchcrabs and the stuffed Kneazle wearing an extremely annoyed expression. :) Well, I can't mention all the details I liked. It's just a wonderful story.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67981Chapter: 1
Oh, I'm just blown away. You managed to be so subtle with their emotions. (Of course, I still had tears in my eyes when they opened their gifts!)The description of Sirius when he opened his gift was fantastic. I could almost see his blue eyes glittering.

Everything about their situation and their reactions to each other rang true to me. From Remus noticing the grin with nothing dark behind it to the kiss on the forehead. I don't know how they could have simply taken up where they left off after everything that had happened over the years. You managed to convey how complex friendships can be. You also managed to portray Remus' situation so well during the Gringotts scene. I got a real sense of how difficult his life is without a lot of melodrama.

I'll definitely be looking for your name on the update list.

Reviewer: SiriuslyLupinDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67977Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Just the right amount of humor and emotion, and of course, I love anything involving Sirius and Remus.

“Aw Remus, do I really have to? Don’t you think the fangs are kind of fetching? All right, all right – point your wand somewhere else. I’m doing it again, you slave driver.”

I love that...hilarious. The last paragraph even made my eyes a bit watery :) The interactions are wonderfully done, and I'd love to see more!

Reviewer: AndreaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67972Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Definately one of my favorites now:) It was very well written. Quite wonderful if i do say so myself. ;) I'm a sucker for anything involving my two favorite HP characters. Ahhh i hope this is an ok review. I've had about 2 hours of sleep in the last couple of days so if i don't make much sense, feel free to ignore me:) Anywayz i'm off to bed. Thanks for an excellent read:)

-The Great Drea

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67958Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story! best portrayal of remus/serius i've ever seen. Are you planning to continue it? the conclusion didn't sound like it, but it'd be wonderful if you did.

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67956Chapter: 1
You've arrived! And, I must say, with one of the best written stories I have had the pleasure to read.

Your descriptions and visuals are so vivid, and have such character, I felt like I was actually there.

When dear Remus began reading his book I got chills. And Sirius's gift from Remus was so touching and just...absolutely perfect.

I particularly enjoyed Mr.Lovegood's cameo appearance! Those Fork-Tailed Purple Couchcrabs must have taken up residence in my purse!

Funny and moving in just the right places - thank you for writing this!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67938Chapter: 1
A terrific read - funny & touching. I love your version of Deck the Halls and the mutant blancmange was just hysterical.

Great stuff!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67937Chapter: 1
*Stands and cheers loudly!* Atropos, this was absolutely wonderful! It was so full of rich detail that it felt like I was right beside Remus the entire time (or was that just wishful thinking?), experiencing it all along with him. The interactions between Sirius and Remus are just marvelous - I wanted them to go on and on.

I got goosebumpy when Remus opened his gift and downright weepy when Sirius opened his. What a perfect idea for a gift and the way you described the giving of it was so full of emotion. Oh, this whole thing was just beautiful. I'm already eagerly awaiting your next story!!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67921Chapter: 1
Hurray! It's finally here! :)

>>The wizard insisted there was only one possible explanation for his dwindling bank balance. Remus overheard him explaining politely that the entire contents of his vault must have been Transfigured into Fork-Tailed Purple Couchcrabs, which as everybody knew were completely invisible but could give you a pretty nasty nip if you sat down too quickly.>>

A-ha! So *that's* what's been happening to my bank balance! And here I thought it was my credit card. ;)

I'm enjoying all of this from Remus's point of view. You capture his wry humour in such an easy natural way, it's as if we're following him (with a wizarding webcam!) through Gringotts and his memories.

>>“Are you sure you need to include absolutely everyone that knows you’re not a dangerous criminal?” Remus asked with a smile. “At this rate I won’t be back from Diagon Alley until New Years’ Eve.” Sirius paused for a moment, raised his head and looked sharply at Remus. His light mood seemed to be evaporating rapidly and he looked as though he was urgently repelling a number of extremely unpleasant thoughts in an effort to regain his good humour. Sirius looked back down at the table.>>

Very well painted. I can imagine the chord that casual comment would strike on Sirius. Poor man.

>>“I read something interesting in the Daily Prophet the other day – I’m surprised they can fit anything useful in that rag what with all the nonsense they keep printing about me – anyway, I found just the thing for him.”

... Remus smiled. He had never seen Sirius so proud of Harry as the night when they learned he was breaking at least half of Hogwarts’ new rules by teaching Defence to his peers.>>

Hee! Your Sirius is the perfect extension of the one we know from OOTP. Giddy and pranksterish one moment, caustic another and wry or miserable the next.

A Triple W!!! THAT'S what I need! Cor! Wish they actually existed. :)

I'm also enamoured of the many details you treat us to here, from the presents Remus buys, to the look of Sirius's handwriting! ("writing, bold and sprawling and almost totally illegible." -- perfect! I took a childhood interest in graphology and this sort of handwriting I would have expected from Sirius, particularly post-Azkaban.)

>>Five more minutes before I give up, go back to Flourish and Blotts for a copy of Magical Me and pass it off as ironic.>>

*snert* Lovely!

This whole bit just puts a grin on my face:

>>“Ah, Moony!” Sirius greeted him with a beaming grin. “How come it’s taken you so long? Did you get everything? Another half hour and I was going to send Dung along to Florean Fortescue’s and have him hex you until you stopped stuffing your face and came home.” Remus ignored Sirius’ disconcertingly accurate jibe and composed his features into what he hoped was a stern glare, although he could feel the corners of his mouth creeping up slightly, undoubtedly spoiling the effect.>>

*sigh* What is it about those two, eh?

>>"...It looks more like magical mutant blancmange.">>

LOL!!! Oh my goodness! The magical mutant blancmange explosion! Too hilarious!!

Remus as a Dickens fan -- perfect.

>>...I’ve said it before but, honestly, you are a bloody genius.>>

Actually, *you* are. That globe is absolutely splendiferous!! And the moment it precipitated... just wonderful. :)

Thank you for this! :D

Axelle

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67910Chapter: 1
HOORAY! *does a jig*

Well, congrats, dear. You're up with the stars. You've written a masterpiece. You're wonderfully talented. I'm credited.

This is wonderfully written - which you've already hear from me twenty-seven times.

I can't wait to see your next piece. I'm sure it'll be just as good as this, if not even better!

Yours,
Adele

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --